wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

141 Pages«<3536373839>»
Coronavirus
#721 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 1:03:32 PM

So, here's my logic. It's intuitive, so please bear...

Imagine the normal curve. It starts slowly, then climbs up to its peak, then down again to a plateau... Then a what?

It depends. On what?

It is not a resurgence that's being feared, it's the shape of the next normal that is feared.

If we can know the story of how a normal moves, we can know what turns it up and what turns it down. Therefore we can use this knowledge to flatten our curve.

The key word in this matter, is 'Novel'. We rarely mention it, but this is the key to the whole matter. Hypothetically we can copy the info in the desired future and paste in the present, to flatten the curve.

The normal thrives in fields with information interchange.
#722 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 1:25:53 PM

wukan wrote:
madollar wrote:
wukan wrote:
Quite a lot of guys on twitter are talking about some very bad/abnormal flu in early February. Did anyone here experience it?

Mine was bad I had a headache and took a day off to bask in the sun.

My colleague had this flu in Jan and I got it early Feb

Cough, Flu, headache

Americans had it(from tweets I've seen) Nov-Dec '19

No deaths were reported at the time given that corona mortality rate is high at certain age group someone would have noticed

See I told there was something that visited us in early Feb. to paraphrase Gen Paton if everyone is thinking the same thing somebody is not thinking

Data from the National Registry of Diseases shows that when Kenya reported the first case of coronavirus on March 13, there was a spike in pneumonia, one of the complications of severe Covid-19.

From January up until early February, the number of pneumonia cases were 137,667 before a dramatic increase to 195,504. While the data for March is not complete, a source at the Ministry of Health suspects that the numbers are still increasing.

The pattern — an increase from January and then a plateau — is not similar for the same period in 2019.
https://www.nation.co.ke...9470-yebtk8z/index.html

@Wukan,this now scares me.

This has been my simple reasoning that we should be hearing of huge numbers of sick people even without testing.Testig is just for confirmation.The data shows a spike of over 57000 cases.

Now of the 197k,how many have healed?How many of our medics have been reported ill?How many have died?

If a big percentage healed,then tuligonjeka na tukapona.Woi!

#723 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 1:59:35 PM

I can help Kenya flatten this curve. Or rather I am bold enough to dare. If I can get the goodwill and support, and working with already what's there, we can make a difference. There you go @mahegoat.

Otherwise I am feeling so tired. I just want to go and sleep. @Dahatre, maybe we'll have the conversation about abatement on some other thread.
muandiwambeu
#724 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 2:17:00 PM

Spikes wrote:
So let me update myself on how the virus behaves, and what we see graphically.

When starting in any given region, the virus starts with a reproduction number of 1.5 and we see the slow number of new cases. Then something happens and the reproduction number rises to 2 and takeoff happens.

Somewhere along the climb, the reproduction number rises towards a higher value and we wring our hands and only wait for God.

After around R0 3.5 we get the peak. Then the virus loses power towards 1.5 again.

1. The virus could be processing information from its surrounding

2. The virus can be said to have a goal that may be undetermined...

3. Maybe, we can have a conversation with the virus

Anyway, I know this maybe forbidden territory for many. I pause there to reflect on my words. And you can share your thoughts...

Kwani hii virus ina behave kama mtu?

More than a human being. It has a closed feedback loop by ability to compare futuristic outcome with past set goals also on open loop, it's adoptable to the surrounding by enhancing a critical mass and able to set future goals (memory able) then that make it's intelligent, a learning and a reason based agent.
🤔
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
#725 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 2:30:32 PM

wukan wrote:
madollar wrote:
wukan wrote:
Quite a lot of guys on twitter are talking about some very bad/abnormal flu in early February. Did anyone here experience it?

Mine was bad I had a headache and took a day off to bask in the sun.

