wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

Je Matumbo ni Nyama?
niando
#1 Posted : Monday, February 07, 2011 2:36:38 PM

There has been discouragement of consumption of red meat which has kept me asking this question.Is matumbo part of red meat ama ni white meat?

If white , then why cant people be encouraged to consume matumbo instead of red meat?

what are some dangers of eating well cooked matumbos?
Can prolonged consumption of Matumbo cause gouts ?
For bookkeeping and bank loan interest recalculation try us:niando.becia@gmail.com
#2 Posted : Monday, February 07, 2011 3:14:07 PM

@ niando,

there is absolutely no danger of eating well prepared matumbo...in fact for the sake of satisfaction and the feeling that you have eaten some flesh, matumbo is the thing...

the only problem is that the matumbo has no nutrional value to the body...that is as per the medics...

the same applies to the intestines, but the intestines are a bit unique...once the intestines have been emptied manually the little stuff that remains in the intestines has a medicinal value...the mistake that butchers make is puting a hose on one end and opening the tap for a blast...and the real important pulp in the intestines lining is washed away.....smile

Njore
#3 Posted : Monday, February 07, 2011 3:31:24 PM

In the first place what is 'nyama'? If it is flesh of an animal, a bird or a reptile, then 'matumbo' and 'kaigangio' are also flesh. It is now up to you to decide which one to be turned into a meal.
petro08
#4 Posted : Monday, February 07, 2011 3:42:34 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
@ niando,

there is absolutely no danger of eating well prepared matumbo...in fact for the sake of satisfaction and the feeling that you have eaten some flesh, matumbo is the thing...

the only problem is that the matumbo has no nutrional value to the body...that is as per the medics...

the same applies to the intestines, but the intestines are a bit unique...once the intestines have been emptied manually the little stuff that remains in the intestines has a medicinal value...the mistake that butchers make is puting a hose on one end and opening the tap for a blast...and the real important pulp in the intestines lining is washed away.....smile

@Kagangio

Wee wacha...weka link ya kusema that the little stuff that remains in the intestines has a medicinal value
#5 Posted : Monday, February 07, 2011 3:46:04 PM

"There has been discouragement of consumption of red meat which has kept me asking this question.Is matumbo part of red meat ama ni white meat?"
I find that most recommended foods for a healthy lifestyle are dreadful to eat,..(think tofu, asparagus, broccoli, boiled cabbage etc), I am not able to torture myself by forcing these down my throat...eat some red meat, drink some beer or wine and kick a ball about every now and then, lift a few weights, walk..or jog. All in moderation. You will be set. Eat and exercise. Its the lesser evil.
#6 Posted : Monday, February 07, 2011 3:49:17 PM

Red meat refer to meat that has high level of myoglobin which makes the meat to turn red but when it comes to issues concerning health it refers to meat that is unhealthy due to the concentration of cholesterol or saturated fat.

Matumbo although white in colour is actually unhealthy due to cholesterol/saturated fat.It is therefore classified as red meat.
#7 Posted : Monday, February 07, 2011 4:12:23 PM

niando wrote:
There has been discouragement of consumption of red meat which has kept me asking this question.Is matumbo part of red meat ama ni white meat?

If white , then why cant people be encouraged to consume matumbo instead of red meat?

Can prolonged consumption of Matumbo cause gouts ?

Bangi imewashwa as early as Monday...

#8 Posted : Monday, February 07, 2011 4:22:39 PM

petro08 wrote:

Wee wacha...weka link ya kusema that the little stuff that remains in the intestines has a medicinal value

Hii ni mambo mababu ya mababu zetu walijua kutoka zamani. Hakuna link kama vile hakuna link ya kusema Ugali wa wimbi na samaki ni lishe bora hata ingawa sote tunajua ni kweli. Link ni za kisomo cha wazungu.
#9 Posted : Monday, February 07, 2011 5:15:15 PM

Mimi sijui,Guka's input missing in this. I know he has eaten many of these. Vile zinakuanga soft kwa wazee.Maybe akiachiliwa atatuambia.

Lakini Wazuans si we changa for guka aachiliwe?

Maybe start a Release Guka Fund smile smile smile ya bond .
Haki mututho amekosea guka!!!!

#10 Posted : Monday, February 07, 2011 5:43:22 PM

niando wrote:

Addiction.
Note matumbos are not meant to be thoroughly washed, wacha ninino kidogo, which when cooked with onions, nyanyas n pilipili added kwa umbali is terribly sweet esp. when served with a generous helping of african cake (ugz).

