wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

141 Pages«<2930313233>»
Coronavirus
#601 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 8:27:03 PM

Alma, have you been tested yet, are these tests accessible? Don't recommend what can't and won't happen. Underreporting and false presentation may be the norm in this epidemic, but it can do us great damage.

Do you believe there is under reporting?

In this era of Social Media,you cannot hide too much.The sick and dying are our relatives and we shall broadcast it far and wide.

Ofcourse different from Robert Alai unsubstantiated claims of 2 Europeans dead at Mombasa Port,or Chinese being evacuated in Lamu.

#602 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 8:28:38 PM

Alma, have you been tested yet, are these tests accessible? Don't recommend what can't and won't happen. Underreporting and false presentation may be the norm in this epidemic, but it can do us great damage.

I am telling you what needs to happen.

Find my first post on this thread. You shall see I said. Test and isolate.

If you are not being tested, that's not my fault. Expect what's going to happen next with absolute certainty.

Let me quote Itumbi, "systems ya facts"

Nothing else works. But if you find another witchdoctor treatment like Trump, tell me about it.

If the gov't isn't doing that, well, I didn't vote for them.

If I succumb to it, I'll do so knowing I said the truth. No biggie, Mukiri will support me in heaven.

Nothing else is working.

Lockdown, test and isolate.

You'll scare people for nothing when you say that the only thing that is working is a fantasy.

You have no proof that fantasies are not true. Just a word.

I am retelling a story that is being written even as we speak.

Lockdown, test, isolate.

If that's a fantasy, then expect what is coming.

We can determine what will come. It only takes willpower and intelligence. We can take the next best step and mitigate a crisis. Let's concentrate on what we have at hand.

@Lolest, raising funds and using them with reserve and keen strategy is important. While we mull over and raise funds, we may need an operations doctrine and synch it with govt efforts. I volunteer for such a task if needed.
#603 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 8:40:58 PM

If you are not being tested, that's not my fault. Expect what's going to happen next with absolute certainty.

Nothing else works. But if you find another witchdoctor treatment like Trump, tell me about it.

If I succumb to it, I'll do so knowing I said the truth. No biggie, Mukiri will support me in heaven.

Nothing else is working.

You'll scare people for nothing when you say that the only thing that is working is a fantasy.

Lockdown, test, isolate.

We can determine what will come. It only takes willpower and intelligence. We can take the next best step and mitigate a crisis. Let's concentrate on what we have at hand.

@Lolest, raising funds and using them with reserve and keen strategy is important. While we mull over and raise funds, we may need an operations doctrine and synch it with govt efforts. I volunteer for such a task if needed.

Tycho, my fren

I'd like you to take a step back for a second. Think of this scenario.

You were born poor, you have an idea. You can't borrow from your family, they are all poor. In fact, people are telling you, it is "impractical, impossible". In fact, look at our history, no one can ever make it.

Yet, you know that the only way you are going to survive is by following that stupid idea.

Do you give up and agree or work to make it happen?

That's the difference between human beings.

Everyone has a challenge. Some agree, others don't.

You know you have to climb that mountain and you climb it. Just climb Mr. Kilimanjaro one day.

This is a virus.

To kill it, we have to stay apart. There's no other way.

It's up to us to stand up and be counted.

Not complaining about our personal issues.

#604 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 8:41:30 PM

That guy was talking like aemathenge is right now just 3 weeks ago.

There's no shortcut here. Test, isolate.

Any other method is not working. Those are the facts.

There you go again. Irritatingly Condescending.

But for argument's sake Lets do it your way.

Testing in Mwea would require Public Medical Personnel.

Her Excellency, with her spat with the Kirinyaga County Personnel, including her former County Executive, has ensured this would be a tall order.

Testing kits: Even if these were available, the logistics again would rest on a handicapped Public Medical Personnel network.

Isolation: Desperate times call for desperate measures.

Enlist the services of the Boda Boda Cartel Networks peppered with a few Police Officers.

With a few coins in their pockets, those Boys will give you a lockdown that would impress your beloved Chinese Autocrats.

Question is is the Government willing to "work" with the Boys having in mind how the "Mungiki issue" turned out?

Enlighten me but do not hide behind a cloak of superiority complex.
#605 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 8:44:27 PM

wukan wrote:
Italy death toll 919 in a day.

US has much steeper curve than Italy. April-May you will need alcohol to follow the updates.

CNN reports 969 dont know where they are getting the 50 more

For US, If they make the equipment needed then they will get off this as victors.

It is said that in a normal situation, a patient uses the respirator for 3-4 days, but for COVID19 its taking 11 to 15 days for a patient to get off. That's where the problem is
#606 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 8:45:49 PM

Lastly as much as you can tell people not to support this gov't remember that those guys in Mukuru depend on those midro crass people you keep on bringing about.

Small businesses in Kenya hire those mukuru people as you call them.

I can assure you, for 3 weeks, no one is paying invoices, no one is signing a contract, no one is even imagining getting a new project going.

