wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

141 Pages«<1516171819>»
Coronavirus
#321 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2020 3:59:14 AM

Social distancing is very foreign to Kenyans. Even during the press conferences, why are so many people standing behind there yet they will end up saying nothing?

During US Corona briefings I always see a bunch of people behind Trump and closer to each other than even here (same to WHO briefings in a room seated though with slightly less participants - in numbers). UK briefings are different, few people far apart.
#322 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2020 6:56:07 AM

Social distancing is very foreign to Kenyans. Even during the press conferences, why are so many people standing behind there yet they will end up saying nothing?

During US Corona briefings I always see a bunch of people behind Trump and closer to each other than even here (same to WHO briefings in a room seated though with slightly less participants - in numbers). UK briefings are different, few people far apart.

Its not a us vs them. And Trump's doctors usually speak. 2 WHO employees have tested positive, is that the aim? Am highlighting that we are not practicing what we preach.

In America, every mayor is issuing briefings parallel to Trump and most of them have cut out the entourage. You never know who met who.
#323 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2020 7:18:11 AM

Kwa ground

https://www.nation.co.ke...480-101d0n3z/index.html

We are on our own ..who is serious monitoring and following up with patients.. That call centre so busy ?

Wukan has good company.Prophets of Doom!

If her means of transport has been public means,why are we expecting her to change and to what?She did the eight thing to go back to hospital.

Let us all be EXTREMISTS is prevention and spreading hope.

I await to hear her outcome.

Meanwhile,ile ya Kericho results bado?

Haiyaa I am also a prophet by quoting a victim and link from DN on the reality on the ground. Faith must be accompanied by action

Instead of prayer only I would have expected Uhuru to call us for city clean up ..the cbd is smelly and littered. Then after that we pray

Quoting is not the issue but rather the glee with which you announce "we are on our own".

Is it right for the president to call us for clean up at this time?Would that not be fertile ground for spreading it?

He can order the cleanup using experts in the same and provide them with protection.

BTW,are we gathering for the prayers or kila mtu sombre kwake?
#324 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2020 8:27:45 AM

@Wukan and other doomsday prophets.Someni hii.

https://citizentv.co.ke/...the-coronavirus-326849/

Let's take all the necessary precaution to keep it at bay but if it gets us,its not a direct ticket to the other side.

Am an EXTREMIST in hope.
#325 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2020 10:19:37 AM

madollar wrote:
Watu wameanza kujipanga mapema but trump has said they may mail 1000$ cheques in the next two weeks to calm the nerves

Gun sales rise as coronavirus fears trigger personal safety concerns

It's rather interesting that Trump and Republicans are looking very much like socialist now. Think about it - when this idea was floated by Andrew Yang it was rubbished and mocked... it goes to show that ideals are great in ideal situations - when shit hits the fan... we throw them out of the window.
#326 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2020 10:33:10 AM

I hear there is a press conference today? What time is it?
#327 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2020 10:40:55 AM

madollar wrote:
Watu wameanza kujipanga mapema but trump has said they may mail 1000$ cheques in the next two weeks to calm the nerves

Gun sales rise as coronavirus fears trigger personal safety concerns

It's rather interesting that Trump and Republicans are looking very much like socialist now. Think about it - when this idea was floated by Andrew Yang it was rubbished and mocked... it goes to show that ideals are great in ideal situations - when shit hits the fan... we throw them out of the window.

We can also say that humans have sets of ordered ideals that are chosen in 'Bayesian fashion'. In this case the socialist ideal has become salient due to prevailing conditions.
#328 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2020 11:07:44 AM

I hear there is a press conference today? What time is it?

