wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Poll Question : 2 weeks left: Final position on the Katiba issue?
Choice Votes Statistics
Yes.......(click) 46 67 %
No.........(click) 20 29 %
None of the Above...(click) 2 2 %
Total 68 100%

Final opinion poll
#41 Posted : Monday, July 26, 2010 11:52:10 AM

Some of the leaders in NO team said that the reports were funded and manipulated by the US to favor the greens(may be/maybe not)..... but who is receiving the dollars here in Wazua for these kinds of polls? Can he/she share with us and stop being selfish... i bet that should be a mbuzi sometime in mid august......
Fundaah
#42 Posted : Monday, July 26, 2010 11:56:44 AM

....and can Ruto tell us where he is getting all the Money to hop around ebery gona of the country...who is funding him....? I hear hiring a chopper is not a joke....you need to be well monied.....over $2000 per hour....
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#43 Posted : Monday, July 26, 2010 11:57:34 AM

thuks for sure I think we shall get more than 65%
#44 Posted : Monday, July 26, 2010 12:00:20 PM

kadonye wrote:
..the Catholics,Anglicans and Presbyterians are opposed to the draft.

Impressive to see the Baptists take a stand and support YES.

It's possible in saying No/Yes to just follow your crowd. You could examine the document, and choose to take a stand contra to the mindset of those closest to you.

Let's respect religious people who choose to say YES, people from Raila's backyard who choose to say NO, from Ruto's backyard who choose to say YES, and ministers like Naomi Shaban who choose NO. That's why we all have a conscience!
#45 Posted : Monday, July 26, 2010 12:01:07 PM

LET THOSE WHO ARE IN RED FOLLOW ME INTO THE GREENER Pastures as Mudavadi was saying yesterday in Tinderet.
Dia
#46 Posted : Monday, July 26, 2010 1:11:42 PM

I will vote NO..... The issues in the draft ranging from Abortion on Demand, Loss of Sovereignty, Devolved Government Costs, etc a not negotiable for me to vote in this draft:

Why I oppose the Draft Constitution
http://docs.google.com/l...kZmU3NDlhYWRm&hl=en

COE Draft Troublesome Aspects
http://docs.google.com/l...2ZjdhMDdmYzll&hl=en

Why We must vote NO
http://docs.google.com/l...wOWMzMDE3NDNh&hl=en

20 Reasons Why should VOTE NO:
http://docs.google.com/l...hZTRmMDBmNGE3&hl=en

17 Pertinent Questions on the Draft Constitution:
http://docs.google.com/l...hNjViMmU2OGU3&hl=en

Cost of Devolved Government

http://docs.google.com/l...4ZWRlMjEwMjYz&hl=en

Supporting Documents

Maputo Protocol (In relation to the abortion agenda in Africa = International Law)
http://docs.google.com/l...JhNTFmMjljZjBj&hl=en
#47 Posted : Monday, July 26, 2010 1:24:19 PM

selah wrote:
LET THOSE WHO ARE IN RED FOLLOW ME INTO THE GREENER Pastures as Mudavadi was saying yesterday in Tinderet.

Be cautious. Kama aliuza kaburi.... the green pasture je?
#48 Posted : Monday, July 26, 2010 1:24:48 PM

@Dia
Coming with forwards as usua...huh!!!!
Brewer
#49 Posted : Monday, July 26, 2010 4:08:18 PM

Thank you @Dia. All those links are big on issues and I cannot believe how small the campaign looks seeing it is full of personality attacks.
kenyayetu
#50 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 8:59:00 AM

Fundaah wrote:
It seems civic education here is reaping some benefits....I wish those with legally acquired land... who have accepted the lie that homosexuality is allowed...who are against the Kadhis court ....think that abortion can be done on demand could see the light and Vuka to Green .....why continue being on the wrong side of history?.....

Kwani, voting no is not being part of history? But I digress.

