Coronavirus
#1781 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2020 12:37:13 PM

mpobiz wrote:
While acknowledging that Correlation doesn't mean Causality - there is a plausible explanation (or at most one of the 'factors') why Black People seem to be dying more from this disease in the higher latitude countries. Vitamin D or at least the deficiency of it. It's a proven fact that Vitamin D really assists in the body fighting respiratory diseases. While black people have lots of biological advantages - synthesis of Vitamin D is not one of them. Why? Melanin! our dark skin (an adaptation to prevent us from dying from skin cancers) prevents us from generating Vitamin D in large quantities when in high latitude countries. Generally - 47% of older people in northern countries are Vitamin D deficient during winter - this number shoots to 84% of older African American men and women. Perhaps this may be that the reason 'seasonal flu' in the US is prevalent in Winter is for the same reason - not everyone is synthesizing Vitamin D (just a theory...). When they compared the cases of people who got infected in a place like Florida vs Northern States like Illinois - Florida has fewer dead people coz of Covid. Florida also has lots more older people and it seems that sitting in the sun may help. Perhaps the lockdowns i.e. keeping people indoors where they cannot synthesize the Vitamin is counterproductive in that way. What needs to be explored is how this observation explains the cases in Australia (it was summer... do they all like staying indoors during the heat of winter?), Ecuador, Brazil are more pronounced in people who are indoors more? Old people and Invalids for example? Young children who play outside in school may fare better because of the mandatory breaks and games times compared to 'hard-working' office people. There are close to 44 countries with 10 active cases or less and most of them are island nations (fish diets and lots of sunshine).

How would this affect us? I reckon most of the people that live by the coasts and eat fish or expose themselves to lots of uninterrupted sunlight would fare better than those who don't. Women in Islamic societies that cover themselves from head to toe would not synthesize the vitamin D. Well - if you work in an office then from the office - you get into a car and never really stay out in the sun - you may not be synthesizing enough Vitamin D regardless of how much sun is out there. we are going into a 'cold' season - most people will be covered kabisa, will stay indoors and my not synthesize enough vitamin D. The West African diet is considered one of the best diets on the planet (rich with fish)... could that explain their low mortality? My advice is while engaging in the well-understood measures - Social Distancing and Avoiding Crowds, Sanitizing Surfaces, Wearing Masks, Staying at home when you can - add a good diet and swallow multi-vitamin tablets. Encourage good diets and vitamin supplements to be taken by your relatives.

I have read very carefully. This is nice. You have started thinking outside the box.
(The box created by Europeans that you muafrica can't see or think for him/ her self)
There is only one thing you need to do. Edit and remove the part in red about black man. That's a useless statement.
He is doing fine.

@mpobiz, I go where the evidence takes me. On the removal of the text that is offending you - the truth is while everyone is entitled to their own set of opinions - no one is entitled to their own set of facts. This also applied to me by the way smile.
It's a well-documented fact that black people in the north are dying way more (up to 4 times more than white people). that's a well-documented fact.

@murchr, I don't have a straight answer for brazil - I honestly can't figure it out but I have some observations that may be relevant. is's a factor of statistics. While Vitamin D raises the immunity of a person to fight AGAINST the disease it's not a vaccine nor does it confer immunity. The evidence from COVID-19 patients extracted from an observational study from three South Asian hospitals shows us that the prevalence of vitamin D deficiency was much higher among those with severe COVID illness compared with those with mild illness. In fact, there was a 7.94 times higher risk of having severe illness among those who entered with vitamin D deficiency compared with those who had sufficient vitamin D levels. So there is a LOWER risk of having severe illness not an eradication. If a population is reckless and a huge number of people who have no vitamin D deficiency get the infection at once even if the percentage (%) of those who get severe cases is relatively small when thrown against large infected population the outcome is substantial. There also other factors such as people who spend time indoors (office people) who live in areas where vitamin D synthesis would be easy but don't present themselves to it. That's my reasoning! People in Brazil have a bad mindset about the disease - led from the front by the president and possibly millions of them have been infected and the sizable number of deaths are results of the factors above.

