wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

141 Pages«<1112131415>»
Coronavirus
sqft
#241 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2020 12:29:11 PM

Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
#242 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2020 12:43:17 PM

sqft wrote:

Smells like satire.... for people who engage in activities that 100% chances of dying - they seem to be scared of getting something that has 5% chances of dying.
#243 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2020 12:55:15 PM

A lockdown is not sustainable, and we all need to be infected, or vaccinated. So why don't we gamify this thing.

Develop a realtime surveillance of the most vulnerable population segment and offer support. For example, we can support a heart condition through a corvid infection.

The rest of us minus the children, wear a mask, wash hands, practice maximum caution instead of self isolation - I doubt if this is possible for most households - and wait to pass the initiation into the twenty first century.

The game could be about getting infected after the longest wait and infecting the least people while sick. Prize?

Interesting article on the various strategies people use to address outbreaks

wukan
#244 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2020 2:02:41 PM

sqft wrote:
The virus is also about the shift in global power.

Yes epidemics shift power in profound ways. The British after bringing the spanish flu to our shores, gave us the bible and took our lands. We were left singing kumbaya as they measured acres of land for demobilized British troops.

If it wasn't for the smallpox and rinderpest the Maasai would be perpetual occupants at Statehouse and the Rendile would be 2nd biggest tribe.
#245 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2020 2:42:09 PM

madollar wrote:
wukan wrote:
Jump-steady wrote:
Being a virus coming from very cold areas and being brought by those coming from there, will the virus shy from coming out in the tropics and claim victims in a strange land Or will it mutate to fit in the new environment?

Its summer time in Australia and the heat is not stopping it.

Being that it's novel - from animal to human, scientists are still studying it and they are using China South Korea and Singapore as success stories. If it has been spreading, we might go through the phases that US, UK and Italy are going through now.

Hope that there's no community spread taking place

From what i've been told trying to suppress a virus of this nature is a futile exercise. Once containment failed then the next logical step is to let it burn through the population. The only thing you do is to mitigate. China once it releases its pop. from lock-down the virus will explode once again.

There is more bad news coming in the months ahead. Get comfortable with hearing 1000 deaths per day. You are adults deal with it.

Tough times don't last but tough people do.

Jeso Britain is hoping 60% of its population gets infected ndio they develop herd immunity

Millions of Britons will need to contract coronavirus in order to control the impact of the disease which is likely to return "year on year", the government's chief scientific adviser has told Sky News.

Now what is the population of britain vis-a-vis the mortality rate of the virus

This is the best way to deal with this kind of thing. How will we know how to deal with this thing ig we don't allow it to infect as many people as it can then we as we learn how to fight it our bodies will adopt too.
I hope you have all heard that not even one single child under the age of 10 has died of this Carolina world wide. That's tells you the most vulnerable people are people like you reading this post.
#246 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2020 5:45:01 PM

There you go UMK responds to Corona by suspending learning aka going to school.

*Goverment* *brief*

Travel suspended from outside countries unless you are Kenyan.
2. Self quarantine for persons arriving into Kenya.
3. Learning suspended in all institutions.
4. Where possible government offices to allow people to work from home.
5. Stop using cash.
6. Avoid congregating anywhere. E.g. church, weddings, funerals, shopping malls, mimize public transport.
7. Don't visit sick people in hospital.
Tokyo
#247 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2020 6:09:42 PM

*Goverment* *brief*

5. Stop using cash.
6. Avoid congregating anywhere. E.g. church, weddings, funerals, shopping malls, mimize public transport.

Unfortunately Too late.
work to prosper
#248 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2020 6:26:14 PM

Tokyo wrote:

*Goverment* *brief*

5. Stop using cash.

Unfortunately Too late.

Really ???

I am looking at Nigeria's experience with this virus and maybe we are over-reacting.

The president says 27 people were tested and only 2 tested positive. That is quite encouraging.
#249 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2020 6:58:56 PM

ADDRESS TO THE NATION BY H.E. UHURU KENYATTA, C.G.H, PRESIDENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF KENYA AND COMMANDER-IN-CHIEF OF THE DEFENCE FORCES ON COVID-19, COMMONLY KNOWN AS CORONAVIRUS

My Fellow Kenyans.