IMHO, this CoE katiba has a carrot for every horse in kenya, but a lot of weird stuff behind the carrots. If we accept the carrot, it comes with this baggage. Even with their horse trading, the PSC draft was saner than this one.
kenyayetu
#51 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 9:08:36 AM

Deer wrote:
Definite NO. Much as I appreciate the good in the draft, I cannot give assent to loss of sovereignty (Article 2 (5) and (6)), loss of right to employ according to my beliefs (Article 32(3)), a bill of rights that does not apply to all Kenyans (Article 24(4)), increase in number of MPs (article 97), prohibition of corporal punishment (Article 29 (e)), unbridled freedom of expression (Article 33 (1)(b))among other things.

By the way, what is wrong with the article Article 32(3)? I have tried interpreting is in all ways possible to see the negative side of it but i cant see any.... ama unasoma katiba ya Somalia? do you want to be discriminated against because your religion?

These 'contentious' issues are all new to me. And NO guys keep telling us that we shall have consensus any time soon? Lets stop kidding anyone. Tupitishe/tupinge wakufurahi afurahi, wa kujinyonga ajinyonge but most importantly, vote yes!

Article 32(3) says that a person may not be denied access to any institution employment or
facility, or enjoyment of any right, because of the person’s belief or religion. The only institutions excempted is the kadhis courts. Comparing section 78 of the Current Constitution and the draft there is a radical, unjustified and suspicious shrink of the above right. So religious organizations which are set up to advance certain practices cannot discriminate on the basis of belief or religion. ISn't that VERY suspicious?
#52 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 10:08:14 AM

kenyayetu wrote:
Deer wrote:
Definite NO. Much as I appreciate the good in the draft, I cannot give assent to loss of sovereignty (Article 2 (5) and (6)), loss of right to employ according to my beliefs (Article 32(3)), a bill of rights that does not apply to all Kenyans (Article 24(4)), increase in number of MPs (article 97), prohibition of corporal punishment (Article 29 (e)), unbridled freedom of expression (Article 33 (1)(b))among other things.

By the way, what is wrong with the article Article 32(3)? I have tried interpreting is in all ways possible to see the negative side of it but i cant see any.... ama unasoma katiba ya Somalia? do you want to be discriminated against because your religion?

These 'contentious' issues are all new to me. And NO guys keep telling us that we shall have consensus any time soon? Lets stop kidding anyone. Tupitishe/tupinge wakufurahi afurahi, wa kujinyonga ajinyonge but most importantly, vote yes!

Article 32(3) says that a person may not be denied access to any institution employment or
facility, or enjoyment of any right, because of the person’s belief or religion. The only institutions excempted is the kadhis courts. Comparing section 78 of the Current Constitution and the draft there is a radical, unjustified and suspicious shrink of the above right. So religious organizations which are set up to advance certain practices cannot discriminate on the basis of belief or religion. ISn't that VERY suspicious?

But @ kenyayetu, assuming you are a christian, why would you want to be charged in a muslim court? My thinking is, the reason why that has been put as an exception is actually to protect you and me who are not muslims from unjust trial in a kadhi court under laws/doctrines/rules that we do not abide by eg, if i am married to a muslim and am christian, he cant take me to kadhi court because i do not proclaim that faith and in essence, it protects me. Which court in kenya would a muslim woman take his husband for bringing in another wife without following hte islamic laws? Why would you want your government to expose you to islamic law when you are not muslim?
kenyayetu
#53 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 3:11:35 PM

It is not about being charged in a muslim court. You miss the point. The issue is that the bill of rights states that you cannot discriminate on the basis of religion.

1. This flies in the face of the section about the qualifications of a Kadhi, who has to be a muslim and judges based on the KORAN, the Sunna and the Hadith (all are religious texts). I know many non muslims who can do this job well and have degrees in Islamic law. If it borders on religion, whether Christian or NOT, it ought not be here. Listen to this discussion (on the home page) on the Kadhi's court ruling and its wider implication: www.citam.org

2. Religious schools... including those run by muslims could be coerced to admit on their staff, people who do not necessarily share the same faith. This is not fair. Religious based instruction is also a right enshrined in the current constitution.. why take it away?

