wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

141 Pages«<7273747576>»
Coronavirus
#1461 Posted : Friday, May 01, 2020 8:46:50 PM

In other news - here is a vaccine efforts mapper.

http://vaccinemapper.com/

As usual Africans kazi yao ni kupayuka hawataki kuwa Guinea Pigs but adding 0 value to the world during this period.
#1462 Posted : Friday, May 01, 2020 9:15:15 PM

As usual Africans kazi yao ni kupayuka hawataki kuwa Guinea Pigs but adding 0 value to the world during this period.

I wander how the effectiveness of the vaccine will be measured in a population that's not showing any symptoms. We will be guinea pigs to measure the side effects. Testing should start first in their own hot spots.
#1463 Posted : Friday, May 01, 2020 9:18:15 PM

mpobiz wrote:

I wander how the effectiveness of the vaccine will be measured in a population that's not showing any symptoms. We will be guinea pigs to measure the side effects. Testing should start first in their own hot spots.

already 6 have started IN THEIR POPULATIONS.
#1464 Posted : Friday, May 01, 2020 9:18:45 PM

Surely, people should just be advised to go to Mbagathi

#1465 Posted : Friday, May 01, 2020 9:52:44 PM

The said area is under Dagoretti north which has now 30 cases combined

Kawangware-13
Kilimani-6
Kileleshwa-5
Hurlingham-3
Lavington-3.

Kuna connection mahali could it be residents of kawangware waliingia/wanaingia the posh areas alafu wanarudi kwao or what are the chances of being the other way round
#1466 Posted : Friday, May 01, 2020 10:56:25 PM

A few days ago, this drug was rendered useless. Wacha tuone

#1467 Posted : Friday, May 01, 2020 11:03:08 PM

Dahatre wrote:

Anyone know the details of support being provided in Kawangware and Eastleigh?

I understand some people are refusing to be tested saying they need food first. If true, I would not blame them.

Consider this: You are a bread winner for your family. You get tested and are positive. You get hauled off to a filthy quarantine facility. You are charged 28,000 for 14 days (or more if you break some nefarious rule). Meanwhile your people have no food and you have not been working for the last month….WWJD? refuse the test of course…

If you are a parent with children and you refuse to get tested when the gov't comes to you with free kits, then you are stupid.

Let's not give stupid people an excuse for not doing the right thing.

I believe poor people love their children just as much as the midro crass.

Consider this. You refuse to go to karantain. You give it to your children and wife and parents. You die or they die.

I think 28k is cheaper than death. But what do I know.

We may have another virus called El Stupido going around Kenya.

Remember the Spread of the virus is governed by 2 things
1) How dense a population is
2) How dense a population is

In public health and in serving resource poor folks, you learn that their decisions sometimes are more rational than you can ever guess. Especially if you have not been in their shoes.

If the "poor" people don't want to be tested, watuletee hapa kwetu. We are all ready willing and able to be tested.

Hii mambo ya kuhurumia wajinga iliisha na Covid 19. Kila mtu abebe mzigo wake.

Kawangware is just next to Karen, Lavington, Kilimani, and wherever else you live. It would just take you few minutes to drive there and get tested.

Where I live is not the issue and is also none of your business.

What is annoying is Kenyans always complaining at all times for no particular reason.

For weeks they have been complaining about no mass testing. When it comes, they start complaining about food.

Jana they were complaining about flowers to Britain and sijui tea prices at MOH.

What's next?

If the people of Kawangware do not wish to be tested, let them be. I am very sure. 100% sure that the people in Mombasa will accept to be tested.

I don't see why the gov't should waste time and resources on fools. The rest of the country doesn't have time for fools to become wise.

The worst that can happen is the people of Kawangware and their supporters can quarantine themselves in that small estate.

The have the highest rates in Nairobi and they are still complaining. The people in Eastleigh agreed to shut their shops. They are also being mass tested as we speak.

Kweli huko Kawangware iko nini hii dunia haijawahi ona?

Stop supporting mediocre thinking for the mundane reason of caring for them.

I am supporting Kawangware fools on this.
Other Governments including those in developed world are offering support package to most vulnerable.
The poor in Kawangware deserve that too.

Like Who?

United Kingdom.
#1468 Posted : Friday, May 01, 2020 11:23:05 PM

Dahatre wrote:

I understand some people are refusing to be tested saying they need food first. If true, I would not blame them.

