wazua Thu, May 7, 2026

21 Pages«<910111213>»
Memories are made of this
mukwano
#101 Posted : Monday, March 16, 2009 4:32:00 AM

guys chokad our former prezzo when he brought broject Uhuru but I remember him boring me way before that. Back when he was parliament,president and the people combined he declared (probably road side) ati toy guns were henceforth illeagal. I remember ombaring for school to end I go hide mine but by the time I got home my mother,the good mwananchi,had chomad by blue toygun that shot discs ... this six yr old almost planned his own coup!

and there was another rumor ati Moi had an affaire with diana ross and was trying to cover it up,thats why after some time radio stations stopped playing 'up side down,Moi turn me,in side out,n round and round ..' He banned it!
#102 Posted : Monday, March 16, 2009 5:08:00 AM

@Mukwano,

You got me to a flying start......eti Moi..what...! ...hehehe..!!.......Reminds me of this one day where word has it that he was seeing off a Nigerian high commissioner and he went like.....'Ugifika huko Lagos,salimia Baba ngida,Mama ngida na hata Ngida mwenyewe...'....

Guka wa bijuti...
Sasha
#103 Posted : Monday, March 16, 2009 5:54:00 AM

How come I've not seen stories of people who tried electrocuting grasshoppers?

I only remember my brothers tried to catapult themselves, fly in the air as far as they could and land in the river. They vutad a tree that was in our compound, tied a rope that was supposed to be a trigger to a nearby stump and attached a seat that used to be a chair. Then they voted and my youngest bro was to go first as he was the smallest and lightest. After the countdown and the rope had be cut to release the catapult, my poor bro forgot to let go and he was smashed into the ground by the tree breaking his hand in 2 places! We were chapwad for 2 continuous days, me for watching!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
#104 Posted : Monday, March 16, 2009 8:14:00 AM

@bebeto,can't remember the last time I heard the word kuthinuria - ihii ni ihii kweli. Used to go to shagz every holz n the best part was kutubira rui after kuria mburuti juu ya mti (think they're called loquats in English - don't see the fruit anymore) We used to apply copious amounts of vaseline on our bodies to disguise the mpararo but always used to forget the back of our ears whih always used to be enough evidence for a thorough beating.

After kuhutithiana with the village chics did you guys used to ask 'Niwaigua mureo?'

Stra
#105 Posted : Monday, March 16, 2009 8:34:00 AM

Tried to use umbrellas as parachutes. Could climb the tallest tree and jump. Wengi tulikiona. Rememba my pal falling on his head and as a fast aid we stepped on his shoulders and pulled out his neck! No other treatment and it somehow worked. Mungu yuko esp. shags...

'A ship in harbour is safe; but that is not what ships are made for'.

danny6
#106 Posted : Monday, March 16, 2009 11:03:00 AM

What a nostalgia
....mmmmh i remember the days when i was in standard three and there was this good friend of mind who used to come from a poor family,he had his school pants 'pikwad kiraga with all sorts of colours in the behind until you thought it was a flower.Well while walking home by foot after class i asked him why he was doing so he explained to me his predicament to which i mercifully removed my pants and gave him and walked home 1 km without paints..on seeing me arrive my dad gave me several canes on my emty behind i could not sit for 3 days

'When one door closes another door opens; but we so often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door,that we do not see the ones which open for us'.
mukwano
#107 Posted : Monday, March 16, 2009 12:17:00 PM

before our school compound was grabbed by a church (kenya is special) me and my fav partner in crime would make mtegos. In standadi one I think the second period was PE every day so me and kariuki would go and spend the whole period separating the grass into two clumps and tying the top. we were diligent jamas,UNHCR would be called today,working in silence to do a whole pitch. then we wait for break time. In silence we'd watch guys playing foota,catch and kiss or wharrever trip and kula soil. we were very careful not to cheka,lest we be identified as the cause for this mayhem.
Mwendia
#108 Posted : Monday, March 16, 2009 12:56:00 PM

Hahaah.....!!

What about the boys who claimed that they could beat others and all the time they ended up being Vunjwad.

I remember one time our school went on strike from morning to evening and we had not eaten lunch. A lorry carrying loaves of bread came and we stopped it. We all ran to the place they load bread(behind) and no one was infront of it the lorry drove away. How silly we were Hahahahaha.......!!

'Just go out and make yourself useful.'

Peter Drucker (1909-2005)
Austrian-American author and theorist
bebeto
#109 Posted : Monday, March 16, 2009 5:25:00 PM

for those of u who schooled in shags...

during the last week of a term,there was no much learning. so,we used to bring jembes/pangas for digging and weeding the school shamba,much to our disgust...n the way it was big,plus the yield was for the teachers.

some cheeky boys...a good number- used to do it vibaya-'kuhunyirira'-as in u do it 'jumpy jumpy,leaving big patches untilled n spreading fine soil on top of weed...then after two weeks,thangari( some kind of grass-cant recall its name) is seen sprouting,ha ha

some boys used to roast maize and warus in the pit(mborera-garbagebin) as we burn garbage,and mind u they never had stomach problems...

others used to bask inside the urinal for like 5hrs and mind u it was being used by all ihiis-like 400 with some making it their latrines and they could spend days in their with no fuss.

be happy!
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
Goals
#110 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 8:00:00 AM

True memories,how many of us woke up very early on 1st of January to see the sun being 'washed'. I remember when kids were discussing about the new year events we used to indicate how there were many basins of different colors etc. All kids used to long for this event. One could not deny witnessing the washing of the sun!!1
21 Pages«<910111213>»