wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

141 Pages«<2829303132>»
Coronavirus
#581 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 5:11:21 PM

Pole man, but our cases are likely far more than reported and we need some drastic measure to bring them down

Add that to the prolonged suffering by traders all over the country. From early this week markets and shops have been closed. If we delay having a lockdown we deny people a living before lockdown and during lockdown

Today, people were teargassed in some Kiambu trading centres. They were forced to close

I am tired of talking banalities. It is time to go Nuclear.

Up until now, this has been nothing but a "Television" show.

"Something" happens in China and Italy and America and suddenly the typical Mwea resident has something else to "see" on television besides Kum Kum Bhagaya, Papa Shirandula, and The BBI Circus.

Until there are uncollected bodies lying on the pathways, shop verandas, paddy fields, and rice milling factories, "LOCKDOWN" shall remain nothing more than Huduma Number, Laptops for standard one pupils, stadia in all counties, et al.

"We" cannot even manage The National Blood Bank.

The Kirinyaga County Government and Her Excellency have been on an ongoing cold war with the County Medics.

As the cliche goes, things are different on the Mwea ground.

Neighbors who watch "The News" religiously on Television tell me they have not seen Brilliant Marketer Turned Politician Hon. Kagwe wearing a "Corona Virus Mask, or even His Excellency, for that matter.

It is just a Television Show like Jack Bauer and Malwan.

Let the Government fix these optics and then "we" shall take this "thing" seriously.

Start with Mama Margaret Kenyatta in the private residence of State House wearing a Corona Virus Mask.
#582 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 5:43:58 PM

@mkenyan,

My issue is not about the treatment in a private hospital but did the govt know that he was a case or has he also spread it? Community spreading is the most dangerous case.

The reason CS Kagwe is insisting that we only have one source of information.This is very misleading.

This is one of the cases reported earlier.He is one of the contacts with the Kilifi DG.You can see it is dated 25th March.

Let's only reason to Kagwe please.

Rabai MP William Kamoti tests positive for Coronavirus, Premier hospital in Msa confirms. He had contacted Kilifi DG Saburi! All medical staff in contact with MP put on isolation by the hospital

Yes he tested positive 3 days ago and the memo to Premier Hospital staff 2 days ago.On 25th.He is part of Kagwes statistics not a new case.

The COVID 19 response team and MOH remain the only source of info.
#583 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 5:44:26 PM

@Alma has asked the following question:

[quote]Tycho, tell me where you mukuru people will go if only 5k of them tested positive kesho. Which hospital? Which doctor? Which ventilators? /quote]

I say this question applies to any place in Kenya, and at the moment we may be surprised that even alma will be asking himself the question. It is likely that numbers of sick people will rise with time.

A 5k infection in Mukuru is likely to have 80% mild infections. These can be organized from home and standard treatment applied. Serious cases have their ventilators I presume. If not ways to improvise will and must be found. If, it is upon my call and it has happened.

I know that some people in Mukuru who have no relevant skill and who went to school with alma may try to be shot while protesting or pleading for mercy. But it doesn't have to be that way. I have never met a problem with no seed to its solution.

If we just stay home and while away a day, and another till day 21 with no or little food, little personal space, waiting for govt to say 'come out' then we are likely to come out soon because even the government doesn't know when all this will end. People will get too hungry, and coming out prematurely may worsen things.
#584 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 6:20:03 PM

[quote=tycho]@Alma has asked the following question:

Tycho, tell me where you mukuru people will go if only 5k of them tested positive kesho. Which hospital? Which doctor? Which ventilators? /quote]

I say this question applies to any place in Kenya, and at the moment we may be surprised that even alma will be asking himself the question. It is likely that numbers of sick people will rise with time.

A 5k infection in Mukuru is likely to have 80% mild infections. These can be organized from home and standard treatment applied. Serious cases have their ventilators I presume. If not ways to improvise will and must be found. If, it is upon my call and it has happened.

I know that some people in Mukuru who have no relevant skill and who went to school with alma may try to be shot while protesting or pleading for mercy. But it doesn't have to be that way. I have never met a problem with no seed to its solution.

If we just stay home and while away a day, and another till day 21 with no or little food, little personal space, waiting for govt to say 'come out' then we are likely to come out soon because even the government doesn't know when all this will end. People will get too hungry, and coming out prematurely may worsen things.

You are talking to aemathenge.

Even now he believes this is just a movie. I'm not unaware that a lot of Kenyans think the same. Unfortunately, a gov't can't look at you committing suicide. It's actually a crime.

You are the one generalising people by calling them poor people who can't think.

