wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

141 Pages«<6869707172>»
Coronavirus
#1381 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2020 8:35:16 PM

I think we a need a regional approach and possibly have a lockdown in the entire region.
As it is now, reopening the borders will bring another wave of infections.

Tumeambiwo do your part,social distancing, the rest will fall in place. Gava is failing in this terribly.

The other thing kwani we are all asymptomatic (whatever that is), how come people are not falling sick in droves in Africa, we are well past 60 days with this virus around.

#1382 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2020 9:30:33 PM

BigChick wrote:

No @Masukuma,Kenyans and Africans are not a different species.

However facts on the ground show a trend that is worth some extra study.

Ok,let's reduce our days to March 13th when the Patient Zero was reported.We are on day 45,with 50% required discipline in keeping it at bay.We are still reporting small numbers of infections.I agree the tests are few so fewer numbers.But then again one does not need to be tested to know they are sick(and here I mean with symptoms).We are not having an influx of people with symptoms in hospitals or at home.Neither are we having mass deaths.(God forbid,we are not asking for them)

Yes the infected could be very many out there and we shall only know when they are tested but again I say if one is infected and has no symptoms or has mild symptoms and is able to fight it of over time,what is our worry??

Cases are increasing because more people are getting tested.If we don't test we shall not record new cases but that does not mean no people have been infected.

Yes COVID is highly infectious so let's keep it at bay by following guidelines but if by bad fortune you get it,it will be mild and you will heal.

Covid 19 Tracker Worldometer,of the active cases 97% are mild 3% are serious/critical

Assume that we have 2 overlapping Groups:

Group 1 - the group that has a KNOWN case within. People who 1 person reported themselves and subsequent contacts were traced from them. this group with at least 1 KNOWN person is yielding numbers that range between 0.6% to 2.75% of the samples tested. This is the one Kagwe and co. have been talking to us since 13th March. the total number of people tested in this SUSPECTED GROUP to date is less than 20k.

Group 2: the UNKNOWN group:
You are stating that there is a MUCH MUCH LARGER group that has been here for the last 100+ days. Infections happening, Healing, Dying (and sickness being attributed to something else) - but since the disease does not require the host to acknowledge so that it adjusts its spread behavior to what we expect (3+ people getting infected by each previous infection based on what we know from the disease) it has been spreading without social distancing for 100+ days. Considering virus shedding after infection can last upto 37 days (but the median is around 20 days) - where people can still pass on the virus to others and also test positively HOWEVER somehow these people in this much larger and EXPONENTIALLY growing group have seldomly overlapped with Group 1 in order to spike the number of positive cases? That whatever group we test - we end up with less than 2% of them being infections? Also, for unexplained circumstances - the sick from this have not flooded out hospitals?

Riwry? how plausible is that?

p.s. I am not disputing that there is a UNKNOW group - the question is
1) HOW LONG HAS IT BEEN AROUND?
2) HOW BIG IS IT?
3) HOW DOES IT INTERSECT WITH GROUP 1?

at what point does the invisible start looking like the non-existent?

Finally, we can agree that either the unknown group does not exist or they are not exhibiting any symptoms.
This means either we are winning the war against the invisible enemy or we have reached a ceasefire with the enemy.

We agree about the UNKNOWN - the 8 that were announced to day were part of the UNKNOWN until today. the figure announced tomorrow is part of the UNKNOWN of today. That's clear.
Where we disagree is on the answers to the following cases
1) HOW LONG HAVE THE UNKNOWNS BEEN AROUND?
I see people saying 100+ days. I disagree because of the behavoir of the disease I illustrated (R0=3) in an environment without social distancing. We would have had massive infections by now and these infections would have strayed into the GROUP 2 testing we are doing. We are only getting 1.97% positive cases in that group.
2) HOW BIG IS THIS UNKNOWN GROUP?
This is related to the 'HOW LONG THE UNKNOWNS HAVE BEEN AROUND'. if the UNKNOWNS are a recent introduction when there were social distancing guidelines in place - it's smaller in number. If it was there since Jan - then its much larger - MILLIONS OF PEOPLE. What makes me believe it's a much smaller number than the figures being thrown around is hospitalizations. lets assume it has infected over the last 12 months - 1,000,000 people. it had a 80% mild condition rate and the 20% then had severe manifestation before people started protecting their old. Why didn't we see a spike of old people in hospitals? or people with immunocompromised systems? or diabetes? Remember the Pilot who died? he was 66 and still working. Most of the people who this disease has killed in Kenya have been over 60 years old. in the larger group - wh didn't we see (and still not seeing those people in hospitals)

your explanation is - somehow Africans are not exhibiting any symptoms and are going about living their normal lives... this is of course UNTIL they get caught by the contract tracing routine and added to GROUP 2 then we find they get symptomatic like everyone else.