You are now slipping back inside the box.
Who has presented you with the facts?
Did you know that the government confirmed that all Kenyans who died in Europe and America's had other health issues.
Based on that alone I can say that most Africans adversely affected by the desease it's not because of your vitamin D theory, but because those blacks suffer from other things that suppress their immunity.

I presume that you know how to read... I wrote 'Black People'.
Some Kenyans happen to be 'Black People'. Some Africans happen to be Black People. Not All Black People are Africans. Some are Americans, UK, Melanesia. The observation was made on people who have Melanin (Black Skins) not the passports they carry. It also stated that south asians (Wahindi wa south india and Sri Lanka) who have Melanin kama sisi were also more likely to die compared to the white people.

Na huyu? Covid produces melanin?

https://www.google.com/a...-wake-darkened-skin.html
#1782 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2020 1:19:29 PM

mpobiz wrote:
While acknowledging that Correlation doesn't mean Causality - there is a plausible explanation (or at most one of the 'factors') why Black People seem to be dying more from this disease in the higher latitude countries. Vitamin D or at least the deficiency of it. It's a proven fact that Vitamin D really assists in the body fighting respiratory diseases. While black people have lots of biological advantages - synthesis of Vitamin D is not one of them. Why? Melanin! our dark skin (an adaptation to prevent us from dying from skin cancers) prevents us from generating Vitamin D in large quantities when in high latitude countries. Generally - 47% of older people in northern countries are Vitamin D deficient during winter - this number shoots to 84% of older African American men and women. Perhaps this may be that the reason 'seasonal flu' in the US is prevalent in Winter is for the same reason - not everyone is synthesizing Vitamin D (just a theory...). When they compared the cases of people who got infected in a place like Florida vs Northern States like Illinois - Florida has fewer dead people coz of Covid. Florida also has lots more older people and it seems that sitting in the sun may help. Perhaps the lockdowns i.e. keeping people indoors where they cannot synthesize the Vitamin is counterproductive in that way. What needs to be explored is how this observation explains the cases in Australia (it was summer... do they all like staying indoors during the heat of winter?), Ecuador, Brazil are more pronounced in people who are indoors more? Old people and Invalids for example? Young children who play outside in school may fare better because of the mandatory breaks and games times compared to 'hard-working' office people. There are close to 44 countries with 10 active cases or less and most of them are island nations (fish diets and lots of sunshine).

How would this affect us? I reckon most of the people that live by the coasts and eat fish or expose themselves to lots of uninterrupted sunlight would fare better than those who don't. Women in Islamic societies that cover themselves from head to toe would not synthesize the vitamin D. Well - if you work in an office then from the office - you get into a car and never really stay out in the sun - you may not be synthesizing enough Vitamin D regardless of how much sun is out there. we are going into a 'cold' season - most people will be covered kabisa, will stay indoors and my not synthesize enough vitamin D. The West African diet is considered one of the best diets on the planet (rich with fish)... could that explain their low mortality? My advice is while engaging in the well-understood measures - Social Distancing and Avoiding Crowds, Sanitizing Surfaces, Wearing Masks, Staying at home when you can - add a good diet and swallow multi-vitamin tablets. Encourage good diets and vitamin supplements to be taken by your relatives.

I have read very carefully. This is nice. You have started thinking outside the box.
(The box created by Europeans that you muafrica can't see or think for him/ her self)
There is only one thing you need to do. Edit and remove the part in red about black man. That's a useless statement.
He is doing fine.

@mpobiz, I go where the evidence takes me. On the removal of the text that is offending you - the truth is while everyone is entitled to their own set of opinions - no one is entitled to their own set of facts. This also applied to me by the way smile.
It's a well-documented fact that black people in the north are dying way more (up to 4 times more than white people). that's a well-documented fact.

