wazua Tue, Nov 19, 2024

141 Pages«<9091929394>»
Coronavirus
#1821 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2020 2:07:40 PM

As things stand the total number of REPORTED deaths in Africa is now 3,020. that's about 1% of what had been modeled.
It hit me that the 300,000 deaths being predicted for Africa may not be a big number as people think it will be if you don't factor in time. If 50 countries get an average of 6,000 total deaths (That's the total number of deaths in a country like Canada has up to now on Covid) we are there!
All I can see around is people who are tired and bored saying let it rip through our masses and see what happens.

Please mzee .. read what you write and if possible edit. I don't
want to sound abusive but I didn't know what you are telling us when you say we remove the time factor. the best thing is you adjust the time. You had predicted 6000 in two months now make it 2years which is fair considering the current trend.
The only people who are tired are prophets of Doom and a western turncoats (tukunia twa ngati) I won't mention names, who are longing for big splashes in breaking news and nothing is forthcoming. For us we are okey. Living each day as normal as it should be.
The Brazil you keep on mentioning we know who is adversely affected no need to mention.
We have our own models in the african mainland. Tanzania and Cameroon. Direct your magnifying glass there. It's far closer to you.
Imagine you are replacing a car tyre and the Jack slips and the vehicle tumbles on your small toe. The vehicle is 2 tonnes. But your immediate instincts is to try to lift the car. By trying to lift the car it doesn't mean you are just there doing nothing. You are trying something that next to impossible. That's your Kenya for you. Trying so hard to show its doing some lifting.

Anyway wash hands, sanitize bla bla bla...
Now you know. I am not for sitting waiting and doing nothing.
littledove
#1822 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2020 3:29:32 PM

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-health-coronavirus-astrazeneca-idUSKBN22X0J9?taid=5ec66622aa4703000103c724&utm_campaign=trueAnthem:+Trending+Content&utm_medium=trueAnthem&utm_source=twitter
BENGALURU/LONDON (Reuters) - The United States has secured almost a third of AstraZeneca’s one billion possible COVID-19 vaccine doses by pledging up to $1.2 billion, as the world’s biggest powers scramble for medicinal supplies to get their economies back to work.

Do we have the vaccine already or they are booking just in case its successful?
There are only two emotions in the stock market, fear and hope. The problem is, you hope when you should fear and fear when you should hope
#1823 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2020 3:39:07 PM

mpobiz wrote:
As things stand the total number of REPORTED deaths in Africa is now 3,020. that's about 1% of what had been modeled.
It hit me that the 300,000 deaths being predicted for Africa may not be a big number as people think it will be if you don't factor in time. If 50 countries get an average of 6,000 total deaths (That's the total number of deaths in a country like Canada has up to now on Covid) we are there!
All I can see around is people who are tired and bored saying let it rip through our masses and see what happens.

Please mzee .. read what you write and if possible edit. I don't
want to sound abusive but I didn't know what you are telling us when you say we remove the time factor. the best thing is you adjust the time. You had predicted 6000 in two months now make it 2years which is fair considering the current trend.
The only people who are tired are prophets of Doom and a western turncoats (tukunia twa ngati) I won't mention names, who are longing for big splashes in breaking news and nothing is forthcoming. For us we are okey. Living each day as normal as it should be.
The Brazil you keep on mentioning we know who is adversely affected no need to mention.
We have our own models in the african mainland. Tanzania and Cameroon. Direct your magnifying glass there. It's far closer to you.
Imagine you are replacing a car tyre and the Jack slips and the vehicle tumbles on your small toe. The vehicle is 2 tonnes. But your immediate instincts is to try to lift the car. By trying to lift the car it doesn't mean you are just there doing nothing. You are trying something that next to impossible. That's your Kenya for you. Trying so hard to show its doing some lifting.

Anyway wash hands, sanitize bla bla bla...
Now you know. I am not for sitting waiting and doing nothing.

I had predicted 6,000? Pris... look it up! I don't predict!

I have one job here...TO PREACH THAT WE SHOULD NOT DESPISE SIMPLE INDIVIDUAL ACTIONS CAN BE UNDERTAKEN NOW! Why? because the problem with the future is that it's looong and its determined the sum total of these small SIMPLE individual actions and attitudes... butterfly effects!
#1824 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2020 7:04:54 PM

Who is the female politician?
#1825 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2020 7:37:49 PM

Who did what?
#1826 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2020 7:44:08 PM

mpobiz wrote:
Shak wrote:
Seeing pictures on social media of Weta's brother's burial. Attendants in hazmat suits.

