wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

Fly540 slashes airfare.
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 1:37:25 PM

Nairobi Mombasa route down from 9540 to 6540 for a return ticket.Another "Bend Over" jobsmile
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 1:48:14 PM

inclusive of taxes or exclusive?
young
#3 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 2:06:08 PM

Bwana Njung'e,

What of regional routes like Nairobi - Entebbe, is there any fare slice that you are aware of ?
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
Spend.thrift
#4 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 2:30:41 PM

Nairobi Mombasa route down from 9540 to 6540 for a return ticket.Another "Bend Over" jobsmile

This is good news. No more need to use the killer buses or to drive to MSA.

While I consider that fly540 use the most fuel efficient aircraft around (ATR-42 turboprops),I am still wondering just how they can afford this prices unless its a offer.

Issues to ponder about are;
They have to cut operating costs to afford these low fares. Is passenger safety (meaning aircraft maintenance) likely to be one of those dispensable costs?

How do you afford to offer lower fares while operating a 45 seater plane while one of the competitors operates more than 10 flights using a 100+ capacity plane?

As more and more local airlines join the fray, the safety of aircraft in use is a key concern. Many of these airlines use very old aircraft. Case in mind are the F-28s used by East African (are they still operating?).

#5 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 3:04:55 PM

@Kyt,
Will confirm that shortly.

@Young,
The slash was for the Nrb-Mbs route only.Rest of the routes stay where they are.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 3:11:34 PM

NB the discounted fare cnt b more than a few seats. KQ had a similar offer, no more than 10 seats on the 737. Fly540 uses a Dash8(turboprop) n a CRJ(turbofan) on msa-nbo route. ATR sijui walitupa wapi
#7 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 3:38:40 PM

Spend.thrift wrote:
Is passenger safety (meaning aircraft maintenance) likely to be one of those dispensable costs?

How do you afford to offer lower fares while operating a 45 seater plane while one of the competitors operates more than 10 flights using a 100+ capacity plane?

very moot points.
#8 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 3:49:19 PM

So is TN going follow Bob Whiningmore to whine about how KRA is losing taxes?
Spend.thrift
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 3:50:56 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
Spend.thrift wrote:
Is passenger safety (meaning aircraft maintenance) likely to be one of those dispensable costs?

very moot points.

@ Intelligensia, why do you think the issues I am pondering about are of no practical significance?

My premise was simple. That to sustain lower fares, you must cut operating costs - unless you have been exploiting us before this new price. I am just concerned about the possible areas of cost cutting that could be of "life and death" interest on me.
Wa_ithaka
#10 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 3:58:12 PM

I don't know why people think the prices are not sustainable. If BA charges Ksh40k for a 9hr flight, why can't fly540 charge 10% of that for a 45min flight?
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017