Article 32 (2 ) provides that: “Every person has the right, either individually or in community
with others, in public or in private, to manifest any religion or belief through worship, practice,
teaching or observance, including observance of a day of worship.”

This should be compared with the section 78(1) in our current Constitution;- “ Except with his
own consent, no person shall be hindered in the enjoyment of his freedom of conscience, and for the purposes of this section that freedom includes freedom of thought and of religion, freedom to change his religion or belief, and freedom, either alone or in community with others, and both in public and in private, to manifest and propagate his religion or belief in worship, teaching, practice and observance.”

There has been concern on the current wording of this provision. Why were the words “to
propagate one’s religion and freedom to change, excluded, despite numerous requests by religious
organization such as the Church?
Will it then be foreseeable that a Kenyan can be denied the right to change his religion? Or to
manifest his religion by propagating it? Manifesting is not enough to mean propagate!
What Art 32(3) provides for that “A person may not be denied access to any institution, employment or facility, or the enjoyment of any right, because of the person’s belief or religion?

This may mean that, it will only be where the PCK expressly provides otherwise (e.g. Kadhis’
Courts, religious practice (art 32(2) etc) that it would be permissible to discriminate based on
religion.

Yet the reality is that there are many religiously run institutions such as schools and other private institutions which are reasonably left open only to persons of that community or faith. This position is expressly recognized under Section 78 (2), (3) and (6) of our current Constitution.

Pole... but I am peacefully voting NO on this one. I love my freedom too much

kenyayetu wrote:
Deer wrote:

But @ kenyayetu, assuming you are a christian, why would you want to be charged in a muslim court? My thinking is, the reason why that has been put as an exception is actually to protect you and me who are not muslims from unjust trial in a kadhi court under laws/doctrines/rules that we do not abide by eg, if i am married to a muslim and am christian, he cant take me to kadhi court because i do not proclaim that faith and in essence, it protects me. Which court in kenya would a muslim woman take his husband for bringing in another wife without following hte islamic laws? Why would you want your government to expose you to islamic law when you are not muslim?

kenyayetu
#54 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 3:40:34 PM

@McReggae....

Have you read them?

What is it in them that you refute?

Please don't hide behind a facade of intellectual laziness and brush them off with a quick flick of the wrist...

Refute her points one by one and please provide evidence.., not feelings and opinions, to refute these documents...

Well in Dia.. thanks for giving me even more reason to peacefully and intelligently vote NO
Applause

@Dia
Coming with forwards as usua...huh!!!!

#55 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 3:46:33 PM

I beg to differ with you on various areas that you have pointed out.

First and foremost, let me say the constitution says there is no state religion. On the issues of kadhi courts, those opposed to it are conveniently forgetting that most of the points in the proposed constitution are founded on christian principles and which are binding even to hindus and muslims and other minority religions that may not necessarily be proclaiming the same faith with us.

kenyayetu wrote:
It is not about being charged in a muslim court. You miss the point. The issue is that the bill of rights states that you cannot discriminate on the basis of religion. I thought this should be a good thing?

1. This flies in the face of the section about the qualifications of a Kadhi, who has to be a muslim and judges based on the KORAN, the Sunna and the Hadith (all are religious texts). I know many non muslims who can do this job well and have degrees in Islamic law. If it borders on religion, whether Christian or NOT, it ought not be here. Listen to this discussion (on the home page) on the Kadhi's court ruling and its wider implication: www.citam.org My understand of the argument here is that even non-muslims should be allowed to sit in kadhi courts. (other faiths to be admitted) Now tell me, how just would you feel you have been made if your case is listened to by a kangaroo court even though they are 'qualified' the the matters of customs?

2. Religious schools... including those run by muslims could be coerced to admit on their staff, people who do not necessarily share the same faith. This is not fair. Religious based instruction is also a right enshrined in the current constitution.. why take it away? Now you do not want those who do not proclaim same faith to be admitted....(other faiths not to be admitted).

Article 32 (2 ) provides that: “Every person has the right, either individually or in community
with others, in public or in private, to manifest any religion or belief through worship, practice,
teaching or observance, including observance of a day of worship.”

