wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

141 Pages«<2728293031>»
Coronavirus
#561 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 3:15:43 PM

Think about this clearly.

The danger of Kenyans living in their homes for 21 days or the danger of kenyans filling up Kenyatta Hospital for 6 months. Which is worse?

And don't say it's a flu.

#562 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 3:16:48 PM

@mkenyan,

My issue is not about the treatment in a private hospital but did the govt know that he was a case or has he also spread it? Community spreading is the most dangerous case.

#563 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 3:17:34 PM

Shak wrote:
We need to push for extensive and widespread testing and isolation of positive cases a la South Korea combined with social distancing and enhanced hygiene measures. It's simply impractical and a recipe for chaos to lock down the entire population. We also need to urgently equip our hospitals and medics in preparation for a massive outbreak.

Good ideas but where is the equipment and where are the medics? Since we do not manufacture,we can only import.Who will sell to us right now.

Nitwathira.

Keep the hope my girl. don't join the bad dooms prophets
#564 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 3:21:58 PM

@mkenyan,

My issue is not about the treatment in a private hospital but did the govt know that he was a case or has he also spread it? Community spreading is the most dangerous case.

Our politicians and religious fanatics have basically doomed us to a few more weeks of fear.

#565 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 3:40:03 PM

The danger of Kenyans living in their homes for 21 days or the danger of kenyans filling up Kenyatta Hospital for 6 months. Which is worse?

The question is: What is the danger of Kenyans keeping in their houses for an indefinite period with no or little support systems: or the danger of adapting and fighting to reduce the spread quickly and actively while being able to support their families?

Maybe it's a personality issue, but I prefer an active defence. Maybe I am just hyper. Consider how easy it is for you to move from '14 days' to 21, others are talking of 3 months, what science are you folks using, so that we can know how to make that sacrifice?

#566 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 3:53:36 PM

Shak wrote:
We need to push for extensive and widespread testing and isolation of positive cases a la South Korea combined with social distancing and enhanced hygiene measures. It's simply impractical and a recipe for chaos to lock down the entire population. We also need to urgently equip our hospitals and medics in preparation for a massive outbreak.

Good ideas but where is the equipment and where are the medics? Since we do not manufacture,we can only import.Who will sell to us right now.

Nitwathira.

If we can't test, then we must presume we're all infected. What remains is monitoring symptoms and taking agreed treatments. You have seen the letter above telling patients with mild symptoms to remain home. How does a mild pneumonia look like? How can we deal with it from home, given realities like, the patients need care givers, a treatment, and hope?

Do you know, for example, any stigma associated with Covid is counterproductive? If we are keen to show that we are not infected, even those who suspect themselves will pretend all is fine: and infect more people.
#567 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 3:56:59 PM

The question is: What is the danger of Kenyans keeping in their houses for an indefinite period with no or little support systems: or the danger of adapting and fighting to reduce the spread quickly and actively while being able to support their families?

Maybe it's a personality issue, but I prefer an an active defence. Maybe I am just hyper. Consider how easy it is for you to move from '14 days' to 21, others are talking of 3 months, what science are you folks using, so that we can know how to make that sacrifice?

Because for probably one of the few times in life, you are being presented with evidence that you can see unfolding in front of your eyes.

Those countries that wear masks have reduced their infections. Those countries that locked down have reduced their infections. Those countries that locked down early have continued with their day to day lives.

On the other hand, those countries that were talking about democratic rights and sijui poor people will not survive are just getting started on the path of economic destruction.

What else do you want to be told? A Bible quote or a wise saying?

The data is right there for you to look at.

The choice is yours.

#568 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 4:16:11 PM

@mkenyan,

The reason CS Kagwe is insisting that we only have one source of information.This is very misleading.

This is one of the cases reported earlier.He is one of the contacts with the Kilifi DG.You can see it is dated 25th March.

Let's only reason to Kagwe please.
#569 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 4:17:45 PM

Shak wrote:

Nitwathira.

Am very hopeful.But sometimes am drifting and struggling to understand the situation.
sqft
#570 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 4:18:00 PM

https://www.the-star.co....d-blocks-during-curfew/

There will be no movement, either alone or in groups during the dusk to dawn curfew, IG Hillary Mutyambai has said.

Mutyambai told police to raise road blocks to prevent movement of vehicles.

Any motorist found outside the allowed time will have the vehicles detained and the owners will be arraigned.
Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
#571 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 4:22:12 PM

Alma: countries that went on lockdown early also tested for Covid aggressively. And so far we're talking China. S. Korea didn't go on lockdown - apparently they talked about rights. And yes, countries with delayed responses have borne the brunt.

