Investor
Stocks
What's the Worst mistake and/Best decision you have made in the NSE todate?
Rank: New-farer Joined: 6/17/2010 Posts: 71 Location: Kenya
Guys as the action in the market cools off - so we can jichagulia Katiba - we can all learn from one another. My Worst mistake in the market to date is after entering the market in mid 2004. I sold my Stanchart Shares and KCB shares a year later to buy my first car only for the shares to double in value two months later. Had I held I would have made my first Mili then. my best decision is to hold on to ARM bought then at 16.5 today I am about 800% up over a six year period. This changed my perspective on a lot of things - long term the NSE is a gem - where else do you get that kind of return. Na bado sijafactor in the consistent dividends that have covered about 80% of my innitial cost outlay. I believe everyone has a story - lets tell it here! When we wake up in the morning, we have two simple choices. Go back to sleep and dream, or wake up and chase those dreams. The choice is yours! .
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
I think one of your worst is trying to bold the headline BBI will solve it :)
Rank: New-farer Joined: 6/17/2010 Posts: 71 Location: Kenya
2012 wrote:I think one of your worst is trying to bold the headline Noted & fixed! Whats Your? When we wake up in the morning, we have two simple choices. Go back to sleep and dream, or wake up and chase those dreams. The choice is yours! .
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
Buying kenya re in february at 13bob while jubilee was trading at 104bob... Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
@shauri i don't see how selling shares to buy a car can be a worst mistake. In any case the number of people who have successfully timed the market is very small. I guess my worst was dealing with a broke broker, lost me some chums, about 20k which was lots of money for me then. Life is short. Live passionately.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
My first buy Mumias @55 after asking 'the broker' and she told me "naona watu wakinunua Mumias hiyo ndiyo inashika sana saa hii" I haven't decided whether that was my biggest mistake or my best lesson. BBI will solve it :)
My worst was investing heavely in Unga at 22, now trading at 12, no dividends for about 5years.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,568 Location: nairobi
1000 kengen at KES31, iv had to buy 4 times over to average it down to KES18 COOP 70,000 ABP 15.20; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Rank: Member Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 101 Location: Nairobi
actually, my worst mistake was one time I placed a safaricom order without putting a price limit,..it was bought at 8 bob and then after 2 days it dropped to about 6.5...Thanx God to Cost averaging and long term focus, I have been able to bring this price to 4.80..
Rank: Member Joined: 7/13/2010 Posts: 160 Location: rift Valley-Naks
2012 wrote:My first buy Mumias @55 after asking 'the broker' and she told me "naona watu wakinunua Mumias hiyo ndiyo inashika sana saa hii" I haven't decided whether that was my biggest mistake or my best lesson. @2012,that was a pick up line and a half.hata mimi i bought Msc IPO with ma little 10k from campus only to sell later @ 12.50 and start a fresh. ''i can calculate the motion of heavenly bodies,but not the madness of people''-Isaac Newton
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
Jamani wrote:My worst was investing heavely in Unga at 22, now trading at 12, no dividends for about 5years. Jamani, you've been holding unga for 5 years? Now thats what I call patience GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
2012 wrote:My first buy Mumias @55 after asking 'the broker' and she told me "naona watu wakinunua Mumias hiyo ndiyo inashika sana saa hii" I haven't decided whether that was my biggest mistake or my best lesson. Ati 'naona watu wakinunua Mumias?' Waaaah! GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:Jamani wrote:My worst was investing heavely in Unga at 22, now trading at 12, no dividends for about 5years. Jamani, you've been holding unga for 5 years? Now thats what I call patience Yes I have, only thing i got is a bonus and i forgot about the share. i cant sell or average now am too late and the cost is too high its a junk stuck with me and a reminder to me of fuata nyayo kind of investment. Its funny to even discuss how and why i came to the decision to buy the share, it remains in my books as an reminder of how not to invest.
Worst-I bought KCB at Sh32.50 and now its hitting Sh17 Best-Stanbic Uganda @Sh70, now its trading at Sh225 and the dividends is awesome.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
@jamani wow! But you seem to have lost faith in Unga. Acknowledge your mistake, sell at a loss and buy a more promising stock. I also had eveready and Och but decided to chuck them, at a loss and put the money elsewhere. There are similar stories on wazua, ask @mukiha, @vvs et al @2012 ati hiyo ndiyo inashika sana saa hii, lmao you have made my day. Life is short. Live passionately.
Rank: Member Joined: 8/15/2008 Posts: 26 Location: Kampala
Worst, Bought 25,000 Safari com at 5.9 and when the price hit 2.7/=, i panicked and sold off all, Had my investment more than halved in a single decision.
My best is yet to come, but i believe is in the making. Express may do it for me. My instincts and not anything fundamental or technical. Just instincts.
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,136 Location: Nairobi
O-lose-my-piss Why did I buy olympia? Everything told me NO... lakini I decided to speculate... - Scam artist of a CEO - Politician 'owner' - Insider dealings Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VVS, got off Olympia at 7.25. I had bought it purely for speculation. But I think we got greedy, since we could have got out when it hit 10.75. Luckily it was just a few hundred shares and going with the low price, i didn't lose a lot of money, though I made a 20 percent loss. But all the same, I really hate losing money. No more speculation for me! GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
WORST - Sold all CFC just before the announcement at 47.50 6 weeks ago. BEST - Still holding onto many listed Co's at par value since 70's
I invested my hard earned money in one lot precisely at the tipping point of the market....lost more than 60% in just two months...lesson well learnt. The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
Investor
Stocks
What's the Worst mistake and/Best decision you have made in the NSE todate?