wazua Fri, Feb 7, 2025

Market correction after Refurendum????
#21 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 12:45:39 PM

PKoli wrote:
Last year, there was a day when no single trading occured on USE!

That is amazing! In TZ, probably worse. Counters can go for months without being touched
PKoli
#22 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 12:45:54 PM

@Evolve

Everyone says so. I feel the long haul might just turn out to be a couple of months, so I have to be in now.
PKoli
#23 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 12:48:12 PM

@youcan'tstopusnow

The very reason Tz should open the market to the Kenyans. They will watch and appreciate the vibrancy of the Kenyans in moving that market.
#24 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 12:55:30 PM

Tanzania is bure kabisa. I went there (DSE) & they would rather stay without biashara then have Kenyans.

I wanted to buy shares in a Bank but the price was too high using any metric. There was potential but only if you could buy at a lower price.

Offers at MAX (e.g. 11/-) price. Plenty of Offers.
ZERO bids on the Board. NADA. SUFURI.
I told the broker to bid at 10% less (9/-) which was the minimum. Even at 9/- it was too expensive so I bid for only 1,000 shares. I was willing to buy many more at 8/- or so.

Broker refused to bid... Told me ati, it is 'manipulation'... I said BULLSHIT... There are NO bids... If they want to sell they will sell... kwani? I am forcing them to sell?

Ultimately, I walked out... and I have NEVER looked at the lousy DSE again!

BTW, you can only buy certain shares... Kenyans can't buy TBL, BAT (T), etc...

Some time later, the price of the shares of the Bank I wanted to buy dropped like a rock... BURE KABISA...
#25 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 12:55:43 PM

Horton wrote:
And the euphoria fades!!!

Well, you know what they say: Nothing lasts forever. But it was a good run
PKoli
#26 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 1:12:37 PM

qw25041985 wrote:
What are u guys talkin abt ????? ofcourse market correction has started !!!!! the index is at an RSI of 72 and that means its over-bought...so i suggest you get out (as in take profits) before every tom dick and harry does....Today - Friday : KQ will .close down .Safaricom will also close down.KCB will also close down.
so if anyone is wondering about market correction its here with us...

You might be correct about market correction, except KCB. You will have to add MSC, it has overheated
Horton
#27 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 1:16:54 PM

Tanzania is bure kabisa. I went there (DSE) & they would rather stay without biashara then have Kenyans.

I wanted to buy shares in a Bank but the price was too high using any metric. There was potential but only if you could buy at a lower price.

I told the broker to bid at 10% less (9/-) which was the minimum. Even at 9/- it was too expensive so I bid for only 1,000 shares. I was willing to buy many more at 8/- or so.

Broker refused to bid... Told me ati, it is 'manipulation'... I said BULLSHIT... There are NO bids... If they want to sell they will sell... kwani? I am forcing them to sell?

Some time later, the price of the shares of the Bank I wanted to buy dropped like a rock... BURE KABISA...

Pole dude. Just curious...will the Wandugus embrace our products as they hate us with such a zeal?? AMA they have no choice?

Waz in tz last year realized that some(note...some...call it 20%) businesses are doing extremely well....not because of patents or etc. But it's coz of lack of competition. The shop I am talking about was a stationary wholesaler. His markups were close to 25% on photocopy paper. In Kenya that's unheard of. Even 10bob per ream as a wholesaler is a good mark up..
#28 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 1:35:43 PM

@Horton - The hassles of opening a business in Tanzania are way more than Kenya. BTW, those 'margins' are not as high after you consider the costs of getting the goods.

In Kenya, because we have a larger market... we can get stuff in cheaper than Tanzania (yes, the competition helps). I think at least 30% of the goods sold in Arusha come from Kenya. Even higher as you go towards Mwanza.

A Zambian told me that Blue Band is very, very popular in Zambia & it comes all the way from Kenya!
mv_ufanisi
#29 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 1:58:36 PM

This is funny, somehow all the stocks fall in unison. Who started the domino effect? Herd mentality is hilarious.
qw25041985
#30 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 1:59:28 PM

Using my model i hav predictd the index to fall by 25 - 30 points on close of business today. As it dawns on people a minor correction is in place ....
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
PKoli
#31 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 6:07:06 PM

qw25041985 wrote:
Using my model i hav predictd the index to fall by 25 - 30 points on close of business today. As it dawns on people a minor correction is in place ....

It is up by about 7 points!
#32 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 6:15:01 PM

I guess qw will have to change his model. By the way qw, is it the same model you used to guide your foray into Eveready? Just thinking...
Wa_ithaka
#33 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 6:26:55 PM

qw reminds one of a comment Kituyi made about Atwoli.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#34 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 6:38:26 PM

Wa_ithaka wrote:

Waithaka, si umaliziie! How can you leave us hanging like that?
Apple Bees
#35 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 7:42:45 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Wa_ithaka wrote:

Waithaka, si umaliziie! How can you leave us hanging like that?

everytime he opens his mouth, he leaves no doubt that he has ****** between his ears
qw25041985
#36 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 8:53:32 PM

@Apple Bees. i will not abuse u ..just say what u want to say.....are u that shy... say and u'll also know i have a mouth to say also...asshole !
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
#37 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 8:57:30 PM

Easy on qw, at least he is sincere enough to post what he thinks, is positive and ambitious, loves stocks, let him make his blunders, its obvious he makes many mistakes but how many of us ventured out at his presumed age(born 1985). I remember when he first came to wazua under name 'techboy' looking for a job and received haughty responses right here. The guy will learn, mentor him rather than insult the guy.
Meru Holiness
#38 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 9:21:30 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
PKoli wrote:
Last year, there was a day when no single trading occured on USE!

That is amazing! In TZ, probably worse. Counters can go for months without being touched

The reason why the USE is inactive most times is because more than half of listed companies are also on the NSE and the other counters are too damn expensive
#39 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 9:29:24 PM

Easy on qw, at least he is sincere enough to post what he thinks, is positive and ambitious, loves stocks, let him make his blunders, its obvious he makes many mistakes but how many of us ventured out at his presumed age(born 1985). I remember when he first came to wazua under name 'techboy' looking for a job and received haughty responses right here. The guy will learn, mentor him rather than insult the guy.

Much Know, after reading your post, I searched for some old threads and let me just say I see what you mean.
slykat
#40 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 9:39:06 PM

@VVS

Correct me if am wrong, am beginning to suspect VituVingiSana is your investment model based on the economics law of averages; on average the only way is up... just wondering... apart from Merali is there anywhere u don't venture.... and on average are the rewards above 20%? Same model Alibaba uses? Talking of whom, anyone know where he is?