That is the modus operandi for COVID victims.

In other news 66 today

yeap!
Mombasa has 30 new cases half of them from Likoni Pray
Nairobi has 26 new cases 15 of them from Kibra Pray

Ikiingina hizo vitongoji kutoka ni ngumu!

Hio ndio shida. When it entered in Brazil's vitongoji that was it. This is not good at all

Yes,its beginning to get slippery when we mention such huge figures in Kibera and likoni.

However we are still hopeful having seemingly managed Kawangware and Eastleigh whose population densities are similar.

I like your optimism. But your Faith is in the wrong place. How did they manage the situation in kawangware and isilii?
They just stopped testing so there are no results to record.
Now you say it's in kibra. Will they shut down kibra?
Many kibra residents work in those so-called upmarket places like langata Karen and lavington where the sonkos travel all over the world wakiokota all kind of trash and bringing it back here. Imagine the wamama wa kufua nguo? Can I be wrong when i say this thing has been here since 1st of January?

Wachaneni n.a. magufuli. He is not a city person. Even before covid he was always seen huko mikoani inspecting projects and firing people. I ask you to watch older videos and tell me how close you could come to talk to him.

I chose to be an extemist in optimism.This has helped me remain focused otherwise this thing is depressing.Am beginning to get weak in the legs.

You dont want Kibra locked down?I think we should if only to curb the spread.
Those day burg mama wa kufua are not getting jobs currently.People are taking precaution.And if they were infected before March 25th when flights were stopped,then wlipona without knowing they are sick.

Lakini hapa divine inatakikanaPray Pray Pray
#1827 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2020 7:51:37 PM

Who did what?

Corona positive, now admitted plus all her people.
#1828 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2020 7:54:57 PM

#1829 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2020 8:00:35 PM

Who did what?

Thanks sis I was behind news.

Nimeskia kwa Corridor .............ati The Grory is.......

Quite scaring
#1830 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2020 8:09:11 PM

Who did what?

Quite scaring

Confirmed Bishop Wanjiru!!!
#1831 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2020 8:16:51 PM

Who did what?

Quite scaring

I hope there have been no secret church sessions

Wishing quick and total healing.
#1832 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2020 8:22:08 PM

Who did what?

Quite scaring

Hapa
https://www.the-star.co....pitalised-over-covid-19/
#1833 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2020 10:13:24 PM

It's this kind of stories that sound as if to stigmatize a covid sufferer. The earlier you normalize yourselves to live with this disease the better for us.
Malaria is more deadlier than covid. Why not report each and every malaria infection?
I hear she has been having symptoms for 2weeks. It's not the mass testing that has "outed" her. i hear She come out voluntarily when the symptoms persisted. She is on her way to recovery

If the situation is like that in the leafy suburbs it's up to you now to guess how things are in the ghetto.
I once again ask all wazuans to brace yourselves to be infected. remember the best dawa is going out to sunbathing thanks to @masukuma and some outdoor exercise. Not being bedridden.
#1834 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2020 10:34:40 PM

[quote=sparkly]Who is the female politician?

Who did what?

Quite scaring

Hapa
https://www.the-star.co....italised-over-covid-19/[/quote]

Meanwhile
https://www.voanews.com/...meroon-covid-pastor-dies
#1835 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2020 11:03:19 PM

mpobiz wrote:
It's this kind of stories that sound as if to stigmatize a covid sufferer. The earlier you normalize yourselves to live with this disease the better for us.
Malaria is more deadlier than covid. Why not report each and every malaria infection?
I hear she has been having symptoms for 2weeks. It's not the mass testing that has "outed" her. i hear She come out voluntarily when the symptoms persisted. She is on her way to recovery

If the situation is like that in the leafy suburbs it's up to you now to guess how things are in the ghetto.
I once again ask all wazuans to brace yourselves to be infected. remember the best dawa is going out to sunbathing thanks to @masukuma and some outdoor exercise. Not being bedridden.

Because Malaria has been around for over 60 years and so far it has several cures. We also know how to keep malaria at bay, mosquito nets, spraying, clearing bushes, draining stalled water, etc We also know you cant get malaria just by interacting and taking care of a sick person, the only transmitter of Malaria is Anopheles mosquito. Covid19 still has no cure, its symptoms are evolving and still being discovered, you can get it just from normal socialization, doctors are still guessing on what can treat you, you still do not know which version you'd get or how your body will respond to it all those questions make it more deadlier than AIDS leave alone Malaria.
#1836 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2020 11:38:46 PM

mpobiz wrote:

It’s really a raft of measures
1) gava continues with testing , isolation and contact tracing... if something slips this net
2) individuals obey guidelines (social distancing, masks ) etc ... if you happen to get it
3) have your immunity up... remember a person with vitamin D deficiency has up 8 times more chances to have a severe case of Covid and up to 20 times the chance of being critical when compared to a person with normal vitamin D levels.