Which means, people are going to be fired, have already been fired and are being fired.

The midro crass as you call them can't afford to pay rent or mortgages. For both their offices and even where their families live.

It is sexy to support the so called poor, but the economic truth in Kenya is that it survives with those subaru guys you don't seem to entertain as being human.

The subaru guys are telling you, forgo your "me, me" attitude for a moment.

Stay home. So we can all clear this hurdle faster.

But if you think that life will be great for you after, think again.

Small businesses support this economy, some nduthi guys are suggesting that life is all about them and corona is a rich man's disease.

That's not true.

Mkae nyumbani tafadhali.

So far, I have no reason for civil disobedience. I am only calling out for consideration of a scenario that we are both in agreement about. There are very few tests happening, and a lockdown is tricky. The government has indicated willingness to support an offensive strategy and I say we take it.

I have a problem when the middle-class (presuming you are a member) begins attacking the poor without warrant, like you did in your earlier posts. The poor and the rich depend on each other, and ought to help each other. I have lived long enough to know that the difference between the classes is a superficial one.

If we say 'lockdown' then let's meet the challenge together. Share where necessary. If it's about testing, maybe we can improvise if we can think together. We can follow your recommendations if we can work together and intelligently. And that's the thrust of my argument.

#607 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 8:49:55 PM

Nothing else is working.

Lockdown, test, isolate.

Tycho, my fren

You were born poor, you have an idea. You can't borrow from your family, they are all poor. In fact, people are telling you, it is "impractical, impossible". In fact, look at our history, no one can ever make it.

Yet, you know that the only way you are going to survive is by following that stupid idea.

You know you have to climb that mountain and you climb it. Just climb Mr. Kilimanjaro one day.

This is a virus.

I will work to make the idea happen. I can tell you my entire life has been about making the impossible to happen. And normally, things happen when I swing to action.
#608 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 9:02:31 PM

In this era of Social Media,you cannot hide too much.The sick and dying are our relatives and we shall broadcast it far and wide.

Ofcourse different from Robert Alai unsubstantiated claims of 2 Europeans dead at Mombasa Port,or Chinese being evacuated in Lamu.

If testing kits are strained, then it is likely that cases will be underreported. A friend from the Netherlands just informed me of how tests are rare there. He claims to know of people who wished to have the tests but couldn't access them.

There are links claiming that for every 1 reported case there was a probability of 5 or more unreported cases in Wuhan.

Sembuse Kenya?
#609 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 9:47:46 PM

If testing kits are strained, then it is likely that cases will be underreported. A friend from the Netherlands just informed me of how tests are rare there. He claims to know of people who wished to have the tests but couldn't access them.

There are links claiming that for every 1 reported case there was a probability of 5 or more unreported cases in Wuhan.

Sembuse Kenya?

Tested or not,are we having many cases of sick people(respiratory) out there.Is or possible for a large number of citizens to hide this?

Are we having too many unexplained deaths since Jan to now?Is it possible to hide this?

If we get it and heal without being tested and added to the statistics,the better us.
#610 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 10:29:34 PM

Sembuse Kenya?

Tested or not,are we having many cases of sick people(respiratory) out there.Is or possible for a large number of citizens to hide this?

Are we having too many unexplained deaths since Jan to now?Is it possible to hide this?

If we get it and heal without being tested and added to the statistics,the better us.

https://www.japantimes.c...cond-wave/#.Xn5SU5BRUSw

It is possible that cases are only beginning in Kenya and the underreporting is only in its early stages.
#611 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 10:33:19 PM

Nothing else is working.

Lockdown, test, isolate.

Tycho, my fren

This is a virus.

I will work to make the idea happen. I can tell you my entire life has been about making the impossible to happen. And normally, things happen when I swing to action.

My fren, me and you have done one or two things together.

We just have a difference of opinion of how it should be done.

That's an easy thing to deal with over a cuppa.

But I will insist, that on this one. I do not want my country to go the way of New York with their verbose madman.

Coz I know it is impossible for us to survive this without being strong handed.

I agree completely that leaving the masses on their own may not work. May never work. But at the same time, if it doesn't work, they too, shall disappear from this earth.

I will be there. Me and all the friends to make a bit palatable. Whoever I can get to support this I shall. That's all I can do.

But I know for a fact, unless Kenyans are beaten in the head, they will not understand.

This thing is not a joke.

I have doctor friends who are yapping about their FB profiles saying it's just a flu. None of my Kenyan doctor frens have dealt with it's consequences? None.

In fact, they no as much as I do about this virus.

All I know is that Doctors in China, Italy, France, New York are crying like babies.

If I have to force fear into you I will. And I'll do it without being a paid "mbrogger". It's the only thing I can do.

Kenya cannot deal with this shit.

Let everyone be beaten wakae nyumbani tafadhali.

This is the only time to be counted. And we shall be counted. If we survive this thing.

If I gave you the true numbers in the States, you will lock yourself up right now.

There shall be no America as you know it by July if their madman continues selling prescriptions on the internet.

