Health
Coronavirus
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
I am 51 years of age. I am Male. What should I eat and what should I NOT eat to boost my immunity against The Virus?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/10/2015 Posts: 961 Location: Kenya
Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
mpobiz wrote:I was having a discussion with some friends and one interesting finding come out. When HIV was first reported in Africa nobody took it serious and so everyone went about doing their business of sex left and right and centre. Sad thing is that the incubation period for HIV to develope into AIDS took about 2to 5 years depending on an individual. This means that HIV was first reported in the mid to late 1980s. Deaths and crowded hospital wards filled with patients exploded in the 1990s and that's when HIV was taken serious. And everybody took note and precautions and today we see that now HIV is under control with very few or very low infection rates. COVID 19 has an incubation period of one to two weeks. Where is the explosion of patients in hospitals here? It's now 4weeks old here (officially) but I and other like minded fellows think that it has been with us from late January. Untill that happens here this COVID thing is still a European and Chinese thing. When this explosion happens here most Kenyans will not question the government on a full lockdown and they won't even ask for food. They will just be happy to take uji daily inside their houses as they wait for the government to act on the sick and the disease to clear. A few moments ago the MOH was busy parading the cured or in this case the conquerors on tv with a lot of photography and capped with the presidents video call. This is happening while there is a partial lockdown and the same government still screaming to the masses that the desease is deadly we lock ourselves in the house. I have also noticed in European media houses they have now started to report as breaking news children and young adults dying . This come after authorities noticed a trend that most youths viewed this as an old people problems and were forming rebellion on social media platforms which was soon to spill to the streets. I saw on sky news an analyst saying that most youths in UK had even blamed the elderly for the lockdown and the financial and social breakdown that come with it. Is the government really helping in shaping the people's attitude on this desease considering what I had said earlier? Politics is just things to keep the people divided and foolish and put your trust in men and none of them can do nothing for you...
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
aemathenge wrote:I am 51 years of age.
I am Male.
What should I eat and what should I NOT eat to boost my immunity against The Virus? First have a clear objective. In this case I would suggest an objective to keep your mental energy and strength as a first priority. Mental energy will help you counter the disease or any adversity. Then boost your physical energy and provide other nutrients in normal and required quantities. So, reduce simple sugars and add a bit of complex carbs. Have at least two meals, if you can, prepare for rationing Do plenty of vegetables and a fruit now and then. Adequate water is also important, but don't be too zealous with it. A complication may arise if and when you get infected and show symptoms. There have been reports of loss of taste and desire for food. In this case, learn to take soups. Just make sure you have some veges in it and they are lightly cooked. Don't forget the usual herbs: garlic and ginger Otherwise keep fit and don't lose your sense of humour or sense of judgement. And bask in the sun now and then.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/19/2015 Posts: 2,871 Location: hapo
mpobiz wrote:mpobiz wrote:I was having a discussion with some friends and one interesting finding come out. When HIV was first reported in Africa nobody took it serious and so everyone went about doing their business of sex left and right and centre. Sad thing is that the incubation period for HIV to develope into AIDS took about 2to 5 years depending on an individual. This means that HIV was first reported in the mid to late 1980s. Deaths and crowded hospital wards filled with patients exploded in the 1990s and that's when HIV was taken serious. And everybody took note and precautions and today we see that now HIV is under control with very few or very low infection rates. COVID 19 has an incubation period of one to two weeks. Where is the explosion of patients in hospitals here? It's now 4weeks old here (officially) but I and other like minded fellows think that it has been with us from late January. Untill that happens here this COVID thing is still a European and Chinese thing. When this explosion happens here most Kenyans will not question the government on a full lockdown and they won't even ask for food. They will just be happy to take uji daily inside their houses as they wait for the government to act on the sick and the disease to clear. A few moments ago the MOH was busy parading the cured or in this case the conquerors on tv with a lot of photography and capped with the presidents video call. This is happening while there is a partial lockdown and the same government still screaming to the masses that the desease is deadly we lock ourselves in the house. I have also noticed in European media houses they have now started to report as breaking news children and young adults dying . This come after authorities noticed a trend that most youths viewed this as an old people problems and were forming rebellion on social media platforms which was soon to spill to the streets. I saw on sky news an analyst saying that most youths in UK had even blamed the elderly for the lockdown and the financial and social breakdown that come with it. Is the government really helping in shaping the people's attitude on this desease considering what I had said earlier? Let me explain to you slowly. There's a very big difference between laying facts on the table, eg what newfarer was posting, and system ya facts. Part of the work of the president is to rally kenyans around a common enemy. You don't want the president to start crying on tv and telling kenyans they are doomed, do you? Ok, that may work for KJ but it's not worthy of a leader. In all your sentences that don't have paragraphs, you haven't shown one single fact. It's just innuendo. It has been here since January, please do tell us where you got that data. Please as much as you bring up red flags, try to have a positive bone in your body. There have been mistakes but my fren, there have also been major successes. Like those two bubbly young people showing us that we as Kenyans shall make it out of this disease. If you think that's a failure, then you have serious emotional issues. You should deal with them first before Covid finds you. It's unlikely you will survive with such a negative attitude. Let me read more posts from Tycho. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Are swedes being stupid? Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
aemathenge wrote:I am 51 years of age.
