wazua Mon, Jul 21, 2025

Stocks Investment Ideas
young
#1 Posted : Friday, December 10, 2010 12:04:46 PM

1. Do not pay ridiculously high prices for stocks because overvalued companies always fall back to earth!

2. Pay close attention to charts when making decisions - a picture can be worth more than a thousand words!

3. Do not get caught up in the latest stock market fad. Every fad ends, and they ALL end the same way…badly!

4. Do not follow the crowd - when it comes to investment, inevitably the crowd is ALWAYS wrong.

5. Be cautious when investing borrowed money. Borrowings must be repaid in full whereas investments can fluctuate in value.

6. Carefully consider a company’s downside risk before investing. Preservation of capital is just as important as trying to make a fat profit.

7. Be patient when investing. Waiting for the right time to invest and exercising patience when investing is critical in the stock market.

8. Be disciplined and cut losses when necessary. Hoping the stock market will bounce back often leads to ruin.

9. Buy straw hats in winter - what the stock market shuns today is often embraced tomorrow!

10. Be honest with yourself. Admitting investment mistakes is imperative in share markets.

Happy Investing

The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
#2 Posted : Friday, December 10, 2010 12:08:26 PM

Nice school of thought
Surealligator
#3 Posted : Friday, December 10, 2010 12:35:26 PM

young wrote:
1. Do not pay ridiculously high prices for stocks because overvalued companies always fall back to earth!

2. Pay close attention to charts when making decisions - a picture can be worth more than a thousand words!

3. Do not get caught up in the latest stock market fad. Every fad ends, and they ALL end the same way…badly!

4. Do not follow the crowd - when it comes to investment, inevitably the crowd is ALWAYS wrong.

5. Be cautious when investing borrowed money. Borrowings must be repaid in full whereas investments can fluctuate in value.

6. Carefully consider a company’s downside risk before investing. Preservation of capital is just as important as trying to make a fat profit.

7. Be patient when investing. Waiting for the right time to invest and exercising patience when investing is critical in the stock market.

8. Be disciplined and cut losses when necessary. Hoping the stock market will bounce back often leads to ruin.

9. Buy straw hats in winter - what the stock market shuns today is often embraced tomorrow!

10. Be honest with yourself. Admitting investment mistakes is imperative in share markets.

Happy Investing

@Young

Hello sir! Is this a compression of the other long running link you have been running mansolo or its a gem you have been keeping away from us?
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
vestor
#4 Posted : Friday, December 10, 2010 12:51:25 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly @ surealligator, hiyo story ya mansolo thread wachana nayo.Shame on you
Tommy
#5 Posted : Friday, December 10, 2010 1:43:54 PM

@nice tips man
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
#6 Posted : Friday, December 10, 2010 9:22:37 PM

Nice
bartum
#7 Posted : Friday, December 10, 2010 9:45:14 PM

who is the untouchable mansolo
hello
#8 Posted : Saturday, December 11, 2010 6:45:43 PM

[quote=young]1. Do not pay ridiculously high prices for stocks because overvalued companies always fall back to earth!

Happy Investing

[/quote

will keep in mind. But can you also tell how to know if stock is good or bad ???? so far i have been investing emotionally (listening to my heart) and i m sure if go by my heart in this market one day i will be looser.....

I want to be a millionaire.
#9 Posted : Sunday, December 12, 2010 7:51:50 AM

@hello think value. Lets say you having been eying this 56" high definition TV at nakumatt. Its been going for 100k and you felt that it was a bit pricey for you. So you have been considering the less glamorous 45" that goes for 75k. Then you walk by after a week and notice that the price of the 56" has been slashed to 70k and the 45" to 60k. Now Will you buy the 56" or the 45"? Same with stocks its quite easy, buy good stocks at a discount.
kyukkamba
#10 Posted : Sunday, December 12, 2010 10:38:56 AM

Since am a Dummy in Stocks can you kindly give some extra direction on what you have written:-

young wrote:
1. Do not pay ridiculously high prices for stocks because overvalued companies always fall back to earth!How will one know the stock is now overvalued?
2. Pay close attention to charts when making decisions - a picture can be worth more than a thousand words!I find charts very confusing and difficult to follow.Can you guide on an easy way of reading these confusing graphs?

4. Do not follow the crowd - when it comes to investment, inevitably the crowd is ALWAYS wrong. What do you exactly mean by following the Crowd? Curretly everyone as talking KPLC do you mean we should be careful in buying KPLC?

7. Be patient when investing. Waiting for the right time to invest and exercising patience when investing is critical in the stock market.Right Time Sad when is this right time? u mean wait till prices are all down?

8. Be disciplined and cut losses when necessary. Hoping the stock market will bounce back often leads to ruin. Doesnt this point contradicts point#7. I bought TPS in 2007 at amost 75/= the price was never up.If I didnt have patience and sold the lot I will be now crying because of the Rights/Bonuses and the good price it's giving nowSad .The problem is When do u decide top "cut losses".

10. Be honest with yourself. Admitting investment mistakes is imperative in share markets.This one I did with Everready...smile had no choice..

Happy Investing

Ni Uhuru wa Mbesha...Niguo kana tiguo?
qw25041985
#11 Posted : Sunday, December 12, 2010 11:05:46 AM

@ kkyukamba . u consider yourself a dummy in stocks and yet you have over 125 posts .Kwani what have you been goin in wazua , flirtin ??????
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
kyukkamba
#12 Posted : Sunday, December 12, 2010 11:24:46 AM

qw25041985 wrote:
@ kkyukamba . u consider yourself a dummy in stocks and yet you have over 125 posts .Kwani what have you been goin in wazua , flirtin ??????

@qW
Just tryn to be better by comparing my Market understanding with the Gurus here.Not all the 125posts are quality posts on how to tame the market.....I like the flirtin part of ur comments....smile
#13 Posted : Sunday, December 12, 2010 11:24:48 AM

@sparkly, it is 55' and not 56' - I've been looking at it for the last 2 months at Nakumatt Prestige.
kyukkamba
#14 Posted : Sunday, December 12, 2010 1:13:10 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
@sparkly, it is 55' and not 56' - I've been looking at it for the last 2 months at Nakumatt Prestige.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly keep on lookn...Laughing out loudly
#15 Posted : Sunday, December 12, 2010 3:04:59 PM

kyukkamba wrote:

Kuona ni bure, kulipa ni kitu nyengine...smile
#16 Posted : Sunday, December 12, 2010 5:26:20 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
kyukkamba wrote:

Kuona ni bure, kulipa ni kitu nyengine...smile

@GG just an example to drive the point home, lol
#17 Posted : Monday, December 13, 2010 12:02:26 AM

Despite my long experience here, I would appreciate if anyone answered kyukkamba's questions...ameuliza maswali nyeti sana...
Mikes
#18 Posted : Monday, December 13, 2010 12:31:10 PM

I appreciate you for the tips u have given here...Really excellent ideas...
Bettertry
#19 Posted : Monday, December 13, 2010 4:53:38 PM

@Hello & Kyukkamba, l'd suggest you look for a thread titled Dumb investor...That's me...KCB at 32.25, go to post number 144 by some guy named Outvestor who was gracious to offer a link to some useful books about investing in stock markets.
We Will Either Find a Way or Create One - HANNIBAL
#20 Posted : Monday, December 13, 2010 7:35:45 PM

An earlier article on investing by Chris Kirubi www.businessdailyafrica..../-/10876l6z/-/index.html