wazua Sun, Jan 5, 2025

Boda Boda concept, public service
KenSaf
#1 Posted : Monday, August 08, 2011 8:57:00 AM

BODA BODA CONCEPT - PUBLIC SERVICE MOTORCYCLES

A very good concept, as it is cheap, efficient and go places where taxis and Matatus can not reach, but many safety issues. If not regulated, it is a time bomb. I have witnessed the following:

1. Carrying more than one passenger
2. They don't wear safety Helmets
3. Ferrying building Irons sheets
4. Overtaking on the right side
5. Most operators don't have driving licences
6. Very many accidents.. some hospital have two wards full of boda boda accident victims
7. In some towns, they operate as cartels. They cause an accident, even if they are on the wrong, they call all there colleagues, block you from all sides and start harrassing the motorist. witnessed this in Kisii where most operators are Sungu Sungu members( equivalent of Mungiki)

and the list continues
Doors of opportunity don't just open , they have to be unlocked & it's up to you to turn the knob.
Toxicity
#2 Posted : Monday, August 08, 2011 10:49:08 AM

This boda boda menace needs to be tamed!! in kisumu they overtake from the left side ...they don't give way!! and more so they are trained for a day and start ferrying passengers the very next day!! i never use them!! i rather walk ! considering most hospitals in shagz regions have a Ward dedicated to Motorcycle accident victims!!!
update president set president = speaker where president is null
KenSaf
#3 Posted : Monday, August 08, 2011 10:55:43 AM

There is a likelihood that it is killing more people than AIDS
Doors of opportunity don't just open , they have to be unlocked & it's up to you to turn the knob.
jamplu
#4 Posted : Monday, August 08, 2011 11:32:42 AM

boda bodas and tuk tuks should not be allowed to operate in towns whoever has been to mombasa and kampala will tell you we can't afford to let the boda boda and tuk tuk madness in nairobi.
KenSaf
#5 Posted : Monday, August 08, 2011 3:03:51 PM

Was in Mombasa sometime back, o arrival at the booking office of one of the bus companies, there were so many tuk tuks waiting to pick customer.. and the sound polution is bad.. it is like a number of small generators competing
Tommy
#6 Posted : Monday, August 08, 2011 3:41:32 PM

I would rather be ferried on a boda boda bicycle than the motorcycle. That motor cycle makes the unqualified riders feel powerful and thus reckless on the road. They overtake and overlap dangerously. To motor vehicle drivers, this boda bodas are dangerous to road users and care should be exercised when approaching them.
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
#7 Posted : Monday, August 08, 2011 4:13:56 PM

Quite a number of hospitals have wards named after a popular cycle brand(TVS)
#8 Posted : Monday, August 08, 2011 4:19:20 PM

Quite a number of hospitals have wards named after a popular cycle brand(TVS)

There is a Bajaj ward in Kericho.
#9 Posted : Monday, August 08, 2011 4:35:10 PM

@ Kensaf,

You forgot to add that the cheap Chinese motorcycles being sold are not meant for business leave alone bodaboda business. I saw parts of one that had been involved in an accident, I only knew it was a motorcycle because an eye witness told us, the wheels had not been found when I was leaving the scene.

#10 Posted : Saturday, May 03, 2014 9:54:10 AM

Saving and putting up an estate Applause Applause Applause This is very encouraging., well managed the Bodaboda concept will rank next to Mbank in changing fortunes of rural kenya

Can Kisumu and Busia copy

#11 Posted : Saturday, May 03, 2014 1:06:44 PM

@ Kensaf,

You forgot to add that the cheap Chinese motorcycles being sold are not meant for business leave alone bodaboda business. I saw parts of one that had been involved in an accident, I only knew it was a motorcycle because an eye witness told us, the wheels had not been found when I was leaving the scene.

#12 Posted : Saturday, May 03, 2014 1:25:16 PM

@ Kensaf,

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly and Sad Sad

I wonder what happened to the victim?

D32
#13 Posted : Saturday, May 03, 2014 8:08:07 PM

They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
#14 Posted : Saturday, May 03, 2014 8:51:40 PM

Siringi wrote:
Saving and putting up an estate Applause Applause Applause This is very encouraging., well managed the Bodaboda concept will rank next to Mbank in changing fortunes of rural kenya

Can Kisumu and Busia copy

What a great model....Applause Applause Applause Applause It should be replicated across the country through various groups.
#15 Posted : Sunday, May 04, 2014 5:59:58 AM

All I can think about is how much mula Car & General must be making. Laughing out loudly

#NSE
#16 Posted : Sunday, May 04, 2014 7:16:43 AM

guru267 wrote:
All I can think about is how much mula Car & General must be making. Laughing out loudly

#NSE

A cursory survey on the motor bikes reveals majority are Fochin, WangHu and other Hu,Ho, Xhi names.For this some Kamau Patel are in money while Oti is doing the repairs.

C&G are doing fine on the 3 wheelers and associated parts given that yhey are the sole agents.

On that project I think it is a great project and a testimony that Kazi ni Kazi.

Some do the business and drink the entire proceeds in the evening while members of this group do the business and save.Signs of good leadership too in the group.Kudos to them.
mzeekijana
#17 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 1:40:40 PM

For those who have worked in this field,Is this job (Boda Boda) really profitable? I mean if I buy one motor bike and assign it to a driver (who they say) will be bringing 400 per day. Any advise on this?
#18 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 2:22:08 PM

mzeekijana wrote:
For those who have worked in this field,Is this job (Boda Boda) really profitable? I mean if I buy one motor bike and assign it to a driver (who they say) will be bringing 400 per day. Any advise on this?

It's too late to get into this biz unless you will be the rider.

You're better off using the money to drink alcohol as you come up with new biz ideas
#19 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 2:40:17 PM

mzeekijana wrote:

It's too late to get into this biz unless you will be the rider.

You're better off using the money to drink alcohol as you come up with new biz ideas

#20 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 3:27:15 PM

mzeekijana wrote:

Never been in that field but I think it can work. Buy 10 used boda bodas at @40k total 400k. Returns will be 4k each day or 120k per month. You'd have paid back your money in 3.5 months. And you would have created 10 jobs.

NB you'd need to buy a 25m apartment to get 120k rent pm.