Health
LETS JOIN ANYANG NYONG'Os FIGHT
Rank: New-farer Joined: 6/15/2010 Posts: 31 Location: nairobi
the most refreshing news this weekend was about Anyang Nyong'os new mission in life. A mission to see to it that Kenya has facilities to treat cancer! I believe rather than following the politicking lot, we should all lend a hand in this endevour! With Kenya having an annual budget of close to a trillion the govt should set aside 10 billion or so so set up a modern facilities to tackle specifically cancer and kidney failure related problems! Why not make is mandatory to have a modern functional dialysis equipment is each provincial hospital for example Its so little an amount, yet its a matter of life and death to alot of families having patients with cancer or patient who have to queue at Kenyatta national hospital for a dialysis! Its a worthy cause, better than this ICC deferral stuff! my 5 cents
These are good intentions but misplaced priorities. We should strive to treat more common illnesses such as malaria, diarrhoea and pneumonia. Maternal deaths in Kenya are some of the highest in the world. We should sort out our provision of primary care first, which is inexpensive. Setting up cancer centres is like constructing airports in migori while the roads are awful. Train more medical personnel to deal with common ailments,train more public health workers(who should be employed)
Idiot!!!.... He eats Kshs 2,500 lunch at Serena while more than half Kenyans earn less than 80 bob a day....reverse that and all else will fall in place without making missions....NKT!! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/13/2009 Posts: 1,950 Location: in kenya
@peglo thats the problem right there, the government policies are driven by emotions.Cancer cases have been increasing especially among kids nothing concrete has ever been done to alleviate the problem, now since a minister has been diagnosed with one, its being treated as a government priority. The most interesting thing is how the minister joined the divisive local politics upon his arrival by promising to deal with the people attacking the PM.When will he get the time to lobby the government for more funding of cancer diagnostic and treatment equipment when he is embroiled in the 2012 politics. More action than talk is needed to fight this disease. '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
Bidanya Barassa and her fight with colon cancer This month's cover of TrueLove
muganda, do you know BB.....ama you just read the story????...mmmmmh a small world!!!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Nyong'o could acheive a lot by shelving the proposed extortionate NHIF plan. Not every problem can be solved by throwing money or emotions at it. If well thought out, the NHIF thing could go a long way in achieving his mission, but I am not holding my breath waiting for his announcement. The fact is that Kenya's healthcare system is in the gutters and no one is doing anything to reform it. The result as someone has pointed out is that so many Kenyans especially kids under 5 die of preventable diseases. Sorting the mess in the healthcare system will never happen using the top bottom approach the professor is advocating. Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
McReggae wrote:muganda, do you know BB.....ama you just read the story????...mmmmmh a small world!!!!!! @McBhang, is she lady I saw last night on K24 who had her entire Colo,Rectum and an*** removed? I felt for her, aki.I pray for her. @Njung'e, and now to achieve the Nyong's latest drive for health, he is now determined more than ever before to ensure that you pay more money under NHIF;kindu 5K if u earn more than 100K. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/13/2010 Posts: 869 Location: Nairobi
It is a pity that it took having cancer for the Prof to get the real picture on the lack of cancer care centers in Kenya... I am assuming he has the real picture.. So many people have died waiting for care!!!! Incidentally, his late brother was a very good pathologist who sadly died in a nasty accident on Ngong Rd (Near Uchumi Hyper), he was then the Chief Pathologist at Nairobi Hospital. ....above all, to stand.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/9/2010 Posts: 894 Location: Nairobi
This Nyong'o story is funny, this guy is talking like he has just discovered this cancer disease like Isaac Newton and the gravity stuff. I thought that upon arrival he would declare war on cancer by setting a Nyong'o foundation, only for the guy to declare war on Raila's enemies. @Peglo you need to tell us where we are joining him coz there isn't a cause/mission for us to follow him to. Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
"We will make Kenya ungovernable!" TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
simonkabz wrote:"We will make Kenya ungovernable!" "Economic sabotage" "Mass action" Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Yet in all honesty,the bure professa did not know how to carry out a simple check on his ball's state....Do you really need a doctor to do that?....A mechanic can check your balls for PC!!....PooH!! Anyway,let's pray that many more ministers (Possibly all of them)can be hit by all possible ailments,travel to US for treatment and come back with a "mission"....hopefully,by 2030,we will have centres for makende cancer,roho,matumbo,maini....Bollocks! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/13/2009 Posts: 1,950 Location: in kenya
Njung'e wrote:Yet in all honesty,the bure professa did not know how to carry out a simple check on his ball's state....Do you really need a doctor to do that?....A mechanic can check your balls for PC!!....PooH!! Anyway,let's pray that many more ministers (Possibly all of them)can be hit by all possible ailments,travel to US for treatment and come back with a "mission"....hopefully,by 2030,we will have centres for makende cancer,roho,matumbo,maini....Bollocks! THE topic is not a laughing matter But what The hell this post is hilarious '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
@Selah!, Unacheka nini??...Kenyans just discovered kuna cancer ya makende!!.....and now we are going to have a Makende centre!!....Brari gasket!...Then tomorrow another minister will discover fish can feed on ugali and sukuma wiki....then we will have a fish feeding mission.I can't stand this kind of jinga thinking...NKT!! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Rank: Member Joined: 8/2/2010 Posts: 480 Location: chokoo
@Karqui, Nime-relax dear plug/socket.....Thing is,leaders should be sensitive about Kenyan's problems long before this "wake-up" calls.How many Kenyans have far much worse conditions than his?.You can't compare this case with say brain cancer,malaria,njaa,Aids,Cervical cancer,TB,heart,kidney,liver and many more worse ailments.At least i can do without makende but not a head....enuff said! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
@Njung'e Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Health
LETS JOIN ANYANG NYONG'Os FIGHT