@murchr, I don't have a straight answer for brazil - I honestly can't figure it out but I have some observations that may be relevant. is's a factor of statistics. While Vitamin D raises the immunity of a person to fight AGAINST the disease it's not a vaccine nor does it confer immunity. The evidence from COVID-19 patients extracted from an observational study from three South Asian hospitals shows us that the prevalence of vitamin D deficiency was much higher among those with severe COVID illness compared with those with mild illness. In fact, there was a 7.94 times higher risk of having severe illness among those who entered with vitamin D deficiency compared with those who had sufficient vitamin D levels. So there is a LOWER risk of having severe illness not an eradication. If a population is reckless and a huge number of people who have no vitamin D deficiency get the infection at once even if the percentage (%) of those who get severe cases is relatively small when thrown against large infected population the outcome is substantial. There also other factors such as people who spend time indoors (office people) who live in areas where vitamin D synthesis would be easy but don't present themselves to it. That's my reasoning! People in Brazil have a bad mindset about the disease - led from the front by the president and possibly millions of them have been infected and the sizable number of deaths are results of the factors above.

Did you know that the government confirmed that all Kenyans who died in Europe and America's had other health issues.
Based on that alone I can say that most Africans adversely affected by the desease it's not because of your vitamin D theory, but because those blacks suffer from other things that suppress their immunity.

Some Kenyans happen to be 'Black People'. Some Africans happen to be Black People. Not All Black People are Africans. Some are Americans, UK, Melanesia. The observation was made on people who have Melanin (Black Skins) not the passports they carry. It also stated that south asians (Wahindi wa south india and Sri Lanka) who have Melanin kama sisi were also more likely to die compared to the white people.

https://www.google.com/a...wake-darkened-skin.html

I am beginning to highly doubt @mpobiz reading abilities. the article he shared clearly states that
Their abnormal skin colour is caused by hormonal imbalances after their livers were damaged by the virus

Many things - including ink or paint applied on the skin makes it different from its original color. On a lighter note Khaligraph said his became lighter from drinking dasani...

#1783 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2020 4:27:28 PM

mpobiz wrote:

He is doing fine.

I am beginning to highly doubt @mpobiz reading abilities. the article he shared clearly states that
Their abnormal skin colour is caused by hormonal imbalances after their livers were damaged by the virus

Many things - including ink or paint applied on the skin makes it different from its original color. On a lighter note Khaligraph said his became lighter from drinking dasani...

Though it's a fact that even in Australia black people exist as original inhabitants .

I know I speak for most of us when I say that when you mention a black man we understand you mean a black man of African origin.
You have been blowing your trumpet here by claiming the black man is dying. Now you tell us you have also been including wahindi and people from Papua New guinea refering to their black skin. Why didn't you mention it earlier. It could have been easier for everyone here to understand you. Wewe ni bure kabisa
#1784 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2020 7:00:22 PM

mpobiz wrote:

He is doing fine.

Though it's a fact that even in Australia black people exist as original inhabitants .

I know I speak for most of us when I say that when you mention a black man we understand you mean a black man of African origin.
You have been blowing your trumpet here by claiming the black man is dying. Now you tell us you have also been including wahindi and people from Papua New guinea refering to their black skin. Why didn't you mention it earlier. It could have been easier for everyone here to understand you. Wewe ni bure kabisa

The observation was made on people darker than wazungus. Black people, south Asians.
#1785 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2020 9:14:01 PM

Tanzania plays hardball
#1786 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2020 9:45:01 PM

mpobiz wrote:

He is doing fine.

The observation was made on people darker than wazungus. Black people, south Asians.

I have been against importation of useless ideas from elsewhere and trying to adopt them here. Now look at you. A black man who is so loud here telling us just because a mzungu called a muhindi black you are quick to back him with with a lot of zeal.
Why dear brother?
A few moments ago I was praising you on your new found freedom but it seems your mind is trapped.

I beg of you to look data that involves true black african people like you. Those people could be residing in any continent.
Then apologise for inflaming this forum that has resulted to the likes of alma to fear entering wazua even as a guest because of your mythical stories.
#1787 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2020 2:14:20 AM

So apparently Trump has been taking Hydroxychloroquin for the last week and a half(probably after valet was diagnosed with COVID) as a preventative measure. Advised by his doc. Clearly siasa will not let this drug get a fair verdict.

#1788 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2020 9:56:00 AM

mpobiz wrote:

He is doing fine.

