wazua Thu, May 7, 2026

21 Pages«<1415161718>»
Memories are made of this
Mundu-mugo
#151 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 8:40:00 AM

I have the privelage of having 3 women in my life. Cucu,mum & my wife.Believe me the level of wisdom also varies with the generations. Cucu made sure we finished our food with no much ado. She would pretend to call a 'mang'uriu especially during supper.She would make sure that she corrects firewood herself from outside to ensure that we never realised her tricks. Even when we had eaten she would pretend to chase away the monister.' Go away today they have eaten' This had the effect of preparing us for the next day eating session. And today i cannot imagine the wisdom of the late cucu who was fortunate enough to go to no class for miseducation

These days my wife's generation threaten kids with chokoras. 'kULA AMA NIITE CHOKORA !!'. The problem is what will happen when the kid realises that chokoras are harmless people whose only problem is that they are in a country where unemployment is the order of life. Worse still after education these same kids may end up in ChOKORAS lifestyle or even worse- How then they will find their parents are fools/inhuman and empty of any wisdom.

muthuri mwanake
momo
#152 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 9:01:00 AM

chi20,that last part is seriously disturbing.
Litoro
#153 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 10:44:00 AM

This is one that ive never even told ma wife lakini leo atajua. i was in std. 7 en i was the youngest en smallest in that class.we were in a homescience lesson being taught how to nappy a baby. can u imagine the teacher picked me for the demonstration in front of all the gals! i tried to protest lakini wapi. i was forced to lie on the teachers table na nikafungwa nappy! i still cant believe i was that small in class 7.
#154 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2009 11:17:00 AM

In my primary school days,'TKK' was a good,nay,noble thing!!

It used to stand for Tijifunze Kusoma Kikwetu....a series of books from the Min of Education for classes 1,2,and 3 written in vernacular languages. Thus I learnt to read and write in Kikuyu...long before I could utter a word in Kiswahili,let alone English.
gmimo
#155 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 9:58:00 AM

.....and there was this teacher in primo who used to teach in mother tongue,it went something like this................'Riria Vasco dagama akinyire Bururi wa mombasa ri(WhenVasco dagama the navigator...reached Mombasa.....bla bla)..........Why on earth were they teaching in mother tongue......were other places affected also ama ni slopes pekee yake....

...............Then prior to art and craft lessons,we used to be told to come with clay for modelling,so me being the forgetful child and very playful could not remember anything till the following morning when i saw my bro tip toeing with his mkebe of CLay......(he was very mischievous .........)so come morning i used to cry so uncontrollably telling mum,'turerirwo tutware Clay thukuru umuthi .....(we were told to go with CLay this morning)Woiyeh My mum would first suspend her milking the cows and take a kapanga and a mkebe to get me Clay......'..............

Expect less and you will not be disappointed!! Ce'st Vrai
Achiever
#156 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 10:34:00 AM

@litoro

hehehhehe.......

u are killing me man...!!!!

don't worry....be happy
wanyuru
#157 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 10:58:00 AM

@Kishtash,

The one of a chic spreading a leso on a 'feji' has cracked me up. kwani we grew up in the same village?

That bit about tightening stitches.... did u try a cold padlock? used to work.

Yes am a slow walker,but i never walk backwards.(anonymous)
#158 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 11:10:00 AM

@254.co.ke

hahahahahahahahaahahaha!!!! You made my afternoon!!!

I remember that insha so well..... it cracked me up then,and cant stop laughing now! He would just interchange 'ilikuwa siku ya ijumaa na mipango yote ilikuwa imekamilika........ Na mipango yote ilikuwa imekamilika siku ya ijumaa........ ilikuwa imekamilika mipango siku ya ijumaa.......'and on and on and on!!!!!

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
Ric dees
#159 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 11:36:00 AM

My most memorable escapades were kinda naughty ones..i remember the primo i attended had wooden toilets and you could peep as one did there thing..however there was thing chick who had the strangest of rituals.we used to use pit latrines..her back would always face the door and she would swing her behind sideways..never understood was hillarious whenever i watched...

but the mother of all memories was when i was in F2..we had gone to one of the High schools in central province for the provincial drama festive finals..all school in central were there..so it kwishad around 5.30 pm and schools had to wait for the judges decison..now darkness was creeping in ..was trying my luck to 'hook'a chick ( as we called it)..lakini wapi..tried.to no availl..have always been a very shy person..now that night one of the girls schools their bus broke down completely and since there school was on our way we gave them a lift..this is now past 8.30pm with more than 100km to cover in a bus full to capacity...it was sheer bliss...in the cover of darkness that night..lady luck smiled at some of us..

Heart is what separates the good from the great - Micheal Jordan.

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
Djinn
#160 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 12:29:00 PM

MS DO3 3.1.....5 1/4 floppy disks (I bet 3/4 of SK have never held or seen one)....tusker export (300ml stout) and the phrase 'mbili mbili kama kawaida' and ALWAYS came in pairs (BTW why did they discontinue Tusker Export - one of those great mysteries).....I recall when Small Guinness was Kshs 18 and Pilsner 21-22 bob. It was such a blast when VOK started broadcasting at 2pm on the weekend - whoa baby! Danger Mouse,Scooby Doo...Saturday night? Forget the f*** up (FA Cup)...Football Made in Germany....someone say Karl Heinz Rummeniege (sp?). BTW do they still do those radio lessons?

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
21 Pages«<1415161718>»