Stocks
Portfolio Balancing: Avoid Over Exposure To Financial Sector
I have been a very worried man because as I have said in multiple posts here, I am a buyer of KCB till early next year. I have been loading up the the entire year. I have quite a number of shares but I want to have a ridiculously high number and hold "forever". As I was waiting for the next batch of money the prices went haywire. It went all the way 72. Given my abp in the 40s level I was finding it difficult to buy at those prices (emotions NOT fundamentals  ). I sat it out. Now my finger is on the trigger. I am happy buying at 50s for my next batch even though 60s is still a bargain for a share whose eps for fy 2025 will be around Kshs. 25/=!!! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 14,048 Location: nairobi
MaichBlack wrote:I have been a very worried man because as I have said in multiple post here, I am a buyer of KCB till early next year. I have been loading up the the entire year. I have quite a number of shares but I want to have a ridiculously high number and hold "forever". As I was waiting for the next batch of money the prices went haywire. It went all the way 72. Given my abp in the 40s level I was finding it difficult to buy at those prices (emotions NOT fundamentals  ). I sat it out. Now my finger is on the trigger. I am happy buying at 50s for my next batch even though 60s is still a bargain for a share whose eps for fy 2025 will be around Kshs. 25/=!!! All the best  KQ ABP 4.48; MTN ABP 5.20
obiero wrote:MaichBlack wrote:I have been a very worried man because as I have said in multiple post here, I am a buyer of KCB till early next year. I have been loading up the the entire year. I have quite a number of shares but I want to have a ridiculously high number and hold "forever". As I was waiting for the next batch of money the prices went haywire. It went all the way 72. Given my abp in the 40s level I was finding it difficult to buy at those prices (emotions NOT fundamentals  ). I sat it out. Now my finger is on the trigger. I am happy buying at 50s for my next batch even though 60s is still a bargain for a share whose eps for fy 2025 will be around Kshs. 25/=!!! All the best  @Obiero - This P/E ratio is based on what? KCB's EPS fy 2024 was 18.70/=. EPS for Q3 2025 is 19.12/=. Which EPS is bringing a P/E of 6.67??? Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
obiero wrote:MaichBlack wrote:I have been a very worried man because as I have said in multiple post here, I am a buyer of KCB till early next year. I have been loading up the the entire year. I have quite a number of shares but I want to have a ridiculously high number and hold "forever". As I was waiting for the next batch of money the prices went haywire. It went all the way 72. Given my abp in the 40s level I was finding it difficult to buy at those prices (emotions NOT fundamentals  ). I sat it out. Now my finger is on the trigger. I am happy buying at 50s for my next batch even though 60s is still a bargain for a share whose eps for fy 2025 will be around Kshs. 25/=!!! All the best  EPS = 2??? Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Established corporates with healthy balance sheets are no longer going for syndicated loans, but the bourse. Watch and learn KQ ABP 4.48; MTN ABP 5.20
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,290 Location: Nairobi
obiero wrote:Established corporates with healthy balance sheets are no longer going for syndicated loans, but the bourse. Watch and learn When is KQ raising a bond? Oops! You said with healthy balance sheets.. my bad! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:Established corporates with healthy balance sheets are no longer going for syndicated loans, but the bourse. Watch and learn When is KQ raising a bond? Oops! You said with healthy balance sheets.. my bad! "Watch and learn" Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
MaichBlack wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:Established corporates with healthy balance sheets are no longer going for syndicated loans, but the bourse. Watch and learn When is KQ raising a bond? Oops! You said with healthy balance sheets.. my bad! "Watch and learn" Hehe. Investment is an art. Watch and learn KQ ABP 4.48; MTN ABP 5.20
obiero wrote:MaichBlack wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:Established corporates with healthy balance sheets are no longer going for syndicated loans, but the bourse. Watch and learn When is KQ raising a bond? Oops! You said with healthy balance sheets.. my bad! "Watch and learn" Hehe. Investment is an art. Watch and learn Ingine ni wash and run!!! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
obiero wrote:MaichBlack wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:Established corporates with healthy balance sheets are no longer going for syndicated loans, but the bourse. Watch and learn When is KQ raising a bond? Oops! You said with healthy balance sheets.. my bad! "Watch and learn" Hehe. Investment is an art. Watch and learn Your MTN is a smart move. It will help reduce your hurt from KQ. Stay well, my friend. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:MaichBlack wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:Established corporates with healthy balance sheets are no longer going for syndicated loans, but the bourse. Watch and learn When is KQ raising a bond? Oops! You said with healthy balance sheets.. my bad! "Watch and learn" Hehe. Investment is an art. Watch and learn Your MTN is a smart move. It will help reduce your hurt from KQ. Stay well, my friend. Cheers dear friend. I am thinking of selling the MTN holding to add KQ. My KQ play is a long game and you know it. I am aware of the negative equity, I am aware of the loss position over the years, also in the know of recent capacity constraints. I see the negatives in HD, but I am onto something. Watch and learn KQ ABP 4.48; MTN ABP 5.20
obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:MaichBlack wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:Established corporates with healthy balance sheets are no longer going for syndicated loans, but the bourse. Watch and learn When is KQ raising a bond? Oops! You said with healthy balance sheets.. my bad! "Watch and learn" Hehe. Investment is an art. Watch and learn Your MTN is a smart move. It will help reduce your hurt from KQ. Stay well, my friend. Cheers dear friend. I am thinking of selling the MTN holding to add KQ. My KQ play is a long game and you know it. I am aware of the negative equity, I am aware of the loss position over the years, also in the know of recent capacity constraints. I see the negatives in HD, but I am onto something. Watch and learn Asiyefunzwa na mamaye, hufunzwa na ulimwengu PW for KQ. MTN pays nice dividends. Grows profits. Anyway, your money so your call. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:MaichBlack wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:Established corporates with healthy balance sheets are no longer going for syndicated loans, but the bourse. Watch and learn When is KQ raising a bond? Oops! You said with healthy balance sheets.. my bad! "Watch and learn" Hehe. Investment is an art. Watch and learn Your MTN is a smart move. It will help reduce your hurt from KQ. Stay well, my friend. Cheers dear friend. I am thinking of selling the MTN holding to add KQ. My KQ play is a long game and you know it. I am aware of the negative equity, I am aware of the loss position over the years, also in the know of recent capacity constraints. I see the negatives in HD, but I am onto something. Watch and learn Asiyefunzwa na mamaye, hufunzwa na ulimwengu PW for KQ. MTN pays nice dividends. Grows profits. Anyway, your money so your call. Asante for the words of caution Mzee. Remember, this is my kamikaze trade. If I perish, I perish KQ ABP 4.48; MTN ABP 5.20
VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:Established corporates with healthy balance sheets are no longer going for syndicated loans, but the bourse. Watch and learn When is KQ raising a bond? Oops! You said with healthy balance sheets.. my bad! Wacha bond! Hata change yangu siwezi itikia KQ wabaki nayo!!! Ni kufanya vile watu hufanya kwa matatu. Conductor akishuka kutafuta change na ako na pesa yako you make sure you follow his movements with yours eyes throughout. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Investor
Stocks
Portfolio Balancing: Avoid Over Exposure To Financial Sector