wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

7 Pages123>»
Equity - a politically risky stock time to sell
Wa_ithaka
#1 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 4:59:55 PM

Because of the strong perception of a Kiuk association, Equity always seems to suffer when we have national elections or referendum.
I suspect that this time it might be no different and hence looks a good time for one to sell at after the August 4th
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
winston
#2 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 5:08:48 PM

That will be a further buying opportunity for those who have lots of confidence in this share. Me included.

At 23/=, and looking at other bank counters for relativity and levels of innovativeness...I think Equity has lots of gas still left...notwithstanding the results of the referendum.

#3 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 6:03:45 PM

I don't know why people think of Equity as a "kiuk" bank.
When Kisumu was up in flames in 2008, Ukwala was razed to the ground.
If what you are suggesting was true, Equity would have also been targeted. Notice that when Raila was telling ODM supporters to boycott some products such as Brookside, Equity was left out. Hata yeye ako na account huko.
But Equity is a bank for everyone, Wajaluo, Wakamba, Wataita, Wakisii, Wameru, na makabila zote.
Equity are always ahead of the pack and they always seem to have an ace up their sleeves.
You might sell and they make an announcement next week which would boost their share price. Plus they will make around 40% increase in half-year pre-tax profit.
Plus Waithaka, I know you as a fundamentalist, and in this case the fundamentals have not changed. If it goes does to sub 20, it should be an opportunity to add some more.
A final question: Where do you see Equity in 5 years? I know it's not right, but I can't resist resist answering the question myself, "Market leader in the banking sector in almost all spheres"
winston
#4 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 6:22:33 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
A final question: Where do you see Equity in 5 years? I know it's not right, but I can't resist resist answering the question myself, "Market leader in the banking sector in almost all spheres"

Well said!

When equity first floated its shares, there were all manner of negative write-ups on the internet. Whether true or not, the share has shrugged off this 'distractions' to at one time trade above 300(pre-split).
Wa_ithaka
#5 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 6:35:18 PM

I have tweaked it to read "perception". NSE like other markets, but maybe moreso gets moved by perception i.e. emotions.
Yes, I am a fundmantalist, but I've learned (the hard way), never to ignore this intangible factor.
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 6:41:22 PM

Check this question out, from the 2009 AGM

Q:Bad blood in banking sector
One shareholder commended the bank for the fight-back in his area (Machakos) where rumours led to a run at the branch, and a team (with cash) visited to reassure residents that the bank was strong. The bad blood was attributed to competitors who are jealous of Equity’s bank success - CEO mentioned a proverb of a tree that grows taller than the forest canopy and then gets buffeted by winds from all directions. He said they can withstands such challenges because of (i) capital of almost 27 billion (ii) liquidity of almost 66% and (iii) good asset quality
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 6:51:10 PM

The good thing about the bourse is you reserve the right to pick what you like and leave out or sell off/dump what you don't want or are uncomfortable with. When I have slight discomfort with a particular counter in my portfolio I sell and move on.

yekeyeke
#8 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 7:04:04 PM

Well said 2012.

Kama an investor can see risk in share, they can decide to sell or keep or even buy others.

The fact remains that Equity is a home grown company in kenya thats chalenging multinationals and we all know about the econimic hitmen of the corporate sector....(google these words to see what i am talking about)

Why is it that waithaka sees risk in equity bank, which is all over the country and not say barclays or kcb or nbk or one of the mhindi banks which are doing business in the same economy? Why only equity? Is it because James Mwangi is from murang'a? If its not tribal, then why not put safaricom in this category as well and urgue that it could colapes due to referendums.

All this is an attempt by those types of people to always play the tribal card when they are stressed by issues of their own.

Bure Kabisa
Wa_ithaka
#9 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 8:00:19 PM

yekeyeke- it seems you don't have to try hard to a emit a brainfart.
First of all, I am kiuk (and pride to be thank you very much) so the question of being a kiuk-hater arise.
And I called it perception. Perception-idiot
ogutuwalwanga
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 9:00:34 PM

@Wa whatever,we are used to such hot air about Equity,the bank is here to stay upende usipende.If you have shares and banks with them why dont you do the honourable thing to sale the shares and close your bank account or you shut up
Wa_ithaka
#11 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 9:08:43 PM

og-watever. you and yeke must be same
ditto
#12 Posted : Friday, July 09, 2010 1:25:07 AM

Equity is PERCEIVED as a kyuk bank but it is much more... Apparently, the fastest growth is in... NYANZA... Lakini the tag remains coz of the origins & shareholding...

Over time it will spread its wings & become a more 'Kenyan' bank... then Regional... look at Uganda or South Sudan...
Agra
#13 Posted : Friday, July 09, 2010 2:44:16 AM

The Reason this Stock has been falling is because a Big Fish is exiting this can be told by Bulk supply order it may soon be heading north.
It's easy for investors to get emotional and prejudiced when trading, but computers don't
Cardinal
#14 Posted : Friday, July 09, 2010 2:58:41 AM

Truth be told, Equity bank is one of the best shares to buy at the NSE now, in two years time , it shall definitely be above 75 bob.

#15 Posted : Friday, July 09, 2010 9:11:03 AM

Equity is PERCEIVED as a kyuk bank but it is much more... Apparently, the fastest growth is in... NYANZA... Lakini the tag remains coz of the origins & shareholding...

Over time it will spread its wings & become a more 'Kenyan' bank... then Regional... look at Uganda or South Sudan...

...... then an African bank
#16 Posted : Friday, July 09, 2010 9:52:30 AM

Waithaka, tulia ndugu.This referendum is not based on Anti-Kikuyuism like 2005 and 2007 polls.
#17 Posted : Friday, July 09, 2010 10:05:45 AM

Ati equity will be affected by referendum ha ha ha. We have run out of topics to discuss.
The Merchant
#18 Posted : Friday, July 09, 2010 10:19:02 AM

@all...I believe what Waithaka is not challenging the fact that Equity is a fundamentally sound bank. He is simply of the opinion (with a historical basis, he says) that it is sensitive to political events. Maybe you could try to reduce his fears.
On the other hand I do agree with other members here that Equity is a sound stock and it is wise to hold it for some time. @ Waithaka, maybe all this depends on your time horizon? Let us know...
yekeyeke
#19 Posted : Friday, July 09, 2010 11:33:01 AM

Waithaka is bure kabisa and i will not hide this fact. Yeye ana concentrate only on Kikuyu bashing. Idiot guy Kubafu kabisa kama XXXX XX XXXX.

Why does he not go to Mzungus or mhindis who own the other banks? Kwani equity is the only bank he knows? Kwani the other banks do not operate in kenya? Srust him to only fart out kukuyu katred when ever he takes those roten eggs he loves so much.

Akwende huko. Leave equity bank alone. KCB is headed by a Luo. Does that make it political?

When did it become illegal for any bank to be owened by many shareholders who happen to be Kikuyus?

If you ask Waithaka, he will swear that Helios is also owned and controled by Kikuyus!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ukileta Matusi utapata matusi.

#20 Posted : Friday, July 09, 2010 12:10:15 PM

If you look behind every company you'll always find an ethnic, race or face to attach. The question then would be are the fundamentals behind it strong enough? Do you see people closing their Equity accounts before the referendum? I don't, but again I don't know.

I think that tree example posted by youcan'tstopusnow sums it up perfectly.Applause