wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Kenya's case may fry the ICC Pt II
#1 Posted : Sunday, February 20, 2011 12:10:42 PM

ICC developing cold feet. Surprised by Kenya's ability to get AU by its side n decision to go thru the UN security council rather than dealing with the court directly. Apparently, The court had assumed Kenyans' capabilities hence the state's reaction has left it perplexed. Told u guys, this case that the ICC decided to take up may end up at its detriment. Now an imminent fallout between the court n African states looms. The stories u are hearing of ICC urging Kenya to go thr it directly on the defferal matters are actually veiled requests.....yaani wanatuomba tuwache kuwaharibia......I think ocampo miscalculated, and his irrational decisions (picking an irrelevant case while numerous GENOCIDE suspects roam free) will leave the institution in a credibility crisis, wallowing in instability.
#2 Posted : Sunday, February 20, 2011 1:30:34 PM

Its a bad thing comparing Kenya the jewel of east africa with countries like Liberia, Sierra Leone, Congo e.t.c. we should take the decision of cleaning up our poop rather than transferring our case to others - our Institutions are becoming empowered. Lets put up a local mechanism with International support like Cambodia and show the world we can.

-- Every easy choice today will have its consequence tomorrow
Karema Hiti
#3 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 11:05:45 AM

It is now official, Ocampo miscalculated his steps. Questions are even being raised at Hague itself on the criteria RAO's pentagon used to sacrifice WR & HK while the real schemers are let out of the hook.
The solution to our problems is right here at home. Let Kenya put together a strong and credible judicial system and have these trials conducted right here. It is admirable the way Rwanda has managed its 'gacheche' local courts.
#4 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 11:14:41 AM

Shame on you @Simo,

We know that we had better sort this thing by ourselves. It is embarrasing that we send this thing to another person to solve it. But who can we trust to sort this political criminality in Kenya. We could not even touch the local pharmacists!!!! Shame on you

Truth be told, we do NOT have the capacity to handle these hearings of PEV on Kenya.... Which is a shame to us coz Rwanda did it ( under another gov though.)

For now, Hague is the brightest hope for the Victims is the Hague.If the hague fails, nothing stops us from doing it here.
#5 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 11:15:08 AM

Did someone say Kenya is the jewel of East Africa? Laughing out loudly

It's more like the sick man of East Africa
#6 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 11:26:01 AM

thimioni,
...don't you see how the 0-six are running scared in town????
#7 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 12:08:13 PM

@jahman, so is ICC. MO lit a fire n its charring ICC's arse hehehe
X13united
#8 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 12:13:30 PM

Ask yourselve. Why is RAO,KIBZ,RUTS n UHURU so so specific as to who should be the AG n CJ? Wagala came n robbed us thousand. 92 came,n the so called youths up graded all that was done in the wagala. The same perpetrators(Kenyans) polished their art of killing,rapin n destroying property an again nothing whatsoever was done. If that was nt enough,07 came n we reharsed our prowess. We do nt need fourty two rocket scientists to tell us this. Our solution is in the ICC,n in Kenya ,if n only if we are one tribe called Kenya.
si_cheki_ovyo_ovyo
#9 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 1:40:09 PM

Karema Hiti wrote:
It is now official, Ocampo miscalculated his steps. Questions are even being raised at Hague itself on the criteria RAO's pentagon used to sacrifice WR & HK while the real schemers are let out of the hook.
The solution to our problems is right here at home. Let Kenya put together a strong and credible judicial system and have these trials conducted right here. It is admirable the way Rwanda has managed its 'gacheche' local courts.

Oh, sweet sounding words........'let kenya put together a strong and credible judicial system.......the solution to our problems is right here at home.'

Right, lets have water for all by the year 2000....ooops! Maneno tupu. What indicator can we observe right now as we speak that kenya is on track and will have that strong and credible judicial system?

What we have is suspects pushing for certain individuals to form the backbone of that strong and credible judicial system. Quite some indicator! Dont you think?
#10 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 2:29:08 PM

Wacheni kumutate thread yangu.
#11 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 2:56:04 PM

@jahman, so is ICC. MO lit a fire n its charring ICC's arse hehehe

@thimioni, looking at all your responses across various threads, you would really like to see these people go free? or even make president?right? and I'm sure you like baks nominations too...
#12 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 7:51:35 PM

@Robinhood, let me educate you about Kenya has the highest human development index in the whole of Eastern Africa. It has the second largest economy. It has undergone a long period of peace, It is an sports giant e.t.c.
Comparing this country to the likes of sierra leone, Liberia, Sudan and Congo is the biggest insult you would do to yourself.
Remember that if a local process fails - we could still send them to the Hague!!!
Whats the worst ICC can do? It cannot hang this people if found guilty, we can!! we can place this people in stinky kenyan cells, at the ICC they will have tv, nice cells, gym time in some european jail - remember that the ICC process has not gone thru the first stage. it may not even make it to the pretrial chamber!!!
#13 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 8:57:55 PM