I have been against importation of useless ideas from elsewhere and trying to adopt them here. Now look at you. A black man who is so loud here telling us just because a mzungu called a muhindi black you are quick to back him with with a lot of zeal.
Why dear brother?
A few moments ago I was praising you on your new found freedom but it seems your mind is trapped.

I beg of you to look data that involves true black african people like you. Those people could be residing in any continent.
Then apologise for inflaming this forum that has resulted to the likes of alma to fear entering wazua even as a guest because of your mythical stories.

Why are we going back and forth and I pointed out Brazil as the country with the SECOND LARGEST NUMBER OF BLACK PEOPLE AFTER NIGERIA (like you and me)
#1789 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2020 10:22:13 AM

So apparently Trump has been taking Hydroxychloroquin for the last week and a half(probably after valet was diagnosed with COVID) as a preventative measure. Advised by his doc. Clearly siasa will not let this drug get a fair verdict.

Remember we discussed it a few weeks back

So what I have learned so far
1) coronaviruses are a family of viruses that cause illness ranging from the common cold to more severe diseases like MERS, SARS and COVID-19.
2) there are coronaviruses that have not 'jumped' species and are mainly still in bats. bats being bats are everywhere! they are the animals with the second largest number of species and live everywhere...including kenya where a
study shows talks about the existence of Novel SARS-like and Other Coronaviruses in Bats living in Kenya.
4) While it takes a bit of bad luck to get an outbreak started - the next coronavirus outbreak can be from anywhere - Kenya's bats have 41 distinct coronaviruses so it's important to have this problem looked at in the long term.
5) a 1991 study in the journal of virology outlined how Chloroquine (amongst others) slowed down the growth of coronaviruses by raising the PH of the cells. apparently coronaviruses need acidic environments to bind to cell receptors.
6) ibuprofen has been in the news lately as one of the drugs to avoid if you are exhibiting C-19 symptoms. why? it helps them multiply. it also has a low PH.

Conclusion - anything that raises the PH of the body may be effective in stopping the reproduction of coronaviruses in human cells. this is not to mean that eating alkaline foods will translate to raising the PH of your tissues (as digestion may just neutralize it). Perhaps pharmacists and biochemists can tell us what other drugs lower the PH of blood and cell tissues.

3 things seem to be a problem
1) Trump said it - it must be wrong. Trump is not always right but is not always wrong. He was the worst person to be president during this time as he is polarizing and so when he says something potentially good - the other side fights it. He says something bad - his side buys it hook line and sinker. He is BAD for the US.
2) When they give it - do they give it early or late? from what I can tell it prevents (or at least reduces) the extent to which the viruses bind to the receptors enroute to multiplying. if the person is already symptomatic -in otherwords a substantial number of infections have occured and one is seeing the effect... it may not help. (I think)
3) Side effects- when I looked at the quantities being given by the South Koreans and other people... it was a lot. If you have preexisting conditions - it may complicate your situation. the heart arrhythmia thing is a legitimate concern.
#1790 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2020 1:58:01 PM

mpobiz wrote:

He is doing fine.

Some Kenyans happen to be 'Black People'. Some Africans happen to be Black People. Not All People are Africans. Some are Americans, UK, Melanesia. The observation was made on people who have Melanin (Black Skins) not the passports they carry. It also stated that south asians (Wahindi wa south india and Sri Lanka) who have Melanin kama sisi were also more likely to die compared to the white people.

Why dear brother?

Why are we going back and forth and I pointed out Brazil as the country with the SECOND LARGEST NUMBER OF BLACK PEOPLE AFTER NIGERIA (like you and me)

Then be precise because your numbers in Brazil will include the original Indian communities in the Amazon.(check what you wrote in blue font) Furthermore since the Latin people are Generally darker than wazungu then you are including the whole Brazilian population as being black.
You are just confused.
#1791 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2020 3:18:13 PM

I am still using Cameroon as a test case.
They relaxed restrictions, taxis are packed to capacity, pubs and discos are open.
Churches can admit up to 50 people.
Masks are put on the chin mainly to avoid police persecution.
Total reported cases 3,529. Actual number expected to be over 5000
Most importantly, hospitals not crowded. Bodies not dropping.
There is something about Africa. Maybe this thing is not new to us after all.
#1792 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2020 3:44:26 PM

They relaxed restrictions, taxis are packed to capacity, pubs and discos are open.

