wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

Sending Parcel from UK
kiterunner
#1 Posted : Sunday, August 28, 2011 3:10:17 PM

Hello Wazuans

I would like to send a parcel from UK to Kenya by sea. Its mostly household stuff and books upto around 30kg. I would like to hear from anyone who has done it before to recommend a cheap and reliable company to do it with. Feel free to email me at busy.idler at yahoo co uk

Thank you
our goals are best achieved indirectly
#2 Posted : Sunday, August 28, 2011 5:14:46 PM

kiterunner wrote:
Hello Wazuans

I would like to send a parcel from UK to Kenya by sea. Its mostly household stuff and books upto around 30kg. I would like to hear from anyone who has done it before to recommend a cheap and reliable company to do it with. Feel free to email me at busy.idler at yahoo co uk

Thank you

Try

Address:
Unit 5
The Arches Business Centre
Merrick Road
Southall
Middlesex
UB2 4AU 512702,179698 -0.3760461973319974651.503600016308376

* Telephone: 020 8571 9523
* Web: http://www.africansalihiya.com

manuPK
#3 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 12:55:00 PM

Gathige wrote:
kiterunner wrote:
Hello Wazuans

Thank you

Try

Address:
Unit 5
Merrick Road
Southall
Middlesex
UB2 4AU 512702,179698 -0.3760461973319974651.503600016308376

* Telephone: 020 8571 9523
* Web: http://www.africansalihiya.com

@Gathige, Salihiya are the same company as Kesom ama?
http://www.kesomfreight.com/contactUK.htm
Entrepreneurship is a cognitive bias. They can’t teach it to you.
manuPK
#4 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 12:58:35 PM

@Kiterunner, if you're up north, try http://www.tudorfreight.com/ in Leeds.
Entrepreneurship is a cognitive bias. They can’t teach it to you.
JkMwatha
#5 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 3:11:09 PM

manuPK wrote:
Gathige wrote:
kiterunner wrote:
Hello Wazuans

I would like to send a parcel from UK t..... Feel free to email me at busy.idler at yahoo co uk

Thank you

Try

Address:
Unit 5
Merrick Road...africansalihiya.com

@Gathige, Salihiya are the same company as Kesom ama?
http://www.kesomfreight.com/contactUK.htm

Yes Kesom is Salhiya

There are cheaper ways to send....
Try Morey of this forum... he charges £2 per Kg... no other costs.

There's also another company called Ilamos (a breakaway company from Kesom).
jaribu
#6 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 5:26:46 PM

I have used Africa Salihiya many times for Air cargo, never had a problem at all. These Kenyan Somalis are simply great and professional. They will even organize for your cargo to be dropped in other towns locally after prior arrangements. They have raised their charges upwards kidogo due to weak shilling which is understandable. I also understand they can ship for you by sea, so try them.

jaribu
#7 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 5:35:04 PM

Alternatively, why not look for a friend shipping a vehicle to Kenya from UK and put your well packed box inside the vehicle (kwa boot) and save lots of cash? Dozens of cars from UK arrive every day in Mombasa. It's advisable to include the package/items in the bill of landing to avoid theft at the port. Some people even go to an extent of insuring for a small fee. Whoever prefers this method should make sure the vehicle is collected immediately after it's cleared in Msa. Theft of cargo in port mostly affects containers and vehicles which have been delayed there in the yard as their owners look for cash to clear on the 11th hour.
JkMwatha
#8 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 6:01:14 PM

jaribu wrote:
I have used Africa Salihiya many times for Air cargo, never had a problem at all. These Kenyan Somalis are simply great and professional. They will even organize for your cargo to be dropped in other towns locally after prior arrangements. They have raised their charges upwards kidogo due to weak shilling which is understandable. I also understand they can ship for you by sea, so try them.

Salhiya are too expensive... just because many don't know alternatives.... charges are £4.60/kg with admin charge of £35 per transaction.

Others available will charge £3/kg and £25 standing charge.

nothing EVER gets lost.

