Investor
Stocks
SAfaricom Feeling the heat on voice revenues.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/13/2009 Posts: 1,950 Location: in kenya
In the papers today it has been revealed the extent of the dent this price war has made on safaricom's voice segment.apparently safaricom was making 800,000 calls a day in 2010 now it is making 365,000 calls a day.if we we to translate that into revenue loss it would be billion of shillings. '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
That's really strange, I thought according to "experts" here on Wazua, Airtel will have NO effect on Safcom revenues...Kenyans don't care about call costs or quality, they just love Safcom coz its a "kenyan" company and helps build Kenya! Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
I'll call with the cheapest line at he prevailing rates Kenyan or No Kenyan company, I just need to watch my expenditure on everything - life is tough as it is! If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
Selah, Where is the link!!! Revenue per day has definitely gone down, but not number of calls, I can bet 100USD on that!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
@Chairman, Let's blame it on Kenyans peculiar habits of not calling when they are supposed to. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
@MCreggae its on todays smart company. The CEO is worried about that and when the MNP come into effect nxt month be assured more drop in voice calls. The fight now will be in value addition I foresee an overhaul of its customer care section where most complaint are as well as enhancing the quality of its network. BOB has an arsenal which for the time being will be very critical In this transition period-Mpesa.Airtel is wasting its money advertising for MNP instead of enhancing its Zap solution in terms of increasing its agent No.s.Safaricom will still lock its customers bcoz of Mpesa. '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
McReggae wrote:Selah, Where is the link!!! Revenue per day has definitely gone down, but not number of calls, I can bet 100USD on that!!!! here come the experts!!! I told you Airtel has zero effect...there are Wazuans willing to bet money on it. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Rank: Member Joined: 3/5/2008 Posts: 532 Location: Nairobi
selah wrote:@MCreggae its on todays smart company.
The CEO is worried about that and when the MNP come into effect nxt month be assured more drop in voice calls.
The fight now will be in value addition I foresee an overhaul of its customer care section where most complaint are as well as enhancing the quality of its network.
BOB has an arsenal which for the time being will be very critical In this transition period-Mpesa.Airtel is wasting its money advertising for MNP instead of enhancing its Zap solution in terms of increasing its agent No.s.Safaricom will still lock its customers bcoz of Mpesa. 5cheers dude..voice revenue streams will shrink a bit but number of calls per day will remain the same or may even go up.With reducing tariffs on voice, more calls are made for the same cost.sleep and dream innovation and vas.On this safcom is way up there and are going big on mobile apps. Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. –Albert Einstein.
Other than the number of their voice calls going down by a whooping 55% what's also more shocking is their own research shows 7 out of 8 calls DO NOT go through!!
Rank: Member Joined: 12/18/2009 Posts: 316 Location: nairobi
livie wrote:I'll call with the cheapest line at he prevailing rates Kenyan or No Kenyan company, I just need to watch my expenditure on everything - life is tough as it is! my sentiments too- its becoming tougher day by day, we need to be smarter God loves a Trier!
annsal wrote:livie wrote:I'll call with the cheapest line at he prevailing rates Kenyan or No Kenyan company, I just need to watch my expenditure on everything - life is tough as it is! my sentiments too- its becoming tougher day by day, we need to be smarter Wazua telco experts will tell you that you are a minority. The majority of Kenyans don't care about price or quality, they only care about how Safaricon is Kenyan. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
KulaRaha wrote:annsal wrote:livie wrote:I'll call with the cheapest line at he prevailing rates Kenyan or No Kenyan company, I just need to watch my expenditure on everything - life is tough as it is! my sentiments too- its becoming tougher day by day, we need to be smarter Wazua telco experts will tell you that you are a minority. The majority of Kenyans don't care about price or quality, they only care about how Safaricon is Kenyan. I think apart from a few of us in wazua very few kenyans have any brand loyalty.I was surprised to find my mum has an airtel line...she has several safaricom shares BTW ,Now I will be forced to buy one also so that we can talk cheaply. as I said earlier safaricom must pray that the other telcos do not crack their Mpesa Code. '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
Comment by Anthony Kang'ethe in the Daily Nation today: "Number Portability Side Effects: With the new [MNP service] there is no way of telling whether the call you are about to make is on-net or off-net. This is a serious oversight that is a violation of the consumer right to know the cost before purchase. A pre-requesite should be removal of on-net/off-net cost deferential" "All intelligent investing is value investing -- acquiring more than you are paying for. You must value the business in order to value the stock." - Charlie Munger.
earthvoice wrote:Comment by Anthony Kang'ethe in the Daily Nation today: "Number Portability Side Effects: With the new [MNP service] there is no way of telling whether the call you are about to make is on-net or off-net. This is a serious oversight that is a violation of the consumer right to know the cost before purchase. A pre-requesite should be removal of on-net/off-net cost deferential" But it was Safcon that fought to have interconnectivity charges left so high...every other telco fought for a drop. Anyways, Kenyans dont mind paying more for calls as long as they use Safcon, so no need to worry, all is well! Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Rank: Member Joined: 12/18/2009 Posts: 316 Location: nairobi
Wazua telco experts will tell you that you are a minority. The majority of Kenyans don't care about price or quality, they only care about how Safaricon is Kenyan. [/quote] Wazua Telco experts - ni kina nani hawa? God loves a Trier!
annsal wrote:
Wazua telco experts will tell you that you are a minority. The majority of Kenyans don't care about price or quality, they only care about how Safaricon is Kenyan.
Wazua Telco experts - ni kina nani hawa? [/quote] Just read this discussion na utawajua but bado wote hawajitokeza give them sometime.
synergia wrote:annsal wrote:
Wazua telco experts will tell you that you are a minority. The majority of Kenyans don't care about price or quality, they only care about how Safaricon is Kenyan.
Wazua Telco experts - ni kina nani hawa? Just read this discussion na utawajua but bado wote hawajitokeza give them sometime.[/quote] Most must be busy re-applying for their jobs in the upcoming downsizing, which they predicted would never happen. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
If Airtel listens,the magic for Zap is to allow the subscribers to send money pap into any networks' account!If you don't know what I mean,try to send pesa from Safcon account to A zap account....nightmare before it lands in your hands!We have not even started to talk about the expense incurred and the time wasted!Oh! its another name/strategy for 'locking-up' subscribers.Proprietary rights...my foot!!!
 He he he nice one Kula Raha, By the way have you ever noticed the way the Wazua teleco experts are die hards when it comes to Safaricon they defend the company like its there life.We need to be reasonable guyz.Im just waiting for April to see the financials for safaricom. KulaRaha wrote:synergia wrote:annsal wrote:
Wazua Telco experts - ni kina nani hawa? Just read this discussion na utawajua but bado wote hawajitokeza give them sometime. Most must be busy re-applying for their jobs in the upcoming downsizing, which they predicted would never happen.[/quote]
earthvoice wrote:Comment by Anthony Kang'ethe in the Daily Nation today: "Number Portability Side Effects: With the new [MNP service] there is no way of telling whether the call you are about to make is on-net or off-net. This is a serious oversight that is a violation of the consumer right to know the cost before purchase. A pre-requesite should be removal of on-net/off-net cost deferential" If the number has ported there will be some 3 beeps before call set up!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Investor
Stocks
SAfaricom Feeling the heat on voice revenues.