141 Pages«<6768697071>»
Coronavirus
#1361 Posted : Sunday, April 26, 2020 7:34:01 PM

madollar wrote:
Pale twitter ni kama hapa:

NYC has had 11,000 Covid deaths.

Tokyo, the World's largest and densest city, has had 93.

NYC is locked down.

Tokyo was never locked down.

Both have had the virus for the same amount of time.

Why is NYC's death rate 250 times higher than Tokyo's?

Something fishy here.

https://twitter.com/officialmcafee/status/1254187423011045385

That copy & Paste mentality

Infection rates come before death rates.. Social normalcy's or tendencies are not the same, Americans kiss and show PDA all the time, In Japan that is frowned upon. Shaking hands is normal in America, in Japan you bow so that one on one interaction is very minimal. Its very normal for Japanese to wear masks and handgloves infact even their taxi drivers are always in gloves which is not the case in NY etc

Death is compounded by underlying health issues (diabetes cancer, BP etc) How sickly is Japan as compared to America?

How much does China interact with Japan during holidays? Chinese hate Japan most chinese will travel to Europe and America than go to Japan Vietnam and other Asian countries. So this comparison is just shallow
#1362 Posted : Sunday, April 26, 2020 7:49:26 PM

madollar wrote:

NYC is locked down.

Something fishy here.

Pale Twitter pia:
The spread of Covid has two factors
1) how dense a population is
2) how dense a population is
#1363 Posted : Sunday, April 26, 2020 7:57:05 PM

madollar wrote:

NYC is locked down.

Something fishy here.

Infection rates come before death rates.. Social normalcy's or tendencies are not the same, Americans kiss and show PDA all the time, In Japan that is frowned upon. Shaking hands is normal in America, in Japan you bow so that one on one interaction is very minimal. Its very normal for Japanese to wear masks and handgloves infact even their taxi drivers are always in gloves which is not the case in NY etc

Death is compounded by underlying health issues (diabetes cancer, BP etc) How sickly is Japan as compared to America?

How much does China interact with Japan during holidays? Chinese hate Japan most chinese will travel to Europe and America than go to Japan Vietnam and other Asian countries. So this comparison is just shallow

Jameni take a chill pill bro who is comparing anything i was talking about the responses from the tweet no one is able to make sense of what is happening
#1364 Posted : Sunday, April 26, 2020 8:02:14 PM

madollar wrote:

NYC is locked down.

Something fishy here.

Jameni take a chill pill bro who is comparing anything i was talking about the responses from the tweet no one is able to make sense of what is happening

No one = you?

#1365 Posted : Sunday, April 26, 2020 8:05:20 PM

madollar wrote:

NYC is locked down.

Something fishy here.

Pale Twitter pia:
The spread of Covid has two factors
1) how dense a population is
2) how dense a population is

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Moja ni matusi, isorite!!!!
#1366 Posted : Sunday, April 26, 2020 8:16:21 PM

madollar wrote:

NYC is locked down.

Something fishy here.

No one = you?

Huh
#1367 Posted : Sunday, April 26, 2020 8:32:28 PM

madollar wrote:

NYC is locked down.

Something fishy here.

@madolla. Your friend just suffers from a mild case of dimentia. He forgets that he has been copy and pasting infections and deaths around Europe here since the thread was created. Can he proof he went around mortuarys in Italy counting the dead himuselufu? I have no idea why he stopped I guess his master is happy with the numbers so far.

Sometimes back Tokyo was accused of covering up cases as it was hoping to still hold the Olympics. Everybody was wandering why cases were few considering its proximity to Beijing. But now cases are still low. In my opinion it's their dull cold culture that's helping them. Capped with strict but voluntary adherence to the rule of law.
#1368 Posted : Sunday, April 26, 2020 9:38:53 PM

While Kenyans are busy bickering about facts, the other part of the world is working based on the facts.

Senegal creates a $1 covid tester.

Hapa people still think Covid is a political movement they support or don't support.

#1369 Posted : Sunday, April 26, 2020 11:21:35 PM

mpobiz wrote:
madollar wrote:

NYC is locked down.

Something fishy here.

@madolla. Your friend just suffers from a mild case of dimentia. He forgets that he has been copy and pasting infections and deaths around Europe here since the thread was created. Can he proof he went around mortuarys in Italy counting the dead himuselufu? I have no idea why he stopped I guess his master is happy with the numbers so far.

