cycling to work on your own?
Mwafrika31
#21 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 5:20:12 AM

m.r.davies wrote:
Hi All

I'm a male white guy in my 30's
I'm movng over soon, and would like to be able to cycle to work

Someone said its not safe to do this
Is this correct? I'm I being naive even considering it?

thanks

@ mr.-so called -davies,
I'm shocked that you have the temerity to be rabidly racist on this site. Did you have to tell us you're 'white' (pink if you ask me), as if that entitles you to some special consideration? A badge of honor to be waved at the darkies faces! My fellow wazuans have quickly started worshipping at the alter of your pale skin, like the mentally colonized africans that they are. Anyway, not being impressed, I suspect that you, 'white guy in my 30's' are actually a Nigerian up to something.
callaspade
#22 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 8:56:59 AM

....Mr Davies..........you cant buy experience, can you?

....make your landing perfect,be a nice pilot,do not cycle your neighbours bicycle,try to keep left like the matatu and have a nice stay while in Kenya.
.....otherwise,live your bicycle in the plane
#23 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 9:26:05 AM

Mwafrika31 wrote:
m.r.davies wrote:
Hi All

thanks

@ mr.-so called -davies,
I'm shocked that you have the temerity to be rabidly racist on this site. Did you have to tell us you're 'white' (pink if you ask me), as if that entitles you to some special consideration? A badge of honor to be waved at the darkies faces! My fellow wazuans have quickly started worshipping at the alter of your pale skin, like the mentally colonized africans that they are. Anyway, not being impressed, I suspect that you, 'white guy in my 30's' are actually a Nigerian up to something.

Mwafrika i dont agree with you that the guy is 'rabidly racist' merely because he stated that he is 'white'. This 4.20am 'attack' is totally unjustified..ama ni baridi ya July?????Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
#24 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 9:54:03 AM

Bwana Davies the terrain of the areas you mention is generally hilly so first confirm that your working place has a shower coz no one wants to work next to a weapon of stench destruction, white or not. The bicycle is means of transport for hundreds of thousands of poorer kenyans, a plaything for the middle class kids and a heath tool for the richer. you will be in very good company.
#25 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 10:07:59 AM

Njunge wrote:
@Intelli,
In Kenya,a pothole is a hole that can accommodate a pot.

#26 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 10:21:52 AM

Mwafrika31 wrote:
m.r.davies wrote:
Hi All

thanks

@ mr.-so called -davies,

@Mwafrika31

I think you have a big big problem with your perception of how we should treat other people. Check out other threads here where someone has requested for information. We gladly give it without considering whether you are blue, black, pink, white or any racial color (check out a thread where someone was asking for info on a hospital to deliver in) It had over 100 hits. Were we worshiping them? well, I dont know.

There is nothing wrong with him saying he is white.... his not saying wont make it black anyway. And in any case, i think it is a plus for Wazua that other people in diaspora who will be coming into the country can actually visit this site and hope to get helpful information. what did you really expect us to do? start throwing stones at him?

Check your attitude towards people who are not mwafrika31. Now you are attacking a 'white', the other day it was all women who were 'devils'.... So if someone is not you, then they have a big problem, not so?
#27 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 10:39:44 AM

Blackout wrote:

@bkismat .... do u want to mean white males moving to Kenya do not have balls? Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad

I believe he should be able to understand almost all apart from where some Wazuans throw in some Shengen'gi words

@Blackout,
Not unless whites have balls somewhere away from their groin...may be in their stomach or where else?

murenj
#28 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 10:42:23 AM

If your work place is in a busy urban setting like nairobi, then donn"t. Motorists fear pot holes more than cyclists. If your work schedule involves keeping late hours, then muggers will have a field day..................... If you will be operating in a rural setting, be prepared to endure hordes of adoring fans..................
m.r.davies
#29 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 2:38:06 PM

Mwafrika31 wrote:

@ mr.-so called -davies,

Mwafrika31, i'm sorry that i upset you, i really didn't mean it this way

The ONLY reason I mentioned I'm white, is becuase I thought it was relevent to the topic
i.e. this is all about being safe, and I thought it was relevent to mention the fact I'm not going to look like a local.

I assumed there is a higher percentage of me being targetted over a local?
If that isn't the case, please let me know.

Regardless, I'm not above anyone, i've had 4 best mates in my life, one was white, one from Inida, one Sri Lanka, and the other Pakistan, so it actually feels hurtful for someone to call me a racist

Also, please explain how are people worshiping me? i've asked a simple question, and I'm getting some great advice from people (thanks everyone else!)
I've posted on lots of forums, and the response here is no different to the UK forums I go on, helpful and friendly

black, white, pink yellow whatever - we are all human, I am not superior to you, neither you to me, we are all equal.

Look, i'm just a person, I have no hidden agenda, I'm moving over with my wife to do charity work for a year, and have heard of some attacks, so just trying to be careful.

If there is something i'm missing here please point it out, I have no clue about Kenyan Culture...other than when I was over for 2 weeks in easter, everyone was lovely.
But I'm sure i'll learn quickly

Thanks
Mark
Apparently, I'm a Nigerian scammer :(
feel free to ignore any business propositions
m.r.davies
#30 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 2:41:48 PM

Bwana Davies the terrain of the areas you mention is generally hilly so first confirm that your working place has a shower coz no one wants to work next to a weapon of stench destruction

Lol
Good point, i'm going to stink!
I'll check that out!

Cheers

Apparently, I'm a Nigerian scammer :(
feel free to ignore any business propositions
9 Pages<12345>»