This should be compared with the section 78(1) in our current Constitution;- “ Except with his
own consent, no person shall be hindered in the enjoyment of his freedom of conscience, and for the purposes of this section that freedom includes freedom of thought and of religion, freedom to change his religion or belief, and freedom, either alone or in community with others, and both in public and in private, to manifest and propagate his religion or belief in worship, teaching, practice and observance.”

There has been concern on the current wording of this provision. Why were the words “to
propagate one’s religion and freedom to change, excluded, despite numerous requests by religious
organization such as the Church? But does it make it illegal to change? If it goes to mean it will be illegal in future, then we shall need to put it in the constitution through a referendum and we wont vote YES that time
Will it then be foreseeable that a Kenyan can be denied the right to change his religion? Or to
manifest his religion by propagating it? Manifesting is not enough to mean propagate!
What Art 32(3) provides for that “A person may not be denied access to any institution, employment or facility, or the enjoyment of any right, because of the person’s belief or religion?

This may mean that, it will only be where the PCK expressly provides otherwise (e.g. Kadhis’
Courts, religious practice (art 32(2) etc) that it would be permissible to discriminate based on
religion. Would the freedom of expression help in this case?

Yet the reality is that there are many religiously run institutions such as schools and other private institutions which are reasonably left open only to persons of that community or faith. This position is expressly recognized under Section 78 (2), (3) and (6) of our current Constitution. Wouldnt it be the main reason we need to ensure that there is no discrimination according to your faith. For example, many parents would want to take their children to some schools but they cant because of the religion discrimination.... yet, in my case, i went to an Anglican high school, Catholic college, Evangelical college and a 'secular' college. In all of those schools, there were muslims, catholics, indians and protestants.... if they were to be discriminated based on their religion then they wouldnt access the education they would have wanted.....

Pole... but I am peacefully voting NO on this one. I love my freedom too much. I am peacefully voting YES but i am sure we will still be friends and kenyans on 5th August no matter which side the scale tilts.

kenyayetu wrote:
Deer wrote:

#56 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 5:37:14 PM

[quote=Wendz]I beg to differ with you on various areas that you have pointed out.

First and foremost, let me say the constitution says there is no state religion. On the issues of kadhi courts, those opposed to it are conveniently forgetting that most of the points in the proposed constitution are founded on christian principles and which are binding even to hindus and muslims and other minority religions that may not necessarily be proclaiming the same faith with us.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
#57 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 6:27:59 PM

The links from dia have serious info and propaganda from scaremongers.

I still think the katiba has flaws and it is one's view of how serious those flaws are that will determine his/her vote
kenyayetu
#58 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 6:31:01 PM

Christian principles?... from where? British Law, on which our Law is predicated is based on Roman and Greek Jurisprudence, which FYI, predates Christ... so I do not agree with you on that point. To argue this way is to display selective ignorance of history. Please listen to this stream cast as objectively as you can.

Ruling on Kadhi's Courts: The History and Future Implications

Regarding the Wako and Bomas Drafts, there was a clause stating, that "All Religions are Equal". It is a counter balance to the fact that there will be no state religion as quoted in Article 8. of the COE Draft. Why did they remove it?

Since you have mentioned Hindus in this thread... they are an even smaller minority in this country. Don't you think that this document should have protected their interests even better? The word 'Christian' or 'Hindu' does not exist at all. By removing the statement.. "All religions are equal" you are introducing a discrimination and favouritism on the basis of the emotive and subjective context of religion.. this is not pretty... look at Nigeria, and Sudan.... lets wake up.

BTW... did you know that Muslims are EXEMPTED from the Bill or Rights? Why? Article 24 (4)

I still maintain that I am peacefully voting NO... its not a contest.

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
[quote=Wendz]I beg to differ with you on various areas that you have pointed out.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

kenyayetu
#59 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 7:04:57 PM

@Kadonye....

You know what? You are on the money regarding The fact that the vote on 4th August, will be on whether one can live with the moral issues in this draft or not:

Can I live with Abortion on Demand or NOT? Articles 26 (4), Article 43 (1)(g) read in relation to Article 2 (5) and (6).

