wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

6 Pages123>»
What's the Worst mistake and/Best decision you have made in the NSE todate?
shauriyako
#1 Posted : Wednesday, July 28, 2010 7:56:03 PM

Guys as the action in the market cools off - so we can jichagulia Katiba - we can all learn from one another.

My Worst mistake in the market to date is after entering the market in mid 2004. I sold my Stanchart Shares and KCB shares a year later to buy my first car only for the shares to double in value two months later. Had I held I would have made my first Mili then.
my best decision is to hold on to ARM bought then at 16.5 today I am about 800% up over a six year period. This changed my perspective on a lot of things - long term the NSE is a gem - where else do you get that kind of return. Na bado sijafactor in the consistent dividends that have covered about 80% of my innitial cost outlay.

I believe everyone has a story - lets tell it here!
When we wake up in the morning, we have two simple choices. Go back to sleep and dream, or wake up and chase those dreams. The choice is yours! .
#2 Posted : Wednesday, July 28, 2010 8:05:33 PM

I think one of your worst is trying to bold the headlinesmile

shauriyako
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 28, 2010 8:14:56 PM

I think one of your worst is trying to bold the headlinesmile

Noted & fixed!
Whats Your?
When we wake up in the morning, we have two simple choices. Go back to sleep and dream, or wake up and chase those dreams. The choice is yours! .
#4 Posted : Wednesday, July 28, 2010 8:31:01 PM

Buying kenya re in february at 13bob while jubilee was trading at 104bob...
#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 28, 2010 8:39:33 PM

@shauri i don't see how selling shares to buy a car can be a worst mistake. In any case the number of people who have successfully timed the market is very small. I guess my worst was dealing with a broke broker, lost me some chums, about 20k which was lots of money for me then.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, July 28, 2010 8:42:51 PM

My first buy Mumias @55 after asking 'the broker' and she told me "naona watu wakinunua Mumias hiyo ndiyo inashika sana saa hii" I haven't decided whether that was my biggest mistake or my best lesson.

Jamani
#7 Posted : Wednesday, July 28, 2010 9:09:45 PM

My worst was investing heavely in Unga at 22, now trading at 12, no dividends for about 5years.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, July 28, 2010 9:15:39 PM

1000 kengen at KES31, iv had to buy 4 times over to average it down to KES18

COOP 70,000 ABP 15.20; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
astute
#9 Posted : Wednesday, July 28, 2010 9:21:39 PM

actually, my worst mistake was one time I placed a safaricom order without putting a price limit,..it was bought at 8 bob and then after 2 days it dropped to about 6.5...Thanx God to Cost averaging and long term focus, I have been able to bring this price to 4.80..
tkzee
#10 Posted : Wednesday, July 28, 2010 11:14:56 PM

My first buy Mumias @55 after asking 'the broker' and she told me "naona watu wakinunua Mumias hiyo ndiyo inashika sana saa hii" I haven't decided whether that was my biggest mistake or my best lesson.

@2012,that was a pick up line and a half.hata mimi i bought Msc IPO with ma little 10k from campus only to sell later @ 12.50 and start a fresh.
''i can calculate the motion of heavenly bodies,but not the madness of people''-Isaac Newton
#11 Posted : Wednesday, July 28, 2010 11:15:09 PM

Jamani wrote:
My worst was investing heavely in Unga at 22, now trading at 12, no dividends for about 5years.

Jamani, you've been holding unga for 5 years? Now thats what I call patience
#12 Posted : Wednesday, July 28, 2010 11:20:36 PM

Ati 'naona watu wakinunua Mumias?' Waaaah!
Jamani
#13 Posted : Thursday, July 29, 2010 7:52:42 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Jamani wrote:

Jamani, you've been holding unga for 5 years? Now thats what I call patience

Yes I have, only thing i got is a bonus and i forgot about the share. i cant sell or average now am too late and the cost is too high its a junk stuck with me and a reminder to me of fuata nyayo kind of investment. Its funny to even discuss how and why i came to the decision to buy the share, it remains in my books as an reminder of how not to invest.
the sage
#14 Posted : Thursday, July 29, 2010 9:12:22 AM

Worst-I bought KCB at Sh32.50 and now its hitting Sh17
Best-Stanbic Uganda @Sh70, now its trading at Sh225 and the dividends is awesome.
#15 Posted : Thursday, July 29, 2010 9:30:37 AM

@jamani wow! But you seem to have lost faith in Unga. Acknowledge your mistake, sell at a loss and buy a more promising stock. I also had eveready and Och but decided to chuck them, at a loss and put the money elsewhere. There are similar stories on wazua, ask @mukiha, @vvs et al @2012 ati hiyo ndiyo inashika sana saa hii, lmao you have made my day.
Live Wire
#16 Posted : Thursday, July 29, 2010 9:36:12 AM

Worst, Bought 25,000 Safari com at 5.9 and when the price hit 2.7/=, i panicked and sold off all, Had my investment more than halved in a single decision.

My best is yet to come, but i believe is in the making. Express may do it for me. My instincts and not anything fundamental or technical. Just instincts.
#17 Posted : Thursday, July 29, 2010 9:57:46 AM

O-lose-my-piss

Why did I buy olympia? Everything told me NO... lakini I decided to speculate...

- Scam artist of a CEO
- Politician 'owner'
- Insider dealings
#18 Posted : Thursday, July 29, 2010 10:26:59 AM

VVS, got off Olympia at 7.25. I had bought it purely for speculation. But I think we got greedy, since we could have got out when it hit 10.75. Luckily it was just a few hundred shares and going with the low price, i didn't lose a lot of money, though I made a 20 percent loss. But all the same, I really hate losing money. No more speculation for me!
sss
#19 Posted : Thursday, July 29, 2010 10:32:00 AM

WORST - Sold all CFC just before the announcement at 47.50 6 weeks ago.
BEST - Still holding onto many listed Co's at par value since 70's
sheep
#20 Posted : Thursday, July 29, 2010 10:37:42 AM

I invested my hard earned money in one lot precisely at the tipping point of the market....lost more than 60% in just two months...lesson well learnt.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.