10.30am Kenyan Time

11.30am Uhuru Kamwanas time

On economic measures being taken so I hear.
Tokyo
#329 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2020 11:16:15 AM

While others are serious in researching for cure and economical interventions , Uhuru is calling you all to prayers. Honestly. As if God isn’t updated on pandemic
work to prosper
#330 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2020 11:27:27 AM

Given that:

1. An infected person can infect others for five days without anyone noticing

2. The reproductive rate maybe between 2 and 6

3.The lockdowns we have are not complete shutdown of all movement

4. Recovery takes around two weeks of self isolation

5. The demands for social distancing may be difficult to attain

6. Reinfection may be a more stable matter to handle

We are likely to end up with the widespread and intense infections that we may be avoiding.

Why don't we consider then, infecting screened volunteers deliberately and in sequence so that we can develop a resistant group of workers and service providers at probably a rate faster than the viral growth and distribution?
#331 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2020 12:06:01 PM

The CBK and Patrick Njoroge forgot one thing. Mobile money is not something you pluck from Mpesa. You first need money. To get a moratorium on a loan, you first need a loan.

I didn't see anywhere the CBK has helped the currently worried masses deal with the "hakuna pesa" problem.

Those bank notes they are planning to keep in their vaults for a week may end up staying there for a year if he can't come up with FISCAL policies that help the masses.

Tokyo
#332 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2020 1:42:22 PM

7 cases and counting..,
work to prosper
eboomerang
#333 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2020 1:48:25 PM

@Wukan and other doomsday prophets.Someni hii.

https://citizentv.co.ke/...the-coronavirus-326849/

Let's take all the necessary precaution to keep it at bay but if it gets us,its not a direct ticket to the other side.

Am an EXTREMIST in hope.

First, there is no doubt that people can and will recover, the issue is about those who are vulnerable in the population and the healthcare system getting overwhelmed in dealing with a surge in providing care for the fatal cases.

Secondly, an average house in US may have AC and self quarantine at home could work what about here in Kenya ?

We might be lucky given a generally young demographic lakini, the effects on other parts of our population may be fatal.
Thitifini
#334 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2020 3:11:49 PM

Tokyo wrote:
7 cases and counting..,

Jeez, so one patient had escaped isolation and contacted over 80 persons...

"..Kagwe explained that the patient left the coronavirus isolation facility without authorisation.

"She was tracked down and brought back by security agents. She tested positive," he said..."

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
Queen
#335 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2020 3:27:30 PM

Thitifini wrote:
Tokyo wrote:
7 cases and counting..,

Jeez, so one patient had escaped isolation and contacted over 80 persons...

"..Kagwe explained that the patient left the coronavirus isolation facility without authorisation.

"She was tracked down and brought back by security agents. She tested positive," he said..."

Hope this is a different case from the one in today's DN headline.
#336 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2020 3:31:38 PM

Have to do everything to keep numbers low.
Our health systems can't withstand many cases
mnjoro
#337 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2020 4:30:52 PM

She was tracked down and brought back by security agents. She tested positive," he said..." Thought they are kept under tight security but anyway the kind of complacency we exhibit...
#338 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2020 7:49:47 PM

Given that:

We are likely to end up with the widespread and intense infections that we may be avoiding.

Why don't we consider then, infecting screened volunteers deliberately and in sequence so that we can develop a resistant group of workers and service providers at probably a rate faster than the viral growth and distribution?

Britain explored this option only to later realize it could have resulted in death of more than 250,000
#339 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2020 8:50:48 PM

Given that:

Britain explored this option only to later realize it could have resulted in death of more than 250,000

Kindly share any links...
#340 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2020 9:06:01 PM

Kwa ground

https://www.nation.co.ke...480-101d0n3z/index.html

We are on our own ..who is serious monitoring and following up with patients.. That call centre so busy ?

Wukan has good company.Prophets of Doom!

If her means of transport has been public means,why are we expecting her to change and to what?She did the eight thing to go back to hospital.

Let us all be EXTREMISTS is prevention and spreading hope.

I await to hear her outcome.

Meanwhile,ile ya Kericho results bado?

Answering myself.👇

Patient isolated in Kericho tests negative for coronavirusBy Bernard Rotich For Citizen Digital

Published on:  March 18, 2020 21:06 (EAT