wazua Fri, Feb 7, 2025

Raw deal from the NSE, Ghana Stock Exchange = Real Thing
mv_ufanisi
#1 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 2:52:13 PM

I just landed in the GSE and I can't believe how much more efficient it is than the NSE.

Basically there you have access to the electronic trading system and can see what's going on. U make the BUY and SELL decisions directly at a click.

Why is the NSE taking Kenyans at a 3rd world pace? NSE needs to innovate or die.

Kenya is fully asleep while other countries are overtaking us while we celebrate past success. Even Tz and Ug will be ahead of us within a few years.

NSE shouldn't be resting on their laurels while brokers screw stock buyers by failing to execute trades and coming up with excuses while hiding behind the holy grail of "investors are not allowed access to the system" and I had to go for lunch etc etc.
Chaka
#2 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 3:18:36 PM

How do brokers there survive?
suwan
#3 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 3:27:35 PM

I hope they are all dead and so more if they are Kenyans
#4 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 3:29:49 PM

mv_ufanisi wrote:
I just landed in the GSE and I can't believe how much more efficient it is than the NSE.

Basically there you have access to the electronic trading system and can see what's going on. U make the BUY and SELL decisions directly at a click.

Why is the NSE taking Kenyans at a 3rd world pace? NSE needs to innovate or die.

Kenya is fully asleep while other countries are overtaking us while we celebrate past success. Even Tz and Ug will be ahead of us within a few years.

NSE shouldn't be resting on their laurels while brokers screw stock buyers by failing to execute trades and coming up with excuses while hiding behind the holy grail of "investors are not allowed access to the system" and I had to go for lunch etc etc.
Chief... we gotta talk... when do you return to Kenya? I am going to be there too...
mv_ufanisi
#5 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 3:34:28 PM

Chaka wrote:
How do brokers there survive?

They still make their fees - they give you access to the account. It's a matter of efficiency and you not having to go to your broker's office all the time.

You can even withdraw your balance on the account and send it to your bank account electronically. In that way as an investor you are just focused on trading.
mv_ufanisi
#6 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 3:36:48 PM

mv_ufanisi wrote:

Chief... we gotta talk... when do you return to Kenya? I am going to be there too...

@VVS
In the true spirit of efficiency I opened the account right from here in Kenya on my computer. You can go to www.ibrokerghana.com - send in the documents they need and they'll hook you up. So I really never have to go there unless for other business.
I'm hoping on getting some currency gains and market gains when the oil starts flowing.

#7 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 3:42:10 PM

@MV - That rocks!

BTW, I love Fan Milk... they are a consistent performer...

So which broker does ibrokerghana use?
mozenrat
#8 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 3:53:51 PM

@VVS

ibroker is run by CAL brokers ltd, a subsidiary of CAL bank... one of the better run banks in Ghana..

U should have a look at Stanchart Ghana.. The share is damn expensive lakini considering that they doubled their profit last year.. well what can I say..
young
#9 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 4:37:15 PM

@Chief VVS & Other Wazuarian,

When you want to invest overseas as a non resident retail investor, the most important factor to consider is the size ie capital base of the broking firm. First CAL bank (listed in GSE) is one of the smallest banks in Ghana. Ibrokers, their stock broking arm is one of the smallest (though efficient).

If you take a look at stockbroking firms in ghana (www.gse.com.gh) you will see bigger stock broking firms that are subsidiaries of big banks like Ecobank etc. Safety of your funds is very important.
I do no pray for bad thing to happen neither am I accusing Ibrokers. but the unfortunate incidence of small but efficient Kenya Discount brokers are still fresh in our memories. Imagine the fate of those that are non resident investors who invested through discount stockbrokers kenya.

Be aware too that Ibrokers online account is more of a nominee account, the shares they help you buy are kept in their name.

It is worth while to think outside the box (east Africa)

Best Regards

Young,
Nigeria,
West Africa
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
PKoli
#10 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 4:50:42 PM

@Mzee Young

I have African Alliance for my Kenyan and Ugandan trades. Do you have an idea of the African Alliance Ghana?
young
#11 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 5:01:33 PM

@ Chief Pkoli,

Follow the link below to locate Ghana stockbrokers and the details :-

http://www.gse.com.gh/in...nkid=20&sublinkid=6

Top 3 Ghana Stock brokers are

(1) Databank group
(2) African Alliance Stocbrokers
(3) EDC stockbrokers (Owned by Ecobank)
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
Ric dees
#12 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 5:48:46 PM

@MV_ufanisi,

On a diff tandem altogether i can see and appreciate your excitement bout GSE and the frustration bout our NSE. I however do not trade in the GSE but do so actively in the FTSE,AIM NYSE and like you said at the click of the button.(It makes a hell of a difference) I also do online spread betting (betting on the movement of shares) much more rewarding.(our lunch times are spent in cafe's with our laptops just watching the markets for opportunities)

You have cracked me up when you said bout hiding behind the holy grail and truth be told though i have held some shares in the NSE for 6 year or so, i just could not be bothered to actively trade there,the inefficiency, lethargic tendencies,are a tad to low for my liking and IMO the margins are just too kidogo.

Meanwhile SKYPE is floating the shares sometimes in Q4,and why lie i am literally salivating (clasping my hands!!)i love this Swedish duo!!

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
mozenrat
#13 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 6:01:35 PM

young wrote:
@ Chief Pkoli,

(1) Databank group

Good to see my broker AA is amongst top GSE brokers.. I'll be talking to them about an account. Are they as snobbish and elitist in Ghana as they are here.
PKoli
#14 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 6:53:28 PM

young wrote:
@ Chief Pkoli,

(1) Databank group

Many thanks Mzee young,

I have already contacted AAGS for further information. I would love to deal with them same company from Kenya, Uganda and Ghana, even later when I venture to Zambia.
PKoli
#15 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 6:55:16 PM

mozenrat wrote:
young wrote:
@ Chief Pkoli,

(1) Databank group

Good to see my broker AA is amongst top GSE brokers.. I'll be talking to them about an account. Are they as snobbish and elitist in Ghana as they are here.

AAKS, elitist, yes - snobbish, I doubt
#16 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 7:30:22 PM

@young - Asante Sana. Thank you very much!
the deal
#17 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 8:21:12 PM

@young do i need to personally visit Ghana to open an account...
young
#18 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 8:39:44 PM

@The Deal Of Namibia

When I opened my broking account with databank group way back in 2004, they required my physical presence but I do not not know now.

Your best bet is to phone your broker of choice and ask them the requirements.

Good Luck.
PKoli
#19 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 8:42:23 PM

the deal wrote:
@young do i need to personally visit Ghana to open an account...

I will inquire from African Alliance Kenya Securities. I was not required to physically go to Uganda when I opened the CDS with them, did through AAKS
young
#20 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 8:50:43 PM

Yep Kpoli your findings will be useful to other wazuarians.

Personally I cannot imagin how an investor will just trade or invest in one market and is fulfilled when there are bountless opportunities elseway.
It is more interesting , more exciting but strange.
Even African fund managers do not do that.