wazua Tue, Nov 19, 2024

141 Pages«<9192939495>»
Coronavirus
#1841 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2020 7:12:00 PM

American company forced to halt production days after its restarted

Both plants, as well as other Ford plants across four Midwest states -- restarted production Monday after suspending production for about two months because of health concerns.

Going forward this will be the main concern especially in educational boarding institutions a scenario where somebody tests positive inafungwa then re opened .What if somebody else test positive thereafter ...
Challenging times ahead.
#1842 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2020 8:23:15 PM

madollar wrote:

Both plants, as well as other Ford plants across four Midwest states -- restarted production Monday after suspending production for about two months because of health concerns.

Going forward this will be the main concern especially in educational boarding institutions a scenario where somebody tests positive inafungwa then re opened .What if somebody else test positive thereafter ...
Challenging times ahead.

If only the virus responded to our boredom and our fatigue and disinterest...

The only way to contain this at the moment is Test, isolate , contact trace. One person being taken off the public is one stream of potential infections nipped at the bud.
#1843 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2020 10:47:50 PM

madollar wrote:

Challenging times ahead.

I think schools will have to scrap their boarding sections for the time being if they are to reopen.
#1844 Posted : Saturday, May 23, 2020 12:03:38 AM

madollar wrote:

Challenging times ahead.

The only way to contain this at the moment is Test, isolate , contact trace. One person being taken off the public is one stream of potential infections nipped at the bud.

I have said this countless times. Testing and isolating is unsustainable. The biggest economy in the world is only testing but when it comes to isolating it becomes an individual choice. Soon even the testing will become pointless.
The government should reopen everything and wait for the sick in hospitals.
The government should stop spreading fear to its citizens and allow people to be free
Spikes
#1845 Posted : Saturday, May 23, 2020 8:18:48 AM

mpobiz wrote:
madollar wrote:

Challenging times ahead.

I have said this countless times. Testing and isolating is unsustainable. The biggest economy in the world is only testing but when it comes to isolating it becomes an individual choice. Soon even the testing will become pointless.
The government should stop spreading fear to its citizens and allow people to be free

Are you a scientist? I'd love to buy your idea.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#1846 Posted : Saturday, May 23, 2020 10:08:51 AM

mpobiz wrote:
madollar wrote:

Challenging times ahead.

As I keep on telling you it all depends on where you are in the cycle - in the US the disease has gone into the wild. Why? They did NOTHING at the beginning.
It’s a good thing that our policymakers think like me and not like @mpobiz - their actions are premised on Causality- every Action/Inaction has Consequences. Butterfly effects. We write the future through our actions today. Small actions at the onset have huge repercussions in the outcome of the disease.
Ignore it during its early days you end up with a hospital filling monster in a few months. If you try and do things you should have done 3 months earlier then - they will not be effective. ACTING INSTEAD OF ASSUMING WE ARE DIFFERENT! WE NEED TO REALIZE OUR UNFLAMBOYANT ACTIONS WERE DIFFERENT AND YIELDED A DIFFERENT OUTCOME.
Kenya is not the US or (Brazil... it’s now number 2 by the way). We were not irresponsible like these people at the start of the onslaught we should not think they are good examples to follow on this one. Let me put it to you THERE IS NOTHING THE MZUNGU WITH HIS MULTI-TRILLION DOLLAR ECONOMY HAS DONE ON THIS THAT IS TO BE COPIED. WITH THE EXCEPTION OF NEW ZEALAND THEY HAVE AS A RACE THEY HAVE FAILED IN THEIR RESPONSE TO THIS DISEASE. THEY ARE TRYING TO REFRAME THEIR FAILURE BUT THEY HAVE FAILED. THE MZUNGU IS NOW THE POSTER CHILD OF HOW BAD COVID IS. THEY DON’T WANT TO BE ON THAT SEAT. AFRICA IS THE POSTER CHILD OF DISEASE, IGNORANCE AND CORRUPTION. NOT ON THIS ONE AND WE SHOULD NOT ALLOW INACTION ON OUR PART TO MAKE US THE POSTER CHILD OF THIS DISEASE.

