wazua Thu, Jul 31, 2025

speculative trading.
#1 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 11:37:06 AM

i can remember reading n this site about this, almost back to trading and this is what i plan to do, forgive my boiling blood which has made me a very impatient man ..at least for the last few years.
Starting off with C&G..no one is willing to sell..whats wrong with you pple?..i have 29 bob as my offer!!!!
#2 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 11:48:04 AM

mlefu wrote:
i can remember reading n this site about this, almost back to trading and this is what i plan to do, forgive my boiling blood which has made me a very impatient man ..at least for the last few years.
Starting off with C&G..no one is willing to sell..whats wrong with you pple?..i have 29 bob as my offer!!!!

I am confused... You want to sell or buy? Or both as QW would say...
[U say "no one is willing to sell" then "i have 29 bob as my offer!!!!?]
mwanahisa
#3 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 11:50:46 AM

@mlefu. Are you just trying to rile "the deal" or what? I can't even see your bid @29. There is but a single bid of 100 shares at 30.
#4 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 11:57:54 AM

ha good..so speculators still exist, tried jana at 29..buy..no one was willing to sell, tried today at 31..bado..
mwanahisa..can we be on the same page as in can you aid me to view bidsPray
mwanahisa
#5 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 11:58:18 AM

BTW, mlefu, shares in tightly held companies are probably the worst to speculate in. You make the money by getting in to these shares when they are completely out of favour and holding on to them for extended periods of time.

For speculation you are better of in buying into high trading volume shares. You just have to watch their trading cycles. As an example, I have made money countless times by buying and selling into and out of Mumias and Equity Bank. As for C & G, you need the patience of Job either to get in or out.
mwanahisa
#6 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 12:08:23 PM

mlefu wrote:
ha good..so speculators still exist, tried jana at 29..buy..no one was willing to sell, tried today at 31..bado..
mwanahisa..can we be on the same page as in can you aid me to view bidsPray

Hey man, while I wait for the likes of DTB to do 100%+, I need to have something to maintain my edge, so I do speculate from time to time. All the same the bulk of my portfolio is in long term positions - that's where I make the serious money.

To view the bids, especially on C&G, I suggest you register/log on to Rich.co.ke. But as mentioned above, C&G will just give you ulcers both on the way in and out!
the deal
#7 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 12:08:53 PM

SO this mlefu dude is the one who has bringing down the share wit 100 shares...some of us have thousands...nkt!
#8 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 12:11:09 PM

thank you.

I need to do this speculative thing.holding Money even in my bank account makes me one really useless man..i always end up in debts.

Mwanahisa..platform please..Rich..wewe wacha...i am sure you are on Nelly data...saidia pwana

the deal...Holding my breath.

the deal
#9 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 12:14:31 PM

mlefu what you are doing is share price manipulation...stop it immediately.
mwanahisa
#10 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 12:23:52 PM

the deal wrote:

....which is unethical if not quite illegalShame on you .
mwanahisa
#11 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 12:27:08 PM

mlefu wrote:
thank you.

I need to do this speculative thing.holding Money even in my bank account makes me one really useless man..i always end up in debts.

Mwanahisa..platform please..Rich..wewe wacha...i am sure you are on Nelly data...saidia pwana MY POST ABOVE INDICATED THAT YOU TRY RICH.CO.KE. I AM CFCFS ACTIVE LITE, BUT C & G SEEMS TO PRESENT A PROBLEM TO THEM AT TIMES.

the deal...Holding my breath.

#12 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 12:29:20 PM

its not..
sme pple are willing to sel at the lowest price,panic selling, some buy at highest price..panic buying, some buy at their own terms..speculators, other trade at mercy of the above...
making money ..the wise way.
the deal
#13 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 1:18:07 PM

@mlefu

What Does Manipulation Mean?
The act of artificially inflating or deflating the price of a security. In most cases, manipulation is illegal. It is much easier to manipulate the share price of smaller companies, such as penny stocks, because they are not as closely watched by analysts as the medium- and large-sized firms.

Also known as "price manipulation".
Investopedia Says
Investopedia explains Manipulation
One way people can deflate the price of a security is by placing hundreds of small orders at a significantly lower price than the one at which it has been trading. This gives investors the impression that there is something wrong with the company, so they sell, pushing the prices even lower. Another example of manipulation would be to place simultaneous buy and sell orders through different brokers that cancel each other out but give the perception, because of the higher volume, that there is increased interest in the security.
#14 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 1:30:08 PM

case closed.
Aguytrying
#15 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 5:06:52 PM

I like this guy already. Come to think of it mwanahisa, deal, myself and mlefu like to speculate. Why dont we support this thread, with our speculative plays. I had another thread 'bargains to buy from tomorrow'. I speculate with around 15% of my portfolio, to keep my blood flowing, as my long term takes its time.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Aguytrying
#16 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 5:15:04 PM

There are two kinds of speculative trading i do. The first one i like to call t minus 4. As in by the time the shares clear im out.minimal gains here, but nice. It requires eye hawk precision and timing, coz the opportunities dont last for long. I'm limiting these plays to shares i 'trust'. Example recent cfcsh dipped to 54.00, i woulda been so in. Next day best bid was 52.00 which i matched but didn't get. the other one can take a few months. I wouldn't blink twice placing a low bid, im a buyer there are sellers. But the one of bidding down and selling up simultaneously is just plain wrong.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#17 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 5:39:42 PM

mwanahisa wrote:
the deal wrote:

....which is unethical if not quite illegalShame on you .

No. It is NOT 'manipulation'... He has put the bid out on the Board... You can either out-bid him or sell to him.

The problem is the lack of liquidity of C&G.

@the deal - If the shares are 'cheap' at 29/- then you should also bid. If they are pricey at 31/- then you should sell!!!
#18 Posted : Friday, May 20, 2011 5:43:23 PM

the deal wrote:
Also known as "price manipulation".
Investopedia Says
Investopedia explains Manipulation
One way people can deflate the price of a security is by placing hundreds of small orders at a significantly lower price than the one at which it has been trading. This gives investors the impression that there is something wrong with the company, so they sell, pushing the prices even lower. Another example of manipulation would be to place simultaneous buy and sell orders through different brokers that cancel each other out but give the perception, because of the higher volume, that there is increased interest in the security.

So @mlefu did neither. He did not place multiple bids at lower prices. He placed a bid for 100 shares! Neither did he make multiple trades using different brokers!

The folks affected by 'manipulation' are generally speculators. If I have the cash & prices 'drop' I jump in to buy!!! Look at KK at 9.40...!
Aguytrying
#19 Posted : Friday, May 27, 2011 12:13:52 PM

Scangroup. Bought at 50.00. I've acquired it over the last few days. Time to sit back and see. I had an eye on unga at 8.60 but the universe conspired against my bid. Others to note. Pan africa. 44.50, c and g 30.00, cfc 54.50. But i've opted for scan. Lets see how it goes.
The Merchant
#20 Posted : Friday, May 27, 2011 12:42:12 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
Scangroup. Bought at 50.00. I've acquired it over the last few days. Time to sit back and see. I had an eye on unga at 8.60 but the universe conspired against my bid. Others to note. Pan africa. 44.50, c and g 30.00, cfc 54.50. But i've opted for scan. Lets see how it goes.

Looking to get in at 50 also...Drool