@ nostop, If RAO is free, yes, they should go free. If u thnk RAO can make a gud prezzo, so can Ruto, UK etc. Actually, I dnt give a hoot since the nxt prezzo will be a lame duck by n large. Yes, I admire baks big time, huyo mzee hata hajui nini inaendelea, ako tu! He makes life interesting with his kuzubaa n kunyamaza, keeping us guessing his nxt move (goof). As pertains nominations, siyui nisupport, siyui nikatae no yes no huhuhuhu huhuhuhu
B.Timer
#14 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 11:13:29 AM

@SimonKabz
I am beginning to see some credibility in your sentiments.

Yesterday while speaking to a friend, who by dint of what they do, gets to meet many of the Diplomats working here, said to me things akin to the sentiments espoused in your thread - of course gathered from the many discussions and workshops held by the diplomats.

Last evening Jeff Koinange once again interviewed David Matsanga, an expert in conflict resolution...., and well versed in the workings of international bodies - UN and its affiliates such as ICC.

He was more radical in his dismissal of ICC and the chances it stands with the Kenyan cases!!

Ocampo may have bitten more than he could chew!!!

Make no mistake about it, I want PEV perpetrators punished, but I am afraid I lost faith in Ocampo the moment he read out the names of people he wanted to indict.

The ommisions - too grave for me!!!!

It's a messed up affair!!
Dunia ni msongamano..
si_cheki_ovyo_ovyo
#15 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 11:53:36 AM

B.Timer wrote:

@SimonKabz
I am begining to see some credibility in your sentiments.

Yesterday while speaking to a friend, who by dint of what they do, gets to meet many of the Diplomats working here, said things akin to the sentiments espoused in your thread - of course gathered from the many discussions and workshops held by the diplomats.

Last evening Jeff Koinange once again interviewed David Matsanga, an expert in conflict resolution, and well versed in the workings of international bodies UN and its affiliates such as ICC.

He was more radical in his dismissal of ICC and the chances it stands with the Kenyan cases!!

Ocampo may have bitten more than he could chew!!!

Make no mistake about it, I want PEV perpetrators punished, but I am afraid I lost faith in Ocampo the moment he read out the names of people he wanted to indict.
The ommisions was too grave for me!!!!

David Matsanga?
a) You mean the Ugandan who purports to know kenya authoritatively?
b) You mean the david matsanga who was once the LRA spin doctor? Who believed the LRA was an organisation to be supported?
c) You mean the david matsanga who believes Joseph Kony, who has an ICC arrest warrant on his head, is for peace in Uganda?

an expert in conflict resolution, and well versed in the workings of international bodies UN and its affiliates such as ICC

Yeah Right! d'oh!

Garbage in, garbage out. You should know that. I also listened to him. That is more radical in dismissing ICC should not surprise anyone. His boss, friend and ex-employer is in hiding literally in the bushes, thickets and growth, fearing arrest by ICC goddamnit!!!!
Kenyan Kop
#16 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 12:05:30 PM

@si_cheki_ovyo_ovyo you mean you are an expert in LRA and NRM conflict?
gadj
#17 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 12:14:57 PM

I hear some Kenyans calling for a local solution, but when i image the likes of UK, Ruto, HK in Kamiti cooling their heels waiting to be tried by a Kenyan judge and i say it will never happen. If the gava is serious about a local tribunal it would have sacked the likes of muthaura, UK & Ali long time ago. Please my fellow Kenyans ICC is the real deal.
#18 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 12:16:31 PM

@si_cheki_ovyo_ovyo, believe me! The reason Kony is hidding in thickets and bushes is not the fear of ICC but the fear of M7. ICC has no arresting arm on its own. ICC has as much power as you grant them.
Hata M7 agrees.
B.Timer
#19 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 12:22:14 PM

Kenyan Kop wrote:
@si_cheki_ovyo_ovyo you mean you are an expert in LRA and NRM conflict?

Thanks for bringing out the irony!!!

We are dealing with a case of refusing to take the message because you dislike the messenger!!

Choosing to be captive to history.
Dunia ni msongamano..
si_cheki_ovyo_ovyo
#20 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 12:31:52 PM

Whereas David Matsanga is free to give his opinion and advice, those to whom they appear sound should check from where is he giving those opinions and advices.

The irony, B.Timer, is believing and propagating anything and everything one hears and comes across so long as it satisfies just one condition; it supports ones' current position.