@ Njung'e m from upcountry ya coast the famous hills and not the west,
M really having fun here,
For me to live is Jesus Christ,to die is gain
@Wanyuru, ...And meeeting in an open field with dogs and watch them fight............Eti ni gani kali kati ya Jimmi na Tommy........bure kabisa....!!!.....where did we get all this time?... @Brav, Other than the absent alphabets(F,L,P,Q,S,V,X and Z),Gikuyu has no silent letters......Three tuskers..........one more question and i will demand for a mwatu.....!!..heh.! Guka wa bijuti... Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Something that disturbs me. Why did we have a small shamba at one corner of the class. Kila siku tunamwagilia mahindi na maharagwe maji. Is there any primary school teacher in the house even if its former teacher ? "You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
We were in class 4 and a guy called Njoroge sported some blood stained liver on the sits (mifomu) and shouted.'haiyaa ....wanjiru niaguithia ini (liver) mwalimu' We were very shocked and coz mrs wachira cud understand,all the boys were told to move out of the class. Little did we know that Wanjiru was having her first monthly periods. "You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
@Tutu, OoHhhh....I see..!!.. (Said the blind man)......Great..!!.So,what do they call tuthugumiri where you come from?.... @Burning spear, hahahaaaaaa.......!!!...Ngai...fafa..!!....Eti...?.Report to the nearest asylum ASAP....haahahha..!! Guka wa bijuti... Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
there's this guy i was with in form one. Those swahili lessons of 'Tunga Sentensi ukitumia maneno haya...' so dude was told by our swahili teacher to tunga sentensi ukitumia neno 'kuku na taga' The guy thought for a while then 'Kuku alitaga mayai,kicha akayatura tuchui' (akayatura-she hatched hatched; tuchui -chicks) msee alilimwa Yes am a slow walker,but i never walk backwards.(anonymous)
Rank: Member Joined: 3/10/2008 Posts: 301 Location: Abu Dhabi
There was puma,where you blow the pelee till ur mouth becomes sore. The talk of esto was the one with the most. Whenever there are parties,kids are just on the lookout.
Then gari za wire,kamero and bano. My middle finger is still bent from pulling it during bano. Once when CD's were little known,n kids in the esto went to chokora in the trash huko umo,and found many 'baloons'. Guys blew them (I wasnt lucky to get one),till an older boy came to tell them those are crazy stuff. We came to know what they were many years later
When we were kids it used to rain hail stones (mbura ya mbembe)and then we would all go out in the rain with a bowl to collect the mbembe to eat. My mum could not take any of the nonsense she would give us a through beating.
Hey,and the time of Sandak? There was this girl who used to be my sister's friend. she was the only girl in their home. so we felt she was really 'liked'.... she used to be the fashion pacemaker.... So,when the sandaks were on fashion,she had like three pairs with different colors - wierd colors but back then,they looked beautiful. I remember me and my sis had some bata shoes (remember the black ones with a kastrap across? and we felt mom did not like as that much to buy us the fashionable Sandaks.... until one day,my sis went to visit our aunt in Nakuru and she was bought for a pair and she brought a pair for me... but still,ours were one color so not as fancy as the multi-colored.
Now,when we got them,thats when the drama started. In the morning,the things would be so hard they almost cut you. At noon,you had to look for cool water to cool them off... damn Sandaks!!!! and it used to be a distance from home to church... real torture... Good thing is,you would be lucky if they lasted a month..... and once gone,you wouldnt miss them again!!
Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
The sandaks were called 'mashina ndutu' we believed that the heat generated would kill the jiggers lodged in the feet. We also enjoyed when mama poked our feet to toa the ndutu,with sewin needles that were chomwad with jiko to sterilize them.
hey
Memories are made of this