wazua Thu, Feb 6, 2025

6 Pages<12345>»
what next for KENRE & KQ?
cnn
#41 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 11:48:47 AM

KQ seems to have shaken off the sellers,i was hoping to add more at 47 ,opportunity gone.
qw25041985
#42 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 11:51:42 AM

@overweight. Ar u sayin that KQ will drop to 11.00 . I think u'd rather walk on the sun's surface coz it'll be much easier than kq falling to 11.00
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
PKoli
#43 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 12:06:03 PM

@qw...
I think overweight was talking about Kenya Re. The damn stock has received a beating just like BOC. These stocks have not recovered from the financial melt down. I believe Kenya Re at 11 is oversold. May be the market is soon waiting for launch of new CEO or some serious strategic plan from the Co.
underweight
#44 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 12:12:21 PM

@qw25041985 I was referring to Kenya-RE and not KQ.
"A bad decision made now is beta that a good one made later!!"
#45 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 12:17:56 PM

Kwani... has someone added kumi-kumi to KQ's fuel? Sellers at 50/- buyers at 48.50...
PKoli
#46 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 12:19:05 PM

Kenya Re suffers from lack of institutional support. I think there are few fund managers who have put this stock on the radar. Any one with latest annual accounts please let me know apart from gava who else are the major shareholders.
the deal
#47 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 12:28:08 PM

Kwani... has someone added kumi-kumi to KQ's fuel? Sellers at 50/- buyers at 48.50...

the Boeeeeiiiing is on the run waaaayyyy....i averaged to 47 bob...time for my faith to pay...
#48 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 12:44:39 PM

the deal wrote:

the Boeeeeiiiing is on the run waaaayyyy....i averaged to 47 bob...time for my faith to pay...
Bado Boeing... Still a E-170... then E-190 after 50... when it starts touching 55 then 737-200...

Still a long way from 777-300...
the deal
#49 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 12:47:32 PM

the deal wrote:

Bado Boeing... Still a E-170... then E-190 after 50... when it starts touching 55 then 737-200...

Still a long way from 777-300...

#50 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 12:59:06 PM

@the deal - Is there enuff business for KQ from Windhoek to NBO?
And how much to fly NBO-Windhoek? Thru SA or Gaborone?
the deal
#51 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 1:12:22 PM

Ja i think there's is enough business on that route,the problem is SAA(subsidised by SA Gvmnt) has a strong foothold there...but the Kenyan Community in Namibia is sizeable i'm sure most of them would love to fly KQ...BA flys JBO-WHK...if u fly KQ from NBO-JBO then BA or SAA to WHK u pay 70k one way...but if u fly SAA one way costs 56K-60K...i guess that route is not viable but i always fly KQ then BA to WHK...
#52 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 1:28:52 PM

the deal wrote:

Ja i think there's is enough business on that route,the problem is SAA(subsidised by SA Gvmnt) has a strong foothold there...but the Kenyan Community in Namibia is sizeable i'm sure most of them would love to fly KQ...BA flys JBO-WHK...if u fly KQ from NBO-JBO then BA or SAA to WHK u pay 70k one way...but if u fly SAA one way costs 56K-60K...i guess that route is not viable but i always fly KQ then BA to WHK...

Gulp! You are saying 70k for NBO-JHB-WHK? So $1,800 tix to/fro?
#53 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 1:35:10 PM

Kq is moving out of a series of 'issues' every quarter to a more stable 'whatever', dreamliner delivery this year seems quite likely, wage issues sorted, fuel stable, passenger numbers up, dividend payment on losses past, and really a lot of good news, fundas(fundamentalists) are looking at it like hungry pitbulls look at a sungura across the fence.
Meru Holiness
PKoli
#54 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 1:44:38 PM

@MuchKnow
Are you serious 'Dreamliner' will be delivered this year? With the delays Boeing has been experiencing, I doubt if they will be delivered even next year. Earliest deliveries in Africa will be to Ethiopian Airline
#55 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 1:56:36 PM

I thought they were now talking to Airbus Industrie now that the dreamliner was becoming a dream?d'oh!
#56 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 1:57:52 PM

Kq is moving out of a series of 'issues' every quarter to a more stable 'whatever', dreamliner delivery this year seems quite likely, wage issues sorted, fuel stable, passenger numbers up, dividend payment on losses past, and really a lot of good news, fundas(fundamentalists) are looking at it like hungry pitbulls look at a sungura across the fence.

787s - Not till 2013 unless lots of airlines back out even then not till 2010

Fuel - I have seen reports that claim a stable crude price $60-$85 (vs $35-$140 in 2007-9]

Passengers - I agree. Flights were full in June/July for WC. Still seem full. If Referendoom goes 'quiet' then another boom?

Expansion - New planes expected in 2010. Also new routes incl Juba + Luanda
PKoli
#57 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 2:18:06 PM

For KQ my worry is too many variables and difficult to predict any of them; fuel prices, Boeing deliveries issues, unionisable employee strikes, global economic issues, internal efficiency issues. In mathematical terms, non linear differential equations. No wonder I agree with Mzee Young not to touch the Airline stock.
#58 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 2:28:38 PM

@pkoli, airlines were tech stocks in much of the past, they have almost lost that element and are now really service stocks and very attractive, what you see is what you get!
Meru Holiness
#59 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 2:34:47 PM

So many sellers for KQ shares... No matter what the bids... the Sellers come out in force... Seems it will close at 47.50... [VWAP may be higher due to earlier sales at 48/-]

Already 358,000 traded with 62% being net foreign buyers...
@the deal So... still an E-170 not even E-190...
PKoli
#60 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 3:13:40 PM

@Much
True, but it is a nightmare to Financial Analysts. How does one project revenue going forward for say 5 years? It is for that reason that I try to keep off such stocks. Too many externalities