wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

7 Pages«<567
Equity - a politically risky stock time to sell
#121 Posted : Tuesday, July 20, 2010 4:11:03 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
@ youcantstopusnow nothing personal. i js don have faith in the mgt. ever since i heard Dr Mwangi was the brain behind the failed Trust Bank

obiero, kweli. He was also involved with the failed Eurobank. But personally I think times have changed, and it is nearly imposibble for a bank as big as Equity to fail. But I do agree that James is not exactly 'Mr. Clean'
Huh? Trust Bank? When? Are you sure? Or you mean Trade Bank? Lakini I do not know the full story...
callaspade
#122 Posted : Tuesday, July 20, 2010 5:26:24 PM

..it was trade bank(current integrity centre building),we used to to withdraw money at midnight from Visions discotheque...the bank was operating 24 hours in 1990 !!!!
#123 Posted : Tuesday, July 20, 2010 5:46:14 PM

callaspade wrote:
..it was trade bank(current integrity centre building),we used to to withdraw money at midnight from Visions discotheque...the bank was operating 24 hours in 1990 !!!!
I dont know what happened to Trade Bank. There were some articles from Alnoor Kassam in the papers who claimed biwott was behind the collapse/problems.

I have to say... Trade Bank & Diners Finance were the bomb! I was barely an adult at the time but I recall the accounts were like Equity Bank. They wanted your business unlike the other banks!

Who remembers those good-looking gals in the branded small cars [suzuki starlets or starlings?] zooming all over town?
yekeyeke
#124 Posted : Tuesday, July 20, 2010 6:10:09 PM

@Vitu

How many Kenyans had opened accounts in this trade bank? Of those Kenyans, who many were from the bottom of the pyramid?

If you cant answer, then dont compare this midnight withdrawal capable bank with Equity. Kwani which bank cant you withdraw your money from at night, with ATM technology which existed even then?.

And what sort of bank was this that had a branch in a heng joint? No wonder they went down.
#125 Posted : Tuesday, July 20, 2010 6:27:34 PM

@yekeyeke - Take a chill pill... LOL...

In 1990, ATMs were far & in between... actually, I do not remember an ATM back then... Anyway, I was a broke barely adult...

Lakini, I am curious... about the ATMs in 1990... Please tell me more... Which banks had them? I do not think most had ATMs in 1990... lakini I await your answer...

Considering how few Kenyans had bank accounts perhaps Trade Bank did OK. I do not know. Lakini, they had ZERO balance accounts back then!

If JM cut his teeth at Trade Bank, then at least some good came out of it!

Kwani, can you tell me for certain how many accounts at Equity are from the 'bottom of the pyramid'... Oh & what is the 'botp' in Kenya?
#126 Posted : Tuesday, July 20, 2010 6:32:49 PM

yekeyeke wrote:
If you cant answer, then dont compare this midnight withdrawal capable bank with Equity. Kwani which bank cant you withdraw your money from at night, with ATM technology which existed even then?.

I think you misunderstood callaspade point. He meant the actual bank was open 24hrs not that they had ATMs.

#127 Posted : Tuesday, July 20, 2010 6:35:34 PM

yekeyeke wrote:

I think you misunderstood callaspade point. He meant the actual bank was open 24hrs not that they had ATMs.
Nevertheless, please let him tell us coz it seems he claims all Kenyan banks had ATMs in 1990. I really wanna know.
mkonomtupu
#128 Posted : Tuesday, July 20, 2010 7:03:37 PM

I have just seen the unaudited results for the half year 2010. They need to watch on the operating expenses otherwise the results look good
#129 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 12:21:27 PM

I just had to pull this thread out. The risk that never was
yekeyeke
#130 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 12:31:30 PM

As i had mentioned earlier, this thread was started makusudi kupiga equity bank. banki yetu.

Good ridance... Lets see how far the price will react upwards. Sofar today up to KEs 26 per share...
Wa_ithaka
#131 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 12:42:11 PM

As i said on another thread, its win-win situation for me.
I am glad and thankful to God I was wrong.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#132 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 12:48:48 PM

yekeyeke wrote:

Nevertheless, please let him tell us coz it seems he claims all Kenyan banks had ATMs in 1990. I really wanna know.
Oh, yekeyeke... Please don't forget to answer the question posed...
#133 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 12:58:26 PM

you cant_who is chris mutunga? eqty touched 25.5 today. i told my mum to buy when it was 21, she told me they may go down. i dont blame her she is 60. not too strong to NSE risk.
The Merchant
#134 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 1:03:14 PM

This stock looks headed for 30...hmmmm. Always a favourite with the foreigners. What a stock! And the fundamentals also seem good. Buy this one and hold for 2 years minimum....
yekeyeke
#135 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 1:17:01 PM

Watu

Wacha nienjoy YES victory kwanza. I shall reply once the holiday mood in my brain goes away.
#136 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 1:27:46 PM

kyt, Chris Gitonga is a friend I recently lost. By the way, if a worldwide poll was done, I bet Kenyan's will skyrocket to the number 1 position again as 'THE MOST OPTIMISTIC PEOPLE IN THE WORLD'. That YES win will do wonders for our confidence
Gatheuzi
#137 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 1:29:03 PM

The Merchant wrote:
This stock looks headed for 30...hmmmm. Always a favourite with the foreigners. What a stock! And the fundamentals also seem good. Buy this one and hold for 2 years minimum....

Exactly what I said sometimes back.

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...=5551&p=12#post96520
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
Genghis Khan
#138 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 4:34:39 PM

callaspade wrote:
I dont know what happened to Trade Bank. There were some articles from Alnoor Kassam in the papers who claimed biwott was behind the collapse/problems.

I have to say... Trade Bank & Diners Finance were the bomb! I was barely an adult at the time but I recall the accounts were like Equity Bank. They wanted your business unlike the other banks!

Who remembers those good-looking gals in the branded small cars [suzuki starlets or starlings?] zooming all over town?

... makes me think(i didn't know about the 24hr banking and the aggressive sales strategy they had back then), this is classic JM (the megalomaniac). Now we are withdrawing money from supermarket tills etc. The guy hasn't changed much... its strange but this post makes me feel like i should have more EQB rather than less. JM is the kind of guy u want to have working for uApplause (but keeping your good eye on him as long as the bank is open, which is 24hrsShame on you !!!).
"I'd rather be lucky than clever... every time!" - ME
"The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN
"Space we can recover... time never!" - NAPOLEON BONAPARTE