wazua Sun, Jul 20, 2025

Will safaricom survive
#1 Posted : Monday, July 12, 2010 10:42:14 PM

Airtel is planning to pump SH 12B into kenyan mkt. It will concentrate on rural areas, share infrastructure and bank on the number portability. Safcom will lose market share. Yu and orange will struggle to make money. Who will buy saf above sh 6?
#2 Posted : Monday, July 12, 2010 10:57:57 PM

By the time these bozos start testing their 3g network safcom will have implemented their 4g network. They will always be a step back. Number portability won't be a big steal for them since the battleground is at the data front.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 12:40:10 AM

Airtel is planning to pump SH 12B into kenyan mkt. It will concentrate on rural areas, share infrastructure and bank on the number portability. Safcom will lose market share. Yu and orange will struggle to make money. Who will buy saf above sh 6?

@sparkly its a bit naive to think safcom is losing significantly... It saw kencel, celtel, zain, come and go and still gained market share... I.m back in nairobi and no one i knw uses zap or watever... They are all on M-PESA proving it should be bharti worried bout succeeding. Watch safcom towards books closure
#4 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 1:22:46 AM

Not only will Safcom survive in the near future but prosper! Of course, post-MJ we could get an idiot!
#5 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 6:33:26 AM

VVS, then it seems Buffett was right when he said, 'Buy into companies that are so easy to understand that an idiot can run it, because sooner or later one will'
#6 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 6:40:31 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
VVS, then it seems Buffett was right when he said, 'Buy into companies that are so easy to understand that an idiot can run it, because sooner or later one will'
Well, one of those I bought into... yep, it's an idiot!
#7 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 7:47:08 AM

Nokia. Safaricom and Microsoft enter into deal. www.dyerandblair.com/ind...5&cntnt01returnid=82
#8 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 8:20:55 AM

@guru the indians seem to know a thing about operating emerging markets. Look at YU, late entrants and short of resources but they have managed to make a mark. Airtel is also the world's 5th largest mobile co by subscriber nos. The landscape will definitely change, but to what extent?
mBiaLoss
#9 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 9:24:58 AM

@guru the indians seem to know a thing about operating emerging markets. Look at YU, late entrants and short of resources but they have managed to make a mark. Airtel is also the world's 5th largest mobile co by subscriber nos. The landscape will definitely change, but to what extent?

@sparkly..If we have a Billion Indians and 3billion chinese, then phone operators from those countries are likely to be quite big in terms of number of subscribers. One of my professor (he was chinese), once said that he wanted to go to china and sell syringes at dollar each with the aim of having each chinese buy..just one...making him a billionare at the end of it lol
As an investor I behave like a tick, patiently waiting on grass and larch onto the first cow that shows up. As an investor I dont behave like a tick...I jump off the the cow as soon as am fully engorged before it dies...
#10 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 10:39:55 AM

mBia Loss, a pal of mine was talking of going to Beijimg for a month and selling sweets for 1 shilling at a busy street. His arguement was that at least a million Chinese a day would buy.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 10:52:38 AM

Airtel is planning to pump SH 12B into kenyan mkt.

Are you serious?!! To SCOM Shs. 12B is like dividend.

#12 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 11:00:18 AM

At 5cents per share, the dividend paid out was 2.5bn
Msasani
#13 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 11:14:49 AM

The only constant in Kenyas mobile wars has been MJ. His expertise n passion in mobile telephony has never been in doubt. BUT I highly doubt whether sfcon has anyone one else with anything close to such expertise, passion n guts.
Unfortunately, Indians are experts techies n their passion borders on obsession. Besides, they appear to know which cards 2 play (read portability). Can mpesa b matched?...maybe.. Looks 2 me like its time 4 sfconners to run to the hills.
It will never be biz as usual again.
#14 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 11:40:12 AM

Competition is good for us and for SCOM. I hope Airtel will bring some real competition too. I don't see Airtel denting SCOM market share much in the short term but if they have their act together it will be very interesting in 5yrs.

Modoh
#15 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 11:40:24 AM

no matter what they do,kenyans are very faithful to a network,what MJ terms as peculiar
Msafara wa mamba burukenge hawakosi![/b]
Wa_ithaka
#16 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 11:46:58 AM

How? Safaricom made Ksh15pillion profit for its last financial yr...
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
PKoli
#17 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 12:19:32 PM

@VVS
Safcom paid 20 cents dividends and not 5 cents.
I think the mobile landscape is gona change in the next 3 years. Advantage safcom has is its entry in data and its fanatical followers for mpesa. If you want to distabilize them, that is the area to look for. Even when MJ leaves the main shareholder will bring in someone else. I see continuity of safcom.
#18 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 12:35:32 PM

At 5cents per share, the dividend paid out was 2.5bn

I guess the question is how much does SCOM make in a year. If it retained all the profits even for two years, can Airtel match that with their 12B? If this becomes an all out war, SCOM wins hands down! The general [MJ] is definitely working on strategies, counter-strategies, plan B, C, D and E etc. But as you correctly pointed out, remove MJ from the equation and the landscape changes.

@All - Imagine this, wild as it may sound. Airtel poaches MJ [Probably makes him the highest paid CEO in the region - by far!]. You'll be lucky to get a buyer for your SCOM shares at 3/= in the short term!
#19 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 2:10:45 PM

@All - Imagine this, wild as it may sound. Airtel poaches MJ [Probably makes him the highest paid CEO in the region - by far!]. You'll be lucky to get a buyer for your SCOM shares at 3/= in the short term!

@MM waaai you are giving me nightmares
#20 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 6:14:17 PM

we kenyans need to stop being so narrow minded.... Do you think safcom being owned by GOK and vodafone has no succession plan which is a basic for good corporate governance?? They've probably been grooming someone for the last 5 years or more.... Just the way they found MJ they can easily find someone better from the 6billion of us human beings....