I am Male.
What should I eat and what should I NOT eat to boost my immunity against The Virus? Lemon,Ginger and Garlic. Lots of Vegetables Balanced diet Water Half a teaspoon of black seed oil and Moringa. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
@mpobiz is corrrect. Our leaders are fumbling on many fronts. Putting out media on fellows who have recovered will only cause people to underestimate the virus and makes it look like its a huge hullabaloo over nothing. Generally a bad idea when you want to communicate more caution. This virus will kill many people. Those people who die will develop respiratory failure and require ventilation in ICU. More than 80% of those people with covid infection and who end up in ICU will die (this is in the European hospitals). I promise you that 98% of covid patients who end up in ICU in Kenya will die. Only the major private hospitals (Mater, AgaKhan, Nairobi and maybe Karen) have ICU capable of taking care of respiratory failure patients. Something comparable to the west, but still very far behind. I cannot even begin to describe how unprepared our ICU's are to deal with such a contagious disease. Chances are that patients will die and infect all people working in those units in the process. With such grim reality of our health system capability to deal with issues, I would not focus on following the west blindly. Rather than lockdown, people should continue working. Provide sanitizers, masks and training on effective social distancing. Our preparedness seems to be so focussed on the 5% who will get seriosly ill. The 5% that cannot be saved. Of the other 15% that end up in hospitals, I hope the goverment is ensuring that all hospitals dedicated for covid 19 patients will be able to supply oxygen to these patients. Not all beds in a hospital have oxygen ports. Rather than dedicate sections of hospitals to deal with covid 19, Govt should either evacuate whole hospitals and equip them in readiness for covid patients or set up make shift hospitals in tents with adequate oxygen and drugs. Setting apart sections of a hospital to handle /isolate covid 19 while the other sections see regular patients is a very bad idea. Cross contamination via staff will inevitably occur and expose many staff members to the virus. Remember, there is data that this virus can continue hanging in the air, say in a lift for some time. In short, we are sitting ducks when it comes to handling the severe 5%. I am not too sure we have prepared adequately to help the not so seriously ill 15% which is where most deaths will be averted. Instead, in a bid to protect the 20% who will show symptoms of covid 19, we have put the remaining 80% of the population on a fake lock down, disrupted family lifelines and incomes, exposed children to malnutrition and death from treatable conditions, because remember, if a family has no money, when their member gets ill from treatable conditions, they will not seek appropriate care. The ripple effects of this fake lock down will be felt long after corona is brought under control. Many will die from non corona causes because a fumbling govt cannot see the whole picture. They want to copy the west. They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
I will start reading posts on this thread of people with real data. Up here, numbers are being thrown around with no proof or citation whatsoever. Just scary stuff. Yes, it kills. But saying the gov't is doing nothing is a blatant lie. Straight from the anals of propaganda. You are right now in a curfew session. So you cannot say, it is not doing anything. The facts in Kenya. Corona has killed 1 3 have recovered. KJ is the one with fake 7k in quarantine. Real numbers, real figures so that solutions can be discussed. Otherwise, this is a case of GASLIGHTING. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
tycho wrote:Dahatre wrote:@tycho wrote:I can help Kenya flatten this curve. Or rather I am bold enough to dare. If I can get the goodwill and support, and working with already what's there, we can make a difference. There you go @mahegoat.