Both S Korea and China have emphasized on masks. We also suspect we have few testing kits or none, and we are now talking of communal infections. Countries with lockdowns provided huge sums of money to support their operations. Kenya appears to be short of cash. You all saw Uhuru's stimulus package.

How then can we use this info and more stats provided to come with an adaptive plan? We can't jump on any answers just like that. We have to be intelligent.

Anyway, from what we have we ought to have made an easier first decision of mask wearing. Why has this been the most overlooked measure? We know talking, laughing, sneezing etc will spread the virus. Why go for more sophisticated measures?

#572 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 4:22:26 PM

wukan wrote:
Let's just have a lockdown.

I was opposed to it but at our current state we have a semi-lockdown which is a full lockdown on many especially market traders.(See Kiambu, Eldoret, Msa, Nkr)

If we continue with the current semi lockdown affecting market traders etc but leaving others then later have a full lockdown, such people will suffer twice.

Let's go for full lockdown and ALL stay @home for 3 weeks in which existing cases will have manifested themselves. I read that 148 are under quarantine in SiayaSad

How will it help if the virus can re-seed itself after 3 weeks? Look at how polio keeps coming back from Somalia

I don't understand re-seeding. Mutation? Didn't do bio but will sure read up on it
#573 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 4:25:59 PM

Let's just have a lockdown.

I was opposed to it but at our current state we have a semi-lockdown which is a full lockdown on many especially market traders.(See Kiambu, Eldoret, Msa, Nkr)

If we continue with the current semi lockdown affecting market traders etc but leaving others then later have a full lockdown, such people will suffer twice.

Let's go for full lockdown and ALL stay @home for 3 weeks in which existing cases will have manifested themselves. I read that 148 are under quarantine in SiayaSad

Those not on lockdown and going to offices and other businesses are also not earning.No body is buying non essentials.

Market traders are lucky they have ready market for produce.Imagine how Imenti house is at the moment.

Counties already closed markets. People were being chased by being teargassed today in some Kiambu markets
#574 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 4:26:26 PM

Maybe it's a personality issue, but I prefer an an active defence. Maybe I am just hyper. Consider how easy it is for you to move from '14 days' to 21, others are talking of 3 months, what science are you folks using, so that we can know how to make that sacrifice?

Because for probably one of the few times in life, you are being presented with evidence that you can see unfolding in front of your eyes.

Those countries that wear masks have reduced their infections. Those countries that locked down have reduced their infections. Those countries that locked down early have continued with their day to day lives.

On the other hand, those countries that were talking about democratic rights and sijui poor people will not survive are just getting started on the path of economic destruction.

What else do you want to be told? A Bible quote or a wise saying?

The data is right there for you to look at.

The choice is yours.

Depends on your situation. If am at home for 21 days without money and food then I would have to take a risk.
No developing country has implemented total lockdown so far.
#575 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 4:29:24 PM

Alma: countries that went on lockdown early also tested for Covid aggressively. And so far we're talking China. S. Korea didn't go on lockdown - apparently they talked about rights. And yes, countries with delayed responses have borne the brunt.

Both S Korea and China have emphasized on masks. We also suspect we have few testing kits or none, and we are now talking of communal infections. Countries with lockdowns provided huge sums of money to support their operations. Kenya appears to be short of cash. You all saw Uhuru's stimulus package.

How then can we use this info and more stats provided to come with an adaptive plan? We can't jump on any answers just like that. We have to be intelligent.

Anyway, from what we have we ought to have made an easier first decision of mask wearing. Why has this been the most overlooked measure? We know talking, laughing, sneezing etc will spread the virus. Why go for more sophisticated measures?

I am not in the business of imagining things. I live with data every day of my life.

This is a virus. It is not here to negotiate. It does not care if Kenyans are poor or rich. Neither does it care if our gov't is prepared or not.

It's sole purpose is to multiply and exist.

I have told you data doesn't lie.

You are either going to deal with it as a virus or you can start assuming that Kenya is a special case and the virus will understand. I'm sure somewhere in it's DNA it cares that Africans have been misused by Europeans and the gov't is corrupt.

Please my fren.

Stay home. If you don't die when you get it, at least you won't have blood in your hands for killing someone else.

#576 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 4:33:57 PM

I have tried. I have really tried to hold myself down.

But I cannot.

Please @Lolest, tell me you are Kenyan and have lived in Kenya all your life.

Please do @Lolest because the seething anger arising from your post is driving me loco.

Lockdown for EVERYONE at home?

Does that include The United People's Republic of Kibera, and Mukuru Kwa Njenga?

Does it include the entire Northern Frontier District where the "terrorists" reign supreme and non-Muslim teachers are persona non granta?

Does it include "Pwani Si Kenia"?

Who enforces this Lockdown? Kenyan Men in Uniform?

Do you know what roaming men in Uniform mean for our daughters, girlfriends, wives, sponsees, et al?