Can I live with the possible introduction of Gay Rights (as Law) in my society? I make no pretenses that they are among us already... but why create a structure for what is not normal to become normal. Article 45 – The Family

* PCK states in Article 45 (2) that; “every person has the right to marry a person of the opposite sex, based on the free consent of the parties.” It just confers a right but does not bar other unions.

* There is also no definition of MARRIAGE.

* Article 19 (3) states that the rights and fundamental freedoms in the bill of rights do not exclude other rights and freedoms not in the bill of rights but recognized or conferred by law except to the extent that they are inconsistent with this chapter. That means we can declare or acknowledge other RIGHTS.

Is this OK with you... and what about your future children and their generations...?

A Kenyan president can be impeached on the basis of international law... Article 145 (1)(b). Is this OK or even right? Lets not forget that International Law includes the whole gay and lesbian agenda as well.

Do we want a society where laws are not domesticated but are set outside our borders and once ratified become part of Kenyan Law immediately? Article 2 (5)

I could go on and on......

God is not on trial here... but our morals and our democracy sure is....

Our current constitution is not globalization-friendly.....

Let us also not forget that if we open the door to "Abortion on Demand" (which is VERY different from Emergency Abortion as put in our current constitution - Section 71), then Mercy Killing/Euthanasia and a whole Pandora's box follows....

The cost of devolved government is just way too high.... Check this document out. I did some math... this is untenable in an economy of our size.

Check this document out: Cost of Devolved Government on Wanjiku

I want to play my part to bring in a new Kenya... but not the way this document puts it

You may find these interesting points on the draft a good read as well... let me know your thoughts

kadonye wrote:
The links from dia have serious info and propaganda from scaremongers.

I still think the katiba has flaws and it is one's view of how serious those flaws are that will determine his/her vote

nanfor1
#60 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 7:49:08 PM

Oh my God, did I read all that dribble?

Bwana Kenyayetu

You are using a technique called "chasing the red herring" to try and justify your position.

So I will use a technique called "cutting to the chase" to explain a few things to you.

1. This New Katiba is not a religious document

I will not go into these so called moral issues you have that scare you do death. but if Kenyans wanted to live in a religious country, we would have been looking for visas to go to the Vatican, or Oman.

2. The Date is July 27th 2010

This is not 20 years ago to start renegotiating or arguing about the pros or cons of the new constitution.

This has been done over the past 20 years. If you were not present, that is not my fault. But please stop arguing about things that are set in stone.

On August 4th 2010 Kenyans will go vote on one issue and one issue only.

Do you think the Proposed constitution should replace the Old Constitution.

Weka Yes ama No.

We are not debating if there is another constitution out there, somewhere. Written by Jesus and his disciples and a committee led by Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela.

It is the Constitution that Moi used to throw people off the roofs of Nyayo house

OR

A New Contract where Moi will return all his ill begoten 10000 ha in Mau forest.

3. Hii Ingine Ya Gays is so Old School

I don't know if you knew this but it seems you are also late when it comes to what is happening in Kenya.

There are women who sleep with women. There are men who sleep with men. There are shops in Westlands where you can buy a dildo. There are homes in kenya you can have an orgy. Your maid could be having an orgy with your son and the watchi when you leave to go to work.

If you need me to introduce you to any of these places, please send me an email to

Ididnotknowthishappenedintheoldconstitution@gmail.com

If you thought gays will come to Kenya on August 5th, then you can understand why some of us think you are a bit lazy when it comes to noticing things around you.

Give Us Some Breathing Space Now

I am a bit tired of all these Yes No campaigns. Most of us on Wazua have understood the choices. there are those in the Yes camp and No camp. We are still wazuarans.

Please go do some civic education to someone who has not read the brary uju document.

Hapa we are ready to vote and get it over with.

You have destroyed a very good show with Usher. You know he likes us older women. Or is that going to be accepted by the New constitution. I hope and Pray it is.

Hata wakizima taa