I think Malaria may have helped us. When most people feel anything malariaish, they self medicate fast. That may be what is helping
#1793 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2020 7:39:10 PM

I think Malaria may have helped us. When most people feel anything malariaish, they self medicate fast. That may be what is helping

Cameroon and Tanzania will emerge as the true independent thinkers in Africa. It took them one month to understand the infection in their local environment. The adoption of the stay at home order was not suited for Africans. Herd immunity was the only way out.
Malaria is a parasite covid is a virus. Thare is no relationship uless you have decided to adopt trumps theories. I have never criticized any form of medication to combat this infection because the world is still learning. We should try everything untill we get it right. What I know is that Chloroquine is best in relieving fever. That's why early usage gave an impression that it was fighting covid.
now we know it's not taken as a cure . The ultimate cure comes from within the human body which is called antibodies.
Dahatre
#1794 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2020 8:36:29 PM

mpobiz wrote:

Heh!!!
Guys, for lazy wazuans like myself, what is the TL;DR version of these threads?
Dahatre
#1795 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2020 8:56:50 PM

Maghufuli amesema anafungua mashule hii wiki! His son got Covid... drunk Lemons and is now OK and doing press-ups. He says Covid will come and go! He is waiting for you guys to come from lockdown muaanze kupewa misaada na Tanzania.
he has planes full of tourists coming in until August. No quarantine for them - Just temperature checks... that's it. Waende waka Coronize huko kwa wanyama.

Maghufuli is a punk!
He is self isolating at his home (has not been seen in Dar or Dodoma recently) while running his mouth.

Luckily, many Tzedians do know that they need to take care of hygiene and keep physical distance..
#1796 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2020 9:30:10 PM

https://youtu.be/a0NCSMIQwAM

Ajab!!
whiteowl
#1797 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2020 9:58:37 PM

Ngalaka wrote:
Maghufuli amesema anafungua mashule hii wiki! His son got Covid... drunk Lemons and is now OK and doing press-ups. He says Covid will come and go! He is waiting for you guys to come from lockdown muaanze kupewa misaada na Tanzania.
he has planes full of tourists coming in until August. No quarantine for them - Just temperature checks... that's it. Waende waka Coronize huko kwa wanyama.

I mean...
I can only laugh.
The guy is turning himself into a Cartoon!

The supporters of his method are about to log in. Newly energized by JPM's speech

this is one of those things one hopes the mainline narrative is wrong (I look around but cannot see how but wish we are wrong). Coz Maghufuli being right makes us the largest bunch of cowards that walk the earth... if the mainline is right... Tanzanians will undergo lots and lots of troubles and they will run here. It happened in Iran/Afghanistan.

If we are right - Tanzanians will flee here and it will not be nice for us. I hope akina @whiteowl, @Mpobiz, @kaka2za and @sqft are right... I don't see how they are right but I hope they are!

The number of bodies dropping is the gold standard for judging seriousness of any pandemic.There is no way of hiding that during this internet age. I take seriously something killing 1000 per day than something else killing 5 people a day.Its not that I want more people to die from COVID-19 but i can't give it more seriousness than it death count deserves. The currents floods are 10 times more lethal. This is like the movie contagion and the only thing that's spreading across the African continent right now is fear. I believe in #FactsNotFear and time will vindicate me,all the wazuans you've tagged above and Maghufuli.
#1798 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2020 8:34:08 AM

aemathenge wrote:
Intelligentsia wrote:
MoH is definitely under-testing, someone tell me why pris?

Bureaucratic Red Tape.
Lethargic Civil Service.
Distracted Political Machinery.
Fiscal Indiscipline and Insufficiency.
Health Personnel Inadequacy.
Distrust Of Anything Government On The Ground.
Lack of appropriate equipment, and where available, lack of operation, repairs, and maintenance technician level personnel.
(All Cadre of Public Health Personnel Have Given A Strike Notice.)
A Distracted Political Leadership.
I could on all day but this is really depressing.