On Friday March 13th, 2020 the Government of Kenya received confirmation of the first case of COVID-19, commonly known as Coronavirus.

As you may recall, when we first announced the confirmation of the first case, we stated that we had traced 27 persons who had come into contact with the first patient. We have since tested the 27 people at our National Influenza Center.

Today, we have received confirmation of two more cases of the Coronavirus. The two have tested positive as a result of coming into contact with the first patient.

Our health officials have already moved them into Kenyatta National Hospital isolation facility.

The medical teams are closely monitoring the patients, who are in stable condition and responding well to treatment. This gives us hope.

Fellow Kenyans,

My Government has been working to monitor the spread of the virus. We have set up necessary containment and treatment protocols across the country. However, following the result of the two additional cases, we are now directing the following additional protocols:

¥ The Government is suspending travel for all persons coming into Kenya from any country with reported Coronavirus cases.

¥ Only Kenyan Citizens, and any foreigners with valid residence permits will be allowed to come in provided they proceed on self quarantine or to a government designated quarantine facility.

This will take effect within the next 48 hours to cater for any passengers who may be enroute. This directive will remain in effect for the next 30 days or as varied by the National Emergency Response Committee.

¥ All persons who have come into Kenya in the last 14 days must self-quarantine. If any person exhibits symptoms such as cough, or fever, they should present themselves to the nearest health facility for testing;

¥ We have suspended learning in all our education institutions with immediate effect. Consequently, and to facilitate a phased approach, primary and secondary day schools are to suspend operations from tomorrow.

¥ For those in boarding schools, the school administration is to ensure that students are home by Wednesday, 18th March 2020 while Universities and Tertiary Institutions are to close by Friday, 20th March 2020;

¥ Where possible, government offices, businesses and companies are encouraged to allow employees to work from home, with the exception of employees working in critical or essential services.

¥ In order to avoid the risk of transmission through physical handling of money, we encourage the use of cashless transactions such as mobile money and credit cards. We appeal to mobile operators and banks to take into consideration the situation, and reduce the cost of transactions during this period.

¥ In line with the directive to avoid crowded places, citizens are encouraged to:

¥ Avoid congregating including in places of worship;
¥ Minimize attendance to social gatherings including weddings and funerals, and restrict the same to immediate family members;
¥ Avoid crowded places including shopping malls and entertainment premises;
¥ Minimize congestion in public transport wherever possible;

¥ Limitation of visitors to hospitalised patients in both public and private hospitals.

¥ Hospitals and shopping malls are encouraged to provide soap, water and hand sanitizers and ensure that all their premises are regularly cleaned and disinfected.

Globally, the impact of the virus is still unfolding. I want to assure you that My Administration is at the forefront of assessing, containing and managing this pandemic in the country.

Some of the measures may cause inconvenience, but I want to assure you they are designed to ensure that we effectively contain the spread of the virus.

I appeal to all of us to strictly observe these measures. I would also like to appeal for calm. Kenyans must avoid misinformation that causes panic and anxiety.

Let us remember that as Kenyans, we have been faced with other crisis in the past, and we have always triumphed by coming together in the spirit of national unity and cooperation.

Every single Kenyan has a responsibility in ensuring they play their part in safeguarding Kenyan lives.

This pandemic will test us, as it is testing all countries in every corner of the world, but I do not believe it will defeat us. If we pull together, and everybody does their part, we shall overcome its worst impacts.

God bless you all, God bless Kenya
#250 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2020 6:59:12 PM

Tokyo wrote:

*Goverment* *brief*

5. Stop using cash.

Unfortunately Too late.

Really ???

I am looking at Nigeria's experience with this virus and maybe we are over-reacting.

The president says 27 people were tested and only 2 tested positive. That is quite encouraging.

Kizungu ni ngumu. 2 more with a close association with the first.

We were not planning but busy racially profiling the Chinese and suggesting Africans could be immune.

#251 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2020 6:59:54 PM

Tokyo wrote:

*Goverment* *brief*

5. Stop using cash.

Unfortunately Too late.

Why too late?

Rwanda acted early and they have confirmed cases!

What would you have done differently?
#252 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2020 7:05:21 PM

Tokyo wrote:

*Goverment* *brief*

5. Stop using cash.

Unfortunately Too late.