But for Nbi-based goats/cattle, wash thoroughly as their eating habits are very peculiar (like their human counterparts) - indeed some nbi goats from certain quarters i will not mention will not eat leftover chips if hazina tomato sauce.
#11 Posted : Monday, February 07, 2011 6:29:53 PM

Mimi sijui,Guka's input missing in this. I know he has eaten many of these. Vile zinakuanga soft kwa wazee.Maybe akiachiliwa atatuambia.

Lakini Wazuans si we changa for guka aachiliwe?

Maybe start a Release Guka Fund smile smile smile ya bond .
Haki mututho amekosea guka!!!!

Guka is a dealer with safaricom (low revenues), a bar owner (mututho law) and had bought a 14-seater matatu (oblivious of the fact that it was not going to be registered for PSV). Sasa zote zimempata.
#12 Posted : Monday, February 07, 2011 6:32:39 PM

Matumbo being meat is relative to where you live. In some vibandas, they tell you, "Nyama imeisha, lakini tuna matumbo, osuga, madondo..."
petro08
#13 Posted : Monday, February 07, 2011 9:13:16 PM

petro08 wrote:

Hii ni mambo mababu ya mababu zetu walijua kutoka zamani. Hakuna link kama vile hakuna link ya kusema Ugali wa wimbi na samaki ni lishe bora hata ingawa sote tunajua ni kweli. Link ni za kisomo cha wazungu.

@kusadikika

I surely have never heard of that. Medicinal value? okay, I choose not to believe and I choose also not to deny.
Tommy
#14 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 8:10:06 PM

where i come from they say "ona mahu no nyama" .but me i think that this was the men's excuses when they didn't have enough money for actual meat.
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
raszag
#15 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 9:12:11 PM

Link below has answers for Tripe and the other kinds of meat...

http://www.facebook.com/...66275644&topic=8347

Even though the discussion is mostly in regards to pets, it's still informative....In summary

TRIPE :

Tripe is the common term for the stomach lining of cattle and sheep.

Most tripe sold for HC has been washed in boiling water and bleached. Green tripe is the term used for un-processed tripe and is highly nutritious as a meat source. It is very low in fat (2%), highly glandular (contains enzymes), and is loaded with probiotic micro-organisms. Tripe is also a 'white" meat (meaning it has a low amount of myoglobin, the protein that makes red meat red), and has historically been used for dogs with sensitive digestive tracts, or food allergies. I have utilised tripe for some time now as an alternate to kangaroo meat for treating difficult cases of allergic dermatitis in dogs (and occasionally cats) with great results.

SUMMARY - TRIPE
Tripe is very affordable, but can be difficult to source, and this is one of its main limitations. An excellent source of nutrition and, if available, should be very highly regarded as a fresh meat for pets
Hardwork, Smartness & Humility = Successful and Happy life...Jipange sasa hivi
#16 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 9:30:59 PM

by the way how does one tell the difference between matumbo ya ng'ombe and that of say a zebra?? Sometimes the matumbo is too fat..
#17 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 12:36:10 PM

vinii wrote:
by the way how does one tell the difference between matumbo ya ng'ombe and that of say a zebra?? Sometimes the matumbo is too fat..

@ Vinii,

Wewe tafuna matumbo na roho moja... wacha maswali ngumu... Matumbo ni matumbo boss.

Pesa ikirudi, tutauliza maswali kama hayo!!Shame on you
#18 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 12:59:15 PM

It's donkey eating season again.

Enjoy donkey Matumbo while it last.Eat more of those and you will become as strong and hardy as a donkeysmile smile smile smile .

It seems donkey meat may not be that harmful as long as the donkey was not sick.

Otherwise most Nairobians would be dead by now.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 1:04:04 PM

vinii wrote:

dont bother. if u live in nbi u must by now have eaten tonnes on tonnes of cow, donkey,zebra and goodness-knows-what other types of matumbo given all the reports we keep reading of busted vendors of game meat.
If u think matumbo is extreme, visit Kampala for a very much widely loved delicacy called chigere - i.e boiled cattle hooves. smile
among the gikuyu, even cow hide was considered a delicacy...
#20 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 1:15:22 PM

@Newfarer/Jus Blazing,
Mboys will always be mboys.....wating to play with Grandpa...haya>Mimi ndio hii!!

On the part of some stuff remaining inside intestines,true.The Luos make stuff called ochuri (a juice blend of bile and tatha) and if you have never eaten choma with ochuri,then you still believe your mum is the best cook....BK!..lol.