The only way we would be winning this war would be if we are biologically different (Those Blacks in the US dying prove we are not). My conclusion is that the war is just beginning. We have put measures in place that are actually limiting the spread but we should not legeza Kamba because we thing 'its not affecting us as projected'.

People are really dismissing social distancing and wearing masks - because they are really simple activities. We want to flamboyant actions like spraying the streets with obscure smoky substances. Sorry - this battle is won through simple changes in behavior at an individual level as is happening in Japan or Taiwan.
#1383 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2020 10:29:38 PM

BigChick wrote:

No @Masukuma,Kenyans and Africans are not a different species.

However facts on the ground show a trend that is worth some extra study.

Ok,let's reduce our days to March 13th when the Patient Zero was reported.We are on day 45,with 50% required discipline in keeping it at bay.We are still reporting small numbers of infections.I agree the tests are few so fewer numbers.But then again one does not need to be tested to know they are sick(and here I mean with symptoms).We are not having an influx of people with symptoms in hospitals or at home.Neither are we having mass deaths.(God forbid,we are not asking for them)

Yes the infected could be very many out there and we shall only know when they are tested but again I say if one is infected and has no symptoms or has mild symptoms and is able to fight it of over time,what is our worry??

Cases are increasing because more people are getting tested.If we don't test we shall not record new cases but that does not mean no people have been infected.

Yes COVID is highly infectious so let's keep it at bay by following guidelines but if by bad fortune you get it,it will be mild and you will heal.

Covid 19 Tracker Worldometer,of the active cases 97% are mild 3% are serious/critical

Assume that we have 2 overlapping Groups:

Group 1 - the group that has a KNOWN case within. People who 1 person reported themselves and subsequent contacts were traced from them. this group with at least 1 KNOWN person is yielding numbers that range between 0.6% to 2.75% of the samples tested. This is the one Kagwe and co. have been talking to us since 13th March. the total number of people tested in this SUSPECTED GROUP to date is less than 20k.

Group 2: the UNKNOWN group:
You are stating that there is a MUCH MUCH LARGER group that has been here for the last 100+ days. Infections happening, Healing, Dying (and sickness being attributed to something else) - but since the disease does not require the host to acknowledge so that it adjusts its spread behavior to what we expect (3+ people getting infected by each previous infection based on what we know from the disease) it has been spreading without social distancing for 100+ days. Considering virus shedding after infection can last upto 37 days (but the median is around 20 days) - where people can still pass on the virus to others and also test positively HOWEVER somehow these people in this much larger and EXPONENTIALLY growing group have seldomly overlapped with Group 1 in order to spike the number of positive cases? That whatever group we test - we end up with less than 2% of them being infections? Also, for unexplained circumstances - the sick from this have not flooded out hospitals?

Riwry? how plausible is that?

p.s. I am not disputing that there is a UNKNOW group - the question is
1) HOW LONG HAS IT BEEN AROUND?
2) HOW BIG IS IT?
3) HOW DOES IT INTERSECT WITH GROUP 1?

at what point does the invisible start looking like the non-existent?

Finally, we can agree that either the unknown group does not exist or they are not exhibiting any symptoms.
This means either we are winning the war against the invisible enemy or we have reached a ceasefire with the enemy.

We agree about the UNKNOWN - the 8 that were announced to day were part of the UNKNOWN until today. the figure announced tomorrow is part of the UNKNOWN of today. That's clear.
Where we disagree is on the answers to the following cases
1) HOW LONG HAVE THE UNKNOWNS BEEN AROUND?
I see people saying 100+ days. I disagree because of the behavoir of the disease I illustrated (R0=3) in an environment without social distancing. We would have had massive infections by now and these infections would have strayed into the GROUP 2 testing we are doing. We are only getting 1.97% positive cases in that group.
2) HOW BIG IS THIS UNKNOWN GROUP?
This is related to the 'HOW LONG THE UNKNOWNS HAVE BEEN AROUND'. if the UNKNOWNS are a recent introduction when there were social distancing guidelines in place - it's smaller in number. If it was there since Jan - then its much larger - MILLIONS OF PEOPLE. What makes me believe it's a much smaller number than the figures being thrown around is hospitalizations. lets assume it has infected over the last 12 months - 1,000,000 people. it had a 80% mild condition rate and the 20% then had severe manifestation before people started protecting their old. Why didn't we see a spike of old people in hospitals? or people with immunocompromised systems? or diabetes? Remember the Pilot who died? he was 66 and still working. Most of the people who this disease has killed in Kenya have been over 60 years old. in the larger group - wh didn't we see (and still not seeing those people in hospitals)

your explanation is - somehow Africans are not exhibiting any symptoms and are going about living their normal lives... this is of course UNTIL they get caught by the contract tracing routine and added to GROUP 2 then we find they get symptomatic like everyone else.