Stack up the odds in your Favour and those of your loved ones.
#1837 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2020 4:59:10 AM

mpobiz wrote:

Its not stigmatising but rather in Kenya illnesses of politicians are top secret.

Having said that,I am happy that this has come out.It will help people appreciate COVID is real.Now we all know someone who has it.I pray after recovery she will tell us her story for our better understanding and hopefully give us hope that its not a death sentence.

Meanwhile start sanitizing again for I know we had stopped.Wear your mask for protection not for the police.Keep the social distance,we shall one day have all the time to meet and party after COVID checks out.
#1838 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2020 10:06:04 AM

mpobiz wrote:

Its not stigmatising but rather in Kenya illnesses of politicians are top secret.

Having said that,I am happy that this has come out.It will help people appreciate COVID is real.Now we all know someone who has it.I pray after recovery she will tell us her story for our better understanding and hopefully give us hope that its not a death sentence.

Meanwhile start sanitizing again for I know we had stopped.Wear your mask for protection not for the police.Keep the social distance,we shall one day have all the time to meet and party after COVID checks out.

People have no appreciation of how diligence during day-to-day non flamboyant activities piles up to determine outcomes. Letting things slide has consequences at a societal level.
In other news Brazil has for another day hit 1000+ deaths a day and close to 18,000 new infections.
The President is now preaching hydroxychloroquine. He at least has the sense to wear a mask.
there seems to be an underlying thread with these countries -
1) It's not something we should be concerned about... it's a flu
2) Life has to go on as normal... this thing will come and go
3) "sasa mnataka nifanye nini?"
4) Here is some hydroxychloroquine to treat it
5) Herd Immunity is the only way we get out of it. let it rip...

Dahatre
#1839 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2020 3:31:39 PM

littledove wrote:
https://www.reuters.com/article/us-health-coronavirus-astrazeneca-idUSKBN22X0J9?taid=5ec66622aa4703000103c724&utm_campaign=trueAnthem:+Trending+Content&utm_medium=trueAnthem&utm_source=twitter
BENGALURU/LONDON (Reuters) - The United States has secured almost a third of AstraZeneca’s one billion possible COVID-19 vaccine doses by pledging up to $1.2 billion, as the world’s biggest powers scramble for medicinal supplies to get their economies back to work.

Do we have the vaccine already or they are booking just in case its successful?
This is the Oxford vaccine and many do not think it worked based on their monkey study Vaccinated monkeys got infected with the virus and the amounts of antibody needed to neutralize the virus did not materialize.

Westerners are pouring money to try and coopt the Chinese (Sinovac trial) whose version of the vaccine seems to have done better.

From the link:
All of the vaccinated monkeys treated with the Oxford vaccine became infected when challenged, as judged by recovery of virus genomic RNA from nasal secretions. There was no difference in the amount of viral RNA detected from this site in the vaccinated monkeys as compared to the unvaccinated animals. Which is to say, all vaccinated animals were infected. This observation is in marked contrast to the results reported from Sinovac trial. At the highest dose studied, no virus was recovered from vaccinated monkeys from the throat, lung, or rectum of the vaccinated animals.

There is a second troubling result of the Oxford paper. The titer of neutralizing antibody, as judged by inhibition of virus replication by successive serum dilutions as reported is extremely low. Typically, neutralizing antibodies in effective vaccines can be diluted by more than a thousand fold and retain activity. In these experiments the serum could be diluted only by 4 to 40 fold before neutralizing activity was lost. Again, by contrast the titer of neutralizing antibodies in the serum of those vaccinated with whole inactivated SARS-CoV-2 was high.

Dahatre
#1840 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2020 3:42:56 PM

Apparently our good Bishop (may she get better) met with, and prayed for 18 people?

Her case is an example of the (obvious) importance of avoiding “Super spreader events” which include places of worship.

Epidemiologists are telling us that the average infected person will infect 2-3 persons (R0=2-3). If that same person goes to choir practice/prayer meeting/football game/party etc., the R0 rises. The R0 for this one person who attended a funeral for example was 15 (not the expected 2-3) and 3 of the 15 died…

Avoid large gatherings people.