How is it in Japan?
#253 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2020 7:17:41 PM

Tokyo wrote:

*Goverment* *brief*

5. Stop using cash.

Unfortunately Too late.

Really ???

By now the main challenge is flattening the normal curve that describes the 'adoption' of the virus into the population. The rise of confirmed cases to 3 may be a pointer we are headed to a sharp peak on the 'normal' curve supposed to be followed by the virus.

27 tests and two positives may not say much. Tests are currently being measured per million people. So the Nigerian figures may mislead.

The measures called by the President, if true, may help precipitate a serious crisis in one or two months. This is because they are not rigorous enough to change local behaviour to the extent of lowering infection and boosting the economy at the same time.
#254 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2020 8:24:09 PM

With This Kind of Attitude, we are doomed.

Dear Corona virus,

Welcome to Kenya.

A few things you should know.

Here we don't die of flu, don't be surprised if you fail to succeed.

Usishangae, everything fails in Kenya.

We are not very excited to host you around, no offence but locusts arrived way earlier than you and first come first served, unless utoe kitu kidogo then you can skip the queue of our attention.

We also cannot afford to pay you too much attention because we really really broke.

In case you haven't heard our economy.... is in the toilet. Shh...whisper, please.

Don't expect us to fight for sanitizers and tissue paper like the westerners, we shit and wipe with bush leaves.

We are sufferers except for the few pretentious mido crass are taking your arrival as another opportunity for ostentatious shopping.

Wako na pesa and you should see how they nonchalantly eye each's others tray as if to see who wins with the most full shopping.

What's that?.....No, no no no, am not calling anyone an idiot here.

We jua tu ... we the poor know plain soap and water is as good as any antibacterial soap.

It's unlikely that we will stop shaking hands on your account, a greeting is not complete in Afrika if I do not leave the smell of omena I had for lunch on the palms of your hand.

How else will you know I've eated meat? But we promise to try.

It's not like we want to ignore you dear corona, but how will we keep indoors yet we get paid per day?

If we don't go to mjengo, trust me there will be no ugali at the end of the day.

We will not stay indoors kukufa njaa just because you're here to rule the outdoors.

It's our outdoors, only politicians and police can keep us indoors after an election.

Bro, huku sio UK ama U.S. Our savings culture got lost before our ancestors died, they never managed to find it and we have no social welfare other than shillingi 2,000 per month if you are over 70. Yes, per month. We try.

I know you think you will collapse our economy, LOL! Shock on you, our government has been screwing our uchumi for several years now.... and we still here.

We ain't even gonna worry about you killing us, cancer is now friends with Kenya just incase you have been hiding in a cave until now.

We also get killed by police stray bullets all the time, so dude - no biggie there.

Do you even know the road accident statistics in Kenya? If you knew how we die daily of motorcycle and bus accidents, you wouldn't even bother to stop here.
Sawa baba? Umepoteza fare.

We are more likely to die of a cholera attack than to be killed by you bro. For us, every day is a run escape from death. We are the walking dead.

Death is part of our lives, the shadow that lingers over us from the time the umbilical cord is cut and buried behind the house, to the time we fundraise for expensive arrangements to bury a no longer useful block of dead meat.

Death can be fall us anytime and we are not scared. If it comes, let it come. Why worry over what we can't control? Everything dies, right? Even you corona will die!

We welcome all kinds of visitors to Kenya, hakuna matata, karibu sana.

Enjoy our beaches, tourists are leaving to create room for you.

Do make a visit to the Mara and by the time you leave our beautiful country all we ask is: please take most of our politicians with you, they love free rides, alot.

Post Script:

Please add the chemicals we ingest daily in our foods –

Mercury in our sugar, lead kwa sukuma wiki, sodium metabisulphate kwa nyama, na ugali iko na aflatoxin na bado tuko.

Corona should ask Safaricom ata ambiwa the number you have dialled is not available at the moment.

Tuko busy na shida zetu, even our village folks can't waste time with pronunciation's utabatizwa depending on the region.

Doo zetu za disaster preparedness ishakuwa disaster yenyewe.

Tafadhali Corona should try next door kwa Maghufuli au Mseveni.
wukan
#255 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2020 8:47:50 PM

By now the main challenge is flattening the normal curve that describes the 'adoption' of the virus into the population. The rise of confirmed cases to 3 may be a pointer we are headed to a sharp peak on the 'normal' curve supposed to be followed by the virus.