I on the other hand believe that once the reality of what this thing can do hits home, every human being will protect themselves and it starts by isolating.

You are the one calling them so poor that they don't know that if they go out touching people, they might bring the disease to their homes and the gov't and NGO's in Mathare will not help them.

What I have seen today is people going home.

I have not seen the so called mass annoyance you are trying to proclaim here. There is no mass anything when you are dying. Even worse, when you are busy infecting other people.

aemathenge my fren. The people in Mwea will stay at home the moment one of them gets sick. Ask the people in Kilifi. You don't have to tell anyone in Kilifi to self quarantine, they are doing so.

I normally don't support gov't but this is the reason why gov'ts exist. To save the many from a few basically stupid people.

Stay home and encourage people to stay home. If you see your neighbour in economic distress, share with them. You are also welcome to ask gov't officials and mpigs you elected to help out when you see such cases. If you voted right, they will. If you voted wrong, well, choices.....

Telling them it's their right to make a living is akin to murder with a soft voice.

Stay home. You can catch up with your wife, husband and kids. You can go hustle at 6 am tomorrow.

#585 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 6:42:00 PM

#586 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 6:43:30 PM

So far there's no annoyance because it is fair to have a dusk to dawn curfew. I am in no rush to stockpile food or some drastic act. I hope that I will do a few things tomorrow. Many people you've seen going home, hope so.

A test you can take is to find out if there's an increase in robberies or theft. You are a stats guy you can check. But my hypothesis is that these crimes may have risen in the past one month.

BTW, alma, its not like I don't like staying indoors. Today I've gone out only once. Without public responsibility I can disappear from view for extended periods. Hibernation is my thing. And I know its limits well.

Some Mukuru people of course may not be conversant with reason. Just like some of us here may find reasoning tedious. (In effect a coalition of some here and Mukuruans can occur)

It is good to know that our government will not allow suicide. If this were the case then I could have some convincing evidence to this effect. As it is, bado. Serikali is doing below par. Even the Spanish and Italian governments care for their people. The miracle you hope we'll get didn't happen to them. No model country you've mentioned has had less than 30k infections and measures are tough there.
#587 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 6:49:17 PM

Out pricing the competition. How should we regard the offer, assuming we're the target audience?
#588 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 6:52:22 PM

Out pricing the competition. How should we regard the offer, assuming we're the target audience?

America will come to Kenya and hire each and every nurse. That's just a fact.

I know it's difficult for everyone. Especially small businesses. We have shut down our projects since the 6th of this month. Other companies longer. I am for the view, that it's better you take a bitter pill right now, than wait until sijui 6 months from now.

Wazua will have fewer users by then. Not because of dying, but their businesses will have been finished.

#589 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 6:58:06 PM

aemathenge is home.

He finds work online, works online, gets paid online. He is a freelance writer.

For him, staying home for long periods of time is not something the Corona Punch drunk Handshake Regime needs to ask him to do.

He does it because it is part of how he makes a living.

His biggest concerns are that God forbade, Safaricom disconnects the internet, The US Dollar to Kenia Shilling Exchange Rate, which is "rising", by the way, thank you very much, and his tea supplier.

Come on Alex, you know aemathenge.

Nevertheless, he has neighbors. His home-based working station neighbors a number of rice milling factories.

He has nephews, nieces, relatives, and sits on the neighborhood committee of Nyumba Kumi board as Secretary.

As such, Alex, when he vents his frustrations about the Television Show, these are not his personal sentiments.

No, my man, these are the queries all these people are raising.

Due to the dust emanating from milling rice, as many as 80% of the people he encounters in the neighborhood have coughs, are sneezing, and are blowing their noses the kienyenji way.

As such, it will be difficult to find out if "we" have the virus or not.

In view of the foregoing, give "us" practical answers and not nauseatingly condescending rebuttals that are profoundly irritating.

#590 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 6:58:58 PM

Shak wrote:
We need to push for extensive and widespread testing and isolation of positive cases a la South Korea combined with social distancing and enhanced hygiene measures. It's simply impractical and a recipe for chaos to lock down the entire population. We also need to urgently equip our hospitals and medics in preparation for a massive outbreak.

There must be ways we can mitigate against unrest. Fundraisers etc to cushion the lower classes

Everybody survives on small amounts of food. Hata kama ni ugali na beans pekee

We're in very tricky times. We need to be pragmatic. If developed countries' health systems are unable to cope with this pandemic, how shall we cope?

Equip our hospitals urgently, you say? We're like 20 years too late! If this thing was localised like Ebola, Haiti earthquake, Japan tsunami etc we would have hoped for help from international community.

But we are alone now. Everyone is inward looking and nationalistic. The only funds nations have are for their own.

