wazua Mon, Jan 13, 2025

ODD lots are my Pain in the wrong Place
Live Wire
#1 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 6:52:35 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Shame on you

I have 81 CFC shares that i have been trying so much to dispose but failed, can some body advise me on how to go about it. How can i purchase 29 more CFC so that i make it 100 CFC shares flat.
d'oh! d'oh!
Similarly, i have 27 NIC, i need another 73 to make the figure 100. How do i trade on the ODD board.
d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

#2 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 6:56:05 PM

I have 18 ARM......smile smile smile
Live Wire
#3 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 7:01:47 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
I have 18 ARM......smile smile smile

How do you intend to sell the 18 ARM Liar Liar
StatMeister
#4 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 7:10:42 PM

Live Wire wrote:

I have 81 CFC shares that i have been trying so much to dispose but failed, can some body advise me on how to go about it. How can i purchase 29 more CFC so that i make it 100 CFC shares flat. . .

wooi, MATH MADE IN KENYA (or is it WAZUA?)

81 + 29 = 110, you'd still be having odd lots

A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
Live Wire
#5 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 7:16:54 PM

StatMeister wrote:
Live Wire wrote:

I have 81 CFC shares that i have been trying so much to dispose but failed, can some body advise me on how to go about it. How can i purchase 29 more CFC so that i make it 100 CFC shares flat. . .

wooi, MATH MADE IN KENYA (or is it WAZUA?)

81 + 29 = 110, you'd still be having odd lots

Opps, Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

Math made in Kenya indeed. Then i can request for another 90 Odd lot, That's what we call a pain in the Ass!!!- No, in the wrong place.
Laughing out loudly Applause Laughing out loudly Applause
slykat
#6 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 7:26:47 PM

I have 31 KenGen... no clue how to get rid of it as am not into more of it this year.
mBiaLoss
#7 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 7:28:40 PM

I wonder how you to 81? I thought they dont allow one to buy less than 100?
Maybe you should just wacha them alone. With time they may earn you something if you cant sale them
As an investor I behave like a tick, patiently waiting on grass and larch onto the first cow that shows up. As an investor I dont behave like a tick...I jump off the the cow as soon as am fully engorged before it dies...
Wa_ithaka
#8 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 8:18:47 PM

Waseni hii storro. Just add what you need to get an even number.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#9 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 8:48:45 PM

I have 10 NIC shares. I'm assured of getting financial reports forever, nipende nisipende. The process of getting rid of such shares is so complex afadhali zikae tu.
trizher
#10 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 8:56:49 PM

i have 40 nmg. . . . . .wanna get out 2!
...We do it for the $$$$!!
#11 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 8:59:15 PM

mBiaLoss wrote:
I wonder how you got to 81? I thought they dont allow one to buy less than 100?

mBiaLoss, such shares come about as a result of bonuses e.g. if you had 300 nic shares. A 1 for 10 bonus is given. This adds you 30 shares giving you a grand total of 330 shares (I've always wanted to say grand totalsmile ) You then sell 300 shares after the bonus books closure (since you can only sell in lots of 100) Thus leaving you with 30 shares, not to mention a lifetime supply of financial reports. If another 1 for 10 bonus is given, you'll have 33 shar es
#12 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 9:26:41 PM

Amen to that @ycsun. Just wish they could send me a cheque for only half of the cost of printing and mailing the report instead.
#13 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 10:02:07 PM

trizher wrote:
i have 40 nmg. . . . . .wanna get out 2!

Thats over 4000 bob! which you are unable to cash in on. NSE should change the rules
#14 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 10:07:28 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Amen to that @ycsun. Just wish they could send me a cheque for only half of the cost of printing and mailing the report instead.

Hehe! We should make a point of suggesting that at one of the AGMs
slykat
#15 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 11:15:17 PM

Financial Reports for life, lol! I do get a 15bob cheque too...hopefully for life, but I never cash them.
Mkimwa
#16 Posted : Saturday, July 24, 2010 1:54:53 AM

there is the ODD lots board, where these are traded. you can sell them, problem is however that you have to sell them below market price.

For those out there willing to buy, you can ask your broker to get you these odd lots , cheap way of getting those stocks.
#17 Posted : Saturday, July 24, 2010 4:08:06 AM

Mkimwa, instead of selling below market rates, I'd rather wait for more bonuses and/or splits that will turn my odd lots into multiples of 100, then I can sell them. Only problem is if after another bonus I end up with a crazy number like 472 shares. I sell 400 and remain with 72. It'll be a contuining cycleSad
mBiaLoss
#18 Posted : Saturday, July 24, 2010 9:51:45 AM

I think in this day and age the NSE or whoever is responsible should just change the damn archaic rules that that one is able to sell or buy all shares one wants, including one share. Imagine having Berkshire Hathaway Inc class A shares, current price for one share is $118,000. If in NSE you cant sale that then you stuck with one very expensive share!
As an investor I behave like a tick, patiently waiting on grass and larch onto the first cow that shows up. As an investor I dont behave like a tick...I jump off the the cow as soon as am fully engorged before it dies...
Gatheuzi
#19 Posted : Saturday, July 24, 2010 12:34:34 PM

I have 6 kenya-re shares but in 2 CDS accounts so for each of the 3 shares I get financial reports, an EFT of about Ksh1.50 and if I so wish I can get 2 pack of goodies at the AGM's!!!

I am also a proud owner of 36 Kengen shares.

I got these odd slots from the IPO's. Luckly for Safaricom they rounded the allotments to the nearest 100.
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
#20 Posted : Saturday, July 24, 2010 2:28:24 PM

Gatheuzi wrote:
I have 6 kenya-re shares but in 2 CDS accounts so for each of the 3 shares I get financial reports, an EFT of about Ksh1.50...

lol, i also see a situation where i might be left with 40NMG, 16 TPS and 33 NIC.