wazua Thu, Jan 30, 2025

I need a new broker
sheep
#41 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 8:43:39 PM

D&B ni m*fi kabisa....those sloths cost me a fortune
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#42 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 9:02:17 PM

>> CFC is ok.

Been trading with them since 2006 and so far so good. They'll reply to E-mails the same day if not immediately.

Cashflow wise i trust they are stable and doesn't have to worry when i hear of a broker with financial problems.
#43 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 9:05:50 PM

sheep wrote:

these days am a satisfied customer of cfc. Never visit their offices coz i trade online and they are accessible by phone. I also get stock research, reports and i have access to mystocks TA tools like MACD, RSI etc.
#44 Posted : Sunday, July 18, 2010 8:45:44 AM

CFC is good, they have their issues sometimes..lakini they're effecient. So either them or African Aliance,all the rest wachana nao..
#45 Posted : Sunday, July 18, 2010 3:21:17 PM

sheep wrote:

these days am a satisfied customer of cfc. Never visit their offices coz i trade online and they are accessible by phone. I also get stock research, reports and i have access to mystocks TA tools like MACD, RSI etc.

Do you pay for all that ama its just the normal commisions when buying and selling?
qw25041985
#46 Posted : Sunday, July 18, 2010 4:37:04 PM

I wld recommend Cfc Stanbic over D & B anytime of the day. And its getting quite crowded at Cfc Stanbic . I guess people love it.....online trading is the way to go.trooping to the broker just to make a transaction like its 1950 is total non-sense.
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
qw25041985
#47 Posted : Sunday, July 18, 2010 5:28:41 PM

@ sparkly. How are you able to login to Mystocks.co.ke . Did Cfc Stanbic give you a login Username and Password . Isit sharable . I hav never asked ?
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
mozenrat
#48 Posted : Monday, July 19, 2010 9:50:12 AM

livo wrote:
D&B....they've simply missed out on customer satisfaction! Am a member there but am moving my shares to CFC.

I don't think you can just move your shares from one broker to the other but you can trade with other brokers using your CDS.
But that aside, can you trade online with them and do they have many branches?

Yes you can... I have done so several times.. Fill in some forms (4A and B, I think) and two or three weeks later, your shares are moved.

BTW those of you looking to move to AA should know that minimum opening balances for new accounts is now 2 million.
jerry
#49 Posted : Monday, July 19, 2010 12:55:54 PM

@mozenrat. 2million to open acc at AA u said. Some should go to genghis capital, kingdom securities or any other with service that give u a smile. Genghis have excellent online service and for Kingdom u can use coop branches which have a good spread! Let's not make this mistake of all crowding at cfc. It might affect the good service in the long run.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#50 Posted : Monday, July 19, 2010 2:53:33 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
sheep wrote:

Do you pay for all that ama its just the normal commisions when buying and selling?

#51 Posted : Monday, July 19, 2010 2:54:50 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
sheep wrote:

if you have an account with cfc register here: http://msp.csfs.co.ke/ for the reports and research you call them and ask to be added to the mailing list. Susan will sort you out. Its free, just normal commissions. You can however subscribe for premium membership for more tools.
#52 Posted : Monday, July 19, 2010 5:19:26 PM

[quote=sparkly]
if you have an account with cfc register here: http://msp.csfs.co.ke/ for the reports and research you call them and ask to be added to the mailing list.
that was helpful. thank you
jerry
#53 Posted : Saturday, July 24, 2010 7:19:39 PM

I've finally managed to sell my shares at D&B and I'll be picking my cheque on monday. At DnB u sometimes think u r on the Death Bed!
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#54 Posted : Saturday, July 24, 2010 8:48:01 PM

jerry wrote:
I've finally managed to sell my shares at D&B and I'll be picking my cheque on monday. At DnB u sometimes think u r on the Death Bed!

Don't bet on them delaying your cheque.
#55 Posted : Saturday, July 24, 2010 8:50:40 PM

Did I hear someone say that the minimum opening balances for new accounts at AA is now 2 million? Sad Damn! That's even higher than the 50K someone was mentioning for DnB
mBiaLoss
#56 Posted : Sunday, July 25, 2010 2:27:42 AM

jerry wrote:
@mozenrat. 2million to open acc at AA u said. Some should go to genghis capital, kingdom securities or any other with service that give u a smile. Genghis have excellent online service and for Kingdom u can use coop branches which have a good spread! Let's not make this mistake of all crowding at cfc. It might affect the good service in the long run.

What is that AA, some of us are quite new around and we may not know all the abreviations. Atleast not yet.
I tried to open an account with CFC but eti I have to go to their office in person to do that. Cant do it online because of their company policy! Let me find something...They have a nice online trading platform from what I hear, but one cant open the account online? I opened an account to trade at the NYSE, and am in the process of opening one at the LSE and JSE without going there but cant open one online in Kenya? I guess for now I will stick with D&B though they suck until am able to come to Kenya to open the account.
But I think Kenya is being left behind if they want a Kenyan in the Diaspora to spend $3000 to fly to NBI to open an account instead of just using that money to invest and because they charge some 1.8% in commission...They essentially make that money...
As an investor I behave like a tick, patiently waiting on grass and larch onto the first cow that shows up. As an investor I dont behave like a tick...I jump off the the cow as soon as am fully engorged before it dies...
rymoh
#57 Posted : Sunday, July 25, 2010 7:22:26 PM

mBiaLoss wrote:
jerry wrote:

What is that AA, some of us are quite new around and we may not know all the abreviations. Atleast not yet.
I tried to open an account with CFC but eti I have to go to their office in person to do that. Cant do it online because of their company policy! Let me find something...They have a nice online trading platform from what I hear, but one cant open the account online? I opened an account to trade at the NYSE, and am in the process of opening one at the LSE and JSE without going there but cant open one online in Kenya? I guess for now I will stick with D&B though they suck until am able to come to Kenya to open the account.
But I think Kenya is being left behind if they want a Kenyan in the Diaspora to spend $3000 to fly to NBI to open an account instead of just using that money to invest and because they charge some 1.8% in commission...They essentially make that money...

I feel you Man I also tried opening an account with CFC and i was told to avail myself yet I am in the Diaspora. hope this will change soon.
tkzee
#58 Posted : Sunday, July 25, 2010 8:42:17 PM

@rymoh,@mBialoss-its possible!i helped someone in a similar position.I requested for the account opening forms to be sent thro' e-mail,once filled they were scanned and sent back with the relevant documemts.You should talk with the customer care person or send someone to their office.
''i can calculate the motion of heavenly bodies,but not the madness of people''-Isaac Newton
#59 Posted : Monday, July 26, 2010 9:58:47 AM

mBiaLoss wrote:
jerry wrote:

AA stands for African Alliance.
mozenrat
#60 Posted : Monday, July 26, 2010 10:33:30 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Did I hear someone say that the minimum opening balances for new accounts at AA is now 2 million? Sad Damn! That's even higher than the 50K someone was mentioning for DnB

Yep.. Its 2 million... It used to be that much but they'd reduced to zero during the crisis when everyone was looking for clients.. I guess things are looking up and they're back to their snobbish premium clients only ways.. Old clients are not affected - hata kama una shares za 100 bob. NIC is now asking for minimum 100K.

Apologies for the use of the abbreviation.. its African Alliance..

I should also mention that there's a nominal fee of 200 whenever you're moving shares between brokers..