Market
Pennywise
Upgrading my Laptop
My 2007 presario v3000 now looks too old skool. Batt lasts only 30 min. 120gb hard disk,512mb ram,1.6ghz processor. Are there any better batts out there? Can the processor b upgraded? Can the hard disk b replaced with a 320gb one? Costs? Help! Can silence be misquoted? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
I am sorry I can not help on prices but you should be able to get a battery replacement. To get an improvement in the performance of your laptop the easiest and most cost-effective option would be to expand the memory to at least 1GB since that 512MB will be taken up by most of the background processes. You can also purchase another drive but my suggestion would be to get an external USB hard drive,they even have them in 1TB capacity,amazing how far technology has come! Anyone remember the 5 1/4 floppy disk that store 72kb?
'Tis better to be silent and thought a fool than to open one's mouth and remove all doubt - Samuel Johnson
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/20/2008 Posts: 1,126 Location: Nairobi
It is better you buy a new one. You can even try out the windows 7 os on it When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives. JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
@statboy,thanx 4the advice. @ako,not now,ninunue ingine nikunywe nini? Anyone with an idea where I can get the RAM fixed n the batt cost n where to get it at a recession price? Can silence be misquoted? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Based on the situation you described,I would urge you to buy a 'new' one. Consider this 1. New Hard drive or external one ~ 6,000 2. More RAM ~ 1,500 3. Faster processor ~ 7,000 4. New Battery ~ 5,000 5. Getting someone to install them for you (I am assuming you are not a techie) ~ 1,500 6. The hassle of ensuring you get the right kind of equipment that will work for your specific computer,your laptop won't be messed up after the end of the process et al ~ Unquatifiable.
NB) By the way,the above prices are mostly on the low end
Buying a decent laptop with good specs(2 GHz,200GB,2GB,802.11b/g etc) these days should cost you about 40,000-45,000 and you can go much lower if you opt for the netbooks(warn you though that they are smaller,slower and have no CDROM,few USB,can't run Windows Vista or 7). A good start would be to go through a week's worth of ads for electronics in the newspapers.
I got a 2 months old Hp compaq 6720s,intel core 2 duo 1.8Ghz (translates to 3.6Ghz),160Gb,1GB memory so if want the upgrade drop me a line
There might be some options
Option 1. Upgrade - When on Budget First,Replace your battery. with the memory 1gb or more would do. Maybe the hard drive 160 - 250 - 320 gb An upgrade should be less than 10,000.
Option 2. Replace your laptop
With the following specifications listed below will gurantee you 5 years without an upgrade. Get a Processor core 2 duo 2.1,2GB RAM,Hard drive 320 gb,Blue tooth etc. 40,000 - 50,000
@gladiator,thanx dude. @254,give me a deal... Can silence be misquoted? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
@Kabz: To paraphrase one Kimunya,its a deal to good to resist! 35K ono
Simonkabz,check this out!!!! Dear All, The most eagerly awaited Laptop deals by Safaricom are finally here. The most affordable Laptop in the Kenyan Market is now available through Safaricom Retail shops countrywide at an amazing Ksh 19,999. The offer is: For every Laptop purchase,customers will get a FREE Safaricom Broadband Modem PLUS 2GB data bundle! To get more details or to place your order on any of the laptops,please contact Michael Akal on email makal@safaricom.co.ke or Mobile 0722 948316 Offer available while stocks last! The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Better buy from dealers like Mitsumi or Bestell or other Vendors. The prices are cheaper.
Iko kitu sielewi. My harddisk appears full,bt summing up all the individual folders gives me about 65gb. What do I do to access the free space? Its indicating less than 500mb of free space. Can silence be misquoted? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Boss, The most important thing you can do is upgrade you RAM. 512mb is kidogo sana thats why the machine is slow. Delete programs you dont need and reduce access of programs running processes that you dont need. Just look at your tasklist process .... they all pile up and use your precious ram. Some antiviruses are more demanding on memory than others so change antivirus to less mem demanding.... Norton is notorius for this(I hate norton). Once you sort the Ram and reduce the process and delete useless programs you will feel like the comp is as good as new. For space you can get an external harddisk even a 160gb - 320gb is good space if you dont store loads of movies,but for kawa files and music si mbaya. @254..... Did you mention that you are selling a core 2 duo for 30k ama its a dual core cause that RAM looks abit small na kweli bei ya core2 duo is that low on a 2 month machine!!
SK A.L.U.M.N.I (Alcoholic Liason and Undergarments Manager of Nakedness Internationally)
@tony,im convinced u havent read my last post below. Can silence be misquoted? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,221 Location: Nairobi
As indicated,by the time u upgrade... you are almost at a new laptop. And dont forget the old laptop warranty might be running out! Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@Simon First of all you need to replace the battery,u can get a new one Add another 512MB memory stick,i think the 120gb Hard disk is not bad as it were,u can get an external one costs as follows: Battery: 6500 Ram 512mb is 1850 External harddisk e.g 320GB range is 6500 depends on make and ofcourse quality As for the harddisk looking full the reason is that you have bugs in your system that clog the registry and multiply making your system unusable. Drop me a line solutions.clearvista@gmail.com i will sort you out pronto Teato5
Teato thanx. Wil contact u later. Im in nanyuki 4some crazy stuff today. Can silence be misquoted? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
It seems my english was greek!
SK A.L.U.M.N.I (Alcoholic Liason and Undergarments Manager of Nakedness Internationally)
I am considering purchasing this safcom Laptop On offer but I would like to know its capabilities and limitations.Can someone assist here.
Market
Pennywise
Upgrading my Laptop