wazua Sun, Jan 5, 2025

Have our tv stations become casinos?
#1 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 10:43:57 AM

These tv stations are exploiting poor, desparate Kenyans. I think this is immoral and govt should step in to stop this vice!
I think advertisers should lead the way by pull out from advertising on these stations as they have found a new revenue source which they are paying more attention to. I particularly hate the KTN lottery programme that plays for hours after news. I hear KBC has one too, I don't catch NTV and I know Citizen has that Tahidi High gambling thing.

#2 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 10:50:25 AM

money for the next elections is being solicited in all ways. this time round the stakes are higher because we are voting for 7 positions unlike the initial 3.
#3 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 10:56:41 AM

I so hate them..........ABK! Please warn your friends and relatives not to participate. Shame on you Shame on you
#4 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 11:11:46 AM

Pyramid Schemes!!!

Kenyans will never learn! At least we have 'shouted' about this on Wazua and any Wazuan who looses his money on these schemes needs to be caned [and then canned]. ABK!!!

As @YW says, warn your friends not get caught up.

I understand people are even taking loans to participate. 2000 smses = 120,000/= [At 60/= per sms]. And the fellow might decide to participate in two other 'competitions' bringing his total to around 300,000/=. From that day the guy even takes a shower with the phone next to him. Are Kenyans plainly damn, greedy, desperate or just gullible?
#5 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 11:13:06 AM

...Spread the word. IGNORANT folks are being fooled!!! This is immoral and it should be discussed in PARLIAMENT. Charles Kilonzo, Bonny Khalalwe, Kiema Kilonzo etc save innocent Kenyans!!!
#6 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 11:14:54 AM

VFK (very fake kabisa), the KTN style first in KBC in Nov/Dec 2006 and looted poor Kenyans.The money was used without saying, in 2007 polls.
I wonder how some Kenyans cant think.

#7 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 11:34:23 AM

There should be tough legislation to deal with these kind of "competitions". Here are a few ideas:

1) Each company running such a competition must make public the number of smses that were sent each week, total revenue, total payments and to whom! This should be given the same prominence as the advertisement for the competition itself. As a matter of fact they should be advertised together - same font size and all.

2) An empowered and independent betting control agency should vet the whole process.

3) KACC should be required to randomly investigate some of the winners and their relationship with company running the competition. This should be mandatory even if there are no complains from any quarter.

These are money minting con jobs. I am reliably informed that the "Range Rover competition" dudes made 1.3 Billion [with a "B". LOL] profit! And get this. They didn't even have the prices when they started. They used the sms money to pay for the prices including the Range and kept the remaining 1.3B - Thank you very much!

Don't be shocked. Here is a possible scenario. 3 million stupid Kenyans each sends 10 smses [60/= each]. How much do you get? 3,000,000 * 60 * 10 = 1.8 Billion!!! 500m you pay for the prices and marketing and you are left with 1.3 Billion. Now imagine that some Kenyans sent up to 100 smses. You don't even need to reach the threshold of 3 million stupid Kenyans! Now imagine where even the winners are rigged! Do I need to go on?
bird_man
#8 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 11:44:38 AM

It's a free country wacha watu wajaribu "their luck".....(tough luck though!).
I remember a few years back my pal telling me how he didn't have to work since he had INVESTED and his money was multiplying at Deci.....surely!How can such folk be saved from their own greed?
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
DonBen
#9 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 11:51:43 AM

On Zawadi 2929 on Citizen TV.

An average of between 200,000 - 300,000 text messages are received on a daily basis each costing Kshs. 60/-. (Confirmed this from a RMS insider).

Even after Safaricom and promoters take their share, I think Citizen is smiling all the way to the bank considering the promotion will run for a month.
#10 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 11:56:53 AM

bird_man wrote:
I remember a few years back my pal telling me how he didn't have to work since he had INVESTED and his money was multiplying at Deci.....surely!How can such folk be saved from their own greed?