Pressure on Kagwe to appoint labs board

By ROSELYNE OBALA | May 20th 2020 at 12:00:00 GMT +0300

HEALTH & SCIENCE
Board accused of approving companies to import test kits, including those for Covid- 19 tests, without due process

Pressure is piling on Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe to appoint new board members for the Kenya Medical Laboratory Technologists and Technicians (KMLTT) to replace those whose term expired two years ago.

The KMLTT board has a crucial task of licensing laboratories to test Kenyans for the Covid-19 disease.

More than 500 members of KMLTT have signed an online petition to compel Mr Kagwe to reconstitute the board.

In the petition they expressed concern that the delayed appointment of the board had allowed former officials to continue discharging duties yet they were in office illegally.

The petitioners now want the old board sent packing because their continued stay and exercise of functions "is illegal, improper and unlawful".

The petition also wants the CS to reconstitute the board for proper operations.

Critics have questioned the running of the board affairs.

The board has been accused of approving companies to import test kits, including those for Covid- 19 tests, without due process.

Source: The Sub Standard. Link:https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/health/article/2001371931/pressure-on-kagwe-to-appoint-labs-board
#1799 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2020 9:49:48 AM

whiteowl wrote:
Ngalaka wrote:

I mean...
I can only laugh.
The guy is turning himself into a Cartoon!

The supporters of his method are about to log in. Newly energized by JPM's speech

this is one of those things one hopes the mainline narrative is wrong (I look around but cannot see how but wish we are wrong). Coz Maghufuli being right makes us the largest bunch of cowards that walk the earth... if the mainline is right... Tanzanians will undergo lots and lots of troubles and they will run here. It happened in Iran/Afghanistan.

If we are right - Tanzanians will flee here and it will not be nice for us. I hope akina @whiteowl, @Mpobiz, @kaka2za and @sqft are right... I don't see how they are right but I hope they are!

The number of bodies dropping is the gold standard for judging seriousness of any pandemic.There is no way of hiding that during this internet age. I take seriously something killing 1000 per day than something else killing 5 people a day.Its not that I want more people to die from COVID-19 but i can't give it more seriousness than it death count deserves. The currents floods are 10 times more lethal. This is like the movie contagion and the only thing that's spreading across the African continent right now is fear. I believe in #FactsNotFear and time will vindicate me,all the wazuans you've tagged above and Maghufuli.

a 'PANDEMIC' is AN EPIDEMIC THAT IS EVERYWHERE. it has nothing to do with the perceived 'potency' of the disease. Sijui the "bodies dropping" notion ilitoka wapi. A good use of this word is that HIV has been classified as a PANDEMIC. Ebola was not a PANDEMIC but an EPIDEMIC since it never went everywhere. PAN is from the greek word that means 'everyone, everywhere' same as the 'PAN' before PANAFRICAN.

About something killing 1,000 per day - yesterday this thing started the 1,130+ deaths a day in Brazil. What people don't understand is that it looks like a small disease... PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL COUNTRIES THAT HAVE HIT 1,000+ REPORTED dead a day have that thing in common... they despise it at the beginning and called it a 'flu'.
it looks like its a few hundreds, the infects more and the numbers of deceased don't seem to be going up AND THEN BOOM!! Brazil is now in the eye of the storm ... Will Tanzania get there? Let's see... I don't see how they will escape it unless they have some factor we don't know.
#1800 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2020 10:01:18 AM

We know that the mentality of citizens is key in fighting this thing. do the citizens take it seriously? do individuals not only the government take the disease seriously? remember such things as shaking hands or hugging spread it and have nothing to do with government. The government can try and control the spread to other areas but not within an area. The dynamics of human interactions are quite high. Swedes have restaurants open but the traffic is low. The population is taking the disease seriously. I just checked the stats on tests in Cameroon and I cannot see any information on that. I don't know what that means.

On testing - Africa is doing badly on testing! Kenya with it's poor testing is 10th ahead of Tunisia and Nigeria. Senegal with its $1 test have done less than 25k. With this poor testing regime tuko 93,000 as a continent.