wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

What Next For The New Kenya?
Nobby
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 9:39:29 AM

Now that yes has carried the day and its a green revolution, what next? Can anyone tell me how this new constitution that we have been looking for can be implemented?
Nobby attached the following image(s):
kenyafuture.jpg (9kb) downloaded 2 time(s).
The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
Fundaah
#2 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 10:37:47 AM

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

I'm happy today ....so happy ....I have no words .....but thank the Almighty God for answering Kenyan's 20 year old prayers.....In a Mighty and peaceful way ....God loves kenya ....His words are Yes and Amen ...

The harder part has now started ....Formulation and Implementation of this Constitution....I'm hoping the implementors will follow the spirit of the New born constitution......

It's time for Kenyans to change their value system....abhor greed ....corruption and adopt the Fear of God as a fundamental value in their everyday activities....

To the wounded egos ....I wish you a quick recovery....Lets join hands together to build THE SECOND REPUBLIC OF KENYA....where everybody is somebody...

Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Nobby
#3 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 10:43:08 AM

AMEN to that!!
The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
the sage
#4 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 12:51:19 PM

The real work of drafting laws begins.But it's a good day.
marting
#5 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 1:00:21 PM

i implore cautious optimism..this new constitutions leaves way too much to "utmost good faith" principle, while most of us in Kenya know very well " Buyer beware" rule of thumb applies.
even as we look ffwd,to whatever might be/or might not be, i pray that THIS TIME Round our faith is not misplaced.Pray Pray Pray Pray
.Success is Intentional.
#6 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 1:04:23 PM

Life goes back to where it was yesterday.
Struggle...Struggle...Struggle...Struggle...

Seeders
#7 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 1:11:13 PM

"nimefurahi hii katiba imepita kwa sababu hata sisi kama hawkers sasa tutapata kazi na tutawacha kuwa hawkers" - a hawker in kisumu

wolololo. wapi captain?
theman192000
#8 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 1:21:34 PM

Not 100% sure of the timetable for implementation but if YES wins;

- President enacts PC by 19th August
- President, VP, PM, Ministers and MPs take new oath of office
- CJ out within 6 months
- AG out within 1 year
- IIEC dissolved and new electoral and boundaries commission set up with 9 commissioners

Those are some of the key highlights. Others can changia
Wamutonyi
#9 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 1:22:08 PM

Life goes back to where it was yesterday.
Struggle...Struggle...Struggle...Struggle...

@Impunity

You man/woman of little faith, I hope your Wazua name does not tell us what you stand for. Do fear change coz change is not only inevitable but also permanent. Be optimistic and play your role however and leave the rest to God.
Wamutonyi
#10 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 1:23:55 PM

I meant DO NOT fear change
#11 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 1:53:45 PM

marting wrote:
i implore cautious optimism..this new constitutions leaves way too much to "utmost good faith" principle, while most of us in Kenya know very well " Buyer beware" rule of thumb applies.
even as we look ffwd,to whatever might be/or might not be, i pray that THIS TIME Round our faith is not misplaced.Pray Pray Pray Pray

You're on point there.We have too many over-optimistic Kenyans.
sky5
#12 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 2:03:18 PM

It's good that the nation of Kenya had been re-born after the 2007/08 baptism by fire.Kenyans are a very optimistic people but are always let down by leaders.

In 1963 there was much optimism and enthusiasm after the birth of first Republic.

In 2003, Kenyans were lauded as the most optimistic people in the world after NARC ousted KANU from power- but disappointment soon set in.

The full implementation of this constitution had also been left in the hands of our leaders who must enact the relevant legislation. This is where I still have my fears.

Someone please calm my fears.

Brewer
#13 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 2:09:20 PM

I heard this today, it's been a while: WENGI WAPE. Kenyans in their majority have decided for the new constitution and the difficult work of implementation begins which I expect will be accompanied with attempts at amendment.

The birth of the new constitution has also exposed our lingering ailments especially in political discourse, chief of which is tribalism, which we can chose to tolerate, manage or cure under the new constitution.

#14 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 2:57:50 PM

theman192000 wrote:
Not 100% sure of the timetable for implementation but if YES wins;

- President enacts PC by 19th August
- President, VP, PM, Ministers and MPs take new oath of office
- CJ out within 6 months
- AG out within 1 year
- IIEC dissolved and new electoral and boundaries commission set up with 9 commissioners

Those are some of the key highlights. Others can changia

AG is even willing to be out in a month's time - his words.
#15 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 3:36:09 PM

Wamutonyi wrote:
I meant DO NOT fear change

As long as the current Mpigs are ones tasked with putting up meat to the skeleton that is called the New Constitution, nothing better can be hoped for, atleast in the foreseable future.
You will see.
Pray Pray Pray

blaqlegend
#16 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 3:49:49 PM

I'm really looking forward to having independent candidates in 2012,the era of briefcase parties for pals is gooooooone! Hopefully this will create a chance for 'cleaner' issue oriented leadership.
kivairu
#17 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 5:32:32 PM

Its not enough for the losers to be magnanimous in defeat.They should "herd" themselves together for further civic education, more drilling to understand a simple thing like a katiba, since they have to live with the new constitution.They need to understand it.The onus is on them...how about 6 months evening classes for them...just a thot!

Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. –Albert Einstein.
Mwafrika31
#18 Posted : Saturday, August 07, 2010 1:35:51 AM

marting wrote:

@ marting
Very well put sir. Sadly Kenya being a hopeless third world country, this constitution will be misused for nefarious foreign inspired purposes, it does not change the basic socio economic structure, cannot ensure the ineptness that characterises civil servants changes. The poor will remain poor, the perverse will complete their takeover of the mass media and the idiots will reign as never before. Renaming a district 'county' is bureaucratic aridity & meaningless. And to think that all those poor bastards spent all day voting for a piece of paper that is as useful as spit saliva.
#19 Posted : Saturday, August 07, 2010 7:13:11 AM

IIEC...9 commissioners? there is no cap on how many commissioners IIEC shld have.
#20 Posted : Saturday, August 07, 2010 7:18:51 AM

lets face it, as long as Majority of Kenyans (Not you guyz in Nairobi) remain with the mentality that the government is their help and keep the old Stereotypes of Kikuyus are thiefs, Luos are dirty, Luhyas are not ambitious, Kambas are good only for certain reproductive activities. Merus are angry, Coastal people are lazy e.t.c. Independent candidates wont fly! not for a while.
let me try and predict the future....Kenya in 2012 (or whatever year we have elections) will be
1) at peace after elections only if
a) Raila has won
b) Whoever won, wins with a large margin.
2) will have the same tribal driven politics since, the hearts of Kenyans have not changed. Independent candidates my only fly in Nairobi (much respect for Nairobians - you attempted to read the draft).
3) (Not really sure of this but...) Clan politics for the Local counties in rural areas and non cosmopolitan counties.