wazua Sun, Feb 2, 2025

Hand Dug Water Well (Kisima)
majimaji
#1 Posted : Thursday, July 30, 2009 9:21:00 AM

Any Skerians with experience of digging a water well using jamaa wa mkono?

I have heard some say it is safe up to 120 feet (abt 35m)

Costs? Any contractors in this biz?

In man prudence,in woman patience - Jacob Cats
Chaka
#2 Posted : Thursday, July 30, 2009 9:42:00 AM

You will probabaly not get any response.This topic has been covered before.Just type

borehole in the search box of this site,no need to start a new thread!
#3 Posted : Friday, July 31, 2009 5:47:00 AM

Depends on your location....I know a guy who dug one at Ruai....60ft; the boys charged him 1,000bob per foot

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
wairegi
#4 Posted : Friday, July 31, 2009 7:09:00 AM

Depends on the rates agreeded. And on the soil. If you are on red soil you pay less and as you proceed down you pay or renegotiate the rates.

And much depends on the area

Your Moment-by-Moment Choices Create the Big Picture
majimaji
#5 Posted : Friday, July 31, 2009 8:32:00 AM

Are there any permits one requires to dig a well?

#6 Posted : Friday, July 31, 2009 11:04:00 AM

@majimaji,

Ni bure.......!! ...Free..-:)

Old man about town....
sokomjinga
#7 Posted : Saturday, August 01, 2009 3:31:00 PM

You might need a permit - verify. In any case be careful. If anything went wrong ........

All beginnings are difficult ..... ..... everything has an end,only the sausage has two. (2 German idiomatic expressions - translated).
Taunet Neelel ..... New Beginning .....
#8 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 4:35:00 AM

@majimaji,what do u mean safe upto 120 ft? What happens thereafter? Kwetu ocha,150 bob a foot increasing with depth upto about 400 bob.

The only reason why some people are still alive is coz its illegal to shoot them!!
majimaji
#9 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 4:50:00 AM

@ simonkabz

If u dig deeper manually,breathing becomes problematic because oxygen is reduced.
I think it also becomes hotter because air is not circulating,then there is the issue of the danger of well collapse...

There has to be a limit as to how deep men can dig without say forced air circulation- but which depth is that?

justrant
#10 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 5:04:00 AM

How can 'majimaji' be asking questions about water?? He should be educating us instead.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 9:51:00 AM

@ majimaji,

from experience,at a depth of only 40ft inhalation becomes a real problem coupled with perspiration degradation and increasing humidity especially in areas where the water level in shallow wells is close to the surface. also the air that you breath out remains right there at the bottom of the hole making it impossible for the natural air replenishment to take place. it is recommended that the well digger should not work continuously for more than 5 minutes above that depth...

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
majimaji
#12 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 2:15:00 PM

@ Gizzard,thanks,i didn't know that.

@ just ranting,did you know that?

Mwafrikah
#13 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 8:02:00 PM

you can check with Mzee Lutherford (SWIM) based in Thika. Last month(July 10th) he was featured in a local daily using simply two pieces of wires to detect the water table and amount of water the well will carry subsequently avoiding unnecessary digging of wells that dont produce promising results

The fool folds his arms and consumes his own flesh. Better is one handful with tranquility than two with toil and a chase after wind!
justrant
#14 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2009 9:30:00 AM

@ gidigidi,sorry,majimaji,...yeah,I'm just ranting. Actually the fact that i rarely say anything important inspired the user name. Lol!
majimaji
#15 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2009 1:15:00 PM

@ mwafrika
I read the story about that mzee...but
What kind of science is that of using sticks to know where and how deep u can find water?

Isn't it some kind of juju only that the mganga is a mzungu?

#16 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2009 2:39:00 PM

Its much more safer and faster to maachine-drill the kisima.Just amua for once and forget so much stories.

The Hague...or Local Triburnal ama TJRC.

#17 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2009 3:04:00 PM

@ majimaji,

water dowsing (the art of locating underground water using forked stick) has been in use for a long time. this is how it works: the dowser holds one fork in each hand while maintaining his palms in an upward direction. the but end of the fork is pointed upward at a certain angle. the dowser then walks back and forth on the area under investigation. at the instant the dowser passes over an area with underground water the but end of the forked stick rotates and points to the ground. i dont know the science behind this as i am only farmiliar with the hydrogeological methods of underground water investigations.

i have seen the water dowsing method used by a certain italian catholic pastor in Kiegoi area of Nyanbene,west of Maua town...it works..

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB