wazua Thu, May 7, 2026

21 Pages«<1011121314>»
Memories are made of this
Burning Spear
#111 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 8:20:00 AM

@sheri,

Kudos for starting this thread.

There is this river (muraria)that had origin from the aberdare forest,we cud go to the forest and find michuha (those plants that grew like strings on other tall trees).The michuhas were strategically located on the down hill before you cross the river.
We used to use them in swinging the other side of the river and mind you almost 50metres high above the river,go the other side and swing back.
We decided to swing with another kihii and our muchuha got weak ikakatika tukiwa juu,and the ground was the river with forest plants of all kind and most noticeable was mabage with thorns(dont know the english name).

You can guess how we were after thorough prickings by those thorns.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
Mpenzi
#112 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 8:50:00 AM

@burning spear

your mention of mubage has reminded me that the fruits of this plant were a good source of glue especially for art classes. i wonder whether anyone has made commercial use of this plant.
#113 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 8:51:00 AM

@bebeto

Bask in a urinal????? hehehehe... that is a new one.

Kwani guys from the western side dint have childhood memories... cant seem to locate many around here.... Ama they were just like Burning Spears....hehehehe... Must have taken you long to lie on your back!

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
brav
#114 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 8:52:00 AM

'Ati kuhutithania?' hehehehehehehehe haki nyinyi mulikuwa mathare day scholars.then ati 'niwaigua mureo?' tss crazy crazy were you arguing,'ni shama kana ni murio?' guka hebu give us this difference?

I remember there was a dude called Maiko,in our school who I think wasn't just lucky,

The dude kwanza was kind of not so okay mentally,and had repeated classes so many times and was the oldest and dumbest. so tukamfikia..

Scene 1
During one agriculture class,we were being taught on how to kill pest from a cow,so for a demo Maiko was the one to be the cow,and a certain girl (cant recall her name) was the farmer,and the blackboard duster was to be the pesticide,so the the girl smeared the chalkdust on the cow's jegeke(armpits),btween the legs,shingo poor maiko.

Scene 2
One friday (the day we raised the flag),the rope broke and it had to be put back at the pulley at the top of the pole,so our superman was the one to do it,he climbed the pole he would step on that ka-thingy that we tied the rope in at the bottom of the pole it was a K shaped iron. then do the climbing by embrasing the pole going up, after doing his thing he started to haruruka (sliding down) back,i think he had forgotten about that ka thing so he slid down on top of it akaikalia,how his ball were not,reaped off apart. still amazes me. hehehehe all I remember was seeing a red thing pop out out from his shorts kumbe ilikuwa ngotha ya red,'ihii ni cia gai'

The girls used to tell Maiko to show them his kanyamu. Usichoke kutafuta salary
#115 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 8:59:00 AM

@Mpenzi,

Is it mubage or mubaage..??.

@Brav,

Shama= Taste.

Murio = Good feeling.

You don't taste a gathugumiri......Ngai...!!

Guka wa bijuti...
Mpenzi
#116 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 9:11:00 AM

@Njung'e

you are right it should be double 'a'.

but 'murio' can also mean sweet.

@ Wendz

am also looking forward to memories and stories from the west - i have heard some good ones from friends from that end.
#117 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 9:29:00 AM

It's only Tutu who has come out.........Looks like the other guys were born with teeth...41 teeth.....Nothing to amuse them.........hehe..!!

@Brav,

Not so.Just that some are corruption of English words.Note also that the Gikuyu language has two more vowels than English.This don't seem to be used by the current generation hence the difference.Note.Thank you is 'thengiu' where the last vowel is pronounced as 'OA' as in Goats...............seen the difference?........Two tuskers..

Guka wa bijuti...

brav
#118 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 9:29:00 AM

Thanks guka,Haiyaa these days they do taste tuthugumiri.. hehehehe... maaganitee!!
aree with mpenzi shama can mean sweet.

but I think whoever who comes up with kikuyu words is either a muguruki or he does it while drunk. there are too many words that are confused,eg Thegio could mean thankyou or be moved,which could also be used to mean died,look at 'kuagana',missing or naughty.... bure kabisa is there a kikuyu dictionary?

Usichoke kutafuta salary
brav
#119 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 9:39:00 AM

I think Our kids will be laughing at how computers used to have big monitors CRT,and how they had to wait for the comp to boot,or shut down. ati 'do you remember those CDs and the play station 3s'. .... if only they were there when I was learning computers and had to carry my VB5 project in a pack of diskettes.

Njunge... Before the two tuskers... Maybe I may not be getting it right? the N is silent,so If I buy the tusker you can corrupt the thankyou,to mean I be moved (normaly to my ancestors).

thegio -BE MOVED

Usichoke kutafuta salary
wanyuru
#120 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 10:27:00 AM

Remember how i used to give 'jimi'(the dog) maggi (wasps) eti ndio ikuwe fierce lakini the poor thing would take off like nonsense whenever my mum coughed!

Yes am a slow walker,but i never walk backwards.(anonymous)
21 Pages«<1011121314>»