The only way we would be winning this war would be if we are biologically different (Those Blacks in the US dying prove we are not). My conclusion is that the war is just beginning. We have put measures in place that are actually limiting the spread but we should not legeza Kamba because we thing 'its not affecting us as projected'.

People are really dismissing social distancing and wearing masks - because they are really simple activities. We want to flamboyant actions like spraying the streets with obscure smoky substances. Sorry - this battle is won through simple changes in behavior at an individual level as is happening in Japan or Taiwan.

We are covered by the blood..............
#1384 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2020 10:49:57 PM

@Angelina. Why do you think America (NASA)spends billions conducting experiments in space? Some of those experiments are in the field of medicine where they study the behaviour of organisms like bacteria.
Simple explanation is that some of this microorganisms behave diffrentntly in diffrent environments. Some are even sensitive to the earths magnetism. Anyway I have hypothesized on this matter in so many ways. But still we can't rule out being covered by the blood.
#1385 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2020 11:51:09 PM

Nyako, Martin Luther himselfu wrote this during the BLACK DEATH

Kama the person who launched the Protestant Reformation social distanced himself and fumigated - ni wewe Nyako? if he acted responsibly in order not to cause other people's deaths - ita kuwa wewe?

Claim the blood then practice social distancing, Wear Face, Sanitize Surfaces, Stay at home - this thing will pass.

#1386 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2020 7:25:36 AM

According to the Free newspaper,"People Daily" our hospitals are empty.We are not only free of Corona but also other non communicable diseases have gone.Some one post that Daily Paper here.Am still unable to attach photos🙈)

This confirms what I believe is the situation......that our infections are not that severe.A person with Severe COVID will not wait for MOH team to tell them they are sick,they will have gone to hospital to seek treatment on their own.Some people are claiming that guys are self medicating but pharmacies too are reporting low sales.Fresh farm produce has become the new medicine.Lemon, Ginger and pineapple has become the new bae.

New lessons in the medical world,we dont need to go to hospital for any small ailment,we should give our bodies time to fight.With little drinking and night curfew,accidents have also reduced so the emergency and accidents Units are free.Me thinks we should pick the positives from this pandemic and carry them to the future.

#1387 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2020 8:13:02 AM

According to the Free newspaper,"People Daily" our hospitals are empty.We are not only free of Corona but also other non communicable diseases have gone.Some one post that Daily Paper here.Am still unable to attach photos🙈)

This confirms what I believe is the situation......that our infections are not that severe.A person with Severe COVID will not wait for MOH team to tell them they are sick,they will have gone to hospital to seek treatment on their own.Some people are claiming that guys are self medicating but pharmacies too are reporting low sales.Fresh farm produce has become the new medicine.Lemon, Ginger and pineapple has become the new bae.

New lessons in the medical world,we dont need to go to hospital for any small ailment,we should give our bodies time to fight.With little drinking and night curfew,accidents have also reduced so the emergency and accidents Units are free.Me thinks we should pick the positives from this pandemic and carry them to the future.

People are scared of contracting corona in hospitals.

Govt is worried about children immunisation as many parents are postponing their clinics. Also ante-natal clinics.

Some counties are now dedicating some of their hospitals for corona to deal with this.
#1388 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2020 8:23:40 AM

Things are thick in Tanzania. I hope the border is closed
#1389 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2020 10:30:39 AM

And the prophet of Doom speaketh....
Why close the borders? Who told you that your neighbour is in a worse situation than you?
your own government is afraid to conduct mass testing because it is afraid of the outcome. Every day coming up with excuses of why it has not commenced.
Five truck drivers caught positive in another country. Kenya is now an exporter of the infection.
#1390 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2020 10:32:07 AM

Govt is worried about children immunisation as many parents are postponing their clinics. Also ante-natal clinics.

Some counties are now dedicating some of their hospitals for corona to deal with this.

As I said - Africans are cowards (a good thing in this case) - they are not going to hospitals! Buy the way - the social distancing regime may affect other diseases that we used to pass around during social interactions. Expect fewer colds and flu this year.

On a separate note: Of course people are working on predictive models are guesstimating when the disease MAY end in different countries.

97% of the worlds cases will have been resolved by the end of May but the rest of the cases will drag on until June.

Djibuti may be one of the first east african countries to go through it and get done by May.