Do you know or recognize the power wielded by the hotheaded youthful Boda Boda riders in our society and what would happen when they are confined in a homestead for more than one day?

Have you ever heard of the corruption contagion that pervades every aspect of our society and what it would do to the logistics involved?

Have you seen/heard of the altercation that occurred at the ferry crossing yesterday?

Please enlighten me (us) what you infer when you visualize "Lockdown" for ALL because this seething anger has invoked memories of my hate for Nyaoisim and I do not want to walk that road ever again.

Please.

Pole man, but our cases are likely far more than reported and we need some drastic measure to bring them down

Add that to the prolonged suffering by traders all over the country. From early this week markets and shops have been closed. If we delay having a lockdown we deny people a living before lockdown and during lockdown

Today, people were teargassed in some Kiambu trading centres. They were forced to close
#577 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 4:38:35 PM

I have tried. I have really tried to hold myself down.

But I cannot.

Please @Lolest, tell me you are Kenyan and have lived in Kenya all your life.

Please do @Lolest because the seething anger arising from your post is driving me loco.

Lockdown for EVERYONE at home?

Does that include The United People's Republic of Kibera, and Mukuru Kwa Njenga?

Does it include the entire Northern Frontier District where the "terrorists" reign supreme and non-Muslim teachers are persona non granta?

Does it include "Pwani Si Kenia"?

Who enforces this Lockdown? Kenyan Men in Uniform?

Do you know what roaming men in Uniform mean for our daughters, girlfriends, wives, sponsees, et al?

Do you know or recognize the power wielded by the hotheaded youthful Boda Boda riders in our society and what would happen when they are confined in a homestead for more than one day?

Have you ever heard of the corruption contagion that pervades every aspect of our society and what it would do to the logistics involved?

Have you seen/heard of the altercation that occurred at the ferry crossing yesterday?

Please enlighten me (us) what you infer when you visualize "Lockdown" for ALL because this seething anger has invoked memories of my hate for Nyaoisim and I do not want to walk that road ever again.

Please.

Pole man, but our cases are likely far more than reported and we need some drastic measure to bring them down

Add that to the prolonged suffering by traders all over the country. From early this week markets and shops have been closed. If we delay having a lockdown we deny people a living before lockdown and during lockdown

Today, people were teargassed in some Kiambu trading centres. They were forced to close

That quote is a classic case of

"They have eyes but cannot see, ears but cannot hear"

#578 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 4:39:39 PM

I am not in the business of imagining things. I live with data every day of my life.

This is a virus. It is not here to negotiate. It does not care if Kenyans are poor or rich. Neither does it care if our gov't is prepared or not.

You are either going to deal with it as a virus or you can start assuming that Kenya is a special case and the virus will understand. I'm sure somewhere in it's DNA it cares that Africans have been misused by Europeans and the gov't is corrupt.

Please my fren.

Stay home. If you don't die when you get it, at least you won't have blood in your hands for killing someone else.

Now you want to argue from (false) authority. I suspect that's how your friends in the ministries are thinking. But it is you who will have blood on your hands. You will fail to advice correctly and effectively.

But it's good if you take care of yourself. Let me also take care of myself in the best way I can. But this is a real Kenyan goof.
#579 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 4:49:04 PM

Please my fren.

Now you want to argue from (false) authority. I suspect that's how your friends in the ministries are thinking. But it is you who will have blood on your hands. You will fail to advice correctly and effectively.

But it's good if you take care of yourself. Let me also take care of myself in the best way I can. But this is a real Kenyan goof.

Please let it be a goof. At least many Kenyans will have a topic to complain about as they usually do when the goof is done.

However, if it goes the other way, it will be a disaster of unimaginable proportions.

Just watch the data coming out of the US starting Wednesday next week.

Tycho, tell me where you mukuru people will go if only 5k of them tested positive kesho. Which hospital? Which doctor? Which ventilators?

They will be in the streets crying serkali saidia. However, this time, even the media will be on lockdown and no one will report it.

Guys, it's only a night curfew and already the economy is suffering. What happens if we delay and there's a full blown New York City kind of breakout? Can Kenya handle 20k new infections in a day? Can Kenya handle 6 months of this economy just because the nduthi guys are shouting?

Are you kidding me?

Stay home.

#580 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 4:58:17 PM

@mkenyan,

The reason CS Kagwe is insisting that we only have one source of information.This is very misleading.

This is one of the cases reported earlier.He is one of the contacts with the Kilifi DG.You can see it is dated 25th March.

Let's only reason to Kagwe please.

Rabai MP William Kamoti tests positive for Coronavirus, Premier hospital in Msa confirms. He had contacted Kilifi DG Saburi! All medical staff in contact with MP put on isolation by the hospital