Euphoria kando, consider this
It is otherwise ok for US, UK to show interest in our affairs especilally that we are a young democracy. Inevitably, we will need some resource support/intervention from time to time and who else to look up to if not these guys. Be that as it may, Ranneberger has cleary crossed the line. It is simply unbecoming. He is given to some untidy arguments with kina Ruto, Shaban etc. Eralier it was Karua then Wetangula and at some point even Raila! Ranneberger is ruffling too many feathers for our liking. Rogue, a beffiting title here? Dunia ni msongamano..
B.Timer wrote: It is otherwise ok for US, UK to show interest in our affairs especilally that we are a young democracy. Inevitably, we will need some resource support/intervention from time to time and who else to look up to if not these guys.
Be that as it may, Ranneberger has cleary crossed the line. It is simply unbecoming.
He is given to some untidy arguments with kina Ruto, Shaban etc. Eralier it was Karua then Wetangula and at some point even Raila!
Ranneberger is ruffling too many feathers for our liking.
Rogue, a beffiting title here?
On this, we are on the same page. I would prefer that this is left to us.... Obama, his deputy and rain burger should leave this to us. Well, they can voice their opinion but taking part in active campaigning is now what we need foreigners to be doing on our land. Simply because the son of Kogello became their president doesnt given them the mandate to go into our bedrooms...
Kenyans, we are an interesting lot! If the US ambassador is doing things that help push our cause we neither see nor hear any evil! When the situation changes we all over a sudden notice that he is a foreigner and we are a sovereign state! Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
Rank: Member Joined: 2/17/2010 Posts: 234 Location: Nairobi
you cannot surely be criticizing the holy draft. dont you see the document is infallible, sacred and we must pass it instantly? obama, annan, kriegler and rannenberger said we will all die by 2012 if we dont. the perfect herding mentality... lets compare notes in 2013 and 2017 to see how transformed kenya will be because of the urgent katiba. Deer wrote:Pablo wrote:And why is is the US soo interested in having it passed. What do they know that we dont?? I've been wondering the same thing moreso after Ranenberger went campaigning YES in Kitale
Nandwa wrote: Kenyans, we are an interesting lot!
If the US ambassador is doing things that help push our cause we neither see nor hear any evil! When the situation changes we all over a sudden notice that he is a foreigner and we are a sovereign state!
Its not like that @Nandwa... problem is, we know the document contains things good for this country (leave the prophets of doom who think that once we pass it the country will disintegrate - washindwe!) but when he gets involved in the day today campaigning, it is giving the NO-ists a platform to continue lying to Kenyans that the document is "foreign" and its not good for us.
Seeders wrote:notes in 2013 and 2017 to see how transformed kenya will be because of the urgent katiba. Deer wrote:[quote=Pablo] And why is is the US soo interested in having it passed. What do they know that we dont?? 1....20years isnt that urgent....is it? 2....we fought in 2007 and couldnt stop until the people you are bedeviling came to save you and me from the machettes ...have you forgotten? ....the dont want us to repeat they same....come 2012....atleast without having done something.... Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
response: 1. why is it urgent? 2. tip - because you were right yesterday does not mean you are infallible forever. Fundaah wrote: 1....20years isnt that urgent....is it?
2....we fought in 2007 and couldnt stop until the people you are bedeviling came to save you and me from the machettes ...have you forgotten? ....the dont want us to repeat they same....come 2012....atleast without having done something....
1. why is it urgent?... you cant say anything that has taken 20 yrs to get has been done urgently....infact if the guiness book of record guys were interested ... this draft would go to history as the most inclusive constitution in the whole wide world......that has been made in the longest time in history.... Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
if we do not get a constitution in august do you believe that kenya is "doomed"? Fundaah wrote:1. why is it urgent?... you cant say anything that has taken 20 yrs to get has been done urgently....infact if the guiness book of record guys were interested ... this draft would go to history as the most inclusive constitution in the whole wide world......that has been made in the longest time in history....
Seeders wrote:if we do not get a constitution in august do you believe that kenya is "doomed"?
.. Being an optimist...I wouldnt say doomed.....but a 'No' return will mean uncertainity ....political risk...investors and business community are averse to such....this will translate to an economic slow down...unemployment....increased crime rate...the all familiar 'no reform no election' slogan in 2012...and all those social disturbances.....an anxious population....why invest in a country where machette wielding youths can come knocking anytime....ready to burn your hard established business?.... the Draft seeks to sort out these social injustices...employment for youth to keep them busy...equitable distribution of resources....better business environment ...etc Youth 55. The State shall take measures, including affirmative action programmes, to ensure that the youth— (a) access relevant education and training; (b) have opportunities to associate, be represented and participate in political, social, economic and other spheres of life; (c) access employment; and (d) are protected from harmful cultural practices and exploitation. Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
I would think it is urgent for the family of the 79yrs old man shot by police yesterday.
Guess the family should wait until we all agree and get the perfect God ordained and Holy katiba before they can find some justice in the present court system....
Heck, lets all wait until everyone in Kenya stops drinking and avoids sex for a month....
According to Orengo, even Moi is not waiting. He's busy selling some of his property....
If you believe that Moi, Kibaki, Raila, Ruto,Kalonzo, Uhuru, Pastor Wanjiru, Imam etc will agree 100% on 270+ clauses and sub clauses, 5000+ words, soon, in our lifetime, then waiting is a good thing.
i think the draft is good. but our unrealistic expectations are now getting hilarious. extrajudicial killing will still be a favorite police pastime come 2017. just travel a few miles down south and you might agree. rasilio wrote:I would think it is urgent for the family of the 79yrs old man shot by police yesterday.