Wait until you see how they will use Brazil as a poster child of how “bad” the disease is. Expect the western media to start focusing on it as if Sweden is not getting worse.
#1847 Posted : Saturday, May 23, 2020 12:11:44 PM

Surprising how well this works until today
whiteowl
#1848 Posted : Saturday, May 23, 2020 12:42:23 PM

mpobiz wrote:
madollar wrote:

Challenging times ahead.

Then 2 years from now government will be running anti stigma campaigns on COVID-19 just like they did with HIV/AIDS. "Covid-19 is just like any other disease. We should love and care for those affected in our communities"
#1849 Posted : Saturday, May 23, 2020 12:56:12 PM

UMK agrees with opening of the economy!!!
#1850 Posted : Saturday, May 23, 2020 2:44:46 PM

Of course - it will need to be opened up at one point... the question is HOW DO YOU MOVE FROM HERE TO THERE. The first step is to stop consuming narratives of people who have FAILED TO ADDRESS THIS but rather learn from those who have succeeded.
I propose a "Levels" System customized to our setting.
here is an example:
New Zealand as a level Alert System specifies measures to be taken against COVID-19 at each level. this is always being updated based on information that is discovered but its largely. Each level is informed by some risk assessment

Level 4:

Likely that disease is not contained.
Risk assessment
• Community transmission is occurring.
• Widespread outbreaks and new clusters.
Measures
• People instructed to stay at home in their bubble other than for essential personal movement.
• Safe recreational activity is allowed in the local area.
• Travel is severely limited.
• All gatherings cancelled and all public venues closed.
• Businesses closed except for essential services, such as supermarkets, pharmacies, clinics, petrol stations, and lifeline utilities.
• Educational facilities closed.
• Rationing of supplies and requisitioning of facilities possible.
• Reprioritisation of healthcare services.

Level 3:

High risk the disease is not contained.
Risk assessment
• Community transmission might be happening.
• New clusters may emerge but can be controlled through testing and contact tracing.
Measures
• People instructed to stay home in their bubble other than for essential personal movement — including to go to work, school if they have to or for local recreation.
• Physical distancing of two metres outside home including on public transport, or 1 metre in controlled environments like schools and workplaces.
• Bubbles must stay within their immediate household bubble, but can expand this to reconnect with close family , or bring in caregivers, or support isolated people. This extended bubble should remain exclusive.
• Schools between years 1 to 10 and Early Childhood Education centres can safely open but will have limited capacity. Children should learn at home if possible.
• People must work from home unless that is not possible.
• Businesses can open premises, but cannot physically interact with customers.
• Low-risk local recreation activities are allowed.
• Public venues are closed. This includes libraries, museums, cinemas, food courts, gyms, pools, playgrounds, markets.
• Gatherings of up to 10 people are allowed but only for wedding services and funerals. Physical distancing and public health measures must be maintained.
• Healthcare services use virtual, non-contact consultations where possible.
• Inter-regional travel is highly limited to, for example, essential workers, with limited exemptions for others.
• People at high risk of severe illness such as older people and those with existing medical conditions are encouraged to stay at home where possible, and take additional precautions when leaving home. They may choose to work.

Level 2:

The disease is contained, but the risk of community transmission remains.
Risk assessment
• Household transmission could be occurring.
• Single or isolated cluster outbreaks.
Measures
• People can reconnect with friends and family, and socialise in groups of up to 10, go shopping, or travel domestically, if following public health guidance.
• Keep physical distancing of two metres from people you don’t know when out in public or in retail stores. Keep one metre physical distancing in controlled environments like workplaces, where practicable.
• No more than 10 people at gatherings (to be reviewed 25 May), except funerals and tangihanga, which can have a maximum of 50 people if registered with Ministry of Health.
• Businesses can open to the public if following public health guidance including physical distancing and record keeping. Alternative ways of working are encouraged where possible.
• Hospitality businesses must keep groups of customers separated, seated, and served by a single person. Maximum of 100 people at a time.
• Sport and recreation activities are allowed, subject to conditions on gatherings, record keeping, and – where practical – physical distancing.
• Public venues such as museums, libraries and pools can open if they comply with public health measures and ensure 1 metre physical distancing and record keeping.
• Event facilities, including cinemas, stadiums, concert venues and casinos have a limit of 100 customers in each workplace at any time, with 1 metre physical distancing and record keeping.
• Health and disability care services operate as normally as possible.
• It is safe to send your children to schools, early learning services and tertiary education. There will be appropriate measures in place.
• People at higher-risk of severe illness from COVID-19 (e.g. those with underlying medical conditions, especially if not well-controlled, and seniors) are encouraged to take additional precautions when leaving home. They may work, if they agree with their employer that they can do so safely.

Level 1 :

The disease is contained in the country but not everywhere else
Risk assessment
• COVID-19 is uncontrolled overseas.
• Isolated household transmission could be occurring in country .
measures
• Border entry measures to minimise risk of importing COVID-19 cases.
• Intensive testing for COVID-19.
• Rapid contact tracing of any positive case.
• Self-isolation and quarantine required.
• Schools and workplaces open, and must operate safely.
• Physical distancing encouraged.
• No restrictions on gatherings.
• Stay home if you’re sick, report flu-like symptoms.
• Wash and dry your hands, cough into your elbow, don’t touch your face.
• No restrictions on domestic transport — avoid public transport or travel if you're sick.

When you say we are on Level 2 - people know what it means. and they also understand you cannot move from Level 3 to Level 1... lazima upitie Level 2 and if the conditions for downgrading are met... go to Level 1.
#1851 Posted : Saturday, May 23, 2020 4:03:50 PM

Of course - it will need to be opened up at one point... the question is HOW DO YOU MOVE FROM HERE TO THERE. The first step is to stop consuming narratives of people who have FAILED TO ADDRESS THIS but rather learn from those who have succeeded.
I propose a "Levels" System customized to our setting.
here is an example:
New Zealand as a level Alert System specifies measures to be taken against COVID-19 at each level. this is always being updated based on information that is discovered but its largely. Each level is informed by some risk assessment

Level 4:

Likely that disease is not contained.
Risk assessment
• Community transmission is occurring.
• Widespread outbreaks and new clusters.
Measures
• People instructed to stay at home in their bubble other than for essential personal movement.
• Safe recreational activity is allowed in the local area.
• Travel is severely limited.
• All gatherings cancelled and all public venues closed.
• Businesses closed except for essential services, such as supermarkets, pharmacies, clinics, petrol stations, and lifeline utilities.
• Educational facilities closed.
• Rationing of supplies and requisitioning of facilities possible.
• Reprioritisation of healthcare services.

Level 3:

High risk the disease is not contained.
Risk assessment
• Community transmission might be happening.
• New clusters may emerge but can be controlled through testing and contact tracing.
Measures
• People instructed to stay home in their bubble other than for essential personal movement — including to go to work, school if they have to or for local recreation.
• Physical distancing of two metres outside home including on public transport, or 1 metre in controlled environments like schools and workplaces.
• Bubbles must stay within their immediate household bubble, but can expand this to reconnect with close family , or bring in caregivers, or support isolated people. This extended bubble should remain exclusive.
• Schools between years 1 to 10 and Early Childhood Education centres can safely open but will have limited capacity. Children should learn at home if possible.
• People must work from home unless that is not possible.
• Businesses can open premises, but cannot physically interact with customers.
• Low-risk local recreation activities are allowed.
• Public venues are closed. This includes libraries, museums, cinemas, food courts, gyms, pools, playgrounds, markets.
• Gatherings of up to 10 people are allowed but only for wedding services and funerals. Physical distancing and public health measures must be maintained.
• Healthcare services use virtual, non-contact consultations where possible.
• Inter-regional travel is highly limited to, for example, essential workers, with limited exemptions for others.
• People at high risk of severe illness such as older people and those with existing medical conditions are encouraged to stay at home where possible, and take additional precautions when leaving home. They may choose to work.

