wazua Tue, Sep 23, 2025

I&M Bank FY 2011 results
The Merchant
#1 Posted : Thursday, May 19, 2011 5:14:01 PM

The Merchant wrote:
SIASA!! Crap stock...so many better stocks out there, profits are falling and you guys are buying, huh? Competition is increasing daily and you guys are still buying ,huh? This is the 5th Elliot wave that catches all the suckers. DO NOT become one of them.
@vvs and @youcan't, don't get pushed into the death train....

Wewe... I saw the I&M results leo... I recall you had mentioned something a little while ago. What portion of Other Income is from Bond Trading?

As for Safaricom - As an investment at 3/- [or lower] I could go for... At 3.90 I am staying far away! Lakini, I want to see 1H 2011-12 results before I plunge in all the way...

Check this out http://www.imbank.com/KE...MBLAnnualReport2010.pdf

Gov securities at 1.463B VS Loan interest income of 4.9B
Staff costs surged from 800M to 1.17B.

These guys are expanding major DTB style(their no. 1 rival, I know). Opened eldoret, langata link,lavington (beautiful) nakuru and a premier branch in riverside planned this year.
#2 Posted : Thursday, May 19, 2011 5:41:50 PM

@TheMerchant - Thanks!

Can I&M catch up with DTB in branches any time soon?
DTB started much earlier with branches in very many towns. I&M didn't even go to Nakuru or Eldoret recently while DTB is in Thika among other smaller but important towns.

Region - DTB is in Uganda, Tanzania, Burundi so any I&M plans for Uganda?

Which branch is beautiful [Nakuru or Lavington]?

Did you see 1Q 2011 results? Released today.
invest0r
#3 Posted : Thursday, May 19, 2011 10:10:09 PM

@TheMerchant - Thanks!

DTB started much earlier with branches in very many towns. I&M didn't even go to Nakuru or Eldoret recently while DTB is in Thika among other smaller but important towns.

Did you see 1Q 2011 results? Released today.

The lavington branch is really beautiful. Interesting, I & M has fewer branches than DTB but it is making higher profits than DTB.
#4 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 1:06:24 AM

invest0r wrote:
@TheMerchant - Thanks!

Did you see 1Q 2011 results? Released today

The lavington branch is really beautiful. Interesting, I & M has fewer branches than DTB but it is making higher profits than DTB.
"Other Income" which includes Rental Income, etc was 218mn so compare that to DTB for a better picture.

BTW, Citibank makes more than DTB or I&M or NIC & has only one branch!!!

Has CBA announced 1Q 2011 results?
Aguytrying
#5 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 7:36:35 AM

@investor. I&m bank did not make more profit than dtb in q1 2011. Im pat was 473m, dtb pat was almost 600m. Dtb pbt was 859m.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
The Merchant
#6 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 8:54:55 AM

ill post the I&M Q1 no's here once I get them....
Citibank definitely has a very lean but profitable outfit. Most FCY from I&M,DTB etc are banked with them and this makes for a neat return.
#7 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 9:17:25 AM

invest0r wrote:
@TheMerchant - Thanks!

Did you see 1Q 2011 results? Released today

"Other Income" which includes Rental Income, etc was 218mn so compare that to DTB for a better picture.

BTW, Citibank makes more than DTB or I&M or NIC & has only one branch!!!

Has CBA announced 1Q 2011 results?

Citibank's clients are pretty different from the two banks.... they only deal with corporates and mostly multinationals who operate alot in huge sums of foreign currency. Their mode of operations is also very different hence reducing costs. They have this DIY system which helps them reduce costs significantly.
invest0r
#8 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 9:20:46 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
@investor. I&m bank did not make more profit than dtb in q1 2011. Im pat was 473m, dtb pat was almost 600m. Dtb pbt was 859m.

In Q1, I & M made a PAT of 805,077 while DTB made 683,492. PBT for I & M was 1,128,323 while for DTB was 879,506. Clearly, I & M made more profits. When is I & M expected to list in NSE?