Iran - June

it is EXPECTED that Kenya will delay and the cases will be sorted in July

OF COURSE, THESE ARE PROJECTIONS NOT PROPHESIES.

the Source of these predictions is this Singaporean Company
https://ddi.sutd.edu.sg/
#1391 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2020 11:12:58 AM

How thick?Official figures please. And let it not be those video clips we are seeing of a dead guy in the streets and a secret burial at night.Those are from Social media which got 35% trust rating.
#1392 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2020 12:23:58 PM

How thick?Official figures please. And let it not be those video clips we are seeing of a dead guy in the streets and a secret burial at night.Those are from Social media which got 35% trust rating.

I am glad you noted this too Applause Applause
#1393 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2020 12:29:02 PM

As I said - Africans are cowards (a good thing in this case) - they are not going to hospitals! Buy the way - the social distancing regime may affect other diseases that we used to pass around during social interactions. Expect fewer colds and flu this year.

Thanks to social distancing and hygiene improvement in the last days. Wash hands, cover mouth and nose etc etc... all these contribute to minimize infections.
#1394 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2020 12:33:07 PM

mpobiz wrote:
mkenyan wrote:
mpobiz wrote:

This song is getting louder and louder. I warned about it some of you here dismissed it..

https://www.google.com/a...2Ja2nk4qL8zwLXN0nkuiZYg

please try and read beyond the misleading headline. the said bill has been sent by bild a german tabloid and not germany the country Shame on you Shame on you

Also read my statement carefully. The song is getting louder. This is an opinion even though it's being driven by a tabloid it has it's readers. Remember it takes a small cigarette butt to light a forest fire.

This will turn to be a choir soonest.

https://www.theguardian....sts-us-will-seek-damages
#1395 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2020 12:36:18 PM

We need to think hard: the village life where rain falls, with cattle, goat, sheep, and can grow natural food
#1396 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2020 1:03:52 PM

Spike in pneumonia related deaths in Nigeria

And this

I still feel that there's also misreporting on cause of death in Kenya as is happening in Nigeria where there's been a spike in deaths related to pnuemonia.
#1397 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2020 1:09:27 PM

mpobiz wrote:
I think we a need a regional approach and possibly have a lockdown in the entire region.
As it is now, reopening the borders will bring another wave of infections.

True. But just like nation's you as an individual can be following all the hyginen rules and even locking yourself in. But the moment you get out you meet your friend who has been free willying all over town.
The broad population has found its way around this lockdown. Drinks have never stopped flowing. Nyama choma has become even sweeter. You just need to know where to go.Lazima tujienjoy. For me I am just enjoying my holiday.

Mwafrika Ako na shida sana. Kuuziwa uwoga whole sale. With your 10 deaths (not proven that all are covid related ) and zero hospitalized cases. Curfews and l ockdowns.
I want you to take alook at the people you try so hard to imitate. Do I need to report their death rates and numbers of their infected folks?

https://www.straitstimes...gh-amid-steps-to-reopen

https://edition.cnn.com/...navirus-heat/index.html

And you continue to sell fear to your kids.
Then you wander why most of you will die poor.

There are two parameters - uoga and ujinga.

Asians - WAOOGA lakini SIO WAJINGA
Wazungu - SIO WAOGA lakini NI WAJINGA
WaAfrika - WAOOGA na pia NI WAJINGA!

sasa unataka tu wache UOGA tuwe kama Wazungu?

https://youtu.be/V8YVGZyWABk

Mungu saidia mwafrika. But in this case I blame our useless fake stream media
#1398 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2020 1:57:20 PM

Shak wrote:

I still feel that there's also misreporting on cause of death in Kenya as is happening in Nigeria where there's been a spike in deaths related to pnuemonia.

Misreporting by who?

Do you have some data you can share specifically on pneumonia cases and accompanying deaths in Kenya from March?This would be of concern given that they are said to have common symptoms.

I think this is the kind of info we would like to get from "other" sources" just incase Mutahi is giving us false figures.

And it would be good to compare the figures with previous years data.
#1399 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2020 2:01:32 PM

Shak wrote:

Misreporting by who?

Do you have some data you can share specifically on pneumonia cases and accompanying deaths in Kenya from March?This would be of concern given that they are said to have common symptoms.

I think this is the kind of info we would like to get from "other" sources" just incase Mutahi is giving us false figures.

I believe I had posted the link on the Kenyan cases earlier. Doctors are yet to confirm however.

https://www.nation.co.ke/news/Sp...09470-yebtk8z/index.html
#1400 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2020 2:34:29 PM

Shak wrote:
Shak wrote:

Misreporting by who?

I believe I had posted the link on the Kenyan cases earlier. Doctors are yet to confirm however.

https://www.nation.co.ke/news/Sp...09470-yebtk8z/index.html

Thanks.Yes had seen this.The medics need to tell us more now that it's one month later.