Sometimes back Tokyo was accused of covering up cases as it was hoping to still hold the Olympics. Everybody was wandering why cases were few considering its proximity to Beijing. But now cases are still low. In my opinion it's their dull cold culture that's helping them. Capped with strict but voluntary adherence to the rule of law.

You have a comprehension problem
#1370 Posted : Sunday, April 26, 2020 11:30:09 PM

madollar wrote:

NYC is locked down.

Something fishy here.

No one = you?

Huh

Your words " No one is able to make sense of what is happening " I asked you? Who else are you speaking of?

A majority of people don't know how to read data or make sense of the numbers they see. Or if you like add meat to what the numbers are showing. See how much @mavegges has tried to explain social distancing even with graphs but some aren't catching it. NY & Tokyo may be complex. Do a case study of Eastern African countries. Our cultures are the similar. Focus on TZ, KE, UG, RW, ET, SO,
#1371 Posted : Sunday, April 26, 2020 11:44:13 PM

April 14th Nigeria had 350 confirmed cases.

#1372 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2020 9:42:41 AM

I think we a need a regional approach and possibly have a lockdown in the entire region.
As it is now, reopening the borders will bring another wave of infections.
#1373 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2020 10:58:55 AM

some corrections
1) Corona could not have been here for 100 days (that's early Jan) without choking our hospitals or at least having most of us infected by now. We are not a different species.
2) On clinical trials for the vaccines - it's not going to be conducted here. It's actually sad that antivaxxers have won the psychological anti-science game on this one with their conspiracy theories. On the flipside - what have africans done for the world? a few of us being part of a GLOBAL test would be the only contribution you will have made for this disease and if you wonder if I would submit myself to clinical trials - sure! I would.
3) the huge epidemic will come if you don't take care of yourselves. This is AFRICA!!

@Masukuma,I strongly believe it landed in January or even Dec 2019.My conviction is based on 3 cases of people close to me who were sick around that time and other cases I have had from those dates.Cases with similar symptoms and healing pattern.Thank God for ignorance coz if the same had occurred today in the COVID season they would have died of panic than from the disease.

They took drugs and concoctions believing it's a normal cold/flu and fought it off.

The bottom line being yes we are getting infected but not getting severe hence no mass cases in hospital.

Jan 2020? are Africans a different species altogether?

We all agree that the disease is infectious as f*ck!! Let's assume that the disease manifests differently for Kenyans (not Africans - since we can see cases increasing all over the place). does it not infect us that much? no social distancing for 100 days, kissing, hugging, coughing, shaking hands... 100 days and there is no trace other than anecdotal stories of "a bad flu"? We are testing people now and each person who is tested seems to have spread it to others - this "normal" behaviour of Covid is manifesting now but not 100 days ago?
the only way for the people with "a bad flu" to determine whether they had covid is to get both and tell us IF THEY WERE THE SAME.

Why arent our hospitals full? this disease is very infectious and when it gets people with immunocompromised systems. People with HIV and poor diets - it f***s them up. I personally know 2 people who had it and the fever is UNBELIEVABLE. It leaves them very very weak. One is a Kenyan living abroad and he was f*cked up - no voice for a few days. chest like a truck resting on it. He is better now. you want to tell me that we would have an infectious disease that travels that fast and we wouldn't notice it?

Are Kenyans a different species?

No @Masukuma,Kenyans and Africans are not a different species.

However facts on the ground show a trend that is worth some extra study.

Ok,let's reduce our days to March 13th when the Patient Zero was reported.We are on day 45,with 50% required discipline in keeping it at bay.We are still reporting small numbers of infections.I agree the tests are few so fewer numbers.But then again one does not need to be tested to know they are sick(and here I mean with symptoms).We are not having an influx of people with symptoms in hospitals or at home.Neither are we having mass deaths.(God forbid,we are not asking for them)

Yes the infected could be very many out there and we shall only know when they are tested but again I say if one is infected and has no symptoms or has mild symptoms and is able to fight it of over time,what is our worry??

Cases are increasing because more people are getting tested.If we dont test we shall not record new cases but that does not mean no people have been infected.