Get them a tough wife who can smack some sense into their head! And I'm serious on this! Some wives wouldn't take this kind of nonsense. There some fellows who actually got their money back. They had two options:

1) Go tell the wifey "Honey, you know that money we have been saving as a university fund for our kids..."

2) Risk their lives confronting Joe Donde [or his derivative] and his hired thugs to get their money back.

To some (2) was the better option. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#11 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 12:01:13 PM

Sober wrote:
money for the next elections is being solicited in all ways. this time round the stakes are higher because we are voting for 7 positions unlike the initial 3.

Is one of these lotteries ya JK (EMK-let)?
#12 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 12:10:54 PM

DonBen wrote:
On Zawadi 2929 on Citizen TV.

An average of between 200,000 - 300,000 text messages are received on a daily basis each costing Kshs. 60/-. (Confirmed this from a RMS insider).

Even after Safaricom and promoters take their share, I think Citizen is smiling all the way to the bank considering the promotion will run for a month.

That is 12,000,000/= to 18,000,000/= daily.

If I'm not wrong, safaricom charges normal sms rate which is 3.50/= currently. Money due to Safaricom would be 700,000/= to 1,500,000/=. That leaves Citizen with 11,300,000/= to 16,500,000/=.

The pay one winner 500,000/= daily. I guess their winners are genuine given that they have a name to protect. That leaves them with 10,800,000 - 16,000,000 Daily!!!

Promotion is basically done in house and those Tahidi High fellows can't be receiving that much. After all is said done, Citizen must be pocketing 10 - 15 million daily from the competition. What a nice way to reward their viewers!!! We are talking about half a billion in one month! And remember Citizen is owned by an individual. That is why there is rich and then there is wealthy!
Bettertry
#13 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 12:24:38 PM

Get rich quick schemes + instant gratification = Tamaa mbele mauti baadaye
We Will Either Find a Way or Create One - HANNIBAL
Mtu Biz
#14 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 4:40:00 PM

Wa!
Sola Scriptura

gohill
#15 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 4:40:31 PM

bird_man wrote:

Get them a tough wife who can smack some sense into their head! And I'm serious on this! Some wives wouldn't take this kind of nonsense. There some fellows who actually got their money back. They had two options:

1) Go tell the wifey "Honey, you know that money we have been saving as a university fund for our kids..."

2) Risk their lives confronting Joe Donde [or his derivative] and his hired thugs to get their money back.

To some (2) was the better option. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

That's a good one.
Ms Mkenya
#16 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 4:51:49 PM

Kwanza Zawadi 2929 is assault kabisa.. I am even avoiding Citizen when i watch tv.

Halafu there is that one of KTN... aaaai!
....above all, to stand.
#17 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 5:40:34 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
Kwanza Zawadi 2929 is assault kabisa.. I am even avoiding Citizen when i watch tv.

Halafu there is that one of KTN... aaaai!

I totally agree with you @Ms Kenya. The Citizen one has be executed impeccably. And then it's all up in your face - Zawadi 2-9-2-9. And the choice of the OJs and Wilbrodas of this world to push it is a stroke of genius. A majority of Kenyans who watch Citizen feel like they personally know these fellows. It's like they are being told by a friend "This is how you make half a mill...". Even straight thinking Kenyans are tempted to send a few sms just to be in the mix. The guy in charge should get a handsome Christmas bonus from the half a billion they'll make!

The KTN one is bloody boring. I doubt they can make even 20% of what Citizen is making!
Dod
#18 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 5:49:09 PM

VFK (very fake kabisa), the KTN style first in KBC in Nov/Dec 2006 and looted poor Kenyans.The money was used without saying, in 2007 polls.
I wonder how some Kenyans cant think.

Very true..KTN have recycled the style.
Who will cane the Wazuans who partcipate?Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
#19 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 8:42:40 PM

i volunteer to cane them, just name them.
#20 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 9:41:55 PM

Guilty!