My colleague had this flu in Jan and I got it early Feb

Cough, Flu, headache

Americans had it(from tweets I've seen) Nov-Dec '19

No deaths were reported at the time given that corona mortality rate is high at certain age group someone would have noticed

See I told there was something that visited us in early Feb. to paraphrase Gen Paton if everyone is thinking the same thing somebody is not thinking

Data from the National Registry of Diseases shows that when Kenya reported the first case of coronavirus on March 13, there was a spike in pneumonia, one of the complications of severe Covid-19.

From January up until early February, the number of pneumonia cases were 137,667 before a dramatic increase to 195,504. While the data for March is not complete, a source at the Ministry of Health suspects that the numbers are still increasing.

The pattern — an increase from January and then a plateau — is not similar for the same period in 2019.
https://www.nation.co.ke...9470-yebtk8z/index.html

@Wukan,this now scares me.

This has been my simple reasoning that we should be hearing of huge numbers of sick people even without testing.Testig is just for confirmation.The data shows a spike of over 57000 cases.

Now of the 197k,how many have healed?How many of our medics have been reported ill?How many have died?

If a big percentage healed,then tuligonjeka na tukapona.Woi!

Cheers @wukan. Such observations are key to understanding this thing.
Most races and people living in different regions react differently when you talk of symptoms of certain diseases. Flu is a killer in US but here it's as simple as a bee sting which also can be a killer in US. I also had an unusual stomach upsets in Feb and without taking any meds I was healed and in the same period my sister whom we are close had a flu like disease and very fatigued and the local doc prescriptions didn't work. In 2weeks the feeling just disappeared.
Rongla
#726 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 2:41:30 PM

Kenyans,My beloved compatriots STOP feigning and Imagining you've already had Corona Virus Stop this ignorance.Stop Fake news. Corona Virus is killing people. Not giving them pneumonia and stopping there!
Kenya Government statistics are nothing but numbers if they dont explain the epidemiology of the said pneumonia.
Simple logic will explain the spike in Pneumonia cases in January was PROBABLY due a very wet and relatively cold December and the movement of large populations during Christmas Holidays helping the pneumonia causing bacteria to spread widely
Stay SAFE.
#727 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 2:51:16 PM

Rongla wrote:
Kenyans,My beloved compatriots STOP feigning and Imagining you've already had Corona Virus Stop this ignorance.Stop Fake news. Corona Virus is killing people. Not giving them pneumonia and stopping there!
Kenya Government statistics are nothing but numbers if they dont explain the epidemiology of the said pneumonia.
Simple logic will explain the spike in Pneumonia cases in January was PROBABLY due a very wet and relatively cold December and the movement of large populations during Christmas Holidays helping the pneumonia causing bacteria to spread widely
Stay SAFE.

How about you explain your own ignorance by calling government statistics "just numbers"
We have not denied the virus being a killer nor are we saying we stop taking precautions. We are just trying to piece up evidence that shows that this virus has been with us longer than the government Is telling us. Do not forget China China already in high gear trying to cover up this desease untill things got out of hand.
#728 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 2:52:36 PM

Rongla wrote:
Stay SAFE.

I agree @ Rongla. Friends, be careful. Very careful. We are in a delicate situation. Stay safe. Those stats can't be trusted just like that. We need to rigorous in our thought.
wukan
#729 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 3:36:19 PM

Rongla wrote:
Stay SAFE.

In this entire post you can see why africans fail.
Rongla
#730 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 4:00:04 PM

mpobiz wrote:
Rongla wrote:
Stay SAFE.

How about you explain your own ignorance by calling government statistics "just numbers"
We have not denied the virus being a killer nor are we saying we stop taking precautions. We are just trying to piece up evidence that shows that this virus has been with us longer than the government Is telling us. Do not forget China China already in high gear trying to cover up this desease untill things got out of hand.

Typical Kenyan response!!!. Why don't you read the whole statement not nusu nusu. Let me undeline it for you
Kenya Government statistics are nothing but numbers if they dont explain the epidemiology of the said pneumonia. If you can't read that statement in full, What evidence can you piece up together then?
This is NOT the time to "Piece up Evidence" What evidence are you piecing up anyway.Then after you've pieced up the evidence, of what help will it be? Let us all help fight the spread of this Killer Virus.
#Stay Safe
#731 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 4:06:16 PM

Rongla wrote:
mpobiz wrote:
Rongla wrote:
Stay SAFE.