Yes COVID is highly infectious so let's keep it at bay by following guidelines but if by bad fortune you get it,it will be mild and you will heal.

Covid 19 Tracker Worldometer,of the active cases 97% are mild 3% are serious/critical

#1374 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2020 10:59:14 AM

I think we a need a regional approach and possibly have a lockdown in the entire region.

True. But just like nation's you as an individual can be following all the hyginen rules and even locking yourself in. But the moment you get out you meet your friend who has been free willying all over town.
The broad population has found its way around this lockdown. Drinks have never stopped flowing. Nyama choma has become even sweeter. You just need to know where to go.Lazima tujienjoy. For me I am just enjoying my holiday.
#1375 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2020 2:06:23 PM

mpobiz wrote:

True. But just like nation's you as an individual can be following all the hyginen rules and even locking yourself in. But the moment you get out you meet your friend who has been free willying all over town.
The broad population has found its way around this lockdown. Drinks have never stopped flowing. Nyama choma has become even sweeter. You just need to know where to go.Lazima tujienjoy. For me I am just enjoying my holiday.

Mwafrika Ako na shida sana. Kuuziwa uwoga whole sale. With your 10 deaths (not proven that all are covid related ) and zero hospitalized cases. Curfews and l ockdowns.
I want you to take alook at the people you try so hard to imitate. Do I need to report their death rates and numbers of their infected folks?

https://www.straitstimes...gh-amid-steps-to-reopen

https://edition.cnn.com/...navirus-heat/index.html

And you continue to sell fear to your kids.
Then you wander why most of you will die poor.
#1376 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2020 2:59:59 PM

BigChick wrote:

Ok,let's reduce our days to March 13th when the Patient Zero was reported.We are on day 45,with 50% required discipline in keeping it at bay.We are still reporting small numbers of infections.I agree the tests are few so fewer numbers.But then again one does not need to be tested to know they are sick(and here I mean with symptoms).We are not having an influx of people with symptoms in hospitals or at home.Neither are we having mass deaths.(God forbid,we are not asking for them)

Yes the infected could be very many out there and we shall only know when they are tested but again I say if one is infected and has no symptoms or has mild symptoms and is able to fight it of over time,what is our worry??

Cases are increasing because more people are getting tested.If we don't test we shall not record new cases but that does not mean no people have been infected.

Yes COVID is highly infectious so let's keep it at bay by following guidelines but if by bad fortune you get it,it will be mild and you will heal.

Covid 19 Tracker Worldometer,of the active cases 97% are mild 3% are serious/critical

Assume that we have 2 overlapping Groups:

Group 1 - the group that has a KNOWN case within. People who 1 person reported themselves and subsequent contacts were traced from them. this group with at least 1 KNOWN person is yielding numbers that range between 0.6% to 2.75% of the samples tested. This is the one Kagwe and co. have been talking to us since 13th March. the total number of people tested in this SUSPECTED GROUP to date is less than 20k.

Group 2: the UNKNOWN group:
You are stating that there is a MUCH MUCH LARGER group that has been here for the last 100+ days. Infections happening, Healing, Dying (and sickness being attributed to something else) - but since the disease does not require the host to acknowledge so that it adjusts its spread behavior to what we expect (3+ people getting infected by each previous infection based on what we know from the disease) it has been spreading without social distancing for 100+ days. Considering virus shedding after infection can last upto 37 days (but the median is around 20 days) - where people can still pass on the virus to others and also test positively HOWEVER somehow these people in this much larger and EXPONENTIALLY growing group have seldomly overlapped with Group 1 in order to spike the number of positive cases? That whatever group we test - we end up with less than 2% of them being infections? Also, for unexplained circumstances - the sick from this have not flooded out hospitals?

Riwry? how plausible is that?

p.s. I am not disputing that there is a UNKNOW group - the question is
1) HOW LONG HAS IT BEEN AROUND?
2) HOW BIG IS IT?
3) HOW DOES IT INTERSECT WITH GROUP 1?

at what point does the invisible start looking like the non-existent?
#1377 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2020 3:05:10 PM

mpobiz wrote:

Mwafrika Ako na shida sana. Kuuziwa uwoga whole sale. With your 10 deaths (not proven that all are covid related ) and zero hospitalized cases. Curfews and l ockdowns.
I want you to take alook at the people you try so hard to imitate. Do I need to report their death rates and numbers of their infected folks?

https://www.straitstimes...gh-amid-steps-to-reopen

https://edition.cnn.com/...navirus-heat/index.html

And you continue to sell fear to your kids.
Then you wander why most of you will die poor.

