wazua Sat, Apr 11, 2026

Mid Life Crisis?
MugundaMan
#1 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2022 8:11:05 PM

1. Who remembers envying the fact that their older siblings were heading to Booblay usiku? Sisi tulikuwa bado watoto wa nyayo. Hata Tusker export hatukuwa tunanjua ni nini. That club achieved almost mythical legendry. Then vanished just as quick!
2. A lady friend of mine reminded me about BOMBAX over a decade ago. Case of mistaken identity. She remembers me there but I never remember ever being there. Yet another club of mythic reputation.
3. I will never ever, ever, forget the day I hit Carni for the first time ever after high school. My frends, there is no feeling like being 17/18 and having just cleared high school and heading out to heng! Back then Splash was a big afte thing. And who can forget the "bonfire" with it's smoke! And the waiters with the trays that hung from their necks. As they served DAWAS! Those were the days my frends. Tusker exports were 50 bob each! I remember how when DJ Babz would angusha Gabrielle's DREAMS, that makuti roof would almost blow off. Or Gimme Luv (Eenie meenie minie moe). Who can forget this smash? Asubuhi we would always end up Moi Avenue Topaz for kuku and chibas. Was that the most delicious meal on earth or what?
4. Who remembers Conso Primo's was it games day? Mingi mingi circus games, throwing rings over bottles to win prizes. Halafu breakdancing compes! Those surely were the days. Where did they go?
5. Who remembers F2? Forget Madhouse which was just too crazy and ghetto sometimes. I remember the f2 dancefloor that would get super packed. And the smoke! Who can forget that artificial smoke hahahaha! Asubuhi when you would chuck from that place you would be stinking of it. Then midnight dances with ladies in formation shaking their bootays. Can you believe that was 27 years agoSad
6. Who remembers this club called Bowling Green at City Park that had afternoon jam sessions on weekends that was popular with youngsters? I am SHOCKED to find from a google search that hiyo mahali bado iko to date.
7. Visio Campus Nights jameni? Dj Aloys Gor Biro (RIP) Where did the years go? Anyone remember the two pumped bouncers in the black suits? Woe betide you if you letad nyokonyoko. Those guys would deal with you perpendicularly. The biggest crime. To be found smoking in the middle of the dance floor!
8. What was the name of that dingy pub at Ambassadeur? Very popular with campuserians
9. Who kumbuka's esto life? Crushes? Those mamas? I wonder where they are now. Probably grandmums by now!
10. Nyayo error. Imagine all those chaps are gone. Kamotho, Kanyingi, Ntimama Njonjo, Mo1 himself, Saitoti, Biwott. Name it. Shariff Nassir wapende wasipende. All gone!

Life is but vapour my friends. Wazee hukumbuka.

11. Who remembers the private school parties? And by the way why did private schoolers feel mwoto sana? Bure ghabisa ha ha ha ha there was nothing special about you guys and gals

12. awawawawwa how could I forget FLOODIES! Impala floodies way before Safari Sevens even existed!
MugundaMan
#2 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2022 8:47:38 PM

I remember floodies being a really major thing. Booze would flow like water at the bar afterwards. And then of course all roads would lead to Carni since it was a weekend and there was nowhere else worth going to. Hard to describe the excitement of that "long dusty road" from Langata rd up to the Carni entrance back then. It was a traffic jam of another order but at midnight!

And who remembers getting FROZEN for not having ID? hahahahahahahahaha those surely were the days
MugundaMan
#3 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2022 8:50:59 PM

And who remembers having to wait years to get into Campo? That sense of ideless and always looking for plots but never having enough money! Some of us even got part time jobos just to finance the revving!

And how come everything revolved in an around Nai? Was very rare to hear a plot ati i am going to Coasto for chrisi
MugundaMan
#4 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2022 8:56:13 PM

Who remembers 90s mat life?
Mats were an institution back then.
Woe betide you if you were seen climbing the wrong mat hahahahaha.

Westie Mats were well known. South C mats pia. Nairobi West as well! Kenwoods strictly and that bass would leave your ribcage shaking even after you had shukad!

We even used to panda mats just to tune chicks! And chicks would panda mats to be tuned!

Imagine your pal calling you at 9.30am on a Monday ati let's go to tao to catch a mat and find chicks hahahaha!

and back then there were OBOHOS. So walking ati in tao ati going sijui where was never a smooth affair. Anyone remember them?Sad

Na usijifanye with a nice hat. It would be snatched off quick especially if it was new!!

MugundaMan
#5 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2022 8:58:49 PM

Na who kumbukas shopping for clad at Kenyatta Market hahahahaha. The same clad and sneakers that Obohos would come for as soon as you were shining in them somewhere public!

And who remembers Kingfishers? Way before satchets!
MugundaMan
#6 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2022 9:04:10 PM

Finally who remembers those chaps who would return from majuu for hols. Those ones would feel even more mwotos than the private school crowd.

Loud school jerseys (ati Oklahoma State Uni) and you could tell them from ten miles away juu their clothes were too crisp and their weaves too on point to be the local ones we were used to seeing LOL!

And of course tweng ni hiyo hiyo. Yet some of them were working graveyard shift at McDees!

Life is a funny thing full of all sorts of ups and downs and things are never what they seem jameni.

Who remembers Carni Soul nite (Was it Sundays!)

Whenever I hear these song they take me back to those seemingly halcyon days.

https://soundcloud.com/s...ony-owiso/sets/soul-mix

MugundaMan
#7 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2022 9:29:58 PM

Ayayayayayaya how could I forget the world famous

JAY-KAYS AKA
jAKYES
aka
JK's second floor on the brick building on MPAKA RD way before Electric Avenue became a thing (and then disappeared too!)
Most people today are unaware that DJ PINYE first cut his teeth hapo 1994/1995.
I still remember the "cowboy saloon doors"
and the thumping music system.
Who remembers the pool tables?
That joint was the joint everyone stopped at BEFORE they hit Carni at midnight. These 5 songs will forever remind me of of that joint.

MugundaMan
#8 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2022 9:33:35 PM

And HOWWWWW on earth could I forget GREEN CORNER KARAOKE NIGHTS! smile

Green Corner had some serious eats by the way. A real classy joint before it disappeared forever like all the others!
MugundaMan
#9 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2022 10:04:44 PM

https://soundcloud.com/u...eroy-and-dj-babbs-1990s

DJ LEROY and DJ BABBS ORIGI MIX CARNI Friday night 1994! Just priceless, mayn! I feel this mix like I was there Drool
MugundaMan
#10 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2022 10:25:56 PM

man oh man a boatload of memories just unpacked off this one Drool