#591 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 7:11:41 PM

There must be ways we can mitigate against unrest. Fundraisers etc to cushion the lower classes

Everybody survives on small amounts of food. Hata kama ni ugali na beans pekee

We're in very tricky times. We need to be pragmatic. If developed countries' health systems are unable to cope with this pandemic, how shall we cope?

Equip our hospitals urgently, you say? We're like 20 years too late! If this thing was localised like Ebola, Haiti earthquake, Japan tsunami etc we would have hoped for help from international community.

But we are alone now. Everyone is inward looking and nationalistic. The only funds nations have are for their own.

Hear, hear.

This is the most brilliant post I have seen on this thread.

Let us stop talking about China, Italy, US, et al. Please.

Local solutions to our very own unique situation is the way to go.

I am raising the "survival fund" issue during tomorrow's neighborhood watch meeting.

Thank you @Lolest for the suggestion.
#592 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 7:22:59 PM

Things are getting desperate

#593 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 7:41:16 PM

Things are getting desperate

That guy was talking like aemathenge is right now just 3 weeks ago.

There's no shortcut here. Test, isolate.

Any other method is not working. Those are the facts.

#594 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 7:46:39 PM

Alma, have you been tested yet, are these tests accessible? Don't recommend what can't and won't happen. Underreporting and false presentation may be the norm in this epidemic, but it can do us great damage.
wukan
#595 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 7:50:52 PM

Italy death toll 919 in a day.

US has much steeper curve than Italy. April-May you will need alcohol to follow the updates.

#596 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 7:52:31 PM

Alma, have you been tested yet, are these tests accessible? Don't recommend what can't and won't happen. Underreporting and false presentation may be the norm in this epidemic, but it can do us great damage.

I am telling you what needs to happen.

Find my first post on this thread. You shall see I said. Test and isolate.

If you are not being tested, that's not my fault. Expect what's going to happen next with absolute certainty.

Let me quote Itumbi, "systems ya facts"

Nothing else works. But if you find another witchdoctor treatment like Trump, tell me about it.

If the gov't isn't doing that, well, I didn't vote for them.

If I succumb to it, I'll do so knowing I said the truth. No biggie, Mukiri will support me in heaven.

Nothing else is working.

Lockdown, test and isolate.

#597 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 7:53:55 PM

America will come to Kenya and hire each and every nurse. That's just a fact.

I know it's difficult for everyone. Especially small businesses. We have shut down our projects since the 6th of this month. Other companies longer. I am for the view, that it's better you take a bitter pill right now, than wait until sijui 6 months from now.

Wazua will have fewer users by then. Not because of dying, but their businesses will have been finished.

Again, things don't have to go this way. We can choose to come out of Corona stronger and with prospects for economic power and welfare. Only a vivid ideology can help the state to secure quality healthcare in the face of poaching and mercantilist ideas.

We have to be proud to be here in Kenya. We need to enjoy making Kenya a great country. And we can do this by changing our view of politics and government.
#598 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 7:55:51 PM

If you are not being tested, that's not my fault. Expect what's going to happen next with absolute certainty.

Nothing else works. But if you find another witchdoctor treatment like Trump, tell me about it.

If I succumb to it, I'll do so knowing I said the truth. No biggie, Mukiri will support me in heaven.

Nothing else is working.

You'll scare people for nothing when you say that the only thing that is working is a fantasy.
#599 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 8:06:09 PM

Nothing else is working.

You'll scare people for nothing when you say that the only thing that is working is a fantasy.

You have no proof that fantasies are not true. Just a word.

I am retelling a story that is being written even as we speak.

Lockdown, test, isolate.

If that's a fantasy, then expect what is coming.

#600 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 8:15:20 PM

Lastly as much as you can tell people not to support this gov't remember that those guys in Mukuru depend on those midro crass people you keep on bringing about.

Small businesses in Kenya hire those mukuru people as you call them.

I can assure you, for 3 weeks, no one is paying invoices, no one is signing a contract, no one is even imagining getting a new project going.

Which means, people are going to be fired, have already been fired and are being fired.

The midro crass as you call them can't afford to pay rent or mortgages. For both their offices and even where their families live.

It is sexy to support the so called poor, but the economic truth in Kenya is that it survives with those subaru guys you don't seem to entertain as being human.

The subaru guys are telling you, forgo your "me, me" attitude for a moment.

Stay home. So we can all clear this hurdle faster.

But if you think that life will be great for you after, think again.

Small businesses support this economy, some nduthi guys are suggesting that life is all about them and corona is a rich man's disease.

That's not true.

Mkae nyumbani tafadhali.