wazua Fri, Aug 1, 2025

Kenya Re Insurance Undervalued
the deal
#1 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 5:49:46 PM

Whats bad about Kenya Re?

1. Heavy Government influence, the Government of Kenya (GOK) owns about 60% of total number of issued shares thus the Company is exposed to the red tape and inefficiencies associated with government owned entities

2. Well run and efficient reinsurers like Swiss Re are fast encroaching on Kenya Re's turf.

3. Kenya Re is yet to appoint its Chief Executive Officer since the former C.E.O's term expired, this is not good for the Company because every Company needs leadership to drive it forward

4. The mandatory Concessions which where recently extended expires in 2015, it remains to be seen if the Company grow its business without this mandatory Concessions.

Kenya Re as an Investment Case.

1. Net Average Value Ksh 15
2. EPS Ksh 2.20
3. Trailing PE Ksh 4.52

4. Kenya Re has a 25% stake in reinsurer PTA Africa
5. As of 31-12-2009 they had Ksh 2 Billion as an investment in quoted shares, considering the NSE closed as as the best performing market( Up 36% in 2010) alone i expect significant upside on that investment and that will reflect on their books.
6. They have been on an expansion off late entering new markets in West Africa
7. They have a top class property portfolio

Entire article here http://contrarianinvesti...ance-is-undervalued.html
the deal
#2 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 11:29:48 AM

fantastic results from from EA Re...the insurer in which Jubilee has a 20% stake...is that an omen for Kenya Re...the 9.90-10 bob pivot seems to be holding as we move towards end of April...will it be a sour month end or boom?
amolo
#3 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 12:37:23 PM

Best of luck, you'll need it if you want to put your money in Kenya Re. Maybe you also diversify a bit to Eveready and AK.. if you are determined to commit suicide, you need more than one noose!
For Sport
#4 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 1:11:49 PM

Question is, is anything happenning there? They keep reporting they’re doing this or that to improve their bottom line. This year for instance, they are supposed to triple their mortgage loan book to tap into the EA market....anything on this yet?
http://www.businessweek....ge-expansion-plans.html

P.S. I hold a few
#5 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 2:27:05 PM

amolo wrote:
Best of luck, you'll need it if you want to put your money in Kenya Re. Maybe you also diversify a bit to Eveready and AK.. if you are determined to commit suicide, you need more than one noose!

Considering their substancial investment in real estate and the nse, i belief there is a lot of upside potential.
Cde Monomotapa
#6 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 3:32:21 PM

No comment.
the deal
#7 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 9:53:26 PM

This is the last plane to Loliando...get in or stay out....pump pump pump...LMAO.
Aguytrying
#8 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 11:56:18 PM

the deal wrote:
This is the last plane to Loliando...get in or stay out....pump pump pump...LMAO.

the low P.e is calling me.......
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#9 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 12:23:47 AM

Though the market was up around 35 p.c last year, let's just hope that KRE's major holdings don't include Eveready and Olympia. Or a stake in a certain Embakasi Ranching CompanyLaughing out loudly
the deal
#10 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 9:01:06 AM

hahaha @youcant dnt crack me its still 9AM...lets hope they dont have any of those....Unga included...i rmbr how Wazua eagerly anticipated Ugali first dividend in a century...quick stats: in 2009 their financial assets had a loss of 284M Ksh
#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 11:04:34 AM

amolo wrote:

Considering their substancial investment in real estate and the nse, i belief there is a lot of upside potential.

The last time I checked Kenya RE had a restriction on investment on fixed assets[real estate]... [something to do with a limit of 35% of its assets]

Investment in shares in the NSE should not be something to look forward to in the short term, given that we are headed to an uncertain future due to upcoming elections and Hague proceedings, which might impact negatively on the NSE due to foreign investors getting jittery.

#12 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 11:42:28 AM

the deal wrote:
hahaha @youcant dnt crack me its still 9AM...lets hope they dont have any of those....Unga included...i rmbr how Wazua eagerly anticipated Ugali first dividend in a century...quick stats: in 2009 their financial assets had a loss of 284M Ksh

I think they were among the top 10 shareholders of KCB at the time of the rights issue. Let's hope they took up their rights (or more)
erifloss
#13 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 12:01:38 PM

Whatever happened to Jubilee's insurance biz might happen to them as they had and still have one common problem, prescence in Ivory Coast.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
the deal
#14 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 12:42:22 PM

Ofcourse Kenya Re is among the top 10 shareholders in EABL and KCB...
miser
#15 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 4:13:40 PM

Huenda ni nyani lachanwa hapa na kupakwa mafuta!Lakini kama mfanyi kazi hii atafaulu,nadhani nitafaidika kwani katika ghala langu,hawa nyani wapo tele!Na kwa wale pengine wameungana nasi hivi karibuni na hawana habari nyani ninaye mtaja hapa ni yupi,basi hadithi ndio hii ifuatayo...lakini tahadhari ni kwamba, cheka tu mpaka wakati ule utakuta hawa nyani wakikukondolea macho katika ghala lako..hapo ndipo utatililikwa na machozi ndo! ndo! ndo!

"Once upon a time, in a place overrun with monkeys, a trader appeared and announced to the villagers that he would buy monkeys for Ksh.100 each. The villagers’ response was overwhelming! The trader bought thousands of monkeys at Ksh.100 and as supply diminished, they became harder to catch, so the villagers relaxed.

The man hiked the price to Ksh.200 for each one. This renewed the efforts of the villagers! But soon the supply diminished further and became harder to catch.The people started going back to their farms and forgot about the monkey business(pun intended)!

The trader increased his price to Ksh.250 each and the supply of monkeys became so scarce that it was an effort to even see a monkey, much less to catch one. The trader now hiked the price to Ksh.500! However, he had to go to the city on some business errand; his assistant a.k.a broker would now buy on his behalf.

While the trader was away, the broker told the villagers, “Look at all these monkeys in the cage that my boss has bought.I will sell them to you at Ksh.350 each and when he returns from the city, you can sell them to him for Ksh.500 each!” With gusto and an eye for a profit,the villagers pooled up(Chamad) all their savings and bought all the monkeys in the cage. And the waiting begun….. only plenty of monkeys they(villagers) could see everywhere but neither the trader nor his broker!"

Aliye na wakati na atafsiri hii ngano!
Layman
#16 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 6:09:16 PM

.....someone had posted this thing here sometimes back
jerry
#17 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 8:14:36 PM

Layman wrote:
.....someone had posted this thing here sometimes back

>>hii ni stori tu. I'm buying KenyaRe in droves!
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
the deal
#18 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 11:12:08 AM

News just reaching me...Kenya Re finally has appointed a new MD
For Sport
#19 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 11:21:39 AM

the deal wrote:

who?
the deal
#20 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 11:35:08 AM

For Sport wrote:
the deal wrote:

who?

Mr Jadiah Mwarania he is no more acting MD...he has taken over permanantly...they must be satisfied with what he has done.