Level 2:

The disease is contained, but the risk of community transmission remains.
Risk assessment
• Household transmission could be occurring.
• Single or isolated cluster outbreaks.
Measures
• People can reconnect with friends and family, and socialise in groups of up to 10, go shopping, or travel domestically, if following public health guidance.
• Keep physical distancing of two metres from people you don’t know when out in public or in retail stores. Keep one metre physical distancing in controlled environments like workplaces, where practicable.
• No more than 10 people at gatherings (to be reviewed 25 May), except funerals and tangihanga, which can have a maximum of 50 people if registered with Ministry of Health.
• Businesses can open to the public if following public health guidance including physical distancing and record keeping. Alternative ways of working are encouraged where possible.
• Hospitality businesses must keep groups of customers separated, seated, and served by a single person. Maximum of 100 people at a time.
• Sport and recreation activities are allowed, subject to conditions on gatherings, record keeping, and – where practical – physical distancing.
• Public venues such as museums, libraries and pools can open if they comply with public health measures and ensure 1 metre physical distancing and record keeping.
• Event facilities, including cinemas, stadiums, concert venues and casinos have a limit of 100 customers in each workplace at any time, with 1 metre physical distancing and record keeping.
• Health and disability care services operate as normally as possible.
• It is safe to send your children to schools, early learning services and tertiary education. There will be appropriate measures in place.
• People at higher-risk of severe illness from COVID-19 (e.g. those with underlying medical conditions, especially if not well-controlled, and seniors) are encouraged to take additional precautions when leaving home. They may work, if they agree with their employer that they can do so safely.

Level 1 :

The disease is contained in the country but not everywhere else
Risk assessment
• COVID-19 is uncontrolled overseas.
• Isolated household transmission could be occurring in country .
measures
• Border entry measures to minimise risk of importing COVID-19 cases.
• Intensive testing for COVID-19.
• Rapid contact tracing of any positive case.
• Self-isolation and quarantine required.
• Schools and workplaces open, and must operate safely.
• Physical distancing encouraged.
• No restrictions on gatherings.
• Stay home if you’re sick, report flu-like symptoms.
• Wash and dry your hands, cough into your elbow, don’t touch your face.
• No restrictions on domestic transport — avoid public transport or travel if you're sick.

When you say we are on Level 2 - people know what it means. and they also understand you cannot move from Level 3 to Level 1... lazima upitie Level 2 and if the conditions for downgrading are met... go to Level 1.

Kuongezea this is how Japan is cascading the re-opening:

Tokyo reopening criteria
#1852 Posted : Saturday, May 23, 2020 6:08:05 PM

Shak wrote:
madollar wrote:

Challenging times ahead.

I think schools will have to scrap their boarding sections for the time being if they are to reopen.

Boarding schools are better as long as kids don't leave, teachers and other workers can be taken their temperature daily. Day schools...these kids meet other people in matatus, churches and anywhere else they go to that can be unmanageable
#1853 Posted : Saturday, May 23, 2020 7:56:06 PM

mpobiz wrote:
madollar wrote:

Challenging times ahead.

