wazua Mon, Dec 30, 2024

CENTUM INTERVIEW
ragzzz
#1 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 4:34:00 AM

did anyone attend the centum interview last week on friday for the Investment officer and analyst position? if u did how was it.
The Real Shaft
#2 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 6:15:00 AM

raggzzz*

the ay you have phrased your question....

indicates..

you are a member....

of centum.....

trying rephrasing...

ask what you want to ask.....

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
ragzzz
#3 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 6:27:00 AM

i am actually in south africa i missed the interview so i am done...i just wanted to get a feel on the questions this guys were asking to have a clue on kenya job market interviews on finance n banking....
Juojo
#4 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 7:36:00 AM

Kwani the interview was public??
Happiness is not the absence of problems, It's the ability to deal with them
Kamaa
#5 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 7:57:00 AM

@ raggz

were you invited for the interview or what?

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Soko tele
#6 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 8:30:00 AM

The interview was at 7-8: am................... I felt like i am in a CFA exam class

If l cannot make the money why should l loose it
enigma
#7 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 9:24:00 AM

i was there for the interview...n all i can say is that i hope the guys consider that you myt not get the final answer correct but demonstrate that u actually know what ur doing...otherwise i fear my chances myt be very slim indeed!

btw,anyone knows the salary range?

top cat
extrablessed
#8 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 9:43:00 AM

@enigma: what kind of Qns were they asking? give us samples...

Life is worth living cos God planned it to be so.
enigma
#9 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 9:48:00 AM

it was basically one question...unapewa balance sheet,P&L,na growth estimates..etc and then u r to value the company(give an estimate of per share price)...n explain your methodology.. eg why ud choose,say,DDM over cashflow valuation...

top cat
extrablessed
#10 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 9:53:00 AM

Wow! Thts a nice qn. may be I wud have done it in 6-10 min....

Use DDM if there seems to be a dividend policy and the firm has been paying dividend and if the buyer has no intention of having significant holding

Use FCF approach if the there is no intention of holding significant stake....and when there is no clear dividend policy

Use price multiples (eg P/E ratio etc) only while comparing firms in the same industry...

Life is worth living cos God planned it to be so.
enigma
#11 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 12:01:00 PM

extrablesed...6-10 minutes...hmmm...all interviews r easy until yu actually do them..trust me, 6-10 minutes is not possible...unless u have a computer for a brain..

anyhow,your summary is quite correct...

top cat
ragzzz
#12 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 1:57:00 AM

interesting last time i did ddm n fcf stuff was back in colle 15 yrs ago.....yo ENIGMA so with the question they asked u did they pay a dividend ama they didnt pay a dividend????
enigma
#13 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 7:51:00 AM

ragzz

yah it paid dividends....

top cat
ragzzz
#14 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 9:00:00 AM

enigma...thanks men....i have no idea about the salary range.....anyone who knows if this guys pay vizuri...i got an offer with equity lakini hatujaongea mambo ya compensation...in general who would u prefer working for centum ama eb??? have they contacted u yet enigma??
enigma
#15 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 9:36:00 AM

yah they have...but am really not holding my breath...i hear the job is reserved for some guy from trancentury...

eb or centum? centum is better IMO...

top cat
ragzzz
#16 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 10:47:00 AM

yo enigma dont loose hope as long as they have called u for a second interview just go n make a good imprerssion......u never know...even if u dont get it this time as long as u leave a goood impression future openings will b easier for u since have built a relationship.......let me know what they tell u or ask u in the second interview.....i will let u know hoe EB works out n maybe i can hook u up
enigma
#17 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 11:03:00 AM

ragzz...cheers...so long as am doing investment analysis..am a happy man...

top cat
ragzzz
#18 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 1:09:00 PM

give me your email address i can give u more info on alot of openings in brokerage firms and banks.....
drake
#19 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 1:17:00 AM

@raggz kingofarbitrage at gmail d o t com

Also I'm curious to know about jobs in I-Banking / Prop-trading down south. What are the chances of getting in for a non-resident?

For an Investment Analyst considering Equity (NSE:EQTY) I'd say you're thinking Treasury or IBD. The Director of the Treasury department has considerable international experience and this shows in the innovative products they've introduced (Forex Swaps & Forward Contracts) plus they've been able to snag big clients like Morgan Stanley. The only downside is Forex Trading is stressful and IMO... rather boring.

Equity's IBD has been rather quiet since inception save for the stand off with the CDSC. I'd like to think that they're putting final touches to a revolutionary business model. You'll remember that they poached most of their staff from Rencap so at least you can find comfort in knowing that you're working with a top team.

An extract of Equity Investment Bank Half Year Unaudited results (2009) Kshs. '000Total Income (2,840)Total Expenses 13,639 Loss after Tax (16,479)***Employee Costs 13,472***

It looks like they pay their staff almost too well.

Centum (NSE: ICDC) = PE and Commercial Real Estate (alternative investments)
AUM ~ 7B .....sweet

It often happens that a trader carries out a deep and complicated calculation,but fails to spot something elementary right at the first move!
ragzzz
#20 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 7:14:00 AM

drake i will email u the info as soon as i meet those fokkss....where did u get the data u posted si u give me the link i look in details.......

enigma.....any info on centum second round interview