wazua Sat, Jan 18, 2025

Stocks I will never touch unless CEO dies
Surealligator
#1 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 10:15:17 AM

Olympia Capital - The MD was appointed through nepotism = incompetence

Kenya Orchards - Out of sync with modern industry

Standard Newspaper Group - They rented I&M building I think upto year 2012 but halfway built their own Offices on Mombasa road. Now they are Secondary renting the I&M offices as they do not require them. They don't use them but are still paying rent for the same. Does the word ret.... make sense here?

East African Portland Cement - That Japanese Yen denominated loan must have been accepted by a highly irrational board. Priority of current CEO would have been to mitigate against the loan or draw a new agreement with the Japs where the co would be allowed to issue a bond locally to repay the loan in one lot or sell the loan to some merchant in Turkey.

What's your No No companies even if they are not quoted?

Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
Wa_ithaka
#2 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 10:30:57 AM

None- every dog has its day
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
the deal
#3 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 10:33:22 AM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
None- every dog has its day

StatMeister
#4 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 11:28:40 AM

Surealligator wrote:

East African Portland Cement - That Japanese Yen denominated loan must have been accepted by a highly irrational board. Priority of current CEO would have been to mitigate against the loan or draw a new agreement with the Japs where the co would be allowed to issue a bond locally to repay the loan in one lot or sell the loan to some merchant in Turkey.

What's your No No companies even if they are not quoted?

the loan was taken in those days when the Kenya Shilling was a currency to avoid. + the jap yen became a BBBIIIIGGGG problem in Oct 2008 when the dollar took a nose dive and forex traders sought refuge in yen + euro.

My understanding is that loan cannot be renegoriated (they tried it about 3-4 years ago).

What i dont understand is THIS:
EAPC took a YEN loan to hedge KES
Now that the YEN is now a headache, WHY NOT JUST HEDGE IT.
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
#5 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 11:34:20 AM

I don't think we need to ask VVS which stocks he will avoid until the ceo dies. It's all about a man called Mera.....smile
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 11:43:53 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
I don't think we need to ask VVS which stocks he will avoid until the ceo dies. It's all about a man called Mera.....smile
Somehow, I do not do well with 'M'
moi, merali, matu, mwakwere, matuga, mugabe (loss in Zimbabwe coz of his policies), museveni...
Cicero
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 11:49:20 AM

I guess that would be any company i dont have information on what they are up to currently (e.g. Kenya-Re and Olympia). In my view, the management of the two seems to be at best "lost" ...
Don't gamble; take all your savings and buy some good stock and hold it till it goes up, then sell it. If it don't go up, don't buy it...
young
#8 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 3:29:28 PM

You should please wish that they retire or resign not dead ???
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
StatMeister
#9 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 4:33:21 PM

young wrote:

many CEOs remain on the board after they retire / resign (e.g. NMG)
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 5:53:06 PM

young wrote:

I agree.
sheep
#11 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 8:24:40 PM

Equity...he he he!
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#12 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 8:35:42 PM

young wrote:
In Kenya like in Nigeria (or other African countries) they only quit after they die...

Similar to politicians... Either die or are violently kicked out... Many 'peacefully' but after they try to 'extend' their stay...
young
#13 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 8:51:11 PM

Mzee VVS,

It is better we leave this mentality in Africa of paying evil for evil. It does not help us.

It paves way to our backwardness and creates room for Mzungus to prosper while most of us wallow in poverty and self destruction.

I do not believe in that philosophy. We have to learn to forgive and forget.

I am a black african, but I do not have Nigerian or black African mentality.

Cheers Mzee.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
#14 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 11:14:24 PM

Bw. Young,

I respect your wishes but I am afraid history is on my side.

Look at obasanjo who wanted a third term. Or mugabe who refuses to leave unless he is killed. Or moi who... well, you know still thinks he is prez. Or museveni who said 10 years max as prez now wants another 10 years!

mubarak who thinks to die in office is a right. bongo or wade or gadaffi... who unless die in office will never leave!

VVS
#15 Posted : Friday, July 16, 2010 6:56:14 AM

Somehow, I do not do well with 'M'
moi, merali, matu, mwakwere, matuga, mugabe (loss in Zimbabwe coz of his policies), museveni...

How did we forget Martha(Koome)?
Horton
#16 Posted : Friday, July 16, 2010 7:41:27 AM

im wid Young here...."die" is harsh!
#17 Posted : Friday, July 16, 2010 8:24:43 AM

Horton wrote:
im wid Young here...."die" is harsh!
Wacha mastoros...

These bastards didn't think/ask "why should I kill my fellow citizens" coz it is wrong!!!

moi - ouko, lack of meds in hospitals, likoni clashes
museveni - Corrupt helicopter deals killed lots of soldiers
mugabe - many died of hunger & disease, violence
idi amin - 500,000 dead
gadaffi - Pan-Am bombings, Chadian murders
bashir - Darfur, South Sudan

These bastards who claim to be our leaders would happily kill their own citizens & people think 'die' is harsh???

These are not peace-loving people who made mistakes. They stole, raped, pillaged & murdered.

StatMeister
#18 Posted : Friday, July 16, 2010 9:15:58 AM

looks like CEOs are rated better than MPigs
#19 Posted : Friday, July 16, 2010 9:49:32 AM

StatMeister wrote:
looks like CEOs are rated better than MPigs
Anyone is better rated than Kenya's MPigs... The MPigs consist of murderers, thieves, rapists...
Surealligator
#20 Posted : Friday, July 16, 2010 10:48:23 AM

Thanks Vituz

@Young
I wish Young you are in Kenya today to watch as church leaders lie through their teeth on National TV stations and crusades. I pity their followers. These church leaders do not even fear God.
I do respect office and status in society but when one is taking advantage or misusing the same office, I treat the guy like a retarded creature. If enough of us do the same, no leader would dare misuse our trust. Get it.

Our undoing is worshiping leaders who amass wealth by stealing, grabbing and murdering by denying citizens medical services and poor roads. If you can't see that, you are part of the problem.

Revival church leaders today are all out to lie to their faithful about the Proposed Constitution. I believe the Catholic church is also on the No campaign but lies will take them nowhere. Am ashamed as a Catholic that my Archbishop can say No to the Proposed Constitution on the bases of Abortion while 300,000 abortions have been going on in the country with fatal cases of a considerable margin.

Deep down, I know even these men of the cloth are actually defending the tracks of land they control but what do I say, God is our shepherd but he cannot strike them dead with lighting, so you and I have to deal with them mercilessly before they devour our children.

Obako today according to Southern Research is the most trusted followed by Rao. This is how things change when you lie consistently to your enlightened citizenly.
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own