There are two parameters - uoga and ujinga.

Asians - WAOOGA lakini SIO WAJINGA
Wazungu - SIO WAOGA lakini NI WAJINGA
WaAfrika - WAOOGA na pia NI WAJINGA!

sasa unataka tu wache UOGA tuwe kama Wazungu?
#1378 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2020 4:07:39 PM

Following the directives of His Excellency the President, National Emergency Response Committee on Coronavirus has approved the following guidelines for partial reopening of eateries and restaurants.

a)All restaurants shall only operate between 05.00 a.m.and 04.00 p.m.
b) Restaurants must limit the number of diners or customers to 4 people for every 10 square metres space.      

c) Tables in the dining areas must be spaced 1.5 metres apart in the dining area or seat customer groups at least 1.5 metres apart.
d)Maintain distance from the back of one chair to the other chair not less than a metre and guests must face each other from a distance of at least one metre.
*e) Alcohol shall only be sold with a meal in the restaurant and only be served to customers waiting to be served a meal, during the meal, or 30 minutes after the meal has ended.*
(h) Temporarily discontinue self-service of ready-to-eat foods such as salad bars or buffets.
(i) Customers to have their meals delivered individually to the dining table by appointed restaurant stewards. If buffet meals are served the service shall be by only one person appointed by the restaurant.
(j) Restaurants to ensure quality and safety of food, to rinse and sanitize food contact surfaces, disinfect surfaces, floors and counters.
(k) Install adequate portable running water and accessible washing basins for hand washing purposes, install alcohol based-hand sanitizers at the entrance and exit points.
(l) Restaurants and eateries must install a contact free thermometer and ensure that every person entering the premises has his/her body temperature taken.

(m) Any staff member or reveler with temperature above 37.5 degrees shall not be allowed entry into the premises, and the premises shall immediately notify the Ministry of Health through the toll free no 719 for guidance.
(n) Ensure physical distancing (1 metre - 3 feet) in food preparation areas.
#1379 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2020 5:42:43 PM

"Picha picha picha ....haturusu...babu picha haturuhusu...."

Tanzania! Who would have thought?

#1380 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2020 8:13:38 PM

BigChick wrote:

Cases are increasing because more people are getting tested.If we don't test we shall not record new cases but that does not mean no people have been infected.

Assume that we have 2 overlapping Groups:

Group 1 - the group that has a KNOWN case within. People who 1 person reported themselves and subsequent contacts were traced from them. this group with at least 1 KNOWN person is yielding numbers that range between 0.6% to 2.75% of the samples tested. This is the one Kagwe and co. have been talking to us since 13th March. the total number of people tested in this SUSPECTED GROUP to date is less than 20k.

Group 2: the UNKNOWN group:
You are stating that there is a MUCH MUCH LARGER group that has been here for the last 100+ days. Infections happening, Healing, Dying (and sickness being attributed to something else) - but since the disease does not require the host to acknowledge so that it adjusts its spread behavior to what we expect (3+ people getting infected by each previous infection based on what we know from the disease) it has been spreading without social distancing for 100+ days. Considering virus shedding after infection can last upto 37 days (but the median is around 20 days) - where people can still pass on the virus to others and also test positively HOWEVER somehow these people in this much larger and EXPONENTIALLY growing group have seldomly overlapped with Group 1 in order to spike the number of positive cases? That whatever group we test - we end up with less than 2% of them being infections? Also, for unexplained circumstances - the sick from this have not flooded out hospitals?

Riwry? how plausible is that?

p.s. I am not disputing that there is a UNKNOW group - the question is
1) HOW LONG HAS IT BEEN AROUND?
2) HOW BIG IS IT?
3) HOW DOES IT INTERSECT WITH GROUP 1?

at what point does the invisible start looking like the non-existent?

Finally, we can agree that either the unknown group does not exist or they are not exhibiting any symptoms.
This means either we are winning the war against the invisible enemy or we have reached a ceasefire with the enemy.