Consider this: You are a bread winner for your family. You get tested and are positive. You get hauled off to a filthy quarantine facility. You are charged 28,000 for 14 days (or more if you break some nefarious rule). Meanwhile your people have no food and you have not been working for the last month….WWJD? refuse the test of course…

If you are a parent with children and you refuse to get tested when the gov't comes to you with free kits, then you are stupid.

Consider this. You refuse to go to karantain. You give it to your children and wife and parents. You die or they die.

In public health and in serving resource poor folks, you learn that their decisions sometimes are more rational than you can ever guess. Especially if you have not been in their shoes.

If the "poor" people don't want to be tested, watuletee hapa kwetu. We are all ready willing and able to be tested.

Kawangware is just next to Karen, Lavington, Kilimani, and wherever else you live. It would just take you few minutes to drive there and get tested.

What is annoying is Kenyans always complaining at all times for no particular reason.

For weeks they have been complaining about no mass testing. When it comes, they start complaining about food.

Jana they were complaining about flowers to Britain and sijui tea prices at MOH.

What's next?

If the people of Kawangware do not wish to be tested, let them be. I am very sure. 100% sure that the people in Mombasa will accept to be tested.

I don't see why the gov't should waste time and resources on fools. The rest of the country doesn't have time for fools to become wise.

The worst that can happen is the people of Kawangware and their supporters can quarantine themselves in that small estate.

The have the highest rates in Nairobi and they are still complaining. The people in Eastleigh agreed to shut their shops. They are also being mass tested as we speak.

Other Governments including those in developed world are offering support package to most vulnerable.

Like Who?

United Kingdom.

Which is?
#1469 Posted : Saturday, May 02, 2020 12:36:26 AM

Dahatre wrote:

What's next?

Like Who?

United Kingdom.

Which is?

Food aid. It is all over in UK papers. Just google.
#1470 Posted : Saturday, May 02, 2020 1:33:35 AM

Dahatre wrote:

What's next?

Like Who?

United Kingdom.

Which is?

Isn't that not happening in Kenya? Plus some money too?
#1471 Posted : Saturday, May 02, 2020 10:34:51 AM

Dahatre wrote:

What's next?

Like Who?

United Kingdom.

Which is?

People should just step away from the computer -open the doors of their houses and gates. They should then take a look at the world out there. They should tell me if what they see looks like Canada or UK or USA or Singapore.
#1472 Posted : Saturday, May 02, 2020 10:48:43 AM

Surely, people should just be advised to go to Mbagathi

This is where the government is mistaken. Instead of making the sick to follow them. The government is just groping in the dark by holding this useless mass testing thing.
We have countless medical facilities with very qualified personnel.
Why not arm the medical personal in this health centers with the right equipment and make it compulsory to be tested when you seek treatment for any ailment that someone reports there?
Will they close all medical facilities around town ? This is because this closures will continue to happen so long as someone walks in and sneezes loudly. This will spell a disaster to other people suffering from other ailments.
sqft
#1473 Posted : Saturday, May 02, 2020 11:59:48 AM

Armed protesters storm michigan governors office demanding the governor end the lock down.

Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
Dahatre
#1474 Posted : Saturday, May 02, 2020 1:17:27 PM

Malecture achia Kagwe bana.
Us Africans have been contributing to the health our world for ever. Any advances in vaccines for malaria, ebola, HIV and other tropical diseases if and when they come will be courtesy of Africans putting their bodies and those of their children on the line. Heck, even remedsivir (though not a vaccine) was trialed initially on Ebola patients.

What we must remain vigilant about is abuse of rules governing human experimentation. Just last year, a GSK malaria vaccine was tested in African infants and children aged 6 days-17 months. The vaccine had been shown to have a higher than normal risk for meningitis, seizures and cerebral malaria in phase 3 trials. However, the African parents were never told this and parents did not give consent. WHO said that consent for other vaccines gave implied consent for the experimental malaria vaccine. Guess what? That rarely happens in the west.

Those of us who believe in vaccines will oppose any practices that refuse to respect the Nuremberg code especially when tests come from nations with a long history of practicing Medical Apartheid.
Ngalaka
#1475 Posted : Saturday, May 02, 2020 2:13:03 PM

Dahatre wrote:

Us Africans have been contributing to the health our world for ever. Any advances in vaccines for malaria, ebola, HIV and other tropical diseases if and when they come will be courtesy of Africans putting their bodies and those of their children on the line. Heck, even remedsivir (though not a vaccine) was trialed initially on Ebola patients.