Please watch the numbers on Thursday in the US.

Thus far, the fake numbers they are giving are still waaaay ahead of what we thought.

Please stay home.

And encourage everyone to stay home.

This is not a flu. It's the real deal. Jesus is not coming back before Covid 19. But he can if you wash your hands.

#612 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 10:50:11 PM

I am reading the WHO - China mission on Corvid-19 report. For example it is saying:

[quote]based on 55924 laboratory confirmed cases, typical signs and symptoms include: fever
(87.9%), dry cough (67.7%), fatigue (38.1%), sputum production (33.4%), shortness of breath
(18.6%), sore throat (13.9%), headache (13.6%), myalgia or arthralgia (14.8%), chills (11.4%),
nausea or vomiting (5.0%), nasal congestion (4.8%), diarrhea (3.7%), and hemoptysis (0.9%),
and conjunctival congestion (0.8%)./quote]

A look at the demographic trends also reveals space for hope and manoeuvre. China and other countries have done the tough part well. What we need to do is figure out how to use the info generated. We know that most people with mild cases can go to work, and we have profiles of those who are most susceptible.

To me this is enough info for serious preparation and planning, and action. Corona is not the threat we suppose it to be. It can be handled with reasonable success.
#613 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 11:06:20 PM

We are in agreement that we don't want to let things go out of control. Let us also agree to take advantage of what has been learned by others.

Frankly, I suspect we need the tests less than the Chinese. We need a self reporting mechanism for later serological tests and other investigations, and a rule of thumb for treatment and management of cases.

Otherwise our difference in opinion alma, is part if healthy debate and can help create better solutions.
#614 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 11:35:38 PM

We are in agreement that we don't want to let things go out of control. Let us also agree to take advantage of what has been learned by others.

Frankly, I suspect we need the tests less than the Chinese. We need a self reporting mechanism for later serological tests and other investigations, and a rule of thumb for treatment and management of cases.

Otherwise our difference in opinion alma, is part if healthy debate and can help create better solutions.

I agree.

And I know they read this forum.

I hope I have put the fear of God in them and you have shown them a way out.

Umeskia bwana CS?

Don't bring us your political nonsense here after 5 months after you had read what you have read.

I swear, I shall put your names here.

#615 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2020 1:26:34 AM

#616 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2020 3:02:22 AM

I just have to say. As much as I support the gov't with this curfew, the evidence is clear.

Marrying a Kenyan policeman is a sure way to ensure your children end up as dunderheads.

#617 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2020 7:27:49 AM

We need masks. This is because we know like 80% of cases will manifest with a cough, with 38% experiencing fatigue. Mindfulness and control can be easily lost and the habit of covering the mouth can be easily flouted. We also know there's an asymptomatic period when a good laugh can kill. And if we want to cut the cases to as few as possible, we must control saliva droplet collection, and prevent saliva from getting on other surfaces easily.
Such an arrangement will assist also where we may fail in social distancing like in matatus.

It's possible that there's a shortage of mask supply. So let's make them using our local tailors. We can improvise on materials to use. Besides, that may be the start of the local textile industry we so want. Plus, we will develop confidence in the economy and we might just escape an economic depression.
#618 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2020 9:19:46 AM

We need masks. This is because we know like 80% of cases will manifest with a cough, with 38% experiencing fatigue. Mindfulness and control can be easily lost and the habit of covering the mouth can be easily flouted. We also know there's an asymptomatic period when a good laugh can kill. And if we want to cut the cases to as few as possible, we must control saliva droplet collection, and prevent saliva from getting on other surfaces easily.
Such an arrangement will assist also where we may fail in social distancing like in matatus.

It's possible that there's a shortage of mask supply. So let's make them using our local tailors. We can improvise on materials to use. Besides, that may be the start of the local textile industry we so want. Plus, we will develop confidence in the economy and we might just escape an economic depression.

Good ideas.

Please guide on the materials that can be used?

Let's start getting local solutions.Actually the images from China showed people with Masks all over.

After patient zero was announced,there were no masks in the pharmacies,so for sure we have non.We need to make them.
#619 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2020 9:59:19 AM

Thanks, @Bigchick. I have experimented with shower caps and 1 shower cap can give 4 masks. Add elastic and a material for finishing the edges. But these shower caps too may be scarce.

I believe we can do well enough if we use jeans material. There's plenty of it to ensure every eligible Kenyan has at least 2 masks.

Please help in discovering other materials. If we run out of elastic we can convert shoe laces, use strings, or cut pieces of cloth.
#620 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2020 10:51:57 AM

Thanks, @Bigchick. I have experimented with shower caps and 1 shower cap can give 4 masks. Add elastic and a material for finishing the edges. But these shower caps too may be scarce.

I believe we can do well enough if we use jeans material. There's plenty of it to ensure every eligible Kenyan has at least 2 masks.

Please help in discovering other materials. If we run out of elastic we can convert shoe laces, use strings, or cut pieces of cloth.

Solutions.

With the many faces of @Tycho, this face I love.