NB: The above figures are in KES '000'
#9 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 10:51:24 AM

invest0r wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

In Q1, I & M made a PAT of 805,077 while DTB made 683,492. PBT for I & M was 1,128,323 while for DTB was 879,506. Clearly, I & M made more profits. When is I & M expected to list in NSE?

NB: The above figures are in KES '000'

What about Citibank?
There is @bankelele who does a nice job listing all the banks' assets & profits from 1-43
#10 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 11:01:40 AM

Citibank http://www.nation.co.ke/...2/-/aoiprvz/-/index.html
#11 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 11:06:01 AM

Pre-tax profits [regional/Group] for 1Q 2011

Citibank 828,000,000 (Kenya)
DTB 879,506,000 (Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Burundi)
I&M 1,128,323 (Kenya, Mauritius, Tanzania)

Wow! So when does I&M go public [listed on NSE?] I think probably after 2012 elections so mid-2013?
Aguytrying
#12 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 5:33:19 PM

@investor. I guess you are right. I saw I & M results on a newspaper and i was in a hurry. So you may be right, plus vvs has given similar to yours.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#13 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 10:05:27 PM

@Wazua - This I&M Bank conversation is picking up steam. Is it possible to move the conversations over to a new topic?

"I&M Bank 2011"

I wish you allowed us to upload documents to Wazua so they can be stored like results, etc that we can scan from the newspapers & upload
Cde Monomotapa
#14 Posted : Saturday, May 21, 2011 10:17:58 AM

I think for fair/better comparison could u give figures for what banks were created to do..i.e collect deposits & make loans. This "other income" isn't quite an "across board" measure we can rely on. Thanks.
#15 Posted : Saturday, May 21, 2011 8:48:47 PM

@wazua - Good move. I am sure we will look back at this post in 2-3 years saying you read it here first!
#16 Posted : Saturday, May 21, 2011 8:49:50 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
I think for fair/better comparison could u give figures for what banks were created to do..i.e collect deposits & make loans. This "other income" isn't quite an "across board" measure we can rely on. Thanks.

LOL... Check out www.bankelele.blogspot.com who does his quarterly rankings for assets & PAT

This link will also help show the growth but not a comparison across banks

http://www.imbank.com/KE/inner.asp?cat=annurept
invest0r
#17 Posted : Sunday, May 22, 2011 9:28:15 AM

invest0r
#18 Posted : Sunday, May 22, 2011 9:29:52 AM

[quote=Cde Monomotapa]I think for fair/better comparison could u give figures for what banks were created to do..i.e collect deposits & make loans. This "other income" isn't quite an "across board" measure we can rely on. Thanks.

LOL... Check out www.bankelele.blogspot.com who does his quarterly rankings for assets & PAT

This link will also help show the growth but not a comparison across banks

http://www.imbank.com/KE/inner.asp?cat=annurept[/quote]
@VVS, that is well done ranking of banks. I&M is highly ranked than DTB. @Cde, other incomes are a key operating income in banks. Bond trading income comprises more than 70% of these other incomes. And there is some negative correlation between bond trading income and forex trading income, so the banks bottom line is not significantly affected when one of the income falls
#19 Posted : Sunday, May 22, 2011 9:53:38 AM

@investor @cde The 'Other Income' should be split up by [per CBK reporting guidelines] into Bond Trading & other income e.g. rent, etc

Some banks get rental income e.g.
I&M @ Kenyatta Ave building has Safaricom, Standard Newspapers, etc
NIC @ masaba rd has other tenants as well
KCB @ Hilton has most offices as non-KCB!!! Doctors, lawyers, etc

So it is better for analysts to get a more detailed quarterly look at the split between the Bond Trading Income & 'other' (non-core) income...
#20 Posted : Sunday, May 22, 2011 10:41:43 AM

Seems 2Q 2011 for banks will be 'ok' but 2H will be tough!
http://www.theeastafrica...-/14ykue5z/-/index.html

From SCB CEO Richard Etemesi