What we must remain vigilant about is abuse of rules governing human experimentation. Just last year, a GSK malaria vaccine was tested in African infants and children aged 6 days-17 months. The vaccine had been shown to have a higher than normal risk for meningitis, seizures and cerebral malaria in phase 3 trials. However, the African parents were never told this and parents did not give consent. WHO said that consent for other vaccines gave implied consent for the experimental malaria vaccine. Guess what? That rarely happens in the west.

Those of us who believe in vaccines will oppose any practices that refuse to respect the Nuremberg code especially when tests come from nations with a long history of practicing Medical Apartheid.

Saa zingine tuwachaneni na hii ahsante ya Punda attitude;

It’s not like researchers just jet in and begin the trials haphazardly; no, there is involvement of Government and its healthcare experts.
Any failures are to be shared amongst all players including the WHO,- currently headed by an African.

In any case, any human project can result in failures, from which further research is carried out and improvements made.

Malaria mainly afflicts people in the tropics, so any vaccines is to principally help those who live there,- read Africans.

Currently Malaria kills far too many people/children - ergo calling for remedial measures including development of vaccine.
Nothing prevents our scientists right here in Africa from developing a vaccine, but truth is; if we were to rely solely on our researchers,- people and especially Children are sadly likely to continue dying into the foreseeable future.

Victim mentality and or entitlement approach to life is not a good philosophy.

Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#1476 Posted : Saturday, May 02, 2020 3:00:00 PM

sqft wrote:
Armed protesters storm michigan governors office demanding the governor end the lock down.

How does this work? Protesters with guns? Here in Kenya or in Africa are they not called rebels or terrorists?
Do they alert the police or are the police part of the protest.
I have seen such protests in the U.S before(on tv) and always wanted to ask that question.
#1477 Posted : Saturday, May 02, 2020 3:54:50 PM

10 new cases from Eastleigh out of mass testing 7 Kawangware. Joho is about to announce a lockdown, msa has 5 new cases, Kuria west 2 must be imports from Tz
#1478 Posted : Saturday, May 02, 2020 3:56:02 PM

Ngalaka wrote:
Dahatre wrote:

Saa zingine tuwachaneni na hii ahsante ya Punda attitude;

It’s not like researchers just jet in and begin the trials haphazardly; no, there is involvement of Government and its healthcare experts.
Any failures are to be shared amongst all players including the WHO,- currently headed by an African.

In any case, any human project can result in failures, from which further research is carried out and improvements made.

Malaria mainly afflicts people in the tropics, so any vaccines is to principally help those who live there,- read Africans.

Currently Malaria kills far too many people/children - ergo calling for remedial measures including development of vaccine.
Nothing prevents our scientists right here in Africa from developing a vaccine, but truth is; if we were to rely solely on our researchers,- people and especially Children are sadly likely to continue dying into the foreseeable future.

Victim mentality and or entitlement approach to life is not a good philosophy.

I agree - What we need is to be told about the risks of the such a test. On the Malaria cases - who else would malaria vaccines be tested on? if 92% of the deaths occur in Africa and thus the greatest benefit is for Africans.
#1479 Posted : Saturday, May 02, 2020 4:58:15 PM

10 new cases from Eastleigh out of mass testing 7 Kawangware. Joho is about to announce a lockdown, msa has 5 new cases, Kuria west 2 must be imports from Tz

That was only day 1 of mass testing. By Tuesday we shall know the true picture.

Meanwhile, I hear Nairobi now has traffic jams as some of you go back to work. As you do so, stay safe. Don't forget that it's only 40 bob from Kawangware to CBD and 30 bob from Eastleigh. Heck I hear some of you go shopping in Eastleigh.

Covid sasa iko kwa ground. Sio those weird conspiracy theories of it started in October. This is now real.

Stay safe while you still can.

#1480 Posted : Saturday, May 02, 2020 5:16:17 PM

Dahatre wrote:

What's next?

Like Who?

United Kingdom.

Which is?

People should just step away from the computer -open the doors of their houses and gates. They should then take a look at the world out there. They should tell me if what they see looks like Canada or UK or USA or Singapore.

I opened my door and what I saw looked like UG which is doing quite well with food distribution and Covid surveys.
We are feeding the needy in our area yet I hear the government has allocated billions to feed the poor.

Meanwhile, Cameroon which has among the highest numbers in sub-saharan Africa has eased almost all restrictions!