Guess the family should wait until we all agree and get the perfect God ordained and Holy katiba before they can find some justice in the present court system....
Heck, lets all wait until everyone in Kenya stops drinking and avoids sex for a month....
According to Orengo, even Moi is not waiting. He's busy selling some of his property....
If you believe that Moi, Kibaki, Raila, Ruto,Kalonzo, Uhuru, Pastor Wanjiru, Imam etc will agree 100% on 270+ clauses and sub clauses, 5000+ words, soon, in our lifetime, then waiting is a good thing.
i repeat - the draft will not prevent violence. you only need a few tribal chieftains with a fanatical following who will not accept that their man can lose. sample scenario 1 - agwambo, after leading opinion polls leading to the 2012 elections, is narrowly floored by a dark horse. do you think the agwambonatics will stomach a second defeat or opt to go to court? all chieftains will have their panga wielding, stone throwing supporters in tow 'just in case' come 2013 and 2017. Fundaah wrote:Seeders wrote:if we do not get a constitution in august do you believe that kenya is "doomed"?
.. Being an optimist...I wouldnt say doomed.....but a 'No' return will mean uncertainity ....political risk...investors and business community are averse to such....this will translate to an economic slow down...unemployment....increased crime rate...the all familiar 'no reform no election' slogan in 2012...and all those social disturbances.....an anxious population....why invest in a country where machette wielding youths can come knocking anytime....ready to burn your hard established business?.... the Draft seeks to sort out these social injustices...employment for youth to keep them busy...equitable distribution of resources....better business environment ...etc Youth 55. The State shall take measures, including affirmative action programmes, to ensure that the youth— (a) access relevant education and training; (b) have opportunities to associate, be represented and participate in political, social, economic and other spheres of life; (c) access employment; and (d) are protected from harmful cultural practices and exploitation.
Sad to quote myself, but now the uncertainty over the provincial clause becomes clear, and it is taking tribal undertones, it is now clear some prominent fellows who campaigned for this thing did not understand it, this fighting about the constitution may culminate post 2012, and those who thought sweeping stuff under the carpet by voting YES will save Kenya, now ponder what we were pondering before the vote. Lets see. Much Know wrote:What will become of the "tribesdom" of North Rift when the Provincial Administration is replaced by this County Governors? This will be done 5 years after effective date. I don't see the perennial targets of violence there (excuse the bluntness) being elected into any position of the county there where one can look after their interest, in fact their fate will lie solely in the warlike/intolerant nature of this "tribesdom" which will now be officially sanctioned. I would like anyone to give a credible argument that this will not be the case.
The same may happen in areas such as the Coast, Nyanza and Western, North Eastern. The machinery to entrench ethnic zones and divide the already difficult to unite Kenyans is all too well laid out through this constitution. In this case, IT IS ACTUALLY WORSE AND MORE DANGEROUS THAN THE OTHER ONE.
I have come to see this proposed constitution as a "mish marsh" of many impractical and dangerous ideas to please different people. 1. There shall be no state religion (to please the idealogist on separation of state and religion) but then Kadhi courts (to please muslims) 2. Every citizen has the right to enter, remain in and reside anywhere in Kenya.(to please IDP's) and then these counties(to please majimbo advocates) 3. Parliament shall enact legislation to prescribe minimum and maximum land holding acreages in respect to private land:(to please communist), Then security of land rights (to please capitalist) e.t.c and many more illogical contradictions
A New Kenya
@Much know, the writing was always on the wall but who would see it? I long for the day we will consider and vote on national issues based on merits or demerits and not because some tribal chief or captain supports it. You are right that the COE tried to please everyone resulting into some rather confusing proposals in the draft. Remember some argument that 'we can always amend the draft later'? I am still waiting for people to realize that some of the proposals need changing and then try to make changes... That said, I really hope that the teams drafting the subsidiary legislation will think long and hard and try to draft laws with the interests of Kenyan's at heart and not the interests of few politicians and tribal groupings. I am not holding my breath though... Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
Rank: Member Joined: 1/16/2010 Posts: 672 Location: nairobi
mimi pia nilisema vile vile....katiba hii sio ya wananchi...ina wenyewe......sababu ilifanya kenyans kupitisha was.... they were cheated to beleive it was their document.....foolishness....wait and see....the kenyans part in this katiba ni wao kulipa heavy tax to support gava....wakulaji!!! pana lia haraka....I AM GLAD I VOTED NO.....according to my conscience! God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!
Rank: Member Joined: 9/9/2010 Posts: 546 Location: Garissa
@Big Timer are you olomale in Capital FM(July 09th, 2010, 11:31 AM) You are very good in analysis. Keep it up. Euphoria aside; Check this.... Considering that it will not be a walk in the park amending the constitution if the proposed document passes the plebiscite test isnt it better to advocate doing so pre-referendum - however unpopular that position sounds. In the interim ingest this: Date 16th June 2010. INTEROGATING THE PROPOSED CONSTITUTION. The constitution being the supreme law of the land.... Read more: http://www.capitalfm.co....9011.html#ixzz1EfEliEhV Under Creative Commons License: Attribution Non-Commercial No Derivatives Wisdom to detect when share prices hit rock bottom. When interest on bonds keep going up, you know the bear run is on high street. When interest on bonds start leveling, the bear has met the bull and they have hit rock bottom. When the interest rates on bonds start coming down, the bull has overpowered the bear and you better be riding the bull.
Euphoria kando, consider this