As I keep on telling you it all depends on where you are in the cycle - in the US the disease has gone into the wild. Why? They did NOTHING at the beginning.
It’s a good thing that our policymakers think like me and not like @mpobiz - their actions are premised on Causality- every Action/Inaction has Consequences. Butterfly effects. We write the future through our actions today. Small actions at the onset have huge repercussions in the outcome of the disease.
Ignore it during its early days you end up with a hospital filling monster in a few months. If you try and do things you should have done 3 months earlier then - they will not be effective. ACTING INSTEAD OF ASSUMING WE ARE DIFFERENT! WE NEED TO REALIZE OUR UNFLAMBOYANT ACTIONS WERE DIFFERENT AND YIELDED A DIFFERENT OUTCOME.
Kenya is not the US or (Brazil... it’s now number 2 by the way). We were not irresponsible like these people at the start of the onslaught we should not think they are good examples to follow on this one. Let me put it to you THERE IS NOTHING THE MZUNGU WITH HIS MULTI-TRILLION DOLLAR ECONOMY HAS DONE ON THIS THAT IS TO BE COPIED. WITH THE EXCEPTION OF NEW ZEALAND THEY HAVE AS A RACE THEY HAVE FAILED IN THEIR RESPONSE TO THIS DISEASE. THEY ARE TRYING TO REFRAME THEIR FAILURE BUT THEY HAVE FAILED. THE MZUNGU IS NOW THE POSTER CHILD OF HOW BAD COVID IS. THEY DON’T WANT TO BE ON THAT SEAT. AFRICA IS THE POSTER CHILD OF DISEASE, IGNORANCE AND CORRUPTION. NOT ON THIS ONE AND WE SHOULD NOT ALLOW INACTION ON OUR PART TO MAKE US THE POSTER CHILD OF THIS DISEASE.

Wait until you see how they will use Brazil as a poster child of how “bad” the disease is. Expect the western media to start focusing on it as if Sweden is not getting worse.

https://www.nation.co.ke...1506-pp0okez/index.html
Prescient. I will be damned
#1854 Posted : Saturday, May 23, 2020 8:38:38 PM

quicksand wrote:
mpobiz wrote:
madollar wrote:

Challenging times ahead.

That was fast!! Let’s hope our actions or inactions don’t leave us holding the trophy of the people who could never learn from the experiences of other countries even after witnessing suffering and inaction but instead squandered valuable lessons and time that they had been granted by a late arrival of Covid on their shores.
#1855 Posted : Saturday, May 23, 2020 10:07:25 PM

quicksand wrote:
mpobiz wrote:
madollar wrote:

Challenging times ahead.

That was fast!! Let’s hope our actions or inactions don’t leave us holding the trophy of the people who could never learn from the experiences of other countries even after witnessing suffering and inaction but instead squandered valuable lessons and time that they had been granted by a late arrival of Covid on their shores.

This is scary. Quote:

"Unlike in Europe and the United States, where the elderly were hardest-hit, a significant number of deaths in Brazil have been younger people, who are often driven by poverty to work despite the threat of infection."
#1856 Posted : Saturday, May 23, 2020 11:39:22 PM

Shak wrote:
quicksand wrote:
mpobiz wrote:
madollar wrote:

Challenging times ahead.

This is scary. Quote:

"Unlike in Europe and the United States, where the elderly were hardest-hit, a significant number of deaths in Brazil have been younger people, who are often driven by poverty to work despite the threat of infection."

Meanwhile someone has created a report that compiles Google searches for "I can't smell," conducted from Tanzania; when a search is made.

The top country is US... Pray Pray
#1857 Posted : Sunday, May 24, 2020 10:45:17 AM

Spikes wrote:
mpobiz wrote:
madollar wrote:

Challenging times ahead.

Are you a scientist? I'd love to buy your idea.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Makufuli is a scientist. Take it from him . Your own president finally listened to him.

This happened less than 48 hrs after the two had a phone conversation.

#1858 Posted : Sunday, May 24, 2020 12:45:24 PM

While the rest of the world is grappling with how to beat Corona (those who have a chance to kick it out of their countries) or live with it (those who have surrendered kama US and Brazil). Tanzania is celebrating defeating Corona today.
Meanwhile Madagascar that had created a cure has 488 cases of whom 348 are active and 2 deaths. Remember it had around 150 cases and no deaths when it started exporting the CVO cure to other African nations.
sqft
#1859 Posted : Sunday, May 24, 2020 4:20:23 PM

Some states reopening.

Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
#1860 Posted : Sunday, May 24, 2020 6:35:20 PM

Has anyone received a kitchen garden kit?

Am really impressed by Qatar

These scientists keep telling us about the summer heat, but what about middle east?