Assume
30kg @4.60 = 138 + 35 = £173
alternatively @3.00 = 90 + 25 + £115
See the difference?

kiterunner
#9 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 6:08:46 PM

Many thanks Wazuans, I am looking for Morey's contacts, from above posts it seems his rates are the cheapest, thank s alot Wazuans you are as helpful and resourceful as ever @manuPK am in the Soouth West
#10 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 7:10:55 PM

@ kiterunner,

The company you choose make sure they will handle all the logistics and customs and deliver to your preferred location or you collect at they office.Warias are good at that though might be more expensive but they save you the peace of mind by not having to deal with customs!
kiterunner
#11 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 8:51:24 PM

@morey do you do shipping from South Africa to kenya, or can you recommend someone

thank you
#12 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 10:02:07 PM

kiterunner wrote:
Hello Wazuans

Thank you

30 kg household stuff by sea? well if you are in no hurry..
When you request for a rate,kindly mention the port of loading. UK has Southampton,Felixstowe,Basildon as key ports alongside others and different rates apply for each.
Dimensions (lxwxh) are also required to determine the volume because rates for less than container loads are based per w/cbm whichever is higher and so there's a danger of over/under quoting without one knowing both weight and volume.

I will wait for your heavy consignments ie above 8 cbm or at least 1cbm and above. smile
mkeiyd
#13 Posted : Thursday, October 24, 2013 9:41:31 AM

kiterunner wrote:
Hello Wazuans

Thank you

30 kg household stuff by sea? well if you are in no hurry..
When you request for a rate,kindly mention the port of loading. UK has Southampton,Felixstowe,Basildon as key ports alongside others and different rates apply for each.
Dimensions (lxwxh) are also required to determine the volume because rates for less than container loads are based per w/cbm whichever is higher and so there's a danger of over/under quoting without one knowing both weight and volume.

I will wait for your heavy consignments ie above 8 cbm or at least 1cbm and above. smile

Jeeeeeeeeeeeesu!

@kysse, The post you are responding to was for 2011.
#UchumiMbaya
#14 Posted : Friday, October 25, 2013 5:51:02 AM

Sad lol mkeiyd. sawa too he may resurface with 40 fcls.
ulemsee
#15 Posted : Monday, December 15, 2014 1:07:45 PM

Hi guys,

Is it possible to get an updated version of this post? (like a 2015 version). I need to ship some stuff from the UK and my pockets aren't deep (X-mass is approaching)
Some people see the glass half full. Others see it half empty.
I see a glass that's twice as big as it needs to be.
― George Carlin
#16 Posted : Monday, December 15, 2014 2:14:24 PM

ulemsee wrote:
Hi guys,

Is it possible to get an updated version of this post? (like a 2015 version). I need to ship some stuff from the UK and my pockets aren't deep (X-mass is approaching)

JkMwatha
#17 Posted : Monday, December 15, 2014 2:44:42 PM

ulemsee wrote:
Hi guys,

for 2015 version.... I suggest you wait 15 more days for now

Dec 2014 version - Morey (+44-7949-531-238) seems most competitive, most efficient.
#18 Posted : Monday, December 15, 2014 9:22:22 PM

Sasa hapa ndipo nimekwama. Anyone know of an affordable means to send a parcel (about 5kg) from Australia to Kenya?
#19 Posted : Monday, December 15, 2014 9:51:17 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Sasa hapa ndipo nimekwama. Anyone know of an affordable means to send a parcel (about 5kg) from Australia to Kenya?

eish rankaz!sitaki kuwafanyia marketing,just google the usual international courier culprits.

My small advice,learn ship more weights per shipment,it's cheaper cz of min charge per weight break..
eg +45kg@$0.20 per kg min $10.00
You will pay $10 for 5kg when you could have paid the same amount for 50kg. You can't go lower than min no matter what,plz max your money on carriers.

vky
#20 Posted : Tuesday, December 16, 2014 5:37:26 PM

ulemsee wrote:
Hi guys,

i use hayes cargo, 3.99 pounds per kilo plus 30 pounds admin fee all taxes inclusive for air freight, they ship out every Thursday of the week and you get your stuff after seven days
'One headache for famous medieval holy people was that someone might murder you to acquire your body parts for the relics trade'