Otherwise I am feeling so tired. I just want to go and sleep. @Dahatre, maybe we'll have the conversation about abatement on some other thread. @tycho my dude..You are in overload...Sahau corona kidogo and live….Labda holy herb-induced poetry? music? Other???? Also there is a ton of hope -potential vaccine(s) -potential meds/treatment (Convalescent serum-Yes--please Lord!) -Potential mass immunity -protection from excesses of the disease by BCG, Young age (Of Africa), being female..etc etc Yeah. The corona issue has been resolved as far as I can see. I may not do much more. I think I'll do herb and listen to Vivaldi I know we are only talking hypothetically here lakini no vaping and only shallow tokes...or edibles--all hypothetically ofcourse..
alma1 wrote:mpobiz wrote:mpobiz wrote:I was having a discussion with some friends and one interesting finding come out. When HIV was first reported in Africa nobody took it serious and so everyone went about doing their business of sex left and right and centre. Sad thing is that the incubation period for HIV to develope into AIDS took about 2to 5 years depending on an individual. This means that HIV was first reported in the mid to late 1980s. Deaths and crowded hospital wards filled with patients exploded in the 1990s and that's when HIV was taken serious. And everybody took note and precautions and today we see that now HIV is under control with very few or very low infection rates. COVID 19 has an incubation period of one to two weeks. Where is the explosion of patients in hospitals here? It's now 4weeks old here (officially) but I and other like minded fellows think that it has been with us from late January. Untill that happens here this COVID thing is still a European and Chinese thing. When this explosion happens here most Kenyans will not question the government on a full lockdown and they won't even ask for food. They will just be happy to take uji daily inside their houses as they wait for the government to act on the sick and the disease to clear. A few moments ago the MOH was busy parading the cured or in this case the conquerors on tv with a lot of photography and capped with the presidents video call. This is happening while there is a partial lockdown and the same government still screaming to the masses that the desease is deadly we lock ourselves in the house. I have also noticed in European media houses they have now started to report as breaking news children and young adults dying . This come after authorities noticed a trend that most youths viewed this as an old people problems and were forming rebellion on social media platforms which was soon to spill to the streets. I saw on sky news an analyst saying that most youths in UK had even blamed the elderly for the lockdown and the financial and social breakdown that come with it. Is the government really helping in shaping the people's attitude on this desease considering what I had said earlier? Let me explain to you slowly. There's a very big difference between laying facts on the table, eg what newfarer was posting, and system ya facts. Part of the work of the president is to rally kenyans around a common enemy. You don't want the president to start crying on tv and telling kenyans they are doomed, do you? Ok, that may work for KJ but it's not worthy of a leader. In all your sentences that don't have paragraphs, you haven't shown one single fact. It's just innuendo. It has been here since January, please do tell us where you got that data. Please as much as you bring up red flags, try to have a positive bone in your body. There have been mistakes but my fren, there have also been major successes. Like those two bubbly young people showing us that we as Kenyans shall make it out of this disease. If you think that's a failure, then you have serious emotional issues. You should deal with them first before Covid finds you. It's unlikely you will survive with such a negative attitude. Let me read more posts from Tycho. You are just stupid. I hope the virus spares you after noticing your good grammar and well paragraphed posts Politics is just things to keep the people divided and foolish and put your trust in men and none of them can do nothing for you...
Let's process some 'new' info: We now know that up to 25% of people are likely not to show symptoms at all. And of those that show symptoms, 80% experience them mildly. Those that have serious symptoms tend to have an underlying condition and are 20%. About 10% end up dying. Qsn: what can we learn about this virus? Tycho: This is a relatively weak virus that 'takes advantage' of weakness in immunity and organ weakness. Otherwise, it should cause no nuisance at all. 1. We have our masks and new habits intact. (I fear many may go to old habits in terms of hand washing. And we may need to improve on disinfecting surfaces) 2. We are keeping our minds alert, and body is getting enough oxygen 3. We are aware of nutrition and physical fitness demands We need a fourth item to complete our defenses: 4. Fend off immunity droppers. Events happen and the more we are immersed in them the more we are likely to be mentally and psychologically bruised. What happens is that these events and experiences get into the subconscious and they eat from within. A study I like mentioning is that of Karl Menninger in 'Man against himself'. The human mind as conditioned by growth is highly self destructive. So for starters I recommend we use Timothy Wilson's method of 'Redirecting'. What we do, is have journals and workbooks for redirecting our experiences. Write down your feelings and experiences. Ask the who, what, where, when, why, and how questions if you need a push. Probe your heart and mind. And learn to forgive yourself, and others. If you pray, please do. If you are able, bathe in light. That way, we will have a basic defence mechanism and routine, that will ensure that our immunity doesn't weaken. And when weak, we are sure to get stronger faster. If you consider the length that we may go with this virus before things settle, you will see that this defence position will be helpful when things appear not to be near their end. Or when we need to come up with solutions to emergent challenges.
f*** this dude! Arrgghh who gave him his Ph.D?? Shindwe!! All he has to do is google the cost of producing a single vaccine ($200-500 million)-Between our poorly managed resources and the thieving, where do we get that kind of money? And this was 2006 costs (certain to be higher now): Assembling a Global Vaccine Development Pipeline for Infectious Diseases in the Developing WorldThe mofo is just shifting blame. Countries with a strong research infrastructure build it with public funds first then support business models to produce therapies...
Dahatre wrote:tycho wrote:Dahatre wrote:@tycho wrote:I can help Kenya flatten this curve. Or rather I am bold enough to dare. If I can get the goodwill and support, and working with already what's there, we can make a difference. There you go @mahegoat.
Otherwise I am feeling so tired. I just want to go and sleep. @Dahatre, maybe we'll have the conversation about abatement on some other thread. @tycho my dude..You are in overload...Sahau corona kidogo and live….Labda holy herb-induced poetry? music? Other???? Also there is a ton of hope -potential vaccine(s) -potential meds/treatment (Convalescent serum-Yes--please Lord!) -Potential mass immunity -protection from excesses of the disease by BCG, Young age (Of Africa), being female..etc etc Yeah. The corona issue has been resolved as far as I can see. I may not do much more. I think I'll do herb and listen to Vivaldi I know we are only talking hypothetically here lakini no vaping and only shallow tokes...or edibles--all hypothetically ofcourse.. Yes. Hypothetically.
Dahatre wrote:f*** this dude! Arrgghh who gave him his Ph.D?? Shindwe!! All he has to do is google the cost of producing a single vaccine ($200-500 million)-Between our poorly managed resources and the thieving, where do we get that kind of money? And this was 2006 costs (certain to be higher now): Assembling a Global Vaccine Development Pipeline for Infectious Diseases in the Developing WorldThe mofo is just shifting blame. Countries with a strong research infrastructure build it with public funds first then support business models to produce therapies... A man has to eat...lol Isn't he the same guy who wanted to fire his nurses and even made medics not work one day so that they could go see him do sijui what at his stadium. Policians are just crazy people. By the way, he's hiding in his house saying all that nonsense. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
+22 April 1. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Dahatre wrote:f*** this dude! Arrgghh who gave him his Ph.D?? Shindwe!! All he has to do is google the cost of producing a single vaccine ($200-500 million)-Between our poorly managed resources and the thieving, where do we get that kind of money? And this was 2006 costs (certain to be higher now): Assembling a Global Vaccine Development Pipeline for Infectious Diseases in the Developing WorldThe mofo is just shifting blame. Countries with a strong research infrastructure build it with public funds first then support business models to produce therapies... I think this guy is simply saying that complex discoveries and in this case medical discoveries can be made by a PhD and basic lab equipment.like how penicillin was discovered. When a PhD holder produces a credible thesis that is read by other PhD holders and approved. then serious work can begin. Politics is just things to keep the people divided and foolish and put your trust in men and none of them can do nothing for you...
mpobiz wrote:Dahatre wrote:f*** this dude! Arrgghh who gave him his Ph.D?? Shindwe!! All he has to do is google the cost of producing a single vaccine ($200-500 million)-Between our poorly managed resources and the thieving, where do we get that kind of money? And this was 2006 costs (certain to be higher now): Assembling a Global Vaccine Development Pipeline for Infectious Diseases in the Developing WorldThe mofo is just shifting blame. Countries with a strong research infrastructure build it with public funds first then support business models to produce therapies... I think this guy is simply saying that complex discoveries and in this case medical discoveries can be made by a PhD and basic lab equipment.like how penicillin was discovered. When a PhD holder produces a credible thesis that is read by other PhD holders and approved. then serious work can begin. He is a governor..right? He can lead the effort by setting aside a budget to establish a lab to do the work. Kenya does not have a shortage of scientists He can lead the way if it is so simple. Here is an excerpt of the article I linked above-- It often takes more than 10 years to deliver a final, licensed vaccine,5 and requires not only excellence during research and product development but also managerial and funding commitment throughout the endeavor. The cost of developing a vaccine—from research and discovery to product registration—is estimated to be between US $200 million and US $500 million per vaccine.6 This figure includes vaccines that are abandoned during the development process. In short, vaccine research and product development is lengthy, complex, and loaded with binary outcome risks."Maybe the western approach of making vaccines is just too expensive/complicated?
Health
Coronavirus