wazua Mon, Jan 27, 2025

Vision 2030 - What's Your Contribution?
jasonhill
#1 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 1:14:34 PM

Hello All,

Putting the financing aspect of ventures aside for a moment- think BIG, and tell me what business(es) you would, no, WILL build in order to achieve the common goal of building Kenya into a middle-income nation, and into a net exporter.

Don't let money be an inhibitor at this point and let the ideas flow. What can we build, offer, and sell that will not only serve consumers in Kenya, but the region and the continent, and then the rest of the world?

Best,

Hill
Cde Monomotapa
#2 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 3:22:06 PM

A large public & private equity fund.
Mainat
#3 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 3:47:52 PM

Comrade-lets start one
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#4 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 4:46:21 PM

A nuclear reactor.
#5 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 4:47:26 PM

at last a good topic but wazuans love airports ones.
love to talk and talk.no action.I remember there is another thread on starting an investment club.its ndead.

2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
Cde Monomotapa
#6 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 5:24:06 PM

Mainat wrote:
Comrade-lets start one

Been @ it since '06 and the fund is currently closed. Could be re-opened in future when we require more members and equity capital.
Cde Monomotapa
#7 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 5:28:36 PM

We are still net buyers and these bear markets give us value for money. Indications are that we might close the buying spree end 2011/12 and move onto consolidation and capital + income growth.
#8 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 6:44:55 PM

cd what is your approx capitalization now? how many are you? do you make lumpsum contribution or monthly contributution? have you
employed fund managers or you do it yourselves? how is your portfolio? shares or property or going concern businesses?plz share
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
Cde Monomotapa
#9 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 7:03:55 PM

We are a group of 10, mostly lawyers but in '09 deliberate action was taken to diversify and we enrolled partners from IT, Marketing & Investment banking and we also have 2 lady partners. We are currently into public equity wholly. Our next moves might be property as a separate division. Not at liberty to disclose capitalization amounts. Funding was through a bulk injection @ the start, followed by monthly pooling. I despise Fund Managers so yes we make & manage our own investment decisions.
#10 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 7:35:33 PM

thanks cd.with the reds at the nse have you managed to make a positive return in your portfolio in the past 3 years.have you ever sold at a loss? the nse all share index was 100 in jan 2008,it has firmly remained below 100. don't you think if you stick to equities it might take forever to get positive

Cde Monomotapa
#11 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 7:53:07 PM

As we speak the total fund is -7% and yes it is red on paper. Nevertheless, our Intrinsic Value has grown at a higher rate when re-investment of dividends is taken into account, good capital gains made after sales of Safcom & Scan in 2010 bought in the trenches of 08/09. We've only sold at slight losses when re-balancing the portfolio or in pursuit of better prospects e.g recently reduced KGN for more KK ex.div 2010 @9.3.
Mainat
#12 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 8:50:39 PM

'user' don't recall you participating in that discussion.
I am looking to go into or start an ambitious chama. And especially now.
Sehemu ndio nyumba
For Sport
#13 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 9:59:43 PM

'user' wrote:
at last a good topic but wazuans love airports ones.
love to talk and talk.no action.I remember there is another thread on starting an investment club.its ndead.

#14 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 10:58:47 PM

Mainat wrote:
'user' don't recall you participating in that discussion.
I am looking to go into or start an ambitious chama. And especially now.

i contributed as a catalyst(mchokozi).to get the thing move foward.just revist the thread.nothing happen except expression of interest
jasonhill
#15 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 12:22:31 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
A nuclear reactor.

I like the direction in which you are thinking- cheap, abundant power. I would hold off on nuclear ambitions however, until Turkana wind and Rift geothermal is fully exploited. These technologies are cheaper to implement and easier to manage and maintain than nuclear, not to mention, anyone can leverage these sources without international agencies screaming and yelling at every turn.

There's more than enough wind in Turkana and geothermal heat in the Rift Valley to provide all of Kenya's energy needs, and to have surplus energy to sell.

Best,

Hill
jasonhill
#16 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 12:25:49 AM

No offense to anyone- this is the SME forum, but somehow this thread went back to "playing with other people's money" and "betting". That's not going to get Kenya to middle income. Making and/or offering something tangible will.

Though it's is fun and can be profitable to play the market, and it is highly beneficial to invest, what I was looking for is ideas that result in actual products or services, that can be sold, and not raw materials either- finished products or services- value added.

Best,

Hill
Cde Monomotapa
#17 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 3:12:28 AM

Our Fund is currently an SME in itself which can be sold later to as many public seeking investment diversity after earning from the sort of businesses JH is talking about and also provide debt/equity capital [Corporate Finance]. Thus, our role is equally important in Vision 2030 and we work to see it come to pass everyday.
jasonhill
#18 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 5:06:25 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Our Fund is currently an SME in itself which can be sold later to as many public seeking investment diversity after earning from the sought of businesses JH is talking about and also provide debt/equity capital [Corporate Finance]. Thus, our role is equally important in Vision 2030 and we work to see it come to pass everyday.

Good point. Fair enough. So then, speaking in terms of your fund, say that you had a Vision 2030 fund, that was comprised of investments in companies that specifically played a role in helping Kenya lay the groundwork for middle-income status. Real "blue chip" companies whose products and/or services will have consistent demand across the continent, that will weather any kind of storm, whether it be economic, political, or actual climate and weather.

What kind of companies would the fund's investment be comprised of?

Best,

Hill
Cde Monomotapa
#19 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 5:15:10 AM

We would principally direct funding into concerns like Energy, Financial services & Consumer Retail.
Nabwire
#20 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 12:09:53 AM

My contribution will be to
Educate (Financially)
Empower
Emancipate
Kenya my country, oh how I love thee.