27 tests and two positives may not say much. Tests are currently being measured per million people. So the Nigerian figures may mislead.

The measures called by the President, if true, may help precipitate a serious crisis in one or two months. This is because they are not rigorous enough to change local behaviour to the extent of lowering infection and boosting the economy at the same time.

Gov Cuomo of New York:"we will not be able to flatten the covid19 curve to avoid the wave, we will be short thousands of ICU beds and ventilators, the only way to prevent that today, given the time constraint, is to deploy the Army corps of Engineers"

Habari ndio hiyo

Kenya has like 300 ICU beds, they will be overwhelmed soon. We had time to move those 800 containers but it was BBI and Ruto
#256 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2020 8:55:56 PM

wukan wrote:

Gov Cuomo of New York:"we will not be able to flatten the covid19 curve to avoid the wave, we will be short thousands of ICU beds and ventilators, the only way to prevent that today, given the time constraint, is to deploy the Army corps of Engineers"

Habari ndio hiyo

Kenya has like 300 ICU beds, they will be overwhelmed soon. We had time to move those 800 containers but it was BBI and Ruto

Aha, we mentioned it was about time those containers imported by Uhuru's relatives got utilized. He should use the opportunity to redeem that stain.

Trump said they have ordered more respiratory equipment, so expect shortages in that. There is already a world wide shortage of masks. Remember China built a hospital in 7 days
#257 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2020 10:26:11 PM

wukan wrote:

Habari ndio hiyo

Aha, we mentioned it was about time those containers imported by Uhuru's relatives got utilized. He should use the opportunity to redeem that stain.

Trump said they have ordered more respiratory equipment, so expect shortages in that. There is already a world wide shortage of masks. Remember China built a hospital in 7 days

While it may be possible for us to stem the tide in these first weeks, we have a tough game ahead, and we need some different thinking.

For example, France has sounded the alarm on anti-inflammatory drugs like bruphen and instead recommends the use of paracetamol. Paracetamol may be a serious issue when it comes to liver poisoning. Add that to possible shortages due to supplies being busy in their countries of production. We can only use what we can produce.

We may need to design treatments, improvise tests to work together with the standard tests and generate adaptive culture change. Possible but very difficult. At least when it's about top down action.

But we can self organize bottom upwards. Especially now that the govt has hinted that it wishes to allow for private action. We can self organize in terms of defined networks working together. In places where self isolation is tricky, we can reorganize living arrangements for example, to allow for disease containment.

We can do something now, at less cost, than wait longer for outcomes we can easily predict.
eboomerang
#258 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2020 11:44:52 PM

While it may be possible for us to stem the tide in these first weeks, we have a tough game ahead, and we need some different thinking.

For example, France has sounded the alarm on anti-inflammatory drugs like bruphen and instead recommends the use of paracetamol. Paracetamol may be a serious issue when it comes to liver poisoning. Add that to possible shortages due to supplies being busy in their countries of production. We can only use what we can produce.

We may need to design treatments, improvise tests to work together with the standard tests and generate adaptive culture change. Possible but very difficult. At least when it's about top down action.

But we can self organize bottom upwards. Especially now that the govt has hinted that it wishes to allow for private action. We can self organize in terms of defined networks working together. In places where self isolation is tricky, we can reorganize living arrangements for example, to allow for disease containment.

We can do something now, at less cost, than wait longer for outcomes we can easily predict.

In fact, EU just issued a directive that limits exports of medical supplies outside of the economic bloc.

There is a need to speedily come up with local solutions.

Armed with a good social engineering solution, we can make a good attempt at managing this pandemic.

Everything we have needs to be thrown to this issue in the short-term.
#259 Posted : Monday, March 16, 2020 1:17:52 AM

Sunday the Fed's slashed interest rates to close to 0.

Spain's PM and his wife are said to have the virus. Spain now has over 2000 victims

A newborn baby has reportedly become the world's youngest person to test positive for the novel coronavirus.

Whether the baby contracted the virus in the womb or during labor is unknown.
#260 Posted : Monday, March 16, 2020 3:38:24 AM

Here in this country the government should concentrate their efforts on people living with HIV and other terminal diseases. In my opinion I think this is the most vulnerable people.