Typical Kenyan response!!!. Why don't you read the whole statement not nusu nusu. Let me undeline it for you
Kenya Government statistics are nothing but numbers if they dont explain the epidemiology of the said pneumonia. If you can't read that statement in full, What evidence can you piece up together then?
This is NOT the time to "Piece up Evidence" What evidence are you piecing up anyway.Then after you've pieced up the evidence, of what help will it be? Let us all help fight the spread of this Killer Virus.
#Stay Safe

I agree with you, this is a country where people cannot differentiate between allergies, a common cold, and flu. All are referred to as "flu". They will tell you Pneumonia is a hard cough, and cold weather is the cause of these diseases.
#732 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 4:17:21 PM

Rongla wrote:
mpobiz wrote:
Rongla wrote:
Stay SAFE.

#Stay Safe

I repeat please explain your ignorance in calling goverment statistics "just numbers" statistics are gathered not for specific conclusions but for a layman like you simply to arrive at the nearest factor or factors. And yours about wet and cold weather is just one of the factors.
This is a forum where we exchange ideas and in this case we are learning to work with what we have. The problem with you is that you the kind that can't add 1+1 quickly because in your head it's primitive not to use a calculator.
#733 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 4:19:26 PM

+9 = 59 End of March

Approximately 5,047 cases in Africa.
#734 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 5:34:02 PM

Rongla wrote:
Stay SAFE.

Dont get worked up.We appreciate the magnitude of the problem at hand and are doing our best to keep it at bay as guided.

However we have some observations,simplistic and mundane as they may be(and perhaps coupled by our extremism in hope that we shall overcome) that need deeper scrutiny.

1.Some 17 kids died in Kilifi....we need to know the cause.Could it be COVID?What will that mean to their families in terms of infections?
2.Today we are told there is a sharp rise in pneumonia with a whooping 57k people,could it be COVID
3.We started serious action on 13th March,what was the situation like in Jan and Feb.Did we have major outbreaks even if its flu,deaths etc
4.With the sharp increase in pneumonia,if by bad fortune it's related to COVID,how are our medics?

Is it wrong to ask such questions as we wash our hands,sanitize,observe social distance etc.

I also believe their is nothing wrong in hoping it's been around and we are healing well without much intervention.

#Stayathome
#735 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 5:38:16 PM

+9 = 59 End of March

We are running short of time.

I urge the min. Health to change the message on masks:

A mask is NOT for everyone. Wear a mask only if you are sneezing or coughing or in presence of a suspected patient. For help call 719 or dial *719#

Let's not leave this matter to suspicion. Let everyone mask up, so that we can slow the virus, and we can buy any time needed to flatten the curve. It may not be easy for us to change the tide shortly after now. Just let all be deeply engaged. It may look inconvenient, but it may help us gain advantage over the virus.

I like the map. We may need to reduce movement into and from the hot spots as much as possible, except for essentials. I suggest that only a specialist group does the supplies, under a strict regime, then the flattening can start on these spots. We can do simultaneous ops on the spots and
And slowly lower and bend the slope.

Otherwise I believe we have little time for debate only. We said this week is decisive. Let's carry on the with the momentum. We can get to a new phase of action immediately.
Rongla
#736 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 6:37:31 PM

mpobiz wrote:
Rongla wrote:
mpobiz wrote:
Rongla wrote:
Stay SAFE.

#Stay Safe

I repeat please explain your ignorance in calling goverment statistics "just numbers" statistics are gathered not for specific conclusions but for a layman like you simply to arrive at the nearest factor or factors. And yours about wet and cold weather is just one of the factors.
This is a forum where we exchange ideas and in this case we are learning to work with what we have. The problem with you is that you the kind that can't add 1+1 quickly because in your head it's primitive not to use a calculator.

@Mpobiz Statistics without any empirical evidence is nothing but JUST NUMBERS. Secondly Statistics are not just there to be followed but are also supposed to be questioned? Especially those from Government of Kenya. There is a high possibility of irregularities on the way the statistics were arrived at. If the numbers include data from private hospitals such as Nairobi Women's Hospital et al, whose diagnoses are not for disease but based on the final bill payable, that's worrying!!. If they're from counties, God HELP Us and God HELP you Mpobiz
#737 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 8:16:41 PM

Rongla wrote:
mpobiz wrote:
Rongla wrote:
mpobiz wrote:
Rongla wrote:
Stay SAFE.

#Stay Safe

@Mpobiz Statistics without any empirical evidence is nothing but JUST NUMBERS. Secondly Statistics are not just there to be followed but are also supposed to be questioned? Especially those from Government of Kenya. There is a high possibility of irregularities on the way the statistics were arrived at. If the numbers include data from private hospitals such as Nairobi Women's Hospital et al, whose diagnoses are not for disease but based on the final bill payable, that's worrying!!. If they're from counties, God HELP Us and God HELP you Mpobiz

Tehehe.. wewe hii lisungu mingi ndio inakusumbua or you are just scared of the end of the world. Relax bwana all is well. I did not say statistics are facts. And yes you have every right to question them but so long as you don't know the method used to collect them statistics as you have clearly told us. Then the statistics are not just numbers. Anyway tulia hapo nyumbani and I assure you again all will be well. If Prince Charles can make it @rongla ni nani asicharaze corona kabuti.
#738 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 8:17:56 PM

Rongla
#739 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 8:30:34 PM

+9 = 59 End of March

A mask is NOT for everyone. Wear a mask only if you are sneezing or coughing or in presence of a suspected patient. For help call 719 or dial *719#

Let's not leave this matter to suspicion. Let everyone mask up, so that we can slow the virus, and we can buy any time needed to flatten the curve. It may not be easy for us to change the tide shortly after now. Just let all be deeply engaged. It may look inconvenient, but it may help us gain advantage over the virus.

I like the map. We may need to reduce movement into and from the hot spots as much as possible, except for essentials. I suggest that only a specialist group does the supplies, under a strict regime, then the flattening can start on these spots. We can do simultaneous ops on the spots and

Otherwise I believe we have little time for debate only. We said this week is decisive. Let's carry on the with the momentum. We can get to a new phase of action immediately.

l strongly support this. Please spread the word. MASK UP! MASK UP!Mask up. Kama hauna mask Use Bandana, Kitambaa or lesso. The severity of Covid 19 is not only depended on age and underlying medical conditions. It's very much depended on how much VIRUS LOAD gets into your lungs. Those who inhale infected droplets suffer more as the body immune system goes overdrive fighting off the infection. If everyone wears some form of protection, lt will reduce the viral load, reduce severity and SAVE LIVES. SPREAD THE WORD ## STAY SAFE#
psThe Western World is Not encouraging Maskng Up due to severe Shortage of PPEs. Their health care Systems are in severe Shortage and if the General population masks up, the stocks will try up in a matter of hours
Kenyans Cover Up, Save lives
#740 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 8:43:40 PM

Rongla wrote:
[quote=murchr]+9 = 59 End of March

l strongly support this. Please spread the word. MASK UP! MASK UP!Mask up. Kama hauna mask Use Bandana, Kitambaa or lesso. The severity of Covid 19 is not only depended on age and underlying medical conditions. It's very much depended on how much VIRUS LOAD gets into your lungs. Those who inhale infected droplets suffer more as the body immune system goes overdrive fighting off the infection. If everyone wears some form of protection, lt will reduce the viral load, reduce severity and SAVE LIVES. SPREAD THE WORD ## STAY SAFE#
psThe Western World is Not encouraging Maskng Up due to severe Shortage of PPEs. Their health care Systems are in severe Shortage and if the General population masks up, the stocks will try up in a matter of hours

I came across this article a few days ago very interesting read

When historians tally up the many missteps policymakers have made in response to the coronavirus pandemic, the senseless